Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 26, 2013
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 873 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
546
Mixed:
229
Negative:
98
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
millerfarrowJul 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While watching The Wolverine, I was reminded of another Marvel movie, Spider-Man 2. The two films showed how the powers given to our heroes effect them. But in Spider-Man 2 unlike The Wolverine, this story is well explored and done. In Spider-Man 2 there's an actual struggle. Peter wants to be with Mary Jane and not disappoint her all the time. However, at the same time the city needs him. He thinks back to what Uncle Ben told him about "With great power, comes great responsibility." In The Wolverine, the story is done horribly. We're showed why Logan doesn't want to be immortal anymore which links back to X-Men: The Last Stand. Even with that it feels vague and forced because we are constantly reminded. Going back to there being no struggle, at a certain point in the movie Logan decides it's time to get his powers back. I mean it's makes sense, since Mariko was kidnapped. But it all felt half-baked. Now I know it's unfair to compare it to Spider-Man 2. Now I'll just go ahead and look at the movie for what it's trying to accomplish. The movie started out promising. The scene where Logan saves Yashida and the beginning showing him as a drifter laid interesting groundwork. The scene where everyone is attending Yashida's funeral is where things really started to slide. From there we fallow Logan's and Mariko's relationship which is incredibly forced. After a few scenes of them just interacting, they arrive at a home of Mariko's. Then they fall in love like that. The movie concludes with Mariko being kidnapped and Logan has to get his powers back to save. The final act of this movie is one big mess. A lot of the time you're going, really? Especially with the final plot twist. Some of this has to do with the villains. They are generic and uninteresting. This brings me back to my next point, the acting. Hugh Jackman is good as always. In this particular film he really gets to bring the animal out in his character. Rila Fukushima as Yariko didn't do it for me at first. She felt really bland. But as the movie went on I started to like her more and more. The rest of the cast is stale. With the exception of the train scene, the action was just there. It didn't do anything for me. I didn't care about anything going on with the plot. It just wasn't interesting. So in the end. The Wolverine suffers from mostly bad acting, generic villains, almost non existent character development, dull plot, and bad story. Expand
17 of 22 users found this helpful175
All this user's reviews
3
NathonasAug 10, 2013
This movie is bad, plain and simple. Better than "Wolverine:Origins", but that's not saying much. The story is completely irrelevant and flat. The villains are generic and uninspired. The romance plot is forced and unbelievable. The stakesThis movie is bad, plain and simple. Better than "Wolverine:Origins", but that's not saying much. The story is completely irrelevant and flat. The villains are generic and uninspired. The romance plot is forced and unbelievable. The stakes and character development are non-existent. The action is dry, shaky, bloodless and cartoonish. I feel bad for Hugh Jackman for once again not getting the script that he deserves. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
RamonGuerreroMay 2, 2014
This is how you ruin an amazing character who was part of an amazing franchise. The Wolverine is overly boring, with a ridiculous screenplay, laughable action sequences and awful nonsense villains.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
McLaughlinViewsAug 20, 2013
Yet another money grabbing film from the X-Men universe. The Wolverine is a terrible film, I'm even tempted to say that it was worse than X-Men Last Stand. The Wolverine which is essentially a two hour waste of time to see a post credit sceneYet another money grabbing film from the X-Men universe. The Wolverine is a terrible film, I'm even tempted to say that it was worse than X-Men Last Stand. The Wolverine which is essentially a two hour waste of time to see a post credit scene that lasts around 30 seconds to set up "Days of Future Past".

The Wolverine is another attempt to give Wolverine a decent stand alone film. Both times, frankly, have failed miserably. Wolverine is given a pointless and c***py assistant, who's part in the film is just a waste of time. Despite all of the rubbish that happens, the plot which is just stupid.

