Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soonJiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeperI recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    Great plot, wonderfully brilliant animation detail, excellent audio choice. Most of the audio for the sound effects were done by voice insteadGreat plot, wonderfully brilliant animation detail, excellent audio choice. Most of the audio for the sound effects were done by voice instead of sound generation. Like all of Miyazaki's films, this movie has everything. Comedy, drama, tragedy, natural disaster, and a sense of the unreal.
    This movie is a true farewell from Miyazaki, and the ending left me feeling as upset as when I first heard he was retiring. Literally brought me to tears!
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Miyazaki's fascination with airplanes is very clear that his last work, which happens to be one of the most mature and amazing I've ever seen.Miyazaki's fascination with airplanes is very clear that his last work, which happens to be one of the most mature and amazing I've ever seen. . Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Giving justice for Miyazaki was not an intricate dilemma for the film, The Wind Rises, to execute. It was a heartbreaking, soulful,Giving justice for Miyazaki was not an intricate dilemma for the film, The Wind Rises, to execute. It was a heartbreaking, soulful, well-delivered and tear-cracking way for the great animated film maestro to end his career. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Though not entirely on par with Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, it is a well written and gorgeously animated film that shows theThough not entirely on par with Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, it is a well written and gorgeously animated film that shows the pursuit of ones dreams and the perversions that they can be subjected to, as well a fitting send off to one of the greatest animated film directors of any era. Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    7
    Be aware before watching 'The Wind Rises' that this is most definitely not in the same vein of some of the other more popularly known GhibliBe aware before watching 'The Wind Rises' that this is most definitely not in the same vein of some of the other more popularly known Ghibli films such as 'Spirited Away' and 'Howls Moving Castle'. The Wind Rises is much more adult and serious in tone, despite still retaining a lot of your usual Ghibli magic. This is much more similar to Grave of the Fireflies in terms of the story it has to tell.

    That said however, by looking at this comparison I feel you can see where this film does not quite stand up as one of the best Ghibli films. The film seems a little unsure about itself at times. Considering it's about the chief engineer Jiro Horikoshi who designed many Japanese fighter planes used during World War 2 it seems odd that the film chooses not to go into any depth on the moral issues of a man who would create machines used for such death and destruction. Instead the film portrays him as a rather straightforward man, kind and compassionate, with a love for creating aircraft's. Despite a few glimpses of moral doubt it felt like the film choose to pull punches in that sense, which in turn made the film feel oddly flat in tone, a movie about a serious topic, dealt with in a non-serious manner.

    This may not be one of the best Ghibli films in my opinion, but 'The Wind Rises' just goes to show that even a lesser Ghibli film is of a terribly high standard. The visuals are gorgeous, the music beautiful as always, and some scenes are truly captivating.

    I can certainly recommend 'The Wind Rises', go in with an open mind and don't expect another 'Spirited Away' and you might just love it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his filmI love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.