User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 506 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 506

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The world's end is a TERRIBLE movie. It has a poor character development a stupid story and it doesn't even make sense at all by the half of the movie. Honestly, I didn't expect it to turn from a comedy movie into an awful action movie. The beginning of the movie was really fun and enjoyable, but *spolier alert* when they start fighting those robots, I gave up on this movie. And the end of the movie is awful too, It doesn't even make sense. I'm giving it a 4/10 because it made me laugh, but it's not really that good. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    I think some of the 0 score reviews are very harsh and they probably don't have any humour and took the film to seriously.

    Its fun and stupid and it made me laugh loads. Being from the UK I found it hilarious how they made a whole crazy story from a pub crawl so thought it was great. So maybe its a UK film where Americans won't get why its funny but me and all my friends love it and I
    hope they release more silly films. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    A really fun movie with some really nice jokes and good action sequences, combined with witty back-and-forth banter between the main characters make The World's End a great ending to Three Flavours Cornetto (or whatever you want to call it) trilogy.
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    3
    A movie that tries to balance comedy and action, but ends up lacking on both sides. The characters talk fast like they're going to say something funny, but never actually seem to. I'm sorry to fans, but I honestly never liked Edgar Wright, and I still don't. His movies are original, but they aren't funny. They aren't even clever. I don't see what they tried to do here.

    The World's End
    gets a 3.4/10 Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    The last entry in the Edgar Wright's trilogy is equal parts riotous and moving. The film is a masterwork in pacing, and Simon Pegg gives what has to be his best performance ever.
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    3
    Lacking in character depth, lacking in humour and lacking in logic. The Simon pegg character was annoying and frost as the straight guy didnt work.

    The only thing I would say is the plot concept had some legs but the execution was terrible.

    One to avoid.
  7. Dec 24, 2013
    3
    A film with such high ratings from critics and users, but so utterly poor beyond the first 20 minutes, that I had to sign up to Metacritic to ensure that sane people's views were represented more fully. Pegg and Frost have truly lost their way. How deeply disillusioning to see the wonderful Paddy Considine and Martin Freeman in a film so lacking in wit, skill, grace and genuine thoughfulness. Nice idea: zombie slave metaphor for middle age conformity. And the odd good line early on. But the people making it have so lost touch with ordinary life that they no longer know how to turn life into art, or more to the point, comedy. No one, but no one, will remember this film with affection in ten years' time. Expand
  8. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    One of the best comedies of the year. The World's End is an engaging film. Like its predecessors, it's stocked full of laughs and quick-witted dialogue, and the cast is simply brilliant.
  9. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    In general, it's pretty great. It's funny, has some touchy moments, and the plot is interesting. However, some things keep it from reaching the level of Shaun of the Dead. The fight scenes get a little bit repetitive (these robots should have been more challenging), the last third of the movie wasn't very funny (except the debate scene), and the ending was a little bit over-the-top. But none of these flaws could take away the joy of watching this movie. Expand
  10. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    The World's End doesn't know if it's an ensemble R-rated comedy, a middle-age crisis movie or an action sci fi dystopia movie.....

    and you will be glad it doesn't. The movies sets out to create a weird blend of genres and succeeds.

    Some of the disagreement in the user reviews can be explained by noticing that the movie is something of a satire or farce, and what it does well does
    not require us to take the characters, tone or plot seriously.
    It uses its monstrous hybrid of genres and tones to unseriously bat around a few serious ideas. This rubs some people the wrong way. Too bad for them, really.
    Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    A fittingly hilarious and clever ending to the "Cornetto Trilogy", complete with Edgar Wright's tight, stylish directing; witty, fast-paced, and almost intimidatingly allusive dialogue and great characterization. This film, as with the others in the trilogy, is distinct from the other two in many ways, but balances almost perfectly the sense of familiarity and novelty. It feels like its own film, and yet it is similar enough to its counterparts to make them feel unified. Though it wasn't as good as Hot Fuzz, it still made me laugh, a lot. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2013
    3
    Clearly, I must be missing something here. I don't even know where to start so I won't I'll just say that I have not seen: talent, interesting ideas, entertaining dialogue, fun/funny moments
  13. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    I really liked Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, but this one is by far the weakest of the trilogy. Why the critics love it so much is beyond me. The characters (especially Simon Pegg's) are all unlikable and uninteresting, and who wants to watch an entire cast acting drunk for half of the movie? Maybe you have to be drunk yourself to have any fun watching this, for all the others: this is not a good movie. And the unsatisfying ending stands representative for the entire unsatisfying 90 min. Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2013
    2
    Are you kidding me? I don't understand what all the praise for this film is for. The humour is horrid and tummy cringing, the acting is poor and the story is just shockingly lazy. Im sorry... I did not enjoy this film one bit, and I am a huge fan of Shawn of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and Scott Pilgrim, Boo!
  15. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    The World's End is a great finish to such a great trilogy. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are fantastic as usual, but Pegg's Gary King provides the quick witt and most of the laughs. Overall Edgar Wright has created a one of the best comedic trilogies there is. A
  16. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Ugggh. Talk about bad writing. I was ok with the movie's opening scenes and concept but it slowly became worse and worse. Early humanistic scenes that could have developed, didn't. Then, the movie fell totally apart, into a ridiculous science-fiction event. What were the creators thinking? Huh? This one isn't worth your time.
  17. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    In the words of Oliver “WTF”. The World’s End is one of the weirdest movies I have seen all year. The story took me completely by surprise delivering the most offbeat and off color movie of the year thus far. The weirdess of the story though enhances it and makes it and stand out film of the year and by no means holds it back. Also, the characters are really likeable especially Gary primarily do to Pegg’s excellent performance. Additionally, you got some great banter between characters. This is all topped off with some a unique style. As a result, we have a stand-out film that I’d recommend to anyone who wants to see a unique film, unless all of Edgar Wright’s movies are like this. Regardless I enjoyed this movie a lot and I definitely recommend checking it out. After this I really want to check out Wright’s other films, since this is the first of his films that I have seem. Edgar Wright you did a good job here now please do the same for Ant-Man in two years. Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2013
    6
    Simon Pegg and the rest of the cast are great and the first half of the movie is awesome, but during the second half it gets a little too weird. This is another good movie with Simon Pegg but Shaun of the Dead is way better. Overall Score= 68/100
  19. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    one of overrated movies of 2013,Gary the king character is so annoying and can compete with Adam sandler for worst actor of the year.No single joke in entire movie and end of the movie is out of logic.It's sad to see professional critics writers gave this movie so much grade,Either they gone nuts of became man whores.
  20. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    I expected a good movie, It wasn't. The acting is ok and the fight scenes are some-what entertaining but the unoriginal plot and lack of humor (didn't laugh once) killed it for me. I expected a movie worth the high praise from critics and users and I did not get that at all. Would not recommend.
  21. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    And with this, the unofficial Cornetto Trilogy comes to an end. While I didn't think "The World's End" was as laugh-out-loud funny as "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz," I definitely enjoyed it. The only downside was that I found Simon Pegg's character to be very grating and annoying during the first half of the film--however, once his character develops a little more, he's great. I think Pegg is a fantastic actor and very funny guy but he was just too obnoxious for me for the first half. However, the entire cast is comprised of fantastically talented people, the special effects are great, the story is a beautiful homage to classic sci-fi and the fight scenes were just incredible! Overall, a great end to a fantastic series of movies. Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    This could have the worst movie I've watched at the movie (and I get dragged to a lot of crap by my wife). No one was laughing in the theater, no lie, not once. I feel like people are saying they liked this just because of the cast, and they don't want to be left out for not "getting" its humor when there is none. "It's cheeky," they'll tell you. Or "it's to high brow for you," no this isn't. Simon Pegg is really funny, but he stinks in this. Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    Funny movie, with lots of small gags. The cast does its work just fine. The ending just looks as if the writers didn't know how to give this movie an end and just wanted to give everything a quick (but not very good) explanation. Good action scenes. Missing the long-laughing gags from Hot Fuzz.
  24. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    This is not your typical comedy. From the writers of Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright, bring their latest work The World’s End. It is an action comedy about five friends trying to relive, or bury, their teenage years. The movie starts off by giving context to the story and the characters during their time as high school seniors. After some background information, the movie starts to shine light upon the characters on the present. Four of the five friends were able to move on from the events that occurred during their senior year, except one. This character is portrayed by Simon Pegg and his character is stuck in the past. He was the leader of this misfit teenage party of friends. He had a sense of power and he did not want to be stuck in a corporate cage after high school, but he could not stop time. Because of these characteristics, Simon Pegg’s character has a drive within himself to recreate his younger self. This leads to him bring all of his friends back together to complete the golden mile, a bar crawl consisting of twelve pubs. On this journey they encounter many obstacles that make all of characters test their friendships and trust within each other. It is a very funny movie with plenty of laughs. It also is an action movie with plenty of bar brawls and slug-fests. Moreover it is a story of friendship and belief in one’s self to trust in one another to achieve something better than what they had before. Expand
  25. Oct 23, 2013
    0
    Pegg and Frost at their worst. Felt sorry for Martin Freeman being in this movie. And it's not an effing trilogy the three movies in the Cornetto series are DIFFERENT story lines, not a continuation. Meaning its not a trilogy. Regardless this film is
  26. Oct 23, 2013
    0
    The only spoiler I could give for this movie is that its a massive crap stain of a movie. The plot is tired. The comedy is non existent. The ending is stupid. Waste of time.
  27. Oct 23, 2013
    3
    A massive disappointment. Like the guys in the movie, my feeling watching this was that it was an idea pushed too far, void of all charm and fun. Every joke feels forced and all comedic moments rest squarely on Pegg's shoulders. Nick Frost does not work well as the comedy straight man. And Paddy Considine is charmless without his Irish accent. A thoroughly sad way to end the franchise.
  28. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    For me this was the most anticipated movie of this year. I'd say that I'm a fanboy of Pegg-Frost-Wright and this is a decent movie mixing good old british comedy and some sci-fi action with lots of fun details and easter eggs. But still their best creation was "Hot Fuzz", it is really a top notch movie.
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    For what this is Good but not memorable! This movie starts with a great uphill arc. I would stat though somewhere around the middle the story goes too honest. Like they should just kill everyone because all hell has gone loose. Oh well. You know what you're paying for at this movie! @ramblingmango
  30. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    Typical Simon Pegg movie. It is kind of his previous movies like shaun of the dead but still an just above average comedy movie to watch. I won't say it is too funny but still an enjoyable movie.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Aug 31, 2013
    70
    Nothing here is so well defined, and the tone of the film begins to suffer. I cannot imagine returning to it as one does to "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz," hungry for fresh minutiae. [2 Sept. 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Aug 28, 2013
    78
    The World’s End affectionately takes a page from our Fifties sci-fi films.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 26, 2013
    75
    There's a lot of fun to be had in watching The World's End and, surprisingly, more thematic depth than one might expect. The humor, true to its British roots, may baffle some Americans but those who "get" it will laugh quite a bit.