Third Person

Third Person Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 12 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 26, 2014
    100
    Third Person is Paul Haggis' best movie, and the one he has been building toward for years.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jun 26, 2014
    63
    Wonderful as it is to watch great actors delve deeply into their roles, it’s a shame that the material they are delivering is just so damn confusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jul 10, 2014
    50
    Third Person doesn’t lack for ambition, and it’s nice to see Neeson in the kind of role that he excelled at before he morphed into an action star.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 17, 2014
    40
    It’s crushing, then, that the movie’s big reveal is the kind of narrative do-over that could only spring from the mind of an almighty writer in love with playing God — or with himself.
  5. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Nov 10, 2014
    40
    If "Crash" set your teeth on edge, book in at the dentist's before seeing this one.
  6. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jun 20, 2014
    30
    Third Person is an intricately constructed but unaffecting bore. Kinder people might call it an “interesting failure,” but to earn that label it would need to be interesting.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Third Person is an audacious failure, one that even its starry cast can't save. With a trite script, and an even more glib thematic undercurrent, Third Person is nothing short of an outright embarrassment.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    Yes, it is as long as a six course dinner, but what a feast. The subject matter is interesting--the disasters that happen to children whenYes, it is as long as a six course dinner, but what a feast. The subject matter is interesting--the disasters that happen to children when they are loved too much, not enough, or when they can't compete with the complications of their parents' lives. The cinematography is superb. The actors outdo themselves. Liam Neeson and Adrien Brody are esteemed, but this is their best work. Olivia Wilde is a revelation in a very difficult role. Mila Kunis and James Franco prove more than cute, off beat personalities. The director, Paul Haggis, loves telling multiple stories that combine sometimes in terms of story, sometimes only through implication. If this is "playing God", let him play on--he has the cards. Collapse
  2. Mar 24, 2015
    8
    Even though with a strong and elegant cast for "Third person," the script is convoluted, and Haggis tries to focus on three scripts to make itEven though with a strong and elegant cast for "Third person," the script is convoluted, and Haggis tries to focus on three scripts to make it into a film. Liam Neeson takes a break from the action movies and does a romance movie? in this movie he is a alcoholic selfish writer, who sucks at love, so he is in paris trying write his novel. Olivia Wilde loves Nesson's character, but they don't know it yet. Adrien Brody tries to help Monika (Moran Atias), get her money back from the con's. Mila Kunis has a rough past, so she wants custody of her son from James Franco's character; so they get are getting divorce. The script gets way off, a lot. Grade B+ Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    6
    Third Person does have a somewhat intriguing premise and includes a talented cast, its is poorly executed and often too confusing to offer anyThird Person does have a somewhat intriguing premise and includes a talented cast, its is poorly executed and often too confusing to offer any engagement. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2014
    5
    This latest from Paul Haggis (best known as the writer/director of "Crash") follows a similar multi-level structure. Three couples play outThis latest from Paul Haggis (best known as the writer/director of "Crash") follows a similar multi-level structure. Three couples play out tragic stories in 3 cities (New York, Rome, Paris), each centering around the loss of a child. The impressive cast (Liam Neeson, James Franco, Adrien Brody, Mila Kunis, Olivia Wilde) turns in deep performances, but it's the script that leaves you wanting. It sets up a number of compelling complex situations (and even tosses in some reality defying twists), but none of it resolves in a gratifying conclusion. I kept waiting for the dramatic revelations, but all I got was flawed characters who suffered interestingly. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    4
    A noble attempt at trying to make a meaningful statement that feels like it's always "reaching" for something it never fully attains. That'sA noble attempt at trying to make a meaningful statement that feels like it's always "reaching" for something it never fully attains. That's rather unfortunate, too, given the considerable talent at the filmmakers' disposal here. But, no matter how hard the picture tries, it never really seems to arrive at a destination that truly satisfies. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    2
    As a rule I will usually post my movie review the same evening after I have seen the movie but I wanted to give the “Third Person” awhileAs a rule I will usually post my movie review the same evening after I have seen the movie but I wanted to give the “Third Person” awhile before giving my opinions. I don’t remember the last time I saw an audience with such puzzled faces walking out of a movie theatre as I did after the end credits were shown.

    While I prefer my movies tied up in a bow with rational explanations of why/what took place I don’t mind the occasional one with ambiguous endings but sometimes the writer/director, in this case Paul Haggis, who also wrote and directed the Oscar winning “Crash”, goes a little too far. There are 3 stories going on here simultaneously but really there is a fourth which helps in adding, “What?!” to the ending. I don’t like to give spoilers so I really won’t give my explanation except to say as a writer I have written books of fiction giving characters different aspects of myself and leave it at that.

    The stories revolve around Mike (Liam Neeson), Anna (Olivia Wilde) and his wife (Kim Basinger), Sean (Adrien Brody) and Monika (Moran Atias), Julia (Mila Kunis) and her ex (James Franco) and her lawyer (Maria Bello) each story involving a child, girl or boy, dead or alive.

    One couple is in Paris, another in Rome and a third in New York and whether on purpose or not the writer/director Haggis will have Mila in New York, where her main story takes and place, and twice in Paris without any reason except writers have the freedom to take their story where they want.

    All the actors do fine but Kunis’s make up is a bit too much even for a one time soap opera star and Brody comes up bland playing opposite Atias, an Israeli actress, as a Romanian gypsy!

    I don’t know how to explain this but though the movie is interesting it is also boring, the running time being over 2 hours and 20 minutes. The film is about all aspects of love but doesn’t get the viewer involved which in the end makes it a failure.
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.