Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Think Like a Man follows four interconnected and diverse men whose love lives are shaken up after the ladies they are pursuing buy Harvey's book and start taking his advice to heart. When the band of brothers realize they have been betrayed by one of their own, they conspire using the book's insider information to turn the tables and teach the women a lesson of their own. (Screen Gems) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 20, 2012
    80
    Think Like a Man is rowdy and funny and showcases an immensely likable ensemble cast it uses to delineate its war between the sexes.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 19, 2012
    75
    Think Like a Man is what it is. But its hangout factor is considerable, because the actors' charms are considerable.
  3. Reviewed by: Kevin C. Johnson
    Apr 20, 2012
    75
    Despite the crass book promotion, the overlong film is harmless romantic fun that's well played.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 19, 2012
    60
    There's nothing profound going on here; the truisms don't blossom into life-enriching truths. It's more like the person you meet at a bar who, on second glance, is surprisingly attractive. Call Think Like a Man a perfectly satisfactory one-night stand at the movies.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 25, 2012
    50
    The relationship advice is all fairly boilerplate, much like the film itself, but these actors have made this a bankable romcom.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 18, 2012
    50
    The result is a tiresome exercise that circles at great length through various prefabricated stories defined by the advice each couple needs (or doesn't need).
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Apr 22, 2012
    20
    Screenwriters Keith Merryman and David A. Newman interweave four asinine, underdeveloped plot lines, and Tim Story's prosaic direction reduces their script to a shambolic nightmare.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is great. Very funny, great acting, wonderful storyline and entertaining. I think its a must see no matter if you are in a relationship or not. I would pay to see it again. I really enjoyed Michael Ealy's character...honest, positive, funny and great message on following your dream and starting your own business. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    I love this movie, it was so retarded that it made me laugh the entire movie. There was a great choice in which actors were casted, and there was a great plot behind this movie. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    I'm not black, but it seems many in the media give predominately black movies lower reviews than normal. Even classics like "Coming to America" are largely left off of greatest comedies of all time lists. It seems if it isn't a slavery movie or some drama to that effect a comedy is underrated.

    This movie is funny and lives up to the hype. It is excellent and I'm glad I watched it despite the inaccurate reviews I've read. The entire film is enjoyable and well worth it with the very talented cast with Kevin Hart often stealing the show.

    I would say like many rom-coms there is a certain traditional sappiness that comes along to satisfy a female audience, but I found it entertaining. I'll give it a 9, but voted a ten because some of these other reviewers and critics are questionable after seeing it myself.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Is normal that all the years we watch this movies, with a great cast in a simple story, that can be funny, and Think Like a Man is perfect for the example, we have a funny cast, that do a normal performance, any bigger, and do a good job. The story is simple, in some moments is funny, any new. Think Like a Man is to hang. No more. Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    Very entertaining and of course funny. Became predictable right away and lacked an element of any surprise or twist. When watching, by a quarter of the way through the movie you'll sit back and just watch because you'll feel like you've seen it before. It's almost like a remake of Deliver Us from Eva. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    5
    When you watch the trailer it seems very funny, but when the movie starts it is actually very boring. The movie seems like it goes on and on forever, rather than it being like 100 minutes. It just drags on forever. If they had added the funny guy " the one telling the story" the movie would of been a HIT! That's my opinion. The biggest thing was that it dragged on FOREVER and that it was not funny.. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    Sorry, if Tyler Perry doesn't have anything to do with this is can't not be good. TP is a Hollywood icon and he's making the rules HIS WAY so if you don't like it, then you can just double flip on outta here. Because Hollywood don't tolerate no phonies! Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers