Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 25, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 190 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
107
Mixed:
40
Negative:
43
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
After years off our screens, Mulder and Scully returned for an extended mystery. The result...boring. The final couple of X-Files seasons were pretty poor, and a few years away clearly hadn't done the franchise any good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PeeporsMcPeepsMay 6, 2009
I hesitated seeing this film in the theater, since I was already put off hearing that it's considered a stand alone plot. I waited until last night and rented it. Growing up with the show, by owning and watching every episode countless I hesitated seeing this film in the theater, since I was already put off hearing that it's considered a stand alone plot. I waited until last night and rented it. Growing up with the show, by owning and watching every episode countless times and liking the first movie. Even wanting to look like Dana Scully, but have Fox Mulder's "believe" drive, I was completely brokenhearted when I watched this piece of garbage, X-Files: I Want To Believe. I didn't see the Scully I knew with short bright red hair. She didn't even have her "move over. I need answers NOW!" drive. For the first quarter of the movie, Mulder looks like a mountain man with his beard. Who the HELL are these people? They weren't even in character. Then the movie goes on and on with some perverted weirdo with physic abilities. LAME! No drama. No conspiracy. No X. No nothing. It dragged on so much and was so bad that I kept on fast forwarding the movie. And just when you think something is about to happen to the only person in this movie who is in peril. Scully and Skinner burst in but almost without effort and/or lack of surprise. I lost so much respect that I almost can't watch the X-Files seasons that I own anymore. And they were so good that I was actually afraid to go to bed at night thinking that there's an alien or something in my room. But since I watched this horrible movie, I have to laugh sadly knowing that these two characters will never be idolized by me and my fond memories of watching the show anymore. I want to believe that I never saw this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tompMay 3, 2009
What a load of crap. I very much enjoyed the series on TV but this second film has killed the franchise. The parallel disjointed plot lines served no purpose other than to remind us that Scully is a doctor. The reference to stem cell therapy What a load of crap. I very much enjoyed the series on TV but this second film has killed the franchise. The parallel disjointed plot lines served no purpose other than to remind us that Scully is a doctor. The reference to stem cell therapy was an over-romanticized attempt to sell the audience on its merits. There was no character development for the villains so why would we care or be scarred. The on-again, off-again, on-again, off-again, on-again romance/drama was contrived. Scully's reason for stepping away from the relationship made about as much sense as a tweener's twitter about why she doesn't have the nerve to have her bff tell the new boy Spaulding that she kinda, sorta, maybe likes him. I only have myself to blame. I've told myself I would not see movies that score under 55. But forgetting this and hoping to recapture the enjoyment of watching the series I took the BlueRay DVD off the shelf at the DVD store only to plunge my Saturday night into a two hour stretch of high resolution boredom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BradAJan 25, 2009
Ummm.....did I watch the same movie as all of you? Just because it has "x-files" in front of it does not make it a good movie. This was awful! I enjoyed the first movie but this was rubbish. It was a twisted episode of C.S.I. with the actors Ummm.....did I watch the same movie as all of you? Just because it has "x-files" in front of it does not make it a good movie. This was awful! I enjoyed the first movie but this was rubbish. It was a twisted episode of C.S.I. with the actors from the X-files in it. This should never have been made. Holes after holes in the plot (if you can call it that). Where is the conspiracy, the intrigue...it's not here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisBJan 17, 2009
As a long time fan of the show, I was incredibly upset and disappointed when I walked out of the theater after seeing this movie. It was like they spent 10 years building up an intricate story arc that finally culminated in the series As a long time fan of the show, I was incredibly upset and disappointed when I walked out of the theater after seeing this movie. It was like they spent 10 years building up an intricate story arc that finally culminated in the series finale, and the first X-files movie even played into that storyline, but then for some reason many years later they just decided to ignore all of that and make a mediocre 'monster of the week' episode into a full movie. And it wasn't just that the movie didn't tie into the main story arc of the television series with the alien invasion and government conspiracies either, but it was that the movie even ignored the many years of character development and the evolution of Mulder and Scully's personalities in favor of just going back to the original scenario where she is a 'skeptic' and he is a 'believer', even though that isn't the way things were at all when the series left off. I have no idea what they were thinking when they made this movie, but as a fan of the actual series (which this movie clearly had little to no connection to), I wish that X-Files: I Want To Believe had never been made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TonySep 18, 2008
What a let down. There's nothing X-files in this movie besides Mulder and Scully. Where are the government conspiracies? Where are the sci-fi mysteries? where are the godamn aliens? It's really sad that they released this movie What a let down. There's nothing X-files in this movie besides Mulder and Scully. Where are the government conspiracies? Where are the sci-fi mysteries? where are the godamn aliens? It's really sad that they released this movie after such a long wait from the fans for a Great X-files come back, they completly missed the mark with this sub-par crime investigation type of movie barely worthy of your average CSI tv show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LloydR.Sep 7, 2008
In I want to believe the writter need to go back an do rewrite your audience was expecting an Alien of some type not a rehash of Frankinstein. I'm not wasting my money on another Mulder & Scully. The writer needs more excitement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeL.Aug 21, 2008
Did not like it! It was cool seeing Mulder & Scully back together again, but the story??? They couldn't pick a better premise then that? Well, at least we will always have the show...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatC.Aug 9, 2008
I found more pleasure in counting the little lights running up the isle of the theatre. This movie was gruesome and boring. If Molder and Skully had been killed off in this movie, I think we all would have cheered at the end. If this movie I found more pleasure in counting the little lights running up the isle of the theatre. This movie was gruesome and boring. If Molder and Skully had been killed off in this movie, I think we all would have cheered at the end. If this movie was supposed to make us "believe" they were romantically involved, it was more like watching a brother and sister kiss. Sickening and no chemistry between them through out the movie. Keep your money ! ! The story sucks. The most exciting scene was a foot chase for God sake with some hyped up music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KarenG.Aug 3, 2008
All that suspense, secret script and plot lines, just for that!! The story-line pales in comparison to the classic episodes of series' 1-5. The dialogue between Mulder and Scully was dull and there is no chemistry between them. Back in All that suspense, secret script and plot lines, just for that!! The story-line pales in comparison to the classic episodes of series' 1-5. The dialogue between Mulder and Scully was dull and there is no chemistry between them. Back in the good old days these characters had fun, but no more. I almost fell asleep and I left the cinema quite depressed. I wanted scary monsters, Scully's scepticism, Mulder's enthusiasm and some characteristic witty repartee. Both Anderson and Duchovny looked tired and bored. As a fan of the show I was very disappointed indeed and I will be trying my best to wipe the memory of the film out of my mind, although I'll never be able to get that 2hrs of my life back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanEAug 3, 2008
A Pedophile priest that has visions but he misses two important visions
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TrajanTAug 3, 2008
By far, the worst movie i've seen all summer. slow. boring. i disliked all of the characters. just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndreasL.Aug 1, 2008
after the first 30minutes the only thing that was keeping my eyes open was the need for eating some popcorn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PeterK.Jul 30, 2008
Very disappointing. I am so OVER the X-Files now. Chris Carter has totally killed off (not literally) Scully and Muldar with a tired script, lame dialogues and a plot that destroys our enjoyment of what they once were to viewers: instead of Very disappointing. I am so OVER the X-Files now. Chris Carter has totally killed off (not literally) Scully and Muldar with a tired script, lame dialogues and a plot that destroys our enjoyment of what they once were to viewers: instead of fresh, funny and odd, Fox and Dana are now middle aged tired and weird. This was a waste of talent, money and time all the way around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MrRJul 29, 2008
Utterly disappointing after the10 year wait for a sequel. I would have gotten more satisfaction watching the paint dry on my walls than sitting through this weak story line. Gay priest? Really Chris Carter? It took you 10 years to come up Utterly disappointing after the10 year wait for a sequel. I would have gotten more satisfaction watching the paint dry on my walls than sitting through this weak story line. Gay priest? Really Chris Carter? It took you 10 years to come up with this? I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattM.Jul 28, 2008
Consider me a big X-Files fan saddened. This movie had me wondering when it was going to end. It was basically a bad episode (with no X-file!) extended to the point of 'driving nails in your head' boredom. The plot was lacking, the Consider me a big X-Files fan saddened. This movie had me wondering when it was going to end. It was basically a bad episode (with no X-file!) extended to the point of 'driving nails in your head' boredom. The plot was lacking, the acting was lacking, the love interest was more-than-poorly done, and, most of all, the religious tie-ins were about as lame as they could possibly have been. I want to believe in a lot of things, but I have a hard time believing this was even a decent flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrendanDJul 28, 2008
Any way you slice it, this movie is a disaster from top to bottom. The one good part that even the scroogiest of critics point to is Gillian Anderson's performance. Yes, it's fine, but when one is working with such a god-awful Any way you slice it, this movie is a disaster from top to bottom. The one good part that even the scroogiest of critics point to is Gillian Anderson's performance. Yes, it's fine, but when one is working with such a god-awful script, who cares? The banter is muddled at best, and the plot is a pale imitation of the show's lamest of episodes. But none of that would matter if something -- anything -- worked. Yet it's doesn't. [SPOILER ALERT] Everything, including the chiming of the theme when a picture of George W. Bush is seen outside an FBI conference room (which made me say aloud in the theater, "Well what the hell did THAT prove?"), is ham-fisted in a way that makes "Walker Texas Ranger" look like first-rate drama. And giving Skinner three lines (the second of which is a repeat of the first) is beyond hokey; why bring Mitch Pileggi back at all if that's all you were going to do? "I Want To Believe" doesn't ruin the show's legacy; most of those episodes are still insanely watchable a decade and a half later. But, like the Twin Peaks flick "Fire Walk With Me," though it has the same characters, the writers apparently lost the plot somewhere, and this version is yet another piece that proves "Star Trek" was about the only show that was ever able to make the leap from small-screen sci-fi to big-screen action and not totally suck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinSJul 28, 2008
as a true X-Phile from the 90's, I was massively disappointed. Not only was there not real story or plot, but the pining between Mulder and Scully really became monotonous. The movie was just boring. none of the mythology, creepiness, as a true X-Phile from the 90's, I was massively disappointed. Not only was there not real story or plot, but the pining between Mulder and Scully really became monotonous. The movie was just boring. none of the mythology, creepiness, science fiction that made the X-Files fresh and different. A two-headed dog. Big wow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexS.Jul 28, 2008
As some user said: It just ruined one of my favourite shows! I havent felt any mystery or thrills or any interest to what went on during the movie. But I expected to the very end that there would be some kind of twist that will turn this As some user said: It just ruined one of my favourite shows! I havent felt any mystery or thrills or any interest to what went on during the movie. But I expected to the very end that there would be some kind of twist that will turn this simple story about a Russian (I'm russian and they spoke no russian) psyho-doctor. One of the worst movies of the year, unfortunately... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PeteK.Jul 27, 2008
Where is the big epic conclusion we were all expecting? Judging from the tiny amount fo advertising for this film, I was very much led to believe that was the direction the film was taking, and was sorely disappointed. I am a huge fan of the Where is the big epic conclusion we were all expecting? Judging from the tiny amount fo advertising for this film, I was very much led to believe that was the direction the film was taking, and was sorely disappointed. I am a huge fan of the TV series, and I greatly enjoyed the first full-length movie. This movie was a joke, it did no more then give us insight to the complexities of Mulder and Scully's relationship, and not the the "bigger picture". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregoryB.Jul 27, 2008
This falls FLAT. This plays like a very watered-down csi episode. 5 of us fans all went and were all disappointed in the outcome. The story is passable but not really explained and many loose-end and holes flow throughout. I thought the This falls FLAT. This plays like a very watered-down csi episode. 5 of us fans all went and were all disappointed in the outcome. The story is passable but not really explained and many loose-end and holes flow throughout. I thought the cinematography was good but the direction was poor. It feels like a sleepy late night USA movie where the characters you adored forgot who they were and acted out a story that forgot what show this was written for. Slow, lame, and no soul. I will continue to love the show but the movie turns into a fiasco after 20 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MatthewMJul 27, 2008
This latest installment of the X-files is mildly entertaining at best. Mulder is on the verge of wreckless obsession in the movie and Scully is an emotional mess (was she PMSing throughout the script??). The most serious problem with I Want This latest installment of the X-files is mildly entertaining at best. Mulder is on the verge of wreckless obsession in the movie and Scully is an emotional mess (was she PMSing throughout the script??). The most serious problem with I Want To Believe is how much it deviates from the classic X-file code. There isn't supposed to be a conclusive ending! You are supposed to be left with a sense of longing to know more. That didn't happen here. Worst of all is the lack of sexual tension between the former agents. The bed scene was a homerun for crossing lines. All in all, more of a horror flick with mediocre lead acting than the smart and tantalizing X-files we all had come to love Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisM.Jul 26, 2008
This movie is so inconsistent,boring and the dialouge between scully and mulder just reeks of boredness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CharlesfosterK.Jul 26, 2008
How was this an X-File? Rarely have I seen a suspense film with so little suspense or a thriller with so few thrills. But what hurts must is a sci-fi with zero science. It wasn't fun, it wasn't creepy (I take that back, Billy How was this an X-File? Rarely have I seen a suspense film with so little suspense or a thriller with so few thrills. But what hurts must is a sci-fi with zero science. It wasn't fun, it wasn't creepy (I take that back, Billy Connelly, the ex-priest was creepy), and the plot makes no sense. --[spoilers]-- What happened to the missing FBI agent? Why is Sculley using Google to learn about a procedure she's performing the next day? What was the point of the chase into the construction site?If the villian had taken Amanda Peet with him, the scene might have made sense. Can anyone explain why Sculley and Mulder had no chemistry? Is it because we see the moment of intimacy so early? It's almost like Chris Carter didn't expect fans of the TV series to watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeremiC.Jul 25, 2008
This awful movie just ruined my favorite TV show of the 90s...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
xoxogossipgirlJul 24, 2008
m & s should really retire. it is still an x-file why x-files i want to believe didn't go straight to dvd. pls don't destroy the original TV series with film sequels; sometimes less is more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful