Miramax Films | Release Date: October 3, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
97
Mixed:
3
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarkR.Feb 13, 2004
This movie stuck a chord with me that speaks to the alienation that most people feel at some point in their lives. This alienation unites the three main characters, even though they feel it in varying degrees. Only Fin can feel it in every This movie stuck a chord with me that speaks to the alienation that most people feel at some point in their lives. This alienation unites the three main characters, even though they feel it in varying degrees. Only Fin can feel it in every aspect of his life and affected more brutally than the others. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaneP.Jul 4, 2004
Great movie. Touching, funny, and real. It was disturbing to see the cruelty shown by many individuals toward Fin for being physically different. Whether these actions were due to their ignorance or mean-spirit, we could feel Fin's Great movie. Touching, funny, and real. It was disturbing to see the cruelty shown by many individuals toward Fin for being physically different. Whether these actions were due to their ignorance or mean-spirit, we could feel Fin's humiliation and isolation. In striking contrast was the genuine kindness and friendship he found in some individuals (who had their own pain to deal with). Definitely hits home on the subject of loss and loneliness. Finally, as the characters discover acceptance and true joy in friendship, the movie, with it's perfect timing, ends. Very satisfying. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JerryH.Oct 2, 2003
A wonderful film and a wonderful cast. There is more humor in this picture than I thought going in -- mainly provided by Bobby Cannavale's Joe, but Dinklage and Clarkson ground the picture in a world in which you wish you could live. A wonderful film and a wonderful cast. There is more humor in this picture than I thought going in -- mainly provided by Bobby Cannavale's Joe, but Dinklage and Clarkson ground the picture in a world in which you wish you could live. Well paced, well shot, the writer/director obviously has promise. I wish more films were like this one. Well done to everyone invlolved. My only complaint -- why did it have to end? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheAmbassadorOct 24, 2003
A great film. The plot of this is so real. Nothing is hyped up as would be done in Hollywood; everything is just as it would happen in everyday life. The metascore of 80 for this movie is a serious understatement. Brilliant humour and A great film. The plot of this is so real. Nothing is hyped up as would be done in Hollywood; everything is just as it would happen in everyday life. The metascore of 80 for this movie is a serious understatement. Brilliant humour and characters. 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaF.Sep 29, 2003
"Before I leave, Fin, I have to say... You're the man... YOU are the man." The character of Joe is absolutely hilarious. I hope we see much more of Bobby Cannavale in future pictures because he rounded out the unlikely trio of Fin, Joe, "Before I leave, Fin, I have to say... You're the man... YOU are the man." The character of Joe is absolutely hilarious. I hope we see much more of Bobby Cannavale in future pictures because he rounded out the unlikely trio of Fin, Joe, and Olivia in such a way that gave the movie wonderful life. This is a must-see picture. It had a similar effect on me that Sling Blade did, but with less of an overt and obvious emotional impact. SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PekkaP.Feb 6, 2005
Ineffably good!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MonicaD.Jan 14, 2004
This movie is practically perfect in every way. I can't remember the last time I relaxed and enjoyed a movie this much. Just beautiful! Although it would be criminal to make a sequel, it doesn't stop me from wanting to see more of This movie is practically perfect in every way. I can't remember the last time I relaxed and enjoyed a movie this much. Just beautiful! Although it would be criminal to make a sequel, it doesn't stop me from wanting to see more of these characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceB.Aug 21, 2004
[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] There is nothing I didn't like in the splendid, artful film. Oh, yes, a question or two - maybe even a minor criticism, e.g., why didn't we know, until the dawn, that the onrushing train, when Fin was[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] There is nothing I didn't like in the splendid, artful film. Oh, yes, a question or two - maybe even a minor criticism, e.g., why didn't we know, until the dawn, that the onrushing train, when Fin was drunkenly stupified, was a dream? Or, we're all dying to know from where Fin got his money. Or how on earth could Joe or his dad manage to avoid bankruptcy with the income from the food trailer in the middle of nowhere? Nevertheless, the full experience of this movie was so satisfying, funny, alarming, and poignant as to make us cast aside any such trivial inquiries and simply "take it all in" with wonder and pure enjoyment. Indeed, the scripting was so true, the cinematography so crisp and beautiful, the oddly interjected, spare, music so spot on, and the acting so flawless, that it would not be hyperbole to call this a cinema masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MERJMKMay 6, 2014
So these people just follow a midget around for an hour and a half...The midget is boring, but so are the people who have been following the midget around. They share their boring lives with each other as friendships manifest itself in theSo these people just follow a midget around for an hour and a half...The midget is boring, but so are the people who have been following the midget around. They share their boring lives with each other as friendships manifest itself in the most natural of ways...boring life stuff happens, and that's the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
seventhsealJan 14, 2015
This movies made me happy, not for a moment after it ended but it made me happy for a very long time after watching it, days even. The story is simple, warm, funny. The casting and characters are nothing short of perfect. If you have notThis movies made me happy, not for a moment after it ended but it made me happy for a very long time after watching it, days even. The story is simple, warm, funny. The casting and characters are nothing short of perfect. If you have not seen this film and are reading this review looking to see if you think it is worth watch, believe me now, stop reading and start watching.

