Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 29, 2012
    75
    In easily her best performance - and sadly, one few will see, given the film's modest release strategy - Jessica Biel stars as a single mother in Cold Rock, Washington.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 30, 2012
    38
    Spits out enough scares and twists to maintain our interest, but the film's psycho-sociological layer is almost as cheesy and unconvincing as its low-rent action scenes.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 30, 2012
    90
    Ultimately his story draws more energy from class than from criminality: awash in sludgy browns and rotting greens - the colors of poverty and decomposition - this unpredictable oddity is a little bonkers but a lot original.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Aug 28, 2012
    25
    The road to hell is paved with good intentions, and in a few months it will also be paved with unwatched DVD copies of The Tall Man.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    Long on atmosphere and short on sense, The Tall Man becomes less gripping as it grows more ridiculous.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 30, 2012
    20
    The more pressing affliction in Pascal Laugier's film is the absence of chills, logic and coherence.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Larson
    Aug 30, 2012
    75
    Illustrates the problem of class mobility with a dark, troubling premise that holds a harsh light up to our own assumptions and expectations.
  8. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Once you get through the flaming, Bowser's Castle–like gauntlet of the rest of the story's implausibilities, you end up in a different movie than the one on the creepy poster.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    2
    This movie was lame and really their was no point of it being called the tall man.When i looked at this movie on netflix i thought about slender and boy was i wrong.It stars Jessica Biel,Jodelle Ferland and Stephen McHattie.The movie didn't made sense cause of the title of this movie.If you've seen the whole movie then you know what i'm talking about.Jessica biel played in better movies than this and Jodelle Ferland played a character who never really did anything besides worrying about the tall man.Don't get me wrong i found one or two part interesting but the fact is the movie was just god awful and boring to me. Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    This movie deserves more attention and higher ratings. It's so misunderstood by people. If you love crime or mystery thriller, you're gonna love this. It has so much twist along the way. Don't think it as a horror movie with blood splatering all over the place. Trust me, you'll enjoy it! Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    52? Really, critics? 52? You sad little hipsters. A movie with the greatest plot twist in the history of movies (I'm being dead serious here, the plot twist is so unpredictable and disturbing that even after it happens you just won't be able to believe it) gets an average of 52 from the critics? What a bunch of idiots. This movie is the best thriller I have seen in a while, and simply put, takes conventional movie plots and twists and completely turns them onto their heads and spins them around like an upside-down circus tent. The atmosphere is brilliant, the plot is mind-blowing, and the acting is superb. You have to watch this movie, if you don't, well, you're missing out on something huge Full Review »