Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 2008
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 326 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
284
Mixed:
26
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BooR.Jan 19, 2009
The direction and filming were fine. Acting marginal i.e. there wasn't much of it. Basically a story about a bunch of losers. Not sure what the point was. Perhaps it appeals to ignorant white trash America, which is sad. I walked out of The direction and filming were fine. Acting marginal i.e. there wasn't much of it. Basically a story about a bunch of losers. Not sure what the point was. Perhaps it appeals to ignorant white trash America, which is sad. I walked out of the film 45 minutes into it. Don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ChrisGFeb 18, 2009
Despite terrific performances from Rourke and Tomei, Aronofsky can't keep from sinking them with mawkish sentimentality and clunky dialogue that gets worse and worse. Watching the film slowly but surely implode into cliche is almost as Despite terrific performances from Rourke and Tomei, Aronofsky can't keep from sinking them with mawkish sentimentality and clunky dialogue that gets worse and worse. Watching the film slowly but surely implode into cliche is almost as painful as getting clotheslined by a professional wrestler. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AustinW.Jan 3, 2009
I really want to give it a 0. I also really want to write in all caps. This movie is seriously, seriously terrible. Yes, Mickey Rourke is good, but the script is cliche drivel, and the directing... oy. and for gods sake, Darren, get yourself I really want to give it a 0. I also really want to write in all caps. This movie is seriously, seriously terrible. Yes, Mickey Rourke is good, but the script is cliche drivel, and the directing... oy. and for gods sake, Darren, get yourself a steadicam. It's not indie if we all get motion sickness. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LPX.Jan 21, 2009
A predictable, linear and egregiously artificial film. Commercial drivel hidden with an artsy veneer. The characters lack depth and the narrative is missing an arch. Shockingly bad, unless you enjoy two hours of constant masochism and A predictable, linear and egregiously artificial film. Commercial drivel hidden with an artsy veneer. The characters lack depth and the narrative is missing an arch. Shockingly bad, unless you enjoy two hours of constant masochism and bulimic misery for the sake of it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
luisDec 17, 2008
The wrestler is the most overrated film of the year.I think the film is bored and I don't like the Rourke's performance.I think Rouke's performance in The Wrestler is worst than Eastwood's performace in Gran torino,JoshThe wrestler is the most overrated film of the year.I think the film is bored and I don't like the Rourke's performance.I think Rouke's performance in The Wrestler is worst than Eastwood's performace in Gran torino,Josh Brolin's performance in Milk,Frank Langella's performance in Frost/Nixon , Richard Jenkins' performance in the visitor or Benicio del Toro's performance in Che. Collapse
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PabloPFeb 25, 2009
One of the most horrible films that I have ever seen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnDec 17, 2008
The wrestler is one of the worst films of all times:Bored,bad performances.The best of the wrestler is the poster.
0 of 2 users found this helpful