If this movie doesn't warm your insides you must be cryogenic!!!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LeeDallasJan 2, 2004
Bold, touching, and different, The Station Agent is really a story about how you affect people, no matter how hard you try not to. Superb acting, writing and directing. Great movie that is one of a kind, so see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CharlesM.Jun 26, 2004
A terrific little movie about the interaction of three people whose paths cross at an abandoned train depot in New Jersey. Peter Dinklage is wonderful, as someone who wants to be left alone, but Bobby Cannavale will have none of that. A terrific little movie about the interaction of three people whose paths cross at an abandoned train depot in New Jersey. Peter Dinklage is wonderful, as someone who wants to be left alone, but Bobby Cannavale will have none of that. Patricia Clarkson is very good...Dinklage is excellent and Bobby Cannavale gives a knockout performance. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BarryR.Nov 22, 2003
This is an interesting and, in its own way, a rather simple and beautiful film about loneliness, being different and caring, all wrapped up in 88 minutes of interesting storytelling. Written and directed by Thomas McCarthy and starring Peter This is an interesting and, in its own way, a rather simple and beautiful film about loneliness, being different and caring, all wrapped up in 88 minutes of interesting storytelling. Written and directed by Thomas McCarthy and starring Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson (from "6 Feet Under") and Bobby Cannavale, it is skillfully written, edited, acted and directed in a soft style that makes you feel you are participating in the lives of the characters as a voyeur who sees but is not noticed. The uniquely different physical appearance of the star becomes secondary and a factor you quickly forget as you see beyond the label and into the core of the human being about whom the film surrounds. This is quality filmmaking and worthy of the 9 it gets for taking us to a higher level of cinema without our even knowing it as we experience the magic. See it....you will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidA.Nov 26, 2003
Wonderfully absorbing. No cheap moments, just three different people finding a connection in the most desolate of places.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mrdancinggeckoJul 5, 2012
I hadn't heard of this film till it came up as a suggestion on Netflix and I'm glad it did. A beautifully crafted, multi award winning film from the extremely talented writer/actor/director Thomas McCarthy. A man with achondroplasia, a formI hadn't heard of this film till it came up as a suggestion on Netflix and I'm glad it did. A beautifully crafted, multi award winning film from the extremely talented writer/actor/director Thomas McCarthy. A man with achondroplasia, a form of dwarfism, inherits a train station when his only friend dies. He moves there to find solitude. Instead he meets a number of people at his new town, all with their own problems. A story about characters and peoples relationships, quietly underplayed by an excellent ensemble cast. If you need to have a car chase, explosion or fight every ten minutes, the chances are you'll hate this with a passion. The rest of us will have our faith in the art of simple storytelling reborn and satiated Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Jul 28, 2013
Amusing and at the same time gripping The Station Agent is a great film. Tied together with fantastic performances by Cannavale and Dinklage you can't help but love the trio of friends that develop and you can't wait to see how everythingAmusing and at the same time gripping The Station Agent is a great film. Tied together with fantastic performances by Cannavale and Dinklage you can't help but love the trio of friends that develop and you can't wait to see how everything plays out. This film is certainly different which makes it so unique and it seems very realistic which is something that many movies lack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2015
It's a delightful indie flick with a natural feel around it. The cast is brilliant, especially the main trio of Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, and Bobby Cannavale. The themes of loneliness and friendship are subtle yet hit just enough toIt's a delightful indie flick with a natural feel around it. The cast is brilliant, especially the main trio of Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, and Bobby Cannavale. The themes of loneliness and friendship are subtle yet hit just enough to touch me. It's quirky, just like life itself is full of quirks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SfoJan 18, 2004
What a great, quirky and touching film. I wish it hadn't ended so abruptly, but it definitely left me wanting more. The movie made me feel good inside!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackOfNoTradesAug 13, 2015
The Station Agent has well-developed characters, brilliant actors, a compelling script, and beautiful cinematography. You would think those would be the prerequisites for making a movie, but unfortunately this type of quality is rare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StephenS.Apr 25, 2004
Usually, I can?t abide movies that appear to just end abruptly. This one had sufficient credit in the bank that I just didn?t care. Peter Dinklage plays the dwarf-sized Fin, who inherits a disused railway depot in a pretty part of New Usually, I can?t abide movies that appear to just end abruptly. This one had sufficient credit in the bank that I just didn?t care. Peter Dinklage plays the dwarf-sized Fin, who inherits a disused railway depot in a pretty part of New Jersey. Bobby Cannavale is Joe, running the roadside café out front of the depot, and Patricia Clarkson (always good to watch) is Olivia, the separated mother grieving for her son. Director Thomas McCarthy?s sweet situations are so moderately paced as to make John Sayles look like a speedster. Fin does his train buff thing solo, then with Joe, then with Joe and Olivia, in tow. Mobile phones conveniently interrupt as required, but even these are just a sign that true connection is hard to find. Olivia has her grief crisis, which is great cinema, and Fin has his dwarf crisis, perhaps the one doubtful note in the film. Australian audiences relate to Joe, who laps up life, appears unfailingly gauche, and is impossible to embarrass. But just watch out for the look on Joe?s face when he meets Olivia?s ex, and does a wonderfully complicated split-second of contempt, amusement and bravado. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonP.Nov 24, 2003
Although I did enjoy this movie, I wasn't as taken with it as most critics. It does have a lot of plusses, the acting, the characters, but there was just something missing for me. I do however recommend that you see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful