Think Like a Man Too

Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Sep 9, 2014
    60
    Put bluntly, Tim Story's film wears you down until you relent and say, yes, I like these people and it's fun to watch them all have such a good time.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 19, 2014
    60
    The actors make the raucousness feel as easy as the cinematic couples therapy.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 20, 2014
    56
    It’s all, quite strangely, boring.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jun 20, 2014
    50
    Mostly uninspired and insipid, but it rallies, and builds up enough comic steam by the end that you might find yourself amused.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    The problem — and it’s an insurmountable, deadly, comedy-killing, consistent problem throughout — is a tired, uninspired, derivative screenplay that brings everyone to Vegas for a wedding and incorporates nearly every weekend-in-Vegas cliche explored in dozens of previous films.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    Think Like a Man Too, the derivative, intermittently amusing follow-up to the surprise hit rom-com from 2012, is so frenetically paced and hysterically pitched that it makes almost no room for simple enjoyment.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    This is the sort of film that only makes sense as a rental, with, perhaps, a couple of friends and a very generously mixed pitcher of margaritas.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    The sequel is a disappointing step down, and backward.
  9. Reviewed by: Alonso Duralde
    Jun 19, 2014
    50
    There are moments of fun to be found in Think Like a Man Too... It's just a pity that the movie does better by members of the Las Vegas Convention & Visitors Authority than those of the Screen Actors Guild.
  10. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jun 18, 2014
    50
    Everyone in the ensemble is game for their respective misadventures, but little of it seems all that inspired.
  11. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Jun 18, 2014
    50
    It's the PG-13 version of "The Hangover," and more than anything, that's just boring.
  12. Reviewed by: Jeff Labrecque
    Jun 20, 2014
    42
    In several instances, you can sense that director Tim Story simply rolled the proverbial ball out to Hart on the court and called the play: Make it funny. Hart scores occasionally, but Think Like a Man Too loses by double digits.
  13. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 19, 2014
    40
    Although funnier and mercifully shorter than its 2012 battle-of-the-sexes predecessor, this third collaboration between manic comedian Kevin Hart and director Tim Story (hot on the heels of their January hit “Ride Along”) is an exceedingly formulaic and ultimately exhausting thing to experience.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    My appreciation for this film comes from knowing what I was looking at, and from not looking for more than what's there. It's a comedy. IMy appreciation for this film comes from knowing what I was looking at, and from not looking for more than what's there. It's a comedy. I don't say "comedy" as a description of the genre to which this film belongs (which is the sad case for a lot of garbage being passed of as comedy). Hart's delivery, and the performance of the [mostly] well-put together cast, produces spontaneous, and sometimes explosive, laughter throughout the film. The film was also enjoyable because I saw myself in its humor, its sensibility, and its perspective. It didn't try too hard to create "types" of black people. These characters could easily be me and my friends doing everything on our cliche list of things we HAVE to do while we're in Vegas [minus the celebrity factor and the public brawl, of course]. What's more, the film was not designed to be a definitive statement on romantic relationships. The [not really] dramatic elements provided continuity, as a sequel, and gave the film just enough substance to distinguish itself in a genre dominated by pointless fluff. It's an excellent date movie that left me with an unexpected feeling of lightheartedness. My take-away's: Create your own adventures. Make life fun and interesting. Pay attention to the needs of others.Be ready to take a stand and commit yourself to something when the time is right. But, you'll enjoy life more, and laugh much louder and longer when you don't try so hard to make things work. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    No, it's not high art, but it's FUN! Some of these critics in the "red" zone have no sense of humor. Kevin Hart is hilarious, as usual, andNo, it's not high art, but it's FUN! Some of these critics in the "red" zone have no sense of humor. Kevin Hart is hilarious, as usual, and the cast is pretty amazing. (Pretty cool to see Detective Carter from "Person of Interest" let her hair down....) It's definitely better than the 2nd and 3rd Hangover movies, though not as good as as the original or Bridesmaids. I laughed VERY hard many times during this sucker. Great to see Dennis Haysbert crash the party. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Steve Harvey's romantic story of "the game of love" is back. the romantic sequel that lovers were excited about and i was one of them.ThisSteve Harvey's romantic story of "the game of love" is back. the romantic sequel that lovers were excited about and i was one of them.This definitely is the funnest Think like a man movie ever it has the hilarity, the charm. But i felt like the first one was more romantic then this, this sequel was more FUN. some of this film has some cliche's; Full Review »