I did enjoy seeing the darker, angrier Wolverine from the comics coming alive, in this film. But that is the only good thing about this film, and it is only really seen for about 20 minutes, if that.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
cliffordcanDec 2, 2013
This movie was horrible! It was worse than X-Men Origins: The Wolverine! I can't imagine how people liked it! It was slow, boring & didn't even make sense. All the characters besides Wolverine were not memorable in the slightest. I wasThis movie was horrible! It was worse than X-Men Origins: The Wolverine! I can't imagine how people liked it! It was slow, boring & didn't even make sense. All the characters besides Wolverine were not memorable in the slightest. I was laughing out loud about how cheesy it was & my wife fell asleep. All these good reviews must be BS as this movie has no redeeming qualities outside of the X-Men: Days of Future Past preview during the credits. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
ShishirAug 10, 2013
I was expecting a lot from The wolverine. This movie is totally disappointing. The story was not up to the mark. Moreover, there were lots of other villains that can be chosen. Overall it was boring too.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
StudivanJul 29, 2013
When will Hollywood understand that most people don't go to see a wolverine or superman or even batman movie to see them get a piece of ass, the whole half hour to forty five minutes of character development leading up to a simple sex actWhen will Hollywood understand that most people don't go to see a wolverine or superman or even batman movie to see them get a piece of ass, the whole half hour to forty five minutes of character development leading up to a simple sex act is boring.
Also please stop with the I'm losing my powers through 90 minutes of the movie and now I got them back for the last 10 minutes of the movie, been there done that.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
alienchaosJul 27, 2013
I was so hoping for a good one finally...alas, no. The first 30 minutes or so are fine. But, once we start arcing to the middle of the movie plus the lack of an effective protagonist along with one of the most lame mutant villains ever (theI was so hoping for a good one finally...alas, no. The first 30 minutes or so are fine. But, once we start arcing to the middle of the movie plus the lack of an effective protagonist along with one of the most lame mutant villains ever (the doc whose powers (if you can call them that) don't contribute to the story line at all) causes the alarms to begin ringing. The movie is so formulaic as was Iron Man 3 as was Avengers as was...The plot truly makes no sense but you do have to look beneath the surface. Just scratch it a little and you will see the lack of plot integrity. Finally, the big finale was so ridiculous and I have seen this exact story line in so many of these movies. It is pretty nearly identical to Guy Pearce's part in Prometheus for instance. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
3
noco71Jul 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One very good action scene on top of the train but that was about it. Hugh Hackman gave it his all as ever but the movie just dragged on way too much. The rest of the action scenes were not well filmed at all. The iron ninja at the end is just stupid and unnecessary. I think a lack of star power also killed this movie though. Apart from Jackman there is no one recognizable in the movie. Not always a bad thing but this movie was crying out for a charismatic well fleshed out villain. The big reveal at the end is seen coming from a mile away. The character deserves a better director and story but I think this may well put the final death nail on the coffin for stand alone Wolverine movies. Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
3
tomtjokJul 29, 2013
I'm quite disappointed with this movie. I was comparing it with the comic and animation's story (the wolverine chapter in Japan). I believe those ones are much better than the movie. they have deeper and well written plot. The directorI'm quite disappointed with this movie. I was comparing it with the comic and animation's story (the wolverine chapter in Japan). I believe those ones are much better than the movie. they have deeper and well written plot. The director obviously could not get wolverine at all. Logan seems clueless but in the same time the story does not bring out the character. it was good enough in the beginning, well at least the first 30 minutes. But the rest...is just lame. Such a waste of Jackman and Hiroyuki Sanada's good acting. I can't feel the Japan/Ninja/ or Samurai's vibe at all in here. Waiting for a climax factor which never been found until the end. At least Xmen origin: Wolverine was quite okay and entertaining. This one is boring. And the last fight? Well.. that including the main villain and the mutant girl are just so wrong. So I believe this movie is much less than I'd expected. It just needs a much better director Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
swamptechJul 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hard to believe a film could make Wolverine:Origins seem like a decent film. I have no clue how a character such as Wolverine, who's foundation was cemented in the Frank Miller mini series cannon, can be botched this badly. The work (story, mood, sub-plots, characters, etc) had already been done.....how could you screw this up?

The movie rambles pointlessly after Logan gets to Japan and never completes until it ruins Logan's experience in Japan, the Silver Samurai character, and needlessly introduces the Viper character (what was the point of her molting and taking off her outfit......only to put it back on and be in the same form?). This movie makes my head hurt
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
Tashy497Jul 28, 2013
Horrible.... The first Wolverine was fun, this one was incredibly boring. It felt like it was watered down for kids, when he'd stab someone it'd not show any blood... just a close up of either Logan or bad guys face reacting to it. TheHorrible.... The first Wolverine was fun, this one was incredibly boring. It felt like it was watered down for kids, when he'd stab someone it'd not show any blood... just a close up of either Logan or bad guys face reacting to it. The characters were weak, Viper was a crap actor and they voiced over her lines because I felt like I was watching an old Kung Fu movie. Logan's love interest was just stupid. Maybe I'm just had higher expectations after watching Superman. The first Wolverine was great, and I've seen it many times. This movie just lacked any fun qualities and the characters were boring. Expand
14 of 20 users found this helpful146
All this user's reviews
1
greygooseJul 26, 2013
I thought Die Hard 5 was the worst movie I'd see this year. But I was wrong. The Wolverine was worse. It's like Kill Bill without the fun. Or the revenge. It's like that episode of Lost where Jack goes to Thailand to get a tattoo. It'sI thought Die Hard 5 was the worst movie I'd see this year. But I was wrong. The Wolverine was worse. It's like Kill Bill without the fun. Or the revenge. It's like that episode of Lost where Jack goes to Thailand to get a tattoo. It's boring. It's poorly written. It's pointless. Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
0
Gary64Aug 25, 2013
Horrible !
Silver Samurai armor
sword
Viper
Ninja
story
action
The Wolverine
omg
everything
all horrible

too many Marvel Comics
I don't like superheroes
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
BoltfrowahDec 7, 2013
This was an obvious stroke film for guys that like Asian women. And at what point did the Wolverine become an absolute weak that doesn't crush his opponents either through decapitation or through extreme bloody violence. This movie was anThis was an obvious stroke film for guys that like Asian women. And at what point did the Wolverine become an absolute weak that doesn't crush his opponents either through decapitation or through extreme bloody violence. This movie was an insult to the comic book series, and the studios need to stop now. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
SpazeGoatAug 10, 2013
Oh boy, where do I begin? Let's start by saying that The Wolverine is comprised of 75% boring filler; the entire movie could have been done in 30 minutes and would have probably turned out better too. Honestly, I couldn't wait for it to beOh boy, where do I begin? Let's start by saying that The Wolverine is comprised of 75% boring filler; the entire movie could have been done in 30 minutes and would have probably turned out better too. Honestly, I couldn't wait for it to be over! It didn't look or feel like an X-Men movie at all. There was only 2.5 mutants in the entire movie. Two and a half because one of them just had completely lame powers. At first I thought it might be neat to have a Japanese setting. I was ultimately wrong, as the movie quickly turned into crouch-rockets and samurai swords. The dialogue was boring, and the Japanese accents eventually made Hugh Jackman look completely out of place. The action parts were good, but it's nothing you haven't already seen. The plot seems like it was chosen out of a hat. The story starts off good, but it gradually gets worse the entire movie. The movie just felt very tired. Overall, I give The Wolverine 3/10. It just didn't deliver and felt like a pointless part of the series. How anyone could give this movie a positive review is beyond me. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
emeraldstormAug 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was an incredible disappointment. Corny, campy, unrealistic (yes, even for a sci-fi movie) in terms of both plot, character, action sequences, etc. The costume for the female antagonist was terrible. Like a costume out of the 80's. Oh, and Ninjas.. Lots of corn-ball, 1980's ninjas running around and doing unnecessary flips. There are too many stupid little things to mention. A stupid little movie. The acting was OK, and Hugh Jackman was fantastic as always.. but terrible plot really. This movie is actually a 3, but there are a lot of BS reviews of this movie, I think by some paid company and they need to be offset. This movie should NOT be green. It should be Mixed/Orange. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
JohnnyCJul 26, 2013
Is there not a director out there that can get a grip on the wolverine? Hugh jackman keeps this from being a total loss, but the story and tone are all over the place. A good moment is lost to numerous dull and botched scenes. I know theIs there not a director out there that can get a grip on the wolverine? Hugh jackman keeps this from being a total loss, but the story and tone are all over the place. A good moment is lost to numerous dull and botched scenes. I know the studio wanted to avoid a R rating, but the lack of blood from all of wolverine's slashing is laughable. An improvement over the origins film, but rent this if you really have to see it. Expand
14 of 25 users found this helpful1411
All this user's reviews
3
TheFullRetardJul 28, 2013
Awful. Just plain awful. Making a tortured-soul-identity-crisis-movie with Wolverine? Who would ever think that would work?
God, that plot reminded me of Max Payne 3, it's roughly the same useless story, where the protagonist, according o
Awful. Just plain awful. Making a tortured-soul-identity-crisis-movie with Wolverine? Who would ever think that would work?
God, that plot reminded me of Max Payne 3, it's roughly the same useless story, where the protagonist, according o his background and personality, shouldn't be giving a damn about all the people who just come out of nowhere, grab him, put him somewhere far away from home, and try to communicate with him, pretending that something very big and meaningful is happening. The truth is, nothing is really happening, at least, nothing that couldn't be explained in a ten-minute sequence rather than a two-hour parade of boredom.
Action scenes are dull and unsophisticated, with CGI so badly made that my eyes were starting to hurt. I've never thought that an action scene with someone like Logan could make me fall asleep, but this movie made me change my mind. Great job.
All of this was worth seeing only because of the little two-minute sequence after the credits. Now I'm just keeping my fingers crossed for "The Days Of The Future Past".
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
aristolholyJul 27, 2013
bad movie, its not like other xmen series, this one is just like normal action movie with sword, gun, etc
no original xmen fight with supernatural power, just fighting with sowrd, gun ,etc
omg its just not like xmen
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
0
ishkaJul 29, 2013
This movie is so bad that it is a disgrace to contemporary cinema art in all its forms whether it's acting, plot, cinematography or editing. The plot of the film is so lame and disgusting that I want to just ask yourself, "What is worth allThis movie is so bad that it is a disgrace to contemporary cinema art in all its forms whether it's acting, plot, cinematography or editing. The plot of the film is so lame and disgusting that I want to just ask yourself, "What is worth all this?". All the characters are so stupid, and their actions are so incomprehensible to me that you just want to get away and not watch all this nonsense that is happening on the screen. Expand
12 of 26 users found this helpful1214
All this user's reviews
0
zoubJul 30, 2013
i was expecting more from that film. the first one has more action scenes. this one is so boring. i regret to have waste my money on that film... do not waste your time on this film..go see pacific rim its way much better. also the only thingi was expecting more from that film. the first one has more action scenes. this one is so boring. i regret to have waste my money on that film... do not waste your time on this film..go see pacific rim its way much better. also the only thing he cut in this movie is paper walls and wood....very disappointing.. Expand
10 of 22 users found this helpful1012
All this user's reviews
3
ChosenOneJul 26, 2013
Overall plot of this movie is not bad. That's why I give a "3", not "1". Wolverine: origins was 8/10 for me. But this new film is 85% some of the stupidiest dialogs I ever heard, and 15% of cheap action. And worst of all Wolverine is notOverall plot of this movie is not bad. That's why I give a "3", not "1". Wolverine: origins was 8/10 for me. But this new film is 85% some of the stupidiest dialogs I ever heard, and 15% of cheap action. And worst of all Wolverine is not immortal badass in this movie. Just some romantic guy picking up japanese chicks. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
3
kalidazeAug 3, 2013
I kid you not the absolute best part of this movie is after the credits has rolled and Marvel gives its fans a glimpse of the next X-men. THANK YOU FOR THE HOPE!!! I had to clap for that after credits clip.

So, let me dive straight into
I kid you not the absolute best part of this movie is after the credits has rolled and Marvel gives its fans a glimpse of the next X-men. THANK YOU FOR THE HOPE!!! I had to clap for that after credits clip.

So, let me dive straight into this review and sum this movie up in a way that HOPEFULLY everyone can relate to. Ok, you know how Fast and Furious's first two movies were excellent and you couldn't wait to see the next installment? Then you went to the theaters to see part 3 and you left the theatre with a question mark over your head thinking "what the hell did I just watch? What point was this movie trying to make? What the hell did this movie do to add to the Fast and Furious story? And why the hell are we in Tokyo!!??"

These are the same exact questions you will wonder after finishing The Wolverine.... And yes, just like Tokyo drift Marvel sends us to Japan to brush up on Japanese traditions and learn how not to insult residents.

To sum up, this movie is just pointless... Pointless plot, pointless villains and pointless protagonist. All equaling a pointless movie. Yesssss I understand the point was to show how Wolverine gets over Jean. But did we really need to see this whole movie in order to arrive to that point?
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
jesterx7769Nov 22, 2013
Don't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen moviesDon't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen movies every "X" amount of years to maintain the rights. I literally laughed out lout a few times the movie is THAT bad. I have a hard time believing any of the positive reviews aren't a joke. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
ShabbychicJan 5, 2014
This was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, butThis was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, but this movie ruined the franchise. The actors were really bad and such a silly ending, this movie needed better fight scenes, actors, and plot...fire the director! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
WadeVSSep 25, 2013
Embarrassingly awful. I cringed throughout the whole thing. I so wanted it to be good. Bad acting and stale plot. The whole just felt incredibly done before.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
colilla1972Aug 5, 2013
I love the wolverine comics and this movie, sad but true, it is far too bad to share the same name of the franchise. Bad direction, bad script, a lot of no senses.... This movie made Die Hard 5 looks good
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
sirkelNov 7, 2013
Well the movie reminded me of a 80's cheesy film. Jackman did a good job with his acting, but everything else was cheesy, predictable, and some what boring. I mean Ninjas on motorbikes on top of the roofs and on a snowy ice cover roof atWell the movie reminded me of a 80's cheesy film. Jackman did a good job with his acting, but everything else was cheesy, predictable, and some what boring. I mean Ninjas on motorbikes on top of the roofs and on a snowy ice cover roof at that, then flying around, I mean it was stupid really.
The bad guy (girl) was a typical Hollywood garbage we seen a million times, ya know talks slow and sarcastic and the producer tries to wedge in sexiness into the way they act and talk, yawn, yeah we seen this before and it is pathetic and getting tiresome.
Not to mention the anti-hunter thing in the beginning of the movie, typical left wing BS portraying hunters as all a bunch of idiots and of course the animals life is more important that a persons life. Pathetic and sick.
Hollywood pumps out more propaganda and garbage any more, and this is just another one of those kind of movies.
Collapse
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
RandallAudrainJul 31, 2013
It takes a special kind of talent to make the X-Men's most popular character boring. Poor editing, terrible characterization (James aka Logan doesn't speak Japanese and didn't train/study in Japan? ARE YOU KIDDING ME??) flat actionIt takes a special kind of talent to make the X-Men's most popular character boring. Poor editing, terrible characterization (James aka Logan doesn't speak Japanese and didn't train/study in Japan? ARE YOU KIDDING ME??) flat action sequences, and awful direction from James Mangold made this movie exactly what I thought it would be. When Darren Aronofsky was on board to direct it seemed like I was gonna get the Wolverine film I'd always wanted with substance and a less-is-more style, rather than lots of yelling and poorly choreographed action scenes. Even when Aronofsky left the project, (handing of it off to James Mangold, the man behind such classics as Knight & Day, 3:10 to Yuma and Girl Interrupted), I still held out hope that some of Aronofsky’s original vision could carry over to this new version of the story, but it seems I was wrong. I'd have rather spent two and half hours watching the old Saturday morning X-Men cartoons. F this movie. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
SmeeAug 16, 2013
The movie is worst movie i ever watched.Half of people in cinema were sleeping,only
the dump looked people were enjoying and i felt that they need therapy session.
The Archer changing sides than baby dippers don't know what the hell is he
The movie is worst movie i ever watched.Half of people in cinema were sleeping,only
the dump looked people were enjoying and i felt that they need therapy session.
The Archer changing sides than baby dippers don't know what the hell is he doing.
Hugh Jackman is always perfect and he did his best but this movie is horrible as dark knight
rises where batman doing fist fight.First thing is how Japanese captured Wolverine.Who can ran away from Atom bomb while its falling.
May be flash can do but certainly no human.Movie also so predictable and first glance i knew Yashida
is the Silver Samurai.Why they delayed till last to extract Wolverine's powers they could have easily done
it in first place.My advice is don't watch this in 3D because hardly any 3D in it and 3D wise similar
to iron man 3,rent in a rent box if you have nothing to do with your money.To writers only one message stick
with comic books unless you are good as JJ Abrams or Dennis Lehane.
Expand
4 of 21 users found this helpful417
All this user's reviews
0
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews