DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: June 18, 2004
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 322 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
260
Mixed:
40
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
PatC.Sep 6, 2005
Cheap drawn-out overdramatization and awkward slapstick blows situations that were trying to ring true. Spielberg needs to go back to making movies where the characters are carbon-based life forms.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BlueFalconDec 14, 2004
Inoffensive and mildly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatrickM.Jun 19, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] Well, I hate to say I saw this one coming a mile away. A man lives in a terminal...wow, what next? a man lives on an island and befriends a volleyball? But, you think maybe Spielberg and Hanks can team up and make this[***SPOILERS***] Well, I hate to say I saw this one coming a mile away. A man lives in a terminal...wow, what next? a man lives on an island and befriends a volleyball? But, you think maybe Spielberg and Hanks can team up and make this another "catch me if you can" or really any decent spielberg film for that matter. Sadly, the movie suffers from not knowing its own identity...is it a drama, a love story, a comedy? And for me, most of the movie was basic Hollywood schmaltz filler, like the man with the sharp object who was attempting to bring pills to his ailing father in...get this coincidence...Tom Hanks' neighboring country. Hanks calms the man down and convinces Stanley Tucci (a terribly bland antagonist) that they are pills for his pet goat. Then, inexplicably, the man just gets on his plane and leaves without further detainment even after trying to cut security with the knife. The whole scene was useless, as was the movie as it turned out. Then the whole reason Hanks came to New York, to get some jazz players autograph, is pretty much a way for the screenwriter to justify a man sitting in an airport terminal for like a year. Convenient how war started once he was in JFK. And I hate to say this, but the romance between him and Catherine Zeta-Jones, while completely obsurd to begin with, became even harder to stomach as the film dragged on. And I say dragged on because the film made the audience feel like you were in a layover...for a good movie (hah). I expected much better, maybe shouldnt have. I would rather live in Krackovia or however the hell they spelled that, than see this again. Oh, and the most romantic line in the movie: "Meet me at the Sbarro"... thats quite touching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeterJ.Feb 7, 2005
Tom Hanks saves this movie from a sub 5 rating. While the actual plot wasn't too bad, many of the little things in the movie were way over the top. If they made it a little more realistic I would have given it a 7 or above. It was still Tom Hanks saves this movie from a sub 5 rating. While the actual plot wasn't too bad, many of the little things in the movie were way over the top. If they made it a little more realistic I would have given it a 7 or above. It was still entertaining though, as most Hanks movies are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
elizabethr.Aug 13, 2005
Manipulative, contrived, Hollywood storytelling!! No iota of truth to be found in the stereotyped characters or their predictable situations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NedJun 20, 2004
The movie was ok but I thought Hanks was great as usual. The story on the other hand, was a little too much. First, Catherine Zeta's character was so bad. The movie tries to make you feel bad for her, but it doesn't develope her The movie was ok but I thought Hanks was great as usual. The story on the other hand, was a little too much. First, Catherine Zeta's character was so bad. The movie tries to make you feel bad for her, but it doesn't develope her character at all. I think the whole love story inside the love story with a food delivery boy and a customs agent is ridiculous. No one agrees to marry someone they've never met just by sending notes to each other through a strange man. How scary is that? And last, i don't think there are people out there that is this evil in the character played by Stanley Tucci. And how in the world would someone do everything he could to stop Hanks from leaving, and then just let him go just because he took 2 steps out of the Airport? Did anyone ever think that he needs to come back and take a flight back to Karvovscia or wherever? Just get him when he get's back! Anyways, Hanks carried the movie, Zeta was a dumb blonde trying to be emotional and smart, and Tucci was a typical Disney Villain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
