Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
1.8

Overwhelming dislike- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the most depressing corner of a post-apocalyptic future, our hero Kantmiss Evershot (Maiara Walsh) volunteers to take her manipulative younger sister's place in the 75th annual Starving Games. In doing so, she must leave behind her smoldering just-a-friend Dale (Brant Daugherty) and team up with the geeky baker's son Peter Malarkey (Cody Allen Christian) in a fight for her life. But wait, there's more! She could also win an old ham, a coupon for a footlong sub at a six-inch price, and a partially-eaten pickle! [Ketchup Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 3 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Nov 14, 2013
    10
    It seems even more slapdash and desperately unfunny than their earlier work.
  2. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The Starving Games is the sixth directorial effort from Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, and they are nothing if not consistent.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The writing-directing team of Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer now take aim at "The Hunger Games" with their latest effort, The Starving Games, and the fact that the title, as witless and uninspired as it may be, constitutes its humorous high-water mark should indicate just how ineptly they handle things this time around.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 16 out of 17
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    I'm not going to lie, this is quite possibly my favorite low-budget parody film I've ever seen. Most of the jokes are on the money and catch you off guard just the way they're supposed to. And I'll be honest, even the acting was good. I've seen good actors try and act poorly before but this cast delivered. Speaking of the cast, Maiara Walsh is gorgeous. I hope she can break out of the low-budget niche film market and onto the big scene a bit because she's legit. If you're looking for a serious film, this obviously isn't for you but this is definitely a movie worth watching if you're looking for a cheap laugh or two or twelve. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    2
    In the 1970's, Mel Brooks and Monty Python made spoof films a fixture in American movie theaters. In the years that have followed, we've even seen franchises like, Scary Movie, Date Movie, Epic Movie, and Superhero Movie, but when was the last time you saw a spoof that was actually any good? Because of my love of the Hunger Games, I actually gave it's spoof a chance and I'm sorry I did. There were a lot of things here that could have been made fun of, but they weren't. The film gets so desperate that they actually turn to Avatar, The Avengers, and the action star of the Expendables, to make the thing long enough to be a full length film. I understand that the purpose behind spoof films is to be so ridiculous, that people laugh at how stupid it is, but there is a point where it is so beyond stupid and childish, that no one finds it funny anymore. The Starving Games quickly crosses this line and doesn't go back. It's a comedy making fun of one of my favorite series of all-time, a series I know like the back of my hand, and I hardly laughed. The only thing this film does well is cast actors who closely resemble the cast of the Hunger Games franchise. Beyond that, the acting is terrible, the jokes wouldn't even make children laugh, and the story is so out there, that eventually you're not even sure what they are doing. While spoofing big movies has become big business, this one does nothing but annoy everyone who was dumb enough to watch it. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    Your lack of comedy is disturbing.

    This movie is a bust, after five months it will be forgotten with all the other meaningless
    parodies(Most were made by the same people, be original, guys!). Ever since the mainstream "Scary Movie" in 2000(Which was good, actually) parodies have been nothing original, same slapstick-turned-wired comedy and randomness that does not seem so random anymore. It seems like that overtime, the genre has been losing what sense is left in the plot and focusing on parts that will make you say "What the f*ck?" and then laugh with your friends. This movie(along with other parodies) are not meant to be watched alone, but with friends, then talk about the funny parts with other friends and so on. Overall this movie lies within all the other parodies of the 2000's- A conversation starter. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Aaron and Jason are two people who clearly don't know how to make a film. The Starving Games is a parody of The Hunger Games and a really bad one. It's like watching Katniss sh*t on Conan. This film is horrible and made by the people who made Date Movie, so don't watch it period. Collapse
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    Is it truly that bad? Yes. Crap CGI, Poor acting, and a pathetic attempt as a parody overall. It isn't even watchable in my opinion. Do not bother with this one. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    I am sick of seeing this film!!!! My 8 year old thinks it's hilarious & has made me sit through it on numerous occasions. Personally I would rather gouge my eyes out with a rusty spoon, it really is that bad! Don't bother watching it, do the dishes instead! Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2014
    0
    Wow, this is literally the dumbest thing I've ever seen. After the first few minutes you can tell how bad it's going to be. Only 2-3 funny moments in an hour and a half long movie. Most of it was spent with my face in my palm. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers