The Ten

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Hughie
    Aug 1, 2007
    8
    Uneven, but lots of fun, especially the last segment.
  2. BlancoA.
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    Hilarious sh*t. If you even remotely liked The State or Wet Hot American Summer, you'll be rolling in this thing. To the uninitiated who wants the typical comedy pap that Hollywood Studios churns out like drones, you won't like this. On the other hand, if you want something a little different, a little off-color, a little dangerous, this is the ticket. I was in pain I was Hilarious sh*t. If you even remotely liked The State or Wet Hot American Summer, you'll be rolling in this thing. To the uninitiated who wants the typical comedy pap that Hollywood Studios churns out like drones, you won't like this. On the other hand, if you want something a little different, a little off-color, a little dangerous, this is the ticket. I was in pain I was laughing so hard. Why not a "10"? In the true tradition of experimental humor, some of the jokes don't land squarely, but even when they don't, you'll applaud D. Wain's effort. And Gretchen Mol..... damn, kiki, she's amazing. Her segments are incredibly good, esp the bit on taking the lord's name in vain. you'll see. This is the biggest no-brainer choice of the summer. Take it from this Metacritic Advance Scout - if you've got a sense of humor, you'll love this. And that's not a goof. Expand
  3. ArthurC.
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    This is one of those comedies where the funny stuff is so outrageously funny that the minute misfires go completely unnoticed. I think you have to be a State fan to appreciate it. The "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Wife" skit (with a plethora of rape jokes) as well as the "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Goods" are two of the funniest things I've seen all year. This is one of those comedies where the funny stuff is so outrageously funny that the minute misfires go completely unnoticed. I think you have to be a State fan to appreciate it. The "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Wife" skit (with a plethora of rape jokes) as well as the "Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Goods" are two of the funniest things I've seen all year. The weak animation, and the sluggish "Thou Shalt Not Steal" skit are the low points. But bonus points to some very funny narration from Paul Rudd. The guy needs his own movie some day. Expand
  4. JacquesR.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    David Wain & Ken Marino are geniuses. It was great seeing them last Saturday night at the Nuart for the Wet Hot American Summer midnight show. Their Q & A had me rolling, but not as much as this movie did. You'd be a fool for not seeing this. These blowhard critics above who think the movie is blasphemous are completely humorless. Let them go see Hot Rod or Who's Your Caddy or David Wain & Ken Marino are geniuses. It was great seeing them last Saturday night at the Nuart for the Wet Hot American Summer midnight show. Their Q & A had me rolling, but not as much as this movie did. You'd be a fool for not seeing this. These blowhard critics above who think the movie is blasphemous are completely humorless. Let them go see Hot Rod or Who's Your Caddy or whatever other benign milquetoast "comedy" is out there. I'll probably see this 3 or 4 more times, depending on how long it stays at the Landmark. Expand
  5. JoshB.
    Aug 5, 2007
    8
    Weird but funny.
  6. Mark
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    Very funny - Winona Ryder is fantastic in this.
  7. GregB.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    I was blown away by this movie - I wasn't familiar with a lot of the people involved and honestly wasn't expecting much. It's hilarious, like laughing so hard your stomach hurts from beginning to end hilarious. Haven't seen a movie this funny in a long long time. Smart, inventive, and entertaining.
  8. RitB.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    The humor in this movie is so off the wall it makes 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show" look like a documentary.
  9. SidneyJ.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    "The Ten' really is amazing. The humor really does take some getting used to but when I saw it a second time (i've seen it three times now, already) I could not stop laughing! Wain and Marino have, again, produced their own brand of comedy that is unlike any of the other crap that has been shoved into movie theaters for the past several years. This is a must see.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Bell
    60
    Let's talk about Paul Rudd. I think he may be in every film in 2007 and that's okay by me, because Paul Rudd has become an acting Man-God.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Second feature from duo David Wain and Ken Marino of comedy group the State is, like their "Wet Hot American Summer," uneven but often hilarious.
  3. 70
    More often than not, you'll laugh, and that's all you can hope for in what might as well be a prolonged episode of "The State," from which several of the cast and creators sprang.