Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An Asian warrior assassin finds peace, contentment and perhaps love in a forgotten western town on the edge of the desert but is then faced with...?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    The result is way out there - so far that you won't quite recognize the terrain, and still feel strangely at home. The look has the impossible feel of a CGI soundstage: Not cheap, not even necessarily fake, just… weird.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Dec 6, 2010
    70
    A visually inspired multi-genre amalgamation, a borderline-surreal folly that suggests a martial-arts action-adventure co-directed by Sergio Leone and Federico Fellini.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 7, 2010
    60
    Someone surely thought to call this knowingly ridiculous genre mash-up "Cowboys vs. Ninjas," though even that title wouldn't hint at all the you-gotta-be-kidding-me craziness on display.
  4. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Dec 6, 2010
    50
    One ticket buys you cowboys, samurais, gangsters, ninjas, spaghetti Westerns, Hong Kong martial artists, knife throwers and even Fellini-esque circus performers. But like kimchi pasta, some things aren't meant to mix.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 8, 2010
    40
    Drained of much of its presumed power by a distinct "been there, seen that" vibe.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Ramos
    Dec 7, 2010
    40
    Genre movies like The Warrior's Way are all about pleasing core fan boys. While the film claims dazzling visuals, Lee fails to deliver the type of never-before-seen martial arts fights fans demand.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Dec 6, 2010
    30
    South Korean filmmaker Sngmoo Lee's debut feature is less a genre-spanning romp than a tiresome lab experiment in computer-generated tropes and green-screen oppressiveness.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    I'm having a hard time understanding the low Critic Review average. This is beauty through artistry via sword play. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and have watched it a few times. The wild west makes it an interesting take on the genre, but what really makes this film stand out is it's artistic elements, similar to 300. The action scenes are very well directed, invoking memories of The Matrix, while the heroes are bad-ass in a fun and interesting way. The movie itself is amusing with subtle self recognizing cheese. -- But the best is the ending -- The final fight is a good 30 minutes, never dull or numbing, and with some fantastically memorable scenes. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    You have got to be in a mood for this kind of movies, the kind that touches surrealism. It very well made, very good cast and it is very entertaining all the way from the start. Collapse
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I liked this movie when I saw it in theaters at its release. I recently purchased the DVD. It is an abstract genre of filmmaking that is visually stunning and intriguing story. It didn't make enough money to cover its production cost, still I hope a series is being considered. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    The basic premise of this film is that the "World's Greatest Swordsman" escapes from his life in the East with a baby girl, the last of a feuding clan whom he refused to kill, and goes to seek out an old friend in the middle of the American West. His clan in turn follows him there so as to kill him for his betrayal. However things in his new life are much like his old one as the swordsman has to deal with odd carnies and an army of outlaws.

    I went into this thinking that it was but a copy of Ninja Assassin with an Old West feel. While I still got that vibe, I recognized the subtle influences of For a Few Dollars More and a bit of Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus, two movies that I particularly enjoyed. The combination of the four to me created a film that is of cult status, which I suspect it was designed as such from the start given its limited budget.
    Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    6
    It was a fun movie. Visually entertaining and enjoyable. As long as you go in knowing what to expect, you shouldn't be disappointed. As long as you can get past the mushy part and some of the, more creative, action, you'll probably enjoy this. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2011
    5
    I was disappointed with this movie. The trailer made it seem like a more action packed movie than it was. Geoffrey Rush was good, but the character was a waste of his talents. I'm not a fan of Kate Bosworth, but she was decent in it. Visually, it was pretty incredible, and the main actor was really good. So I didn't hate it, but I felt let down by it. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    0
    For many years I have been a martial arts practitioner and movies enthusiast. Hear my advise: DO NOT spend your money watching this movie. If you want to watch it, wait until it comes out on free TV. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers