Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
  • Director: Hayao Miyazaki
  • Genre(s): Biography, Drama, History, Romance, War, Animation
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 126 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    The Wind Rises is a very good film that is different from most of Miyazaki's movies. The plot is more realistic and steeped in history than most, and the film isn't really directed at children at all. People have pointed out certain beefs that they might have with Jiro or Naoko's personalities and character, but I don't see this as a problem because people in reality are imperfect and are unique in their own ways. To me, the film is touching and thought-provoking. I'd recommend this film to anyone. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    To say this film is beautiful is an understatement. Miyazaki weaves a story with a lot of awesome characters and some of the best animation I've seen in a long while.

    To cut to the most controversial point, the film does NOT attempt to make Japan's actions or the actions of the Axis Powers seem just, even going as far as some of the characters saying "if Japan does this, we will burn." The movie does not attempt to separate right and wrong in WWII, but focuses on a much more personal tale of a man's ambitions to build beautiful planes.

    On a lighter note, the film is brilliantly animated and directed. The dreams of the protagonist flow smoothly into the narrative, and the overall story and meaning is quite a bit deeper than what I expected. The English dub is also quite good, having much more voice talent than I was expecting. Overall, this movie is amazingly done, and I would even say that it should have won the Oscar over Frozen
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    Studio Ghibli's latest anime movie. I was totally heart broke when I heard it is Mr. Miyazaki's final movie. Then I was thoroughly prepared to enjoy every piece of it and indeed I did. What a great piece of work as being in his 70s, definitely a farewell masterpiece. A most matured movie, I mean for the first time a movie for grownups that had contents children won't fit in to enjoy from the studio as well from the director.

    It was just like the movie 'The Aviator'. A boy, Jiro Horikoshi, who aspires to contribute his skills to upgrade the aircraft technology who was actually inspired by the Italian aircraft designer Caproni. At his young age, he excels in the field that leads him to grab an opportunity to work with the nation's most renowned aircraft manufacturer. His life mixed with dreams and reality makes him a better man among his coworker. Everyone believed that he's a workaholic, but he surprises all by falling in love. The movie explained his ambition, passion towards aircrafts and his romantic life as well as the dreams that make him to believe everything is feasible.

    ‘‘Airplanes are beautiful cursed dreams...
    waiting for the sky to swallow them up’’

    There are very few so far in the history of filmmaking that animation borrowed story from biographies. This was way better than what live shot movie would have offered to the viewers. Especially this story had few dream scenes, like a fantasy that we had seen in 'The Lovely Bones'. Those were really well done, a trademark that usually we find in all of Hayao Miyazaki movies. If you are a fan of his work, then it will be a delightful 2 hour long treat for sure. I had the experience of watching this like watching the final match of the FIFA world cup. I could never ask better than this.

    Kind of inspiring theme about engineering work and a message teller about non-violence. That this movie was set during the world war, including Japan's involvement in the affair. So there were many dialogues that delivers against the idea of war, like, the famous Caproni regrets that his invention was misused in the wars. The movie had lots of smoking scenes, as it sets in and around the 20s that was fine because people did in those times. After all, like I said earlier, it is for adult, even if parents allow their kids to watch they may fall in boredom. So I see there's no controversy to drag on.

    ‘‘Engineers turn dream into reality’’

    There were few sentiments, it appeals strongly during the end portion. The end also leaves lots of questions about what could have happened afterwards, especially Jiro's Romance life. Someway it gives the impression of happy ending and in another way slightly hurts. A finely balanced grand finale. Those were the seconds (the time) I was not desired for because no more Miyazaki's movie to see afterwards. I believed the end of a great era of him and studio Ghibli together. Overall, gives the satisfaction of watching a man's true story, his romantic life, involvement in achieving the dream and got a place in his country's history. Now the director showed it to the rest of the world in a beautiful manner. Thank you Hayao Miyazaki for all your contributions, I always keep loving your great works. Enjoy your rest of the life.
    Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    Presentato in concorso alla 70a Mostra internazionale d'arte cinematografica di Venezia e candidato al premio Oscar come miglior film d'animazione, “Si alza il vento” rappresenta l'opera più realista, matura e intima di Hayao Miyazaki, pioniere dello Studio Ghibli. Annunciando il suo ritiro, Miyazaki si congeda con i titoli di coda del suo ultimo capolavoro, trasportandoci in una corrente emozionale che oscilla tra realtà e finzione. “Si alza il vento” rispecchia i sentimenti più profondi del regista quasi fosse una proiezione di se stesso nei panni del protagonista, toccando i temi a lui più cari (l'odio nei confronti della guerra, il volo, l'amore per la vita e per le donne), in quello che potremmo definire un commovente testamento autobiografico. Per la prima volta, Miyazaki abbandona la meravigliosa visione fantastica delle sue produzioni passate e la sua forte attenzione nei confronti dell'infanzia, per lasciar spazio a tematiche più profonde e dolorose, mirate a far riflettere un pubblico più adulto, lasciandoci con un messaggio ben chiaro: nonostante tutto, pur calpestando le macerie di ciò che con fatica abbiamo costruito e inseguito per una vita intera, bisogna tentare di vivere. Salvo sorprese, torneremo a parlare di Miyazaki a novembre, mese in cui l'Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences gli conferirà l'Oscar onorario alla carriera.

    “Si alza il vento” è la storia di un giovane visionario, Jirō Horikoshi, che insegue il proprio sogno: diventare un pilota d'aerei. Impedito a realizzarlo a causa della sua miopia, ritrova l'entusiasmo incontrando durante un sogno il famoso progettista d'aerei Giovanni Caproni che lo sprona a far emergere il suo talento. Cinque anni più tardi, a bordo di un treno diretto a Tokyo, un soffio di vento fa volar via il cappello di Jirō, preso al volo da una ragazza di nome Nahoko. Pochi attimi dopo, durante il viaggio, il devastante terremoto di Kanto (1923) semina caos e distruzione, costringendo il treno a fermarsi. Jirō si prende cura della domestica che accompagna Nahoko, rimasta ferita nell'incidente, scortandole sino a casa per poi riprendere il proprio cammino che lo porterà a terminare gli studi come ingegnere aeronautico prima di raggiungere importanti traguardi con i propri progetti cartacei. Il destino farà incontrare casualmente Jirō e Nahoko dieci anni più tardi. Da quel momento in poi, la ragazza si prenderà cura dell'amato, accecato dal proprio sogno, che lo spingerà a realizzare “involontariamente” i nuovi velivoli usati durante la seconda guerra mondiale dai kamikaze nipponici.

    Senza ombra di dubbio “Si alza il vento” è il prodotto più atipico di Miyazaki ma non per questo lo si deve considerare inferiore agli altri successi che gli hanno permesso di vincere importanti premi a livello mondiale. Un film che lascia pensare, scorrevole e intenso per le due ore di proiezione che ci hanno dato molti spunti riflessivi, sfogliando assieme a Jirō le pagine più drammatiche della storia giapponese e non solo. Un'uscita in gran stile per Hayao Miyazaki, accompagnato dal tema “Hikōki Gumo” di Yumi Matsutoya, e dalle note malinconiche del compositore Joe Hisaishi. Ci sarebbe molto altro di cui parlare ma è giusto lasciar alla vostra curiosità ciò che (volontariamente) ho voluto trascurare in questa recensione, per un film che non ha ricevuto i riconoscimenti che meritava, a fronte di ciò che rappresenta per il regista stesso. Grazie SENSEI!
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2014
    7
    Be aware before watching 'The Wind Rises' that this is most definitely not in the same vein of some of the other more popularly known Ghibli films such as 'Spirited Away' and 'Howls Moving Castle'. The Wind Rises is much more adult and serious in tone, despite still retaining a lot of your usual Ghibli magic. This is much more similar to Grave of the Fireflies in terms of the story it has to tell.

    That said however, by looking at this comparison I feel you can see where this film does not quite stand up as one of the best Ghibli films. The film seems a little unsure about itself at times. Considering it's about the chief engineer Jiro Horikoshi who designed many Japanese fighter planes used during World War 2 it seems odd that the film chooses not to go into any depth on the moral issues of a man who would create machines used for such death and destruction. Instead the film portrays him as a rather straightforward man, kind and compassionate, with a love for creating aircraft's. Despite a few glimpses of moral doubt it felt like the film choose to pull punches in that sense, which in turn made the film feel oddly flat in tone, a movie about a serious topic, dealt with in a non-serious manner.

    This may not be one of the best Ghibli films in my opinion, but 'The Wind Rises' just goes to show that even a lesser Ghibli film is of a terribly high standard. The visuals are gorgeous, the music beautiful as always, and some scenes are truly captivating.

    I can certainly recommend 'The Wind Rises', go in with an open mind and don't expect another 'Spirited Away' and you might just love it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.