Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
  • Director: Hayao Miyazaki
  • Genre(s): Biography, Drama, History, Romance, War, Animation
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 126 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    Miyazaki's fascination with airplanes is very clear that his last work, which happens to be one of the most mature and amazing I've ever seen. . Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    To say this film is beautiful is an understatement. Miyazaki weaves a story with a lot of awesome characters and some of the best animation I've seen in a long while.

    To cut to the most controversial point, the film does NOT attempt to make Japan's actions or the actions of the Axis Powers seem just, even going as far as some of the characters saying "if Japan does this, we will burn." The movie does not attempt to separate right and wrong in WWII, but focuses on a much more personal tale of a man's ambitions to build beautiful planes.

    On a lighter note, the film is brilliantly animated and directed. The dreams of the protagonist flow smoothly into the narrative, and the overall story and meaning is quite a bit deeper than what I expected. The English dub is also quite good, having much more voice talent than I was expecting. Overall, this movie is amazingly done, and I would even say that it should have won the Oscar over Frozen
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Giving justice for Miyazaki was not an intricate dilemma for the film, The Wind Rises, to execute. It was a heartbreaking, soulful, well-delivered and tear-cracking way for the great animated film maestro to end his career. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    “”The Wind Rises” is an animated feature written and directed by the acclaimed Japanese illustrator, Hayao Miyazaki. This is Mr. Miyazaki’s last animated film and, indeed, the filmgoing community is the lesser for it. The graphics contained in this film are breathtaking and as beautiful to view as one can imagine. The film tells the life story of one of the world’s greatest aircraft engineers, Jiro Hurikushi, as it follows his career as a near sighted boy who dreams of flying but, because of his poor eyesight, is forced to vicariously enjoy his passion by designing airplanes instead, The film chronicles Mr. Hurikushi’s life through Japan’s great earthquake in the early 20th Century, the massive tuberculosis epidemic and its great depression and is as enlightening as it is entertaining. The film is offered on two different screens, one with the original dialogue (with English subtitles) and the other with the English dubbed in. See the technically perfect dubbed in version with actor Joseph Gordon-Lewitt as Jiro and Emily Blunt as Naoko, the love of his life. The movie comes as near to perfect as possible but for one problem. It is too long and looking at my watch during the approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes was a distraction. As has so often been said, when the writer also assumes the role of director, it is like a parent trying to edit out the performances of his children….a difficult task that requires more objectivity than dedication and proves that too much of a good thing necessarily isn’t. With all of that being said, the film is nevertheless a lovely theatrical viewing experience and one that will be as enjoyable for its adult audience to see as it will be for the children who accompany them. I give the film a rating of 9 as this cinematic endeavor, like the wind in the title, will take the viewer to new and exciting heights. It is also a fitting farewell to Mr. Miyazaki and his own career as one of the world’s greatest animators. Collapse
  6. May 12, 2014
    8
    The animation is pure Miyazaki, but the story isn't. We don't get any of the magic of Spirited Away nor the epics of Princess Mononoke - still, what we get is perhaps another strong statement about how animated films are not only meant for children (which is something already well assessed in Japan).

    The visuals are incredible as always, more beautiful than any CGI could create, but we're sort of left questioning ourselves why Miyazaki has chosen for his last film such a radical change of direction as regarding themes. Nevertheless, turning a figure like the protagonist's (he could look like a war criminal to many) into a dreamer who "only wanted to create something beautiful" is a bold move, and at least it has purpose. Don't forget that Miyazaki's previous themes (environment, communion with nature, and, especially in Howl's Moving Castle, hatred for war) should act as a deterrent for those who think this movie glorifies war. At most it glorifies Japan.

    I'm just sad this was a swansong. Let's hope he thinks twice and gets back to drawing. Meanwhile, we've got his son, whose From Up on Poppy Hill is really on the same page as The Wind Rises.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.