I love spielberg. always did. i have learned to love hanks over the years, especially after saving private ryan and catch me if you can. i thought spielberg and hank was incapable of making a bad movie...i thought wrong! the good thing is, I love spielberg. always did. i have learned to love hanks over the years, especially after saving private ryan and catch me if you can. i thought spielberg and hank was incapable of making a bad movie...i thought wrong! the good thing is, we see that they are human beings and not movie making machines. (at least in the artistic sense) spielberg commands the movie half way through without any hic-ups. however, when all his movie chops are used up and dried out, so does the movie. the film turns into a....well..."meeting everyone!...meeting!...we are sinking, what shall we do???"....ummm mr. spielberg?...."what!?"...ummm...let's get the old indian fella to stop a jumbo jet...."oy!...action!!!" i am sure, if he (steve) had his dinosaur and spaceship making computer fellas with him at the time, he would have ask them to help him out on this one. because if a film ever needs a random t-rex running through the airport and trampling the over acting catherina zeta whats her face, its THIS film. stanley tucci seems like he is "shell shocked" that he is actually acting in a spielberg film, he is not comfortable and portrays and utterly un-beliveable, off the cliff antagonist. i mean, marvin the martian makes more sense than him. why is he so damn angry? because hanks has 2 oscars and he doesn't? hanks is good, but somehow he is always good...i dont know if we are all captivated by his acting skills or his face reminds us his other, better films. whatever the case, i enjoyed his accent and him playing a "non-american" got me going for a while. it seems spielberg wanted to wrap this up and go home so he can make indiana jones 4 or something, the end of the film is un-forgivable for his talents...therefore, unlike his mostly other work...forgetable. the cinematography and opening credits are well done...too bad the rest aint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FrazierP.Aug 17, 2004
A major disappointment. Slow, boring and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AudreyB.Sep 5, 2004
This started out well. The premise was interesting, it made some good commentary on government, and Hanks acted it well. But, around the middle, it started to get downright sappy. The shameless deus ex machina at the end secured its This started out well. The premise was interesting, it made some good commentary on government, and Hanks acted it well. But, around the middle, it started to get downright sappy. The shameless deus ex machina at the end secured its downfall. The only good thing in the end was the resolution of the romance, which never had a real chance anyway. It might be disappointing, but it was, at least, realistic. The rest was just typical, silly Hollywood. There is nothing wrong with silly Hollywood when it admits that it is silly. This thought that it was meaningful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyW.Feb 21, 2005
A misfiring, never-ending, aimless mess that could (and should) have been a little gem of a movie. It bores where it should enthrall, which is a crime considering the talent on display.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
IlzeSNov 23, 2004
Boring! Boring! Boring! I really don?t like this movie. Stupid jokes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MitchM.Dec 4, 2004
Interesting premise, initially absorbing, but veers toward incredulity as it progresses. The Catherine Zeta Jones scenes are the worst offenders. And how could such a schlub become such a hero?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewK.Jun 19, 2004
People are being way too hard on this film. Honestly, they didn't market it very well, because I thought it'd be a piece of sh.t. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was not. It was an enjoyable, feel good movie. Maybe its People are being way too hard on this film. Honestly, they didn't market it very well, because I thought it'd be a piece of sh.t. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was not. It was an enjoyable, feel good movie. Maybe its not "real" enough for some people. I don't know. Remember that not every movie has to have the same attitude toward storytelling. If Spielberg wants to make movies that make people feel good, what's the harm in that? Its not my favorite type of movie, and no, its not a classic, but it does what its supposed to do. It entertains. It did me, anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JustinCDec 13, 2005
It's a good movie, don't get me wrong, just a loooooooooong and sometimes boring one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Não um filme bom nem ruim, normal, apesar de seu melodrama ser quase inevitável de fugir tem alguns momento bons para um filme com um roteiro fraco.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
solomsApr 17, 2015
A good comedy, but nothing that we didn't saw yet. For Steven Spielberg I expected more. Tom Hanks did a great job, but for a comedy? There are people more fun and talented for this kind of movies. There are a drama too but it sounds likeA good comedy, but nothing that we didn't saw yet. For Steven Spielberg I expected more. Tom Hanks did a great job, but for a comedy? There are people more fun and talented for this kind of movies. There are a drama too but it sounds like many other movies that I just saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews