Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 15, 1998
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 219 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
198
Mixed:
13
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
WalterLebowskiMay 19, 2014
Coming off with hits like "Dumb & Dumber" and "Kingpin", audience must have expected funny but juvenile and uncomfortable scenes from Farrelly brothers .But what they did not expect was a mature and sweet love story. Sure this is a romanticComing off with hits like "Dumb & Dumber" and "Kingpin", audience must have expected funny but juvenile and uncomfortable scenes from Farrelly brothers .But what they did not expect was a mature and sweet love story. Sure this is a romantic movie. But this is not another clich├ęd love story. No, this is a romantic movie with twist. It contains elements of a black comedy as well as a mindless gross-out teen sex comedy (of which I am a big fan)
Though the main plot is not new, how it is executed is. The best part of the movie is its unpredictability. You actually wonder whether the boy will get the girl or not? The movie shocks you not only with its brilliant twists-and-turns but also with its grossness. This movie is quite rewatchable even if it loses shock value after you have seen it many times. Those who are fan of the first three "American Pie" movies will quite appreciate its humor. Though the gags may not be as disgusting or sexual like the 1999 American Pie, they are still funny and memorable. Some of them are so funny that your stomach will hurt from laughter even if you know what is going to happen.
Even if you don't like its humor, you will still like the movie for its memorable character, brilliant pacing, nice music and believable acting, which is done by everyone in cast. Be warned this movie is not for everyone due to its vulgarity and political incorrectness.
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
DagnyNov 8, 2002
I've been waiting for decades for a movie that would make me laugh as much as "Animal House". Casting and acting were wonderful. Gross out humour but at a high art level. I wish the Farrelly Brothers (and Seinfeld) would start a Comedy I've been waiting for decades for a movie that would make me laugh as much as "Animal House". Casting and acting were wonderful. Gross out humour but at a high art level. I wish the Farrelly Brothers (and Seinfeld) would start a Comedy Institute to teach the other so-called "comedy" producers the true meaning of what it takes to make people laugh. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
IreneB.Aug 31, 2002
Suffocatingly funny!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackD.Jan 18, 2003
So funny it's actually physically painful!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MuddsjrAug 10, 2014
its a very rude and very hilarious film that the makers without doubt are probably rather content with their metascore. Its a film among some of Stiller's best moments and may be for some among some of the best moments of comedy in film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RegOzJan 19, 2012
Please, don't tell me that There's Is Something About Mary is one of the greatest comedies ever made! Personally, I think it is perhaps the worst comedy ever -as bad as Borat-. It was, low-cheap humour, gruesome, basic, and predictable. I amPlease, don't tell me that There's Is Something About Mary is one of the greatest comedies ever made! Personally, I think it is perhaps the worst comedy ever -as bad as Borat-. It was, low-cheap humour, gruesome, basic, and predictable. I am not a snob, and I am not conservative either. I tend to be moderate when I express my views but I can't avoid showing my frustration here for this movie is the antithesis of what I believe is a good comedy. Honestly, do we really think that the crude,gross overuse of sexual imagery, and the mockery that disable people are subject of are fun??? Is that so 'cool' that makes us laugh??? How can a movie based in such negative values and foolish stereotypes, unsympathetic, vulgar characters be good? How can a movie that does lacks wittiness and creativity - creating an scene where your penis is cut by your zip is not 'creativity'- and it is just plain stupid, can be praised that much??? No offence, but that is SAD...REALLY SAD! Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineNov 30, 2013
A good comedy with nice actors and funny jokes (though some of them are too "toilet"). Ben Stiller is playing a looser as always, and he is as always great! The main thing that attracted me in this movie it really has a story, which developsA good comedy with nice actors and funny jokes (though some of them are too "toilet"). Ben Stiller is playing a looser as always, and he is as always great! The main thing that attracted me in this movie it really has a story, which develops and even has some twists (which is unlikely for generic stories of modern comedies). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
There's something about a film that despite huge hype, is wickedly average. The late 90's didn't have a whole lot of great comedies, but this one doesn't even make the list of good ones.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewM.Jul 7, 2004
Poor taste, non-PC and in truth gutter humour...and also one of the funniest films I've ever seen. This is a really great comedy, unique and fresh. Doesn't really hold up to too many repeat viewings, but that's only due to the Poor taste, non-PC and in truth gutter humour...and also one of the funniest films I've ever seen. This is a really great comedy, unique and fresh. Doesn't really hold up to too many repeat viewings, but that's only due to the side-splitting impact the first one delivers. If you can handle a grimace or two, and you're not a prude, get this movie and laugh yourself silly! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavorinP.Feb 9, 2003
Something about Mary is so funny, that I almost felt out of a chair when I saw it the first time -- several times. It didn't get better the second, and the third time, but I didn't mind watching it all over again. Best Farelly Something about Mary is so funny, that I almost felt out of a chair when I saw it the first time -- several times. It didn't get better the second, and the third time, but I didn't mind watching it all over again. Best Farelly bros. movie EVER. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.Dec 19, 2003
God, it was gross. Awful. But what refreshing new humor! I never laughed so hard at a movie. I even found myself engrossed in the corny plot and laughed at the stuffed dog, a.k.a. action figure. But Sorry Brett, stick to football. The show God, it was gross. Awful. But what refreshing new humor! I never laughed so hard at a movie. I even found myself engrossed in the corny plot and laughed at the stuffed dog, a.k.a. action figure. But Sorry Brett, stick to football. The show came to a screeching halt when you showed up. No offense, but you were cold water thrown on people I thought were cartoon characters chasing the unflappable Diaz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
J.RyanG.Jun 17, 2005
Filled with moments that you may only laugh at when you hear the laughs of others, TSAM is too long and boring to be considered a true comedy. It may only be considered a way to waste two-plus hours of a useless Saturday afternoon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lukechristianscDec 13, 2014
ok as much as i love the Farrelly Brothers and how they make good chemistry to make a comedy they did it before with Kingpin , Dumb & Dumber. They come back to direct another comedy with an oscar worthy actors in this over ratted comedy whichok as much as i love the Farrelly Brothers and how they make good chemistry to make a comedy they did it before with Kingpin , Dumb & Dumber. They come back to direct another comedy with an oscar worthy actors in this over ratted comedy which pretty die out funny it has really good humor also people doing funny things like stillers ball got caught in the zipper funny scene about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJan 1, 2015
There's Something About Mary is The Farrelly's best film, it might be very juvenile, but its moments are very well executed and it has this memorable feeling or element of nostalgia, it's one of the best romantic comedies made. Definitely oneThere's Something About Mary is The Farrelly's best film, it might be very juvenile, but its moments are very well executed and it has this memorable feeling or element of nostalgia, it's one of the best romantic comedies made. Definitely one to remember for ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews