• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Has an honesty few movies seek or achieve these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    100
    The focus in James Ponsoldt’s affecting, intelligent drama is a pair of teenagers, and in them is so much complexity and heart that this casually paced gem feels rich in scope. They’re two of the most carefully created figures on screen this year, and yet their normalness takes us by surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, as high school seniors Sutter and Aimee, bring such an authentic face of confidence and questioning, indifference and need, pain and denial, friendship and first love, that it will take you back to that time if you're no longer there, and light a path if you are.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Ordinary in some ways and extraordinary in others, The Spectacular Now benefits from an exceptional feel for its main characters on the parts of the director and lead actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 1, 2013
    80
    A memorable, imperfect, heartbreaking summer love story, a bit soapy in spots but loaded with power and feeling.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry,
    Aug 8, 2013
    75
    The movie captures the raw excitement and heartbreak of adolescence so completely that it manages to replace a seen-it-all jaded heart with the butterflies that accompany fresh experiences.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 2, 2013
    38
    The teen movie The Spectacular Now begins like “Say Anything” but soon turns into “Drink Anything.”

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior who relishes only on the "now", but I think that it was Sheilene Woodley's amazing performance that did it for me. You can see the hurt inside of these two generally happy people and you witness the vices of the lead character that emanates to the most important people in his life. Definitely one of the summer's best films. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This movie is a bit outside my typical range of films I go out and watch but it was suggested to me by a friend. I won't go too into it but the two leads played incredibly. It was as touching as can be and it was surprisingly real. I finished watching the movie and was left with emotions running high for hours after. I honestly kind of want to see it again already. It was that good. Surprised it doesn't have a higher score. One of my favorite movies of 2013. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    A film that opens your eyes to the world of love, showing that nothing comes from nothing and that everything will go one way. beautiful beautiful wild Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    James Ponsoldt's core strength in this film are the characters and the actors who bring it to life. Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley create two people who are trying to find their place in the world. Miles drinks himself to a stupor everyday, in order to avoid dealing with the fact that his dad left, and that he's afraid of being alone once his high school days are over (his micro-universe). Aimee on the other hand is smothered by a family life, that doesn't allow her to dream. In a way, they both end up being a catalyst for each other's lives. This web of relationships is captured in a naturalistic way by the director, who captures a slice of every day life, showcasing the dreams and expectations of the young and the sadness and some disillusionment of the older generation. The two lead actors are fantastic, as is the always great Jennifer Jason Leigh and the underrated Mary Elizabeth Winstead. A very good film worth watching! Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly, it turned out to be a nice movie, kind of reminded me 'A Walk to Remember'. Yes, it was a romantic tale set in a similar fashion along with a subplot like family issues resolved in a meaningful story. An incredible cast, especially the combination of lead two worked awesomely. These two rising stars showed their worth by giving wonderful performances.

    The movie portrays an unexpected relationship between a charming, popular, but a careless high school boy and an intelligent girl geek. They are totally opposite in character, but shares similar family difficulties and that makes them to hang out. As the times goes on, the relationship thickens with a strong connection. The school nears the end and the future plans are what stands between them tearing apart. How they react to it and what should be done is what brings the movie's conclusion.

    This novel based movie was at its best. A teenager movie that can work even for the adults. A boy who lives in ordinary 'nows' and a girl who plan for a spectacular 'future', together it became a 'spectacular now'. A teen movie with a new perspective and filled with the respectable contents. You can't get a better movie than this where most of similar themes are poured with unbearable commercial elements. This movie deserves a sequel, at least that is what I thought and want.
    Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    I've read a lot of reviews praising this movie, but I myself don't see what the fuss is about as it seems quite ordinary in every sense and there is nothing special about it. There must be something better to watch and I hope you find it. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    500 Days of Summer is a legendary film , This is boring and nothing new common story with ordinary acting and dialogues.Critic writers may have seen different movie or sold out .Script is poorly garbadge and theirs nothing really to watch.Music also primative. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.