Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 2006
2.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
23
Negative:
133
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarkG.Sep 2, 2006
This was a good time, a failed horror, a mediocre mystery, but a hilarious possibly unintentional comedy. It was a fun movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kitAug 21, 2007
The funniest film you'll ever see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JosephBSep 11, 2006
People are unjustly attacking a decent film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pixilizationsApr 11, 2013
What's in the bag, a shark or something?
This movie is undoubtedly the greatest achievement in cinema history. Nicolas "Not The Bees" Cage plays a troubled detective- but that doesn't really matter. The true achievement is not in the story,
What's in the bag, a shark or something?
This movie is undoubtedly the greatest achievement in cinema history. Nicolas "Not The Bees" Cage plays a troubled detective- but that doesn't really matter. The true achievement is not in the story, but in the acting and the writing- oh god, the writing. With such memorable lines as "Killing me won't bring back your goddamn honey" and "Step away from the bike".
But seriously, if you go into this with the intent of laughing, you will.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
HannaA-LOct 20, 2007
This movie was so much better than the original. Move with the times everyone, lame folk music and slow slow SLOW plots are not interesting to the modern audience. The original was alright, but the 2006 one was SO much slicker, had better This movie was so much better than the original. Move with the times everyone, lame folk music and slow slow SLOW plots are not interesting to the modern audience. The original was alright, but the 2006 one was SO much slicker, had better symbolism and imagery. Nic Cage was amazing, and so were the rest of the cast. This is one of my favourite films. The only reason people gave it such a bagging was because they are stuck in the past and can't accept modern ideas and that movie making has changed in the past thirty years. It is definitely a 10. Well done Nic Cage. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
VFSteinFeb 13, 2011
Honestly, the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. Cage's acting really brings it home. When he's screaming "THE BEES THE BEES" there is really this scene of truth and pain to the character. Spectacular. An absolute masterpiece.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ninja_dolphinMay 27, 2014
This is undeniably terrible movie, but with one redeeming factor in the form of Nicolas Cage. The movie starts off slow and boring but eventually more and more insane stuff starts too happen. Highlights include: Nic Cage punching a women, nicThis is undeniably terrible movie, but with one redeeming factor in the form of Nicolas Cage. The movie starts off slow and boring but eventually more and more insane stuff starts too happen. Highlights include: Nic Cage punching a women, nic cage running around in a bear suit, nic cage punching women in a bear suit, HOW'D IT GET BURNED! and of course NOT THE BEES!

This is one of the most unintentionally hilarious movies ever and if you get a few friends together (or buy the rifftrax commentary) then you will undoubtedly have a good time!

As a horror movie this is a 2 or 3 out of 10, but as a comedy this is hilarious and a sure fire 8.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MantoothL.Sep 18, 2006
The funniest movie you will see all year. It's up there with Showgirls as far as unintentional humour is concerned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 28, 2007
I am shocked at the hatred towards this film. I found it to be very interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MiguelG.Sep 22, 2006
An average thriller that I enjoyed
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AzurimOct 7, 2014
I started watching "The Wicker Man" because it is "the worst movie with Nicolas Cage". That got me curious. And I was very surprised that I liked it and I would like to explain why. This is a true horror movie for grown-ups. You see, childrenI started watching "The Wicker Man" because it is "the worst movie with Nicolas Cage". That got me curious. And I was very surprised that I liked it and I would like to explain why. This is a true horror movie for grown-ups. You see, children are afraid of Freddy, of ghosts, zombies and all kinds of magical monsters that presumably live under their bed. But as we grow up we tend to understand that such monsters do not exist in real life. In Wicker Man we are presented with real monsters, horrible beings that are much scarier to me than any life-leaching ghoul or vurdalak. And the scariest part is that these beings really DO exist in the world, perhaps in a slightly different form. These monsters are...women... oops! Just joking here. Religious fanatics. Some people are so mentally handicapped that they believe that killing someone will make a better harvest. This is what happens when you let all kinds of **** persist in the air. And, frankly speaking, this part of humanity scares the **** out of me. So I wouldn't say it's the best movie, but it has a believable plot, with just a few minor flaws and decent acting. And even if this is the worst movie with Nicolas Cage, It's still a good movie which is damn impressive! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
opinionatethisOct 22, 2016
This movie as a horror movie is not even close to being in anyway a logical, concise or even a remotely frightening experience. But as an unintentional comedy, it is glorious. Loved every moment of Nick Cage not being able to have a decentThis movie as a horror movie is not even close to being in anyway a logical, concise or even a remotely frightening experience. But as an unintentional comedy, it is glorious. Loved every moment of Nick Cage not being able to have a decent conversation with any of the towns women. Especially any conversation with the young housemaid or Sister Willow. Hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews