Lions Gate Films Home Entertainment | Release Date: June 26, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
0
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
TimmiiiiApr 29, 2015
I gave up watching the movie after half an hour. It is probably a good movie, but the editing is the work of a hopeless amateur. The cutting between camera angles and pov´s are faster than a Skrillex video, which is confusing and frustratingI gave up watching the movie after half an hour. It is probably a good movie, but the editing is the work of a hopeless amateur. The cutting between camera angles and pov´s are faster than a Skrillex video, which is confusing and frustrating when the scene is a supposed to be slow, painful and full of dispair.

Better editing could have saved this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BabbaOct 26, 2014
I found this movie emotionally extremely powerful in the sense that although I am quite a stoic person, I could feel the fear Soraya and her Aunt were going through and the humiliation Soraya was subjected to. I cannot imagine what the twoI found this movie emotionally extremely powerful in the sense that although I am quite a stoic person, I could feel the fear Soraya and her Aunt were going through and the humiliation Soraya was subjected to. I cannot imagine what the two ladies must have gone through in real life. Another very important point made by the movie is that the ancient way of dispensing justice has no place in modern times because human beings are imperfect and can manipulate such simplistic and biased laws. It may be a simple and for some even slow movie but it's impact is profound on people who believe that justice must be done. They will enjoy it, love it and loath it at the same time. Loathe it for such great injustice done to Soraya.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
erjacksonOct 27, 2013
The Stoning of Soraya M. was as real today as it have been for centuries. Women in foreign countries can be lied upon very easily as she was in this movie and stoned to death. This depiction broke my heart and the struggle continues.The Stoning of Soraya M. was as real today as it have been for centuries. Women in foreign countries can be lied upon very easily as she was in this movie and stoned to death. This depiction broke my heart and the struggle continues. Stoning is wrong and no one deserves this kind of treatment. Her stoning wasn't based off facts but lies and her husband wanted her dead. Watch this movie if you can but if you cannot stand to see something that is real don't watch it because this is a real life story and such crimes still exist today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Jul 27, 2013
It is riveting, moving and extremely powerful. This is a movie you need to see. The Stoning of Soraya M. is packed with extremely moving and powerful story, with truthful acting and graphic violence that has a reason to be there, because ifIt is riveting, moving and extremely powerful. This is a movie you need to see. The Stoning of Soraya M. is packed with extremely moving and powerful story, with truthful acting and graphic violence that has a reason to be there, because if you cut off some of the violence, if you didn't see it happen, you will say it never happened. It is a movie with a real hero, because think about how many heroes we have now, not many. The story is amazing, the directing is wise and the movie overall is one of a kind. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
HaithamBayazeedApr 28, 2013
Definitely a must watch, everything in this movie made me mesmerized and into seeing what will happen next, although the ending is spoiled from the title but it is still one of the greatest I have ever experienced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BR4NDONcecSep 13, 2012
This movie is filled with inaccuracies and stereotypes, it's hugely dramatized in every way and I'm getting sick of these american "based on a true story" movies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BennettTAug 3, 2009
Excellent, must see R-rated brutal film about injustice in Iran, something Iran itself will not discuss, and will not be mentioned on the evening news that is too fixated on Michael Jackson and other fluff pieces that get ratings but say Excellent, must see R-rated brutal film about injustice in Iran, something Iran itself will not discuss, and will not be mentioned on the evening news that is too fixated on Michael Jackson and other fluff pieces that get ratings but say very little of importance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrancisLJul 30, 2009
Such a stridently powerful film. It brings to light and issue that must be exposed! I strongly support positive change in Iran and this movie will definitely serve as a catalyst to that cause. Furthermore the acting, the atmosphere and Such a stridently powerful film. It brings to light and issue that must be exposed! I strongly support positive change in Iran and this movie will definitely serve as a catalyst to that cause. Furthermore the acting, the atmosphere and themes themselves all make for an immersing film that you'll have to see to truly understand. I highly recommend this film for activist and film-lover alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CoryGJul 28, 2009
A powerful and wonderfully adapted story; not once did the film feel fake or contrived in any way! Shohreh Aghdashloo is phenomenal and I really do believe she deserves and Oscar Nomination.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MacarenaA.Jul 20, 2009
If you want to see what is going on around the world and injustice that many people around the world are going through watch this movie!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffJJul 19, 2009
Very powerful story and excellent acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerryF.Jul 19, 2009
Definitely worth seeing. Critics - 5/10, Real People 10/10. The critics in the main stream media would rather trash this masterpiece as it exposes Real Evil, and glorify movies like An Inconvenient Trust which exposes nothing but Liberal Definitely worth seeing. Critics - 5/10, Real People 10/10. The critics in the main stream media would rather trash this masterpiece as it exposes Real Evil, and glorify movies like An Inconvenient Trust which exposes nothing but Liberal fear mongering over EVIL, which can only exist in the mind of a Liberal. This movie deserves and Academy Award, but that will never happen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BarrieWJul 17, 2009
Fantastic film ... a real eye-opener as to the plight of women in Iran. One wonders how much has changed since her stoning in 1986!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MariaB.Jul 17, 2009
The Stoning is an amazing movie!! Steve McEveety once again makes a unique inspiring piece of art. It is one of those movies that will move your emotions. A very well done movie in every aspect of it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HankW.Jul 16, 2009
This film portrays an accurate picture of the social injustice happening in cultures that we often don't hear about. This film does a great job of speaking out for the silent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LuciaR.Jul 16, 2009
Great movie! I'm glad I watched it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarG.Jul 14, 2009
A powerful and touching story The film, based on the true account of a woman unjustly stoned to death, that shows the injustice across the world no matter culturals or gendre conditions. Not to be missed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobbieH.Jul 13, 2009
This is a powerful and life-changing movie. The message is one you have to see for yourself, it can't just be told.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeZJul 13, 2009
Wonderful look into the issue of women's rights and social justice! Definitely recommend!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LorenaL.Jul 12, 2009
insightful, enlightening, poignant, truthful, and courageous! For all the women without a voice... Before I saw the movie, I prepared myself for the violence. I knew that it would have a sad ending. This movie is touching. It moves you and insightful, enlightening, poignant, truthful, and courageous! For all the women without a voice... Before I saw the movie, I prepared myself for the violence. I knew that it would have a sad ending. This movie is touching. It moves you and it gently brings you to a reality that is rarely seen in our faded eyes. This is one of the movies that are based on true reality, the reality that women still face today which is beyond my imagination. At the same time, I am a woman living in the United States and sometimes I even feel like my voice is not being heard. I value and admire the strength of the quiet, strong, hardworking woman who never complains about her life. She lives with dignity. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LupeLJul 10, 2009
Amazing movie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GadiRRJul 9, 2009
Inspirational movie! Must see it! let the movie open your eyes and heart!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeCJul 8, 2009
The Stoning was an honest look into the reality of the social injustice occurring in the Middle East. The film portrayed important points regarding an isue which is too often easily overlooked. An eye-opening film that will touch your heart The Stoning was an honest look into the reality of the social injustice occurring in the Middle East. The film portrayed important points regarding an isue which is too often easily overlooked. An eye-opening film that will touch your heart and make you think. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PatriciaTJul 6, 2009
In a word: impactful. Well acted. Although some characters seem to be rather poorly drawn in order to simply advance to the stoning; there is little ambivalence and shading, which would have added to making the film feel less partial, In a word: impactful. Well acted. Although some characters seem to be rather poorly drawn in order to simply advance to the stoning; there is little ambivalence and shading, which would have added to making the film feel less partial, without taking away the powerful reaction viewers feel about the inhumanity of the unjust "punishment" as well as the horrible conditions that women live in under Sharia law. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
josephinegJul 2, 2009
This film breaks my heart and uplifts my soul simultaneously. It takes the exposure of the death of an innocent woman to strike fear in the hearts of the men who persecuted her. It's their own fear of being found out, not the remorse This film breaks my heart and uplifts my soul simultaneously. It takes the exposure of the death of an innocent woman to strike fear in the hearts of the men who persecuted her. It's their own fear of being found out, not the remorse for the sinful crime they've committed, that makes a few of them reevaluate what they've done. There are moments in the film where the characters can hault the stoning of Soraya but they choose not to. It is not just Soraya's death but the men's choice to do evil when they could do good that incites anger into the viewer. It is scary to know that there are cultures who still practice injustice in the name of their God and of their self-made laws. Definitely see this film. It is culturally significant and incredibly important given what is going on in Iran today. Instead of turning away from what we know if going on, turn towards the heartbreaking performances of the actors who deserve Oscars for their roles in this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
tonybabyJul 1, 2009
Beautifully shot film with an ugly truth behind it. i can't believe this is based on a true story and that this is still practiced today. powerful message. i recommend this to all those who care about these types of senseless killing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
andisJul 1, 2009
This was so hard to watch but I'm glad I did it. There is no honor in any honor killings! Go see the film and help end stoning forever. This is for all those who care about women's rights and human rights around the world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MFLPMJul 1, 2009
Powerful movie in every way! such a strong reality will take your breath away!! MUST SEE IT!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephanieMJul 1, 2009
An unbelievable film. So captivating and heart gripping. A must see!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
claralJul 1, 2009
I think it's a very good movie... everyone must see it.. I can't believe this things happens nowadays..!!! Someone has to defend those woman's lives !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MjsgrrJun 30, 2009
An outstanding movie!!!! create an awareness of so many women and children who goes not only through physical abuse but also psychological. It will move your heart!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarianaM.Jun 30, 2009
It's a great movie, It touch me! I can believe this thing's still happening today!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyPJun 29, 2009
The oppressive reality of this movie is haunting in a life changing way. It makes you want to stand up for women who are oppressed and makes you value the human rights we freely have in the United States. This movie is a call to action and a The oppressive reality of this movie is haunting in a life changing way. It makes you want to stand up for women who are oppressed and makes you value the human rights we freely have in the United States. This movie is a call to action and a slap in the face to oppressive cultures who support injustice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mechi_Jun 28, 2009
Amazing! This movie touch me... I think that we have to join our voices and defend the human dignity !!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KimleyJun 28, 2009
It was very disturbing. Very thought-provoking. I wanted to yell out in the theatre, "And these are the kinds of people that Obama wants to negotiate and chat with!"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
faribatJun 27, 2009
Exploitative and as disgusting as passion of the christ in fomenting blood lust!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaDJun 26, 2009
I just saw this movie and have but one word. WOW! I honestly struggle with how to put into words what this movie provokes. I was blown away by the struggle of this one woman who would not give in to this terrible injustice. I definitely I just saw this movie and have but one word. WOW! I honestly struggle with how to put into words what this movie provokes. I was blown away by the struggle of this one woman who would not give in to this terrible injustice. I definitely recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShirleyAJun 26, 2009
Remarkable movie...excellent acting and script!! An entire village tried to cover up their injustice and only one witness was unwilling to stay silent. Her only hope of letting everyone her burning secret is a journalist who happens to walk Remarkable movie...excellent acting and script!! An entire village tried to cover up their injustice and only one witness was unwilling to stay silent. Her only hope of letting everyone her burning secret is a journalist who happens to walk into town the day after this shameful crime took place. It's unforgettable! I greatly recommend it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SelinaSJun 26, 2009
This movie is incredibly powerful! The way that they depict the injustices done to women all over the world is so enlightening! Please go to the movie's website to see what you can do to help spread the word and help Women's Rights This movie is incredibly powerful! The way that they depict the injustices done to women all over the world is so enlightening! Please go to the movie's website to see what you can do to help spread the word and help Women's Rights around the world! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful