Paramount Vantage | Release Date: December 26, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,126
Mixed:
120
Negative:
170
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DanH.May 9, 2008
The most insanely boring and pointless movie i have ever seen in my life.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TedB.May 8, 2008
If the movie wasn't so tedious and long, I'd waste more time explaining why you should not avoid the hype.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
DorothyV.May 5, 2008
While the acting is phenomenal, the story is incoherent and meaningless, meanspirited and cruel. There is nothing redeeming about this movie and in the end is not a great movie. It is unenduringly bleak and insofar as this is true is does While the acting is phenomenal, the story is incoherent and meaningless, meanspirited and cruel. There is nothing redeeming about this movie and in the end is not a great movie. It is unenduringly bleak and insofar as this is true is does not portray the real complexity of a character or an epoch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JasonJMay 4, 2008
The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And The cinematography and Day-Lewis' over-the-top performance are the highlights of the film. It takes a little bit of brain to appreciate There Will Be Blood; so, if you don't have some, you will find the move 'slow'. And as good as he usually is, Day-Lewis is off-key sometimes. The local enthusiast preacher (I forget his name and don't know the actor) needed a stronger player. He is rather weak-- so unctuous and effeminate that he doesn't truly make for a believable nemesis for Day-Lewis. And, yes, that's part of the point, but I still didn't buy it. The film hovers between gritty reality and miasmic fantasy, and it never really decides which it wants to be, which is part of its triumph-- and its failing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanN.May 4, 2008
A really bizarre and wonderful film. The cinematography, acting, and story were spectacular, all set at a gloriously steady churning pace. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ELMay 4, 2008
Slow and boring, wish I'd done my ironing instead. The film lacks any interesting story line and I found myself falling asleep more than once. I must admit however, that it was exciting in comparison to; Girl with a Pearl Earring and Slow and boring, wish I'd done my ironing instead. The film lacks any interesting story line and I found myself falling asleep more than once. I must admit however, that it was exciting in comparison to; Girl with a Pearl Earring and Lost in Translation. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
3
JoeM.May 4, 2008
I have to agree with Barbara M's review of all sound and fury coupled with slow pacing and extended melodrama. I sometimes found myself sighing over my labor to make it through to the end of this plodding film. Not to take away from I have to agree with Barbara M's review of all sound and fury coupled with slow pacing and extended melodrama. I sometimes found myself sighing over my labor to make it through to the end of this plodding film. Not to take away from Daniel Day-Lewis' effort, because he rivets you with his always incredible screen presence, but otherwise I really couldn't wait for this movie to end. I'm glad I caught it on DVD rather than pay $9 to see it at the theater. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SteveTApr 30, 2008
This is one of the best movies ever made, IMO. An instant classic with Daniel Day Lewis giving the best performance so far in his acting career. He is brilliant. Why 'No Country For Old Men' won the Oscar for best picture over this This is one of the best movies ever made, IMO. An instant classic with Daniel Day Lewis giving the best performance so far in his acting career. He is brilliant. Why 'No Country For Old Men' won the Oscar for best picture over this movie is an enigma and proof that the academy is out to lunch. I'm a Cohen brothers fan and 'No County For Old Men' is not even anywhere near their best quality of film making. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrentBApr 26, 2008
Could be slightly tightened (trimming ~5 minutes) but still a great portrayal of the ambiguities of capitalism and ambition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamP.Apr 26, 2008
I came into this movie not knowing what to expect - would it be exciting, boring, overrated? But I was stunned; it was amazing. Daniel Day-Lewis was terrific, one of the best performances I've seen by an actor. His character's I came into this movie not knowing what to expect - would it be exciting, boring, overrated? But I was stunned; it was amazing. Daniel Day-Lewis was terrific, one of the best performances I've seen by an actor. His character's megalomaniac-esque attitudes are both honest and real, showing what can really happen when greed and a need for power are thrown into the kufe of an average man, a man trying to live the American Dream. The music was fantastic, both riveting and deep. The landscapes were beautiful. This movie WILL be a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BarbaraM.Apr 26, 2008
Balderdash!! Slow, dull, melodramatic, poorly characterized. The story line was absurd and totally unbelievable. Daniel Day-Lewis was marvelous, but he could read the phone book and be enthralling. Worse than No Country for Old Men, and it Balderdash!! Slow, dull, melodramatic, poorly characterized. The story line was absurd and totally unbelievable. Daniel Day-Lewis was marvelous, but he could read the phone book and be enthralling. Worse than No Country for Old Men, and it gets my vote for most annoying soundtrack in history. Actually, the sound track was suitable for such a train wreck of a drama. All sound and fury signifying darn little. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattG.Apr 23, 2008
I thought this move was excellent. I have to say though it was for sure not what I expected it to be. I felt intrigue throughout the whole movie. Daniel Day-Lewis gave an incredible performance as always. The role was one of my favorite I thought this move was excellent. I have to say though it was for sure not what I expected it to be. I felt intrigue throughout the whole movie. Daniel Day-Lewis gave an incredible performance as always. The role was one of my favorite characters yet. Wow what a crazy guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasS.Apr 22, 2008
Just an amazing film. To those of you out there who gave it a bad review, professional "critics" included, you just don't get it. So please let an Average Joe explain it to you. The title of the film refers to the future (our present) Just an amazing film. To those of you out there who gave it a bad review, professional "critics" included, you just don't get it. So please let an Average Joe explain it to you. The title of the film refers to the future (our present) and the effect almighty oil will have on man. "There WILL BE Blood". It's prophetic - but only because it refers to the here and now. And like it or not Daniel Plainview is the good ol' U.S.A. (maybe I should say the current administration). He has become warped by power and greed - to the point where he will deceive, cheat, and go close to insane. It all culminates in an act of unprovoked and pointless violence against an old foe. I'll let you all guess what that represents. Oh yeah, and oil represents oil. No metaphor there! C'mon people, Paul Thomas Anderson makes a movie in the year 2007 about oil! It's not that hard to figure out! It's a cautionary tale - and a pretty great one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimM.Apr 22, 2008
Didn't get it. Two hours I'll never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferK.Apr 21, 2008
One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. Daniel Day Lewis' performance is extraordinary. I loved it and recommended to everyone I know. Great music by Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead!! He should have been nominated for One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. Daniel Day Lewis' performance is extraordinary. I loved it and recommended to everyone I know. Great music by Jonny Greenwood from Radiohead!! He should have been nominated for it because it really intensified the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbyT.Apr 20, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis gives the best performance I've seen in a decade. The movie isn't perfect but it deserves a 10 for not playing it safe and exposing the darkest side of humanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnL.Apr 20, 2008
This movie was so boring!!!!!! I like good acting as much as the next guy but at the very least I want to be entertained!!!! ddl was good in his role but it was just way too long and after a while you just don't care cause you just want This movie was so boring!!!!!! I like good acting as much as the next guy but at the very least I want to be entertained!!!! ddl was good in his role but it was just way too long and after a while you just don't care cause you just want to be put out of your misery. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RoryD.Apr 19, 2008
An excellent film. With out doubt one of the best films of the decade. The three main components ( direction, script, acting), are supported by equally excellent technique: cinematography, score, editing/pacing. I love the parallel of Daniel An excellent film. With out doubt one of the best films of the decade. The three main components ( direction, script, acting), are supported by equally excellent technique: cinematography, score, editing/pacing. I love the parallel of Daniel and Eli. The play between them that leads to the terrifcally to the climax. There was blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffLApr 19, 2008
The opening was good and then it was down hill from there. I was having a hard time staying awake during this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis's character tended to jump around a lot leaving his character a little hollow and shallow. Nothing The opening was good and then it was down hill from there. I was having a hard time staying awake during this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis's character tended to jump around a lot leaving his character a little hollow and shallow. Nothing really happens in the middle of the movie. The preacher character is just weird and actually steals some of the craziness from Daniel Day-Lewis's character. I don't plan on watching this movie again. It is no where near Unforgiven or Crash's power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndreNApr 19, 2008
This is one of those movies that does everything right. The acting, the music, the cinematography are all brilliant but technical excellence alone does not necessarily make for a good movie. The other ingredient - enjoyability is sorely This is one of those movies that does everything right. The acting, the music, the cinematography are all brilliant but technical excellence alone does not necessarily make for a good movie. The other ingredient - enjoyability is sorely lacking from this movie. This has got nothing to do with the dark atmosphere created in the movie - as there are many dark, but also enjoyable movies. The plot is simplistic, the dialogue is boring and there is minimal character development over the course of the storyline. Although Day-Lewis acting probably deserves the Oscar, this alone cannot save this one-dimensional movie. A big disappointment! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Apr 18, 2008
A brilliant movie. A masterpiece. Iconic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayD.Apr 17, 2008
A modern masterpiece that transcends the movie theater experience and delivers a moving motion picture that does what all great works of art do: reveals us at our core of the good and evil inside us all and the constant struggle to express A modern masterpiece that transcends the movie theater experience and delivers a moving motion picture that does what all great works of art do: reveals us at our core of the good and evil inside us all and the constant struggle to express our nature in the world or within our own internal selves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RonC.Apr 15, 2008
I am a 67 year old man. I have seen a lot of movies .This is simply the worst movie that I have had the misfortune to see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LuisC.Apr 15, 2008
I don t give less than 5 because of some brilliant scenes and great acting in some parts. But 80% of the movie was boring...and in a movie of 2.5h its to much. I was expecting much more.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WILLIAMGILLINGHAMApr 14, 2008
MOST WORTHLESS MOVIE I EVER WATCHED, NO PLOT , NO MORAL NO NOTHING I KEPT WATCHING THINKING IT WOULD BE CHANGNG , JUST WHEN YOU THINK THERES A PLOT IT JUST CONTINUES ON TO BEING MORE BORING THEN THE FIRST HOUR, WASTE OF TIME AND MONEYMOST WORTHLESS MOVIE I EVER WATCHED, NO PLOT , NO MORAL NO NOTHING I KEPT WATCHING THINKING IT WOULD BE CHANGNG , JUST WHEN YOU THINK THERES A PLOT IT JUST CONTINUES ON TO BEING MORE BORING THEN THE FIRST HOUR, WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY WATCHING THIS MOVIE, THERE WILL BE BLOOD ONLY HAS ONLY ONE PLOT, STEAL YOUR MONEY AS A MOVIE PATRON Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AHemApr 14, 2008
Very good movie! Obviously a well made masterpiece. Not a movie for people looking for an action packed bloodbath, but it is a ride you will not soon forget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoganW.Apr 14, 2008
Horrendous. The post-credits opening music reminded me of TV's Lost, except that Lost is enjoyable. It was all downhill from there. The (long, really long) story of a selfish man's complete moral collapse. Fine, except who could Horrendous. The post-credits opening music reminded me of TV's Lost, except that Lost is enjoyable. It was all downhill from there. The (long, really long) story of a selfish man's complete moral collapse. Fine, except who could care one whit about the character (or any of the others, for that matter)? The fact that this drivel was nominated for eight Academy Awards is a either testament to the exquisite sense of humor of the critics involved, or a testament to years of hard drug use among that same august group. A genuine waste of time. Don't bother. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnP.Apr 13, 2008
Basically the Radiohead of films, the greatest movie ever made, better than everything even Birth of a Nation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AkisP.Apr 13, 2008
Very slow movie...but very good work from the cast and crew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnApr 12, 2008
Terrible plot and very slow movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MattBeddingfieldApr 12, 2008
No doubt about it: TWBB is better than 99% of the trash that comes out of Hollywood. It isn't perfect, but for an intense and vivid drama, you won't find much better. Daniel Day Lewis is a master of the profession. Worth theNo doubt about it: TWBB is better than 99% of the trash that comes out of Hollywood. It isn't perfect, but for an intense and vivid drama, you won't find much better. Daniel Day Lewis is a master of the profession. Worth the price just to see him, but you'll also get stunning cinematography and excellent pacing. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveAApr 12, 2008
I loved this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was awesome. However, I didn't care for Dano's acting in this movie. In some scenes, his voice was straining and cracking, and his actions were overdone and unconvincing. I also didn't care I loved this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was awesome. However, I didn't care for Dano's acting in this movie. In some scenes, his voice was straining and cracking, and his actions were overdone and unconvincing. I also didn't care for the Henry subplot. It seemed more like an unnecessary and lengthy detour than character development. However, it was still an awesome movie. I felt like it deserved the Oscar for best movie. It had a lot going for it, instead of just a hell of a good bad guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelGApr 12, 2008
I drink YOUR milkshake! Great movie. Incredible acting. The soundtrack to this film is absolutely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeanF.Apr 12, 2008
A pretty good movie, a little bit overrated by the critics, and the Hollywood establishment. Very good acting, excellent cinematography, but the plot left many unanswered questions, and was quite confusing at times (including the ending).A pretty good movie, a little bit overrated by the critics, and the Hollywood establishment. Very good acting, excellent cinematography, but the plot left many unanswered questions, and was quite confusing at times (including the ending). There were many better movies in '07, but this movie (even though deeply flawed) definitely fell at the top of the heap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CarlM.Apr 12, 2008
Dramatic but confusing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JJ.Apr 11, 2008
Drastically overhyped and paced like the bastard step child of Solarace and English Patient on qualudes. The third act is a mess that will leave you with that sense of bewilderment. Clearly a movie that chose device over substance to evoke Drastically overhyped and paced like the bastard step child of Solarace and English Patient on qualudes. The third act is a mess that will leave you with that sense of bewilderment. Clearly a movie that chose device over substance to evoke some hackneyed emotion. The score is one of many devices that I Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RichardS.Apr 11, 2008
Well made movie about someone you don't like or care about. Too bad Day-Lewis can act in every way except to express pain. The editing was bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MattB.Apr 11, 2008
I watched this movie because it was highly acclaimed and one many awards. I was very disappointed. The character development was great, but the movie felt like 4 or 5 hours and moved very slowly. The music was awful, and, in times seemed I watched this movie because it was highly acclaimed and one many awards. I was very disappointed. The character development was great, but the movie felt like 4 or 5 hours and moved very slowly. The music was awful, and, in times seemed unnecessary. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BrandonApr 10, 2008
It's unlike anything I've ever seen and a movie that I appreciate more every time I watch it. P.T. Anderson is THE best director of his era. Killer score from Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DDApr 10, 2008
This has to be one of the worst movies of 2007, along with No Country for Old Men. Plot, what plot? The movie was a waste of film. What was so great about it? It was another worthless film that movie "critics" love because it is pointless This has to be one of the worst movies of 2007, along with No Country for Old Men. Plot, what plot? The movie was a waste of film. What was so great about it? It was another worthless film that movie "critics" love because it is pointless and it gives them something to try to make sense of. If you want entertainment, go outside and watch the grass grow. You will have more fun! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SharonHApr 9, 2008
Brilliant. A masterpiece. One of the most artful and elegant films I've seen. It's exploration of the human condition is magnificent, underscored by the most intriguing and innovative use of music in a film to come around in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Apr 9, 2008
I watched No Country For Old Men in theaters because it came relatively close. I thought that it won Best Picture because I hadn't seen There Will Be Blood. But now I see the light, There Will Be Blood is a flawless film in my eyes. I watched No Country For Old Men in theaters because it came relatively close. I thought that it won Best Picture because I hadn't seen There Will Be Blood. But now I see the light, There Will Be Blood is a flawless film in my eyes. There isn't anything I would change in this movie. Daniel Day-Lewis showed just how amazing of an actor he really is with his portrayal of Daniel Plainview. It is such a moving performance you just might be a different person after watching it. Now I am by no means saying No Country For Old Men isn't worthy of Best Picture, but There Will Be Blood should have gotten it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NolanB.Apr 9, 2008
Loved this movie. Visually brilliant, paced perfectly. Wonderful, wonderful, beyond wonderful. Paul Dano, PT Anderson, Daniel Day Lewis. Great movie, wholly recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Apr 8, 2008
It may very well be the best film of 2007; certainly time will be kind to this eccentric, almost Wellesian masterpiece from Paul Thomas Anderson. Can he follow it up with anything like an Ambersons for a one-two puch to achieve true greatness?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyE.Apr 8, 2008
Greatest performance by an actor i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaudR.Apr 8, 2008
magnificent, Daniel Day brillianiant, USERS REVIEWS CRAP SO FAR.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonL.Apr 8, 2008
Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building Quite remarkable. The movie builds with a dark grinding tension until the final moment of release..... when I could not stop laughing. One of the funniest scenes ever that completely justifies the brilliant, yet slow character building displayed by the two main male protagonists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardB.Apr 8, 2008
This movie was masterfully shot and acted, particularly by Day-Lewis and the actor who played H.W. For all those who (seem) to hate this movie because it's unpleasant, I beg you to consider how much that should affect your rating. You This movie was masterfully shot and acted, particularly by Day-Lewis and the actor who played H.W. For all those who (seem) to hate this movie because it's unpleasant, I beg you to consider how much that should affect your rating. You do not need to like a movie to rate it highly, and this is a tremendous movie. All those who think it's boring...well, what to say? You're wrong. It's quite simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Apr 7, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis is unparalleled in one of the best acting jobs ever done by anyone in history. Even if the rest of the movie was unacceptable, Day-Lewis' performance would alone garner a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmberC.Apr 7, 2008
I had heard good things about this movie, and I had been so psyched to go and see it...which may be part of why it ended up being such a disappointment. The music in the opening scene put me on the edge of my seat, and I spent the rest of I had heard good things about this movie, and I had been so psyched to go and see it...which may be part of why it ended up being such a disappointment. The music in the opening scene put me on the edge of my seat, and I spent the rest of the movie holding my breath for a dramatic and shocking event that would never happen. The movie dragged on and on, and I couldn't shake off the feeling that nothing substantial or relevant was happening. At first I did think the conflict between Daniel and Eli held a lot of promise, and I guess I kind of expected the movie to focus on this tension and build it up a little more--but here again the movie fell short, and the ending death scene blended in with the rest of the movie about as well as oil blends with water. It felt awkward and out of place. To make things worse, in my eyes at least, there was never anything likeable about DDL's character. I saw him take the orphaned baby from the scene of the mining accident, and when the movie immediately flashes to 9 years later and Daniel happens to be accompanied by a boy who looks about 9 or 10 years old, I put two and two together and suspected it was the same kid. Some have suggested that the son was the only character that Daniel cared about at all, but I question whether he even cared about the boy. Daniel refers to his son as a "sweet face" that helps him get his way in business deals. Then, when someone asks Daniel where his wife is, he gives a shifty look and replies that she "died in childbirth", and presto! The charismatic businessman is transformed into a lying scumbag. I'm guessing that explains why I wasn't at all surprised when Daniel sat H.W. down at his desk years later and finally told him that (gasp!) he's not actually his father. I get the feeling that this was supposed to be a very dramatic, climactic scene, but it left me cold because I'd been practically waiting for it the entire movie. I think the movie was supposed to center around the "transformation" of DDL's character, but I didn't really see much of a transformation, except in the end when he suddenly becomes psychotic, or maybe just reveals that part of his personality. It's hard to tell, because Daniel is very unapproachable as a character; tough to understand or relate to at all, and even tougher to like. The acting itself was still decent, but the character development was iffy at best. All in all, not recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JohnD.Apr 7, 2008
wow, this movie was so boring. great acting but this movie was painfully dull
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Xyn1407Apr 6, 2008
Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made Amazing Movie! I loved Daniel Day-Lewis. He did an excellent job. This is now my new favorite movie! The music was awesome, Very Suspenseful! I just got the 2 disc DVD for There Will Be Blood and it is a must have. The packaging is made recycled material almost like parchment paper. Two Disc which is the one I ordered. The Extras include 15 Minutes of pics, research, ETC., Trailers, Fishing sequence, Haircut/ Interrupted Hymm, Dailies Gone Wold and THE STORY OF PETROLEUM (ea 1923) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeLeeApr 5, 2008
One of my favorite movies of all time. I am not sure why people absolutely NEED to like the main character in a movie. Day-Lewis' performance exceeds any performance by Brando, Hanks, Deniro, Pacino, Penn, etc... The raw emotion youOne of my favorite movies of all time. I am not sure why people absolutely NEED to like the main character in a movie. Day-Lewis' performance exceeds any performance by Brando, Hanks, Deniro, Pacino, Penn, etc... The raw emotion you get from Day-Lewis is enough to make shivers to run up your spine. I can watch this movie multiple times but the evil that resonated throughout makes it only watchable twice a year at most. There are many quality parts of this movie plot-wise. It is all done magically without many words. The anticipation of what might happen next makes the movie fly by quickly. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KashRAApr 3, 2008
The greatness of the cinematography of this film is only matched by the weakness of the plot line. The reviewer's accolades are just further evidence that Paul Thomas Anderson is always viewed as a film deity in spite of the The greatness of the cinematography of this film is only matched by the weakness of the plot line. The reviewer's accolades are just further evidence that Paul Thomas Anderson is always viewed as a film deity in spite of the overwhelming evidence that he is a mere mortal. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
PedroS.Apr 3, 2008
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayHigginsApr 3, 2008
7.5/10. Rich and well detailed production, superbly acted by all. I hadn't heard much about Paul Dano in the film, he was terrific. Visually, the film was remarkable, my favorite aspect of the film was the score, one of the best I have 7.5/10. Rich and well detailed production, superbly acted by all. I hadn't heard much about Paul Dano in the film, he was terrific. Visually, the film was remarkable, my favorite aspect of the film was the score, one of the best I have heard in a long time. It is a great film, but not without flaws. It was slow in parts and too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
cindynnevinsApr 3, 2008
No hero in movie. It was boring, long. I found it to be tedious. Waiting for something to happen. The ending was terrible. I still am not sure of the consequences of what he did. Save your money. It was over rated
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Apr 2, 2008
The only reason I made this is to tell Adam A. that he is an idiot and obviously wouldn't know a good movie if slapped him in the face, much like I wanna do for his idiotic review. Same for you Gloria. You should both start a club for The only reason I made this is to tell Adam A. that he is an idiot and obviously wouldn't know a good movie if slapped him in the face, much like I wanna do for his idiotic review. Same for you Gloria. You should both start a club for people who have no business giving their opinion on movies. This film was odd, yet gripping and left a strange and unsettled feeling with me. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisS.Mar 31, 2008
This Is a great movie. Probably the best movie of 2007. I felt that it deserved to win best picture, though so did No Country for Old Men. There Will Be Blood is an epic story of greed and corruption. This movie is a true satire about what This Is a great movie. Probably the best movie of 2007. I felt that it deserved to win best picture, though so did No Country for Old Men. There Will Be Blood is an epic story of greed and corruption. This movie is a true satire about what happens when greed takes over someone entirley. Daniel Plainview goes from a good business man to a greedy robber baron. Daniel Day-Lewis gives the greatest proformance I have ever seen, and the way Paul Dano and Daniel Day-Lewis play off each other is incredible. Paul Thomas Anderson is one of the greatest director's of our gerneration. The people giving this movie a zero just want to see blood and guts, and don't know a good movie when they see one. They were thinking "hey it says Blood in the title, lets go see it". Hey guys, this isn't SAW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveMar 30, 2008
can't think how this moves got so much praise. It has the world's worst music and Danny' boy's accent is even worser. A pitiful waste of film stock and my time and I like movies a lot. Makes Pirates of the Caribbean seemcan't think how this moves got so much praise. It has the world's worst music and Danny' boy's accent is even worser. A pitiful waste of film stock and my time and I like movies a lot. Makes Pirates of the Caribbean seem like Citizen Kane. Humans are crap is the message but I knew that already Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
NickK.Mar 28, 2008
Sublime filmmaking, and Day-Lewis truly deserves his oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GloriaW.Mar 28, 2008
Absolutely the most boring moving I have ever seen. Totally disappointed that I wasted my money to purchase a ticket to see such a crummy movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
LesterF.Mar 25, 2008
Oh for an eight and a half, but one must draw the line somewhere. An exercise in deconstructing the human psyche. Matching our innate frailty up against the dark challenge of power and money, the themes of this movie are borne of a well-worn Oh for an eight and a half, but one must draw the line somewhere. An exercise in deconstructing the human psyche. Matching our innate frailty up against the dark challenge of power and money, the themes of this movie are borne of a well-worn path. Nevertheless, quick have been so many to proclaim this film great. Is it the film that is great or the performance of one man? (Lest I detract from the excellent but - let's face it - secondary performance of Paul Dano.) The fragmented storytelling here is less effective than in its contemporary: No Country for Old Men. There is no reading between the lines to be done. Almost everything is a touch heavy-handed, overwrought. But this is nitpicking. A restrained use of colours, a brave, effective and intriguing score and an awkward bent for humour make this well-worth seeing. So, the movie is without a doubt grand, but if not for the running time and 'faux-historical' context are we just looking at a slightly predictable pop-cultural diatribe. Then again, some have said similar of The Godfather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnO.Mar 23, 2008
Superb. A true classic and one of the most powerful and provocative films I have seen for ages. I'm normally sceptical of films that receive so much hype but for once the plaudits are all justly deserved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PDMar 21, 2008
Simply stunning, from start to finish. In years to come this film will be seen as a masterpiece and a true classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamAdamsMar 21, 2008
Can't understand the appeal of this movie at all. I would like to think that I know a good movie when I see one, which is why this movie creates a disturbing dilemma for myself. But, do normally love Daniel Day Lewis. Amazing that heCan't understand the appeal of this movie at all. I would like to think that I know a good movie when I see one, which is why this movie creates a disturbing dilemma for myself. But, do normally love Daniel Day Lewis. Amazing that he can win an Oscar for this craptastic movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
WillW.Mar 18, 2008
One of the most intense movies I've seen. Daniel Day Lewis is great; but equally as great is Paul Dano(the silent kid in Little Miss Sunshine). Epic battle between good and evil, but hard to tell which is which.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerryW.Mar 17, 2008
Overall, gripping movie for so much rich characterizations and varied visual movement. True to Texas character and ambiance, if not always flattering, from a West Texan who has been there. I recommend it highly. G.W.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdTMar 17, 2008
Russ T- there's a good reason Day-Lewis sounds like John Huston- he was actually emulating Huston's cadences and speech and had used recordings of Huston speaking to research the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoM.Mar 16, 2008
I absolutely loved this movie. I had doubts about watching this movie but since the first scene it trapped me until the very end. I think the most important thing that this movie show us is the fact that not everything in life is money, I absolutely loved this movie. I had doubts about watching this movie but since the first scene it trapped me until the very end. I think the most important thing that this movie show us is the fact that not everything in life is money, success cannot be achieved only by earning a lot of money as we can see with Mr. Plainview (which now i can see why the academy gave Lewis the award). The performance by Duno was very good too and i came to hate the character. The music gives it a great atmosphere and what can you say about the art decoration, outstanding. One of the best movies i have seen this year (2008). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SeanF.Mar 16, 2008
Over the top acting kind of disguises the fact that plot is peppered with illogical scenes which make little sense. Like having one actor playing the two Henry brothers in same character. Left me wondering for the most part if the preacher Over the top acting kind of disguises the fact that plot is peppered with illogical scenes which make little sense. Like having one actor playing the two Henry brothers in same character. Left me wondering for the most part if the preacher was supposed to have two personalities. The ending was cliched ('luke I'm not your father') and complete with gratuitous violence which added nothing and detracting from the film itself. Sure the acting is good but that alone doesn't make a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleG.Mar 15, 2008
My favorite films are character studies. With that said, this may be one of the finest I've ever witnessed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesB.Mar 13, 2008
Besides Daniel Day Lewis (who totally deserved his oscar) this is a boring, drawn out, mess of a film and completely unentertaining.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JanGMar 12, 2008
I agree with many others that this was one of the worst movies I have seen. If I had been alone I should have walked out in the first 10 minutes, or less. The noise was deafening and SO unsubtle; it seemed as if loud and frightening sounds I agree with many others that this was one of the worst movies I have seen. If I had been alone I should have walked out in the first 10 minutes, or less. The noise was deafening and SO unsubtle; it seemed as if loud and frightening sounds and music were needed to convince the audience that something was going on. If a movie relies upon this, then it shows me that they did not have full confidence in their production. If you like loud amplification, excellent scenery, blood, sweat, tears, child abuse, psychotic behaviour and enjoy looking at your watch every ten minutes to see whether the film might soon be ending, then go to see this movie and enjoy! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EliSamuelsMar 11, 2008
In response to Joseph M.: the characters were far from boring. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing as Plainview; I wouldn't say he was one dimensional, he bonded with H.W. and seemed to like him, but eventually abandoned him and got sick of himIn response to Joseph M.: the characters were far from boring. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing as Plainview; I wouldn't say he was one dimensional, he bonded with H.W. and seemed to like him, but eventually abandoned him and got sick of him and his greediness steadily grew. Paul Dano was also amazing and his character Eli Sunday was very memorable. Also, did you see the movie after hearing of the milkshake catchphrase? because the film is about greed and fake religion, which are powerful, intelligent themes. Did you expect the movie to be about dirty innuendo and tasty treats? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BillL.Mar 11, 2008
Terrible musical score meant to impress detracts from story and performance of Daniel Day Lewis.Not as interesting as the critics think it is. Full of bombast not epic story.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
CarlosMar 11, 2008
Nice guy at the beginning turned twisted and alcoholic at the end not mention a criminal too .. done 100 plus times in different movies . Nothing has a common sense. However good topic is was done more realistic like say "a truth history".
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PaulMMar 10, 2008
I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one chord), its cinematography absolutely engrossing, and the soundtrack that some find annoying (which I I found the film's intensity enormous, its characters well-designed (they're supposed to be singular and in final review of one chord), its cinematography absolutely engrossing, and the soundtrack that some find annoying (which I can understand), I found to be appropriately maddening. Its a movie about dedication to the point of obsession, the folly of singular devotion, the power and destruction of taking without giving, and the aspects of greed, power and selfishness that are in us all - but that in the wrong circumstances/people/both become toxic. Plainview is a man who knows only how to beat, pick or pound the thing from which he needs some kind of satisfaction or end. And he does so until it explodes something that releases the dark humanity within him (anger, greed, paranoia, withdrawal, depression, psychosis). His maniacal mantra of "drainage" in the final scene is appropriate - not so much about the obvious metaphor (which, yes, may be clumsy) but about the concept (maybe, call it a meta-metaphor)underlying -- that there are always those willing to take, by force and by persuasion, not only theirs but yours, his, hers and everyone elses. Further, it illustrates how that process leaves one bordering on, and often falling into, an abyss of lonesome psychosis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JosephM.Mar 10, 2008
Possibly the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. The music was annoying. The characters were boring and one dimensional. If it wasn't up for best picture I would have walked out after 10 minutes. By the end, I was really Possibly the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. The music was annoying. The characters were boring and one dimensional. If it wasn't up for best picture I would have walked out after 10 minutes. By the end, I was really sorry I didn't. You can't wrap a 2 hour movie around the "I drink your milkshake" line! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CalebB.Mar 8, 2008
I thought that this was a very well constructed film. Daniel Day-Lewis did a wonderful job of acting. The characters were engaging and the story just pulled me in that much more. All in all it was an overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanOMar 8, 2008
One of the best movies of the last few years, in no way is it dull, boring or overrated. It is a absolute masterpiece and anyone who says it isn't should take a trip to the mental asylum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HarvBMar 6, 2008
This could have been a great movie! But how ironic that a movie about deafness, both literal and metaphoric was beaten into the ground by a pointless over blown music score. Has this director never thought about understatement or the notion This could have been a great movie! But how ironic that a movie about deafness, both literal and metaphoric was beaten into the ground by a pointless over blown music score. Has this director never thought about understatement or the notion that less in more. If you want to see a great movie go and see No Country for Old Men. The Coen brothers know what they are doing and their movie has no music track at all! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DavidF.Mar 6, 2008
"There Could Have Been Worse" It could have been poorly shot. I don't care if it had a great film score, the volume of the music was really high. Does that make it better-- NO. If turning the voltage up to 11 in every facet of a movie "There Could Have Been Worse" It could have been poorly shot. I don't care if it had a great film score, the volume of the music was really high. Does that make it better-- NO. If turning the voltage up to 11 in every facet of a movie makes it great in your mind, then this is your film. The film score opens with a musical crescendo that shouldn't have been used because it was lifted hook line and sinker from Kubrick's 2001, and yet was intended to bring to mind a different emotion and theme. Pointless violence, characters who you don't believe in, a supposedly angry character who unburdens himself once to a virtual stranger claiming he hates everyone, and then shows unexpected sensitivity to his employees after a workplace death? Yah right! I'm a Yankee who knows nothing about the oil business, but I was scratching my head as to what kind of Rube Goldberg devices were running in the background most of the movie, so its not just the Texans who saw stupid lazy research. A supposedly greedy man who keeps a secret from his son for twenty years longer than the greed requires? Who are we kidding here? This movie is just Dumb with the volume cranked up so high you can't think straight! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DylanM.Mar 5, 2008
one of the greatest films ever made. I've seen it three times now and i still cannot get it out of my head. this should have won best picture, but i suppose the almost as equally brilliant No Country will suffice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamA.Mar 5, 2008
It was a very entertaining movie. The visual were amazing and the characters were deep. However, the ending leaves much to be desired. A good movie, but I agree with others when they say it is overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPriceMar 5, 2008
It's been a few months now, and the more I reflect upon it...the better it becomes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
P.O.Mar 5, 2008
I am not sure about this one. I hardly ever disagree with Metacritic but this movie was pretty boring. I was just waiting for something to happen. I was impressed by the acting and the visuals were quite powerful. I thought it was a ok movie I am not sure about this one. I hardly ever disagree with Metacritic but this movie was pretty boring. I was just waiting for something to happen. I was impressed by the acting and the visuals were quite powerful. I thought it was a ok movie overall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RussT.Mar 5, 2008
The film is inspired by Upton Sinclair
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JimmyS.Mar 5, 2008
besides some nice pictures, it was really really boring.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
MichaelMMar 4, 2008
I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know that all of you who are praising the film for it's aesthetic appeal or it's amazing acting I have not yet seen this movie, therefore I will give it the average rating. I am writing this to let the others posting on this board know that all of you who are praising the film for it's aesthetic appeal or it's amazing acting just sound like a bunch of pretentious douche bags who are trying to impress one another with how sophisticated you are, that you can see the inner allegorical meaning of a movie etc. etc. I'm sorry to say that I believe you have lost site of what movies are supposed to do and that is of course entertain. From what I have heard this film was made by film nerds for film nerds, thus making it unfit for mass consumption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CSMar 4, 2008
Very engaging character acting, after that this movie is WAAAAAY overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimmusM.Mar 4, 2008
Dull, awful, pointless movie. Daniel Day-Lewis is very good at his part, as unlikeable as it was. The soundtrack is mostly jarring noise. I struggled to find one character I could identify with, or admire. Yeah, yeah, film "critics", I get Dull, awful, pointless movie. Daniel Day-Lewis is very good at his part, as unlikeable as it was. The soundtrack is mostly jarring noise. I struggled to find one character I could identify with, or admire. Yeah, yeah, film "critics", I get it - money is bad, religion is bad. Bad, like the taste this film left in my mouth after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBMar 3, 2008
Superb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who haveSuperb and most definitely worthy of high praise. Rarely does a film come along and keep you thinking and pondering over the outcome and characters for long afterwards. A thinking person's movie most definitely. To those who have suggested it is boring and dull, I pity you. Inside this film you should find a great plot, great actors and characters and stunning cinematography and a mesmerizing screenplay. What more could anyone ask for? You have to have the right mindset for this film and obviously many people don't - which is why this film isn't a box office smash and wouldn't be the same if it was. People would rather stick to their Jumpers and Saw's and whatever else. For those of us in to truly great films, look no further. A classic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisMar 2, 2008
I am disappointed to see the user score of this movie to be a 7.5 I probably would have agreed witht hat score while I was watching the film. I feel that while I was watching the film, I did not appreciate. But now that it is over, andI am disappointed to see the user score of this movie to be a 7.5 I probably would have agreed witht hat score while I was watching the film. I feel that while I was watching the film, I did not appreciate. But now that it is over, and I am not watching it anymore. I appreciate it a lot more. It was an amazing film. People who didn't like it are either too old fashioned for a movie like this or have the attention span of a 7 year old. For those of us that have no problem keeping our attention focused on this masterpiece through out its entirety (which is long compared to most movies) appreciate it. I have heard people claiming the last scene to be funny and not needed. To me, the ending scene was amazing. It was kind of funny, but only because if you were to have any other reaction to it, you might slip into a deep depression of which you might never come out of. Now, I am being slightly over the top / sarcastic but seriously. If you didnt laugh through out the entire movie, then you must not have any emotion left in you. I felt I needed to laugh at some parts to keep myself from feeling terrible. Like i said before, the ending was amazing. The now famous milkshake speech and the Title / Ending Scene correlation are something that nobody should miss out on. One of the best movies I have ever seen and as you are watching it, even if you get bored or ancy, stick it out to the end and you will thank yourself. It is truly an amazing movie. one last thought: Daniel Day Lewis is an amazing actor...... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshlyG.Mar 2, 2008
Daniel Day-Lewis puts his heart into the movie - you can see the passion gleaming through his eyes as he acts. He deserved the Oscar win and the film deserved more than it received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddbMar 2, 2008
I would let day-lewis sleep with my wife just to raise his offspring. thats all that needs to be said he's a genius and you people who think this movie is boring or over hyped, go watch your saw movies and shut the hell up. your I would let day-lewis sleep with my wife just to raise his offspring. thats all that needs to be said he's a genius and you people who think this movie is boring or over hyped, go watch your saw movies and shut the hell up. your uncultured and useless to society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PhilMar 1, 2008
Some theatrical merit, but to be honest, I couldn't even make it through the whole film. Nice perspectives on bleak American history though..
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
FredK.Mar 1, 2008
Simply put, one of the top 5 worst movies I have ever seen. I kept looking at my watch to see when it would be over.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
RaimondR.Feb 29, 2008
There Will Be Blood, a 2007 film directed, written, and produced by Paul Thomas Anderson (best known for his work directing and writing the Adam Sandler film Punch-Drunk Love), opened on December 26, 2007 to a limited release in New York and There Will Be Blood, a 2007 film directed, written, and produced by Paul Thomas Anderson (best known for his work directing and writing the Adam Sandler film Punch-Drunk Love), opened on December 26, 2007 to a limited release in New York and Los Angeles and then was later widely released on January 25, 2008. It follows the story of an Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KieranL.Feb 29, 2008
I adored it: in fact, it blew my mind! I found it utterly original, a tad bonkers, and completely mesmerising
0 of 0 users found this helpful