The Talented Mr. Ripley

The Talented Mr. Ripley Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the 1950's, a young American, Mr. Ripley (Damon), is sent to Europe to retrieve a spoiled millionaire playboy (Law). When the errand fails, Ripley kills the playboy and assumes his life.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 100
    The movie is as intelligent a thriller as you'll see this year.
  2. Reviewed by: John Hartl
    90
    In the hands of Minghella and his star, Matt Damon, Ripley has become a more complex character, in some ways more understandable and approachable, in other ways as enigmatic as ever.
  3. 88
    The only thing missing from this rich production is an emotional charge, which Highsmith could create on the page but which Minghella doesn't quite capture on screen.
  4. Carnal, glamorous and worth the price.
  5. Minghella's psychological redraft muffles the menace, squanders the tension, throws away the main character and plot engine and turns Ripley into something he never was or should be.
  6. 74
    A near-perfect confection, a beautifully executed Hollywood all-you-can-eat salad bar of glamour, plot twists, breathtaking Mediterranean vistas, and jazz.
  7. 30
    It's a sign of how watered-down the movie is that only the supporting actors have any bite.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. PipE.
    May 12, 2007
    10
    The film captures the essence of the novel in a way many movies fail. It was brilliantly cast and shot, overall this movie is a gem.
  2. ElizabethM.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    This film is my all time favourite film. The scenery is beautiful, the acting is great and the film is extremely well written.
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Story is great. Some fighting scenes can be pretty brutal. Also, theFirst off, I would give it a 9.25 out of 10. Acting is pretty good. Story is great. Some fighting scenes can be pretty brutal. Also, the environments are pretty great looking. Score is good. Overall, it's a good, interesting movie that you should watch. Collapse
  4. AdamL.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    To those who cast doubt on Jude Law's acting chops, this film should shut you up fast.
  5. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    You know what is really special about this film, it's that Tom Ripley is such a monster but we want him to get away with it. Matt Damon wasYou know what is really special about this film, it's that Tom Ripley is such a monster but we want him to get away with it. Matt Damon was great with his body language and the way that he delivered his lines. Jude Law was really good in this star making role. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    5
    This film is actually very boring once you realise it. The pacing is just very uneven and there are multiple moments that don't even make thatThis film is actually very boring once you realise it. The pacing is just very uneven and there are multiple moments that don't even make that much sense and you wonder why they're there. Instead of Law's character being portrayed as annoying and stuck-up, nothing is there to illustrate his behaviour as annoying and stuck-up, so he just ends up looking like a spoilt brat with no proper explanation. Once he's gone, the thing just falls apart because Damon has nothing to go on and tries to look like a psychopath for the sake of it. Some scenes don't even fit together properly. That said, the scenery was very beautiful, so we got a nice backdrop that contrasted with the conflict that was going on between the characters. Plus, I found one scene particularly thrilling and heart-pounding, and to be honest, quite horrific actually. Expand
  7. MikeL.
    Jul 18, 2009
    0
    This is the all-time worst movie I've ever seen (all the way through). Too long, too boring, too uninteresting. Great cast, great This is the all-time worst movie I've ever seen (all the way through). Too long, too boring, too uninteresting. Great cast, great premise (Joe Schmoe hustles his way into hobknobbing around Europe with young, rich elite). Unfortunately it couldn't overcome a terrible story (NOTE - being gay is not a plot twist). What was the movie trying to convey? It appears from the critics they can't decide either (crime drama, psychological thriller, take on class and gender). I couldn't wait for it to end. Group of friends who saw it at the cinema said the film broke near the end and many clapped that it was over. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.