Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: August 20, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 226 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
202
Mixed:
9
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MovieGoer14Jun 30, 2013
Thirteen is absorbing and beautifully disturbing, it is fascinating and scary because it is so real and fresh, it has the first rate direction, and it is an uproarious experience that you will never forget for a long time. Thirteen is easilyThirteen is absorbing and beautifully disturbing, it is fascinating and scary because it is so real and fresh, it has the first rate direction, and it is an uproarious experience that you will never forget for a long time. Thirteen is easily one of my favorite movies. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film has a great meaning. It wants to show all the bad things that can happen to a teenager nowadays. Such as get addicted to drugs, have sex when you are thirteen steal. The actors were really good and the film in general was interesting. It is too dramatic in the end as the director wants to show the relationship mother-daughter that even in the wildest moments it is strong Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 16, 2013
Well it is a true movie, cause I know people in my life who are the same, but hiding it, no matter what age, corrupted kids do exist, and one could make an influence on another. But as a movie (Based on Nikki Reed's real life) it is way toWell it is a true movie, cause I know people in my life who are the same, but hiding it, no matter what age, corrupted kids do exist, and one could make an influence on another. But as a movie (Based on Nikki Reed's real life) it is way to amazing and detailed, plus the pacing is one of a kind it felt like three hours long, the story is perfect, the acting is perfect, nothing is missing, overall it is amazing but it is important. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
timrichieOct 6, 2014
Evan Rachel Wood pulls here one of the best performances of the year, backed up by a nearly as stellar performance by Holly Hunter, not to forget Nikki Reed i what can be her best performance ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
abh5874Oct 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers. An absolutely amazing movie! Absolutely fantastic acting, writing and directing. It blewme away the first time I watched it. And it is sooooo realistic also. Very true to life, at any age. The problems and feelings being dealt with are felt by most teenagers at one time or another, and are dealt with in a very caring and sympathetic manner. Excellent. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 5, 2011
This is one of the most realistic teenage films you will ever see, It shows just how hard being a teenage is and all the pressures that we have to deal with. Solid acting and the film is not afraid to go there to get its point across.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
If you really wanna know what life is like as a teenage these days then you have to watch this movie. They captured the everyday teenage struggles perfectly. I loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
TenayaC.Mar 28, 2007
The movie was nicely done. OVERdone. HELLO, 90% or more of thirteen year old girls have never kissed a guy or worn a skirt the size of underwear, let alone gotten high or cut themselves. So will all the grown people please stop thinking The movie was nicely done. OVERdone. HELLO, 90% or more of thirteen year old girls have never kissed a guy or worn a skirt the size of underwear, let alone gotten high or cut themselves. So will all the grown people please stop thinking it's a CHILLINGLY ACCURATE portrayal of the teen years. Puh-lease. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
RickSep 1, 2005
This movie had no redeeming factors about it. from the girls which were ok looking but obviously not in their early teens to the charcters who didnt change through the whole movie this was a waste of my time to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelJ.Feb 18, 2006
It was absoloutely fantastic! I just got so influenced by Evie's magnetic behaviour I wanted to be her! I am 14 so i understand the pressure of being 13, i know what its like you have to wear the right clothes, the right makeup, not say It was absoloutely fantastic! I just got so influenced by Evie's magnetic behaviour I wanted to be her! I am 14 so i understand the pressure of being 13, i know what its like you have to wear the right clothes, the right makeup, not say stupid things, make sure you get all the boys occasionally smoke Cannabis, sniff Poppers, I used to be like Tracy, my previous school i did my best to always look good but i never succeeded. Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BernardoS.Jun 2, 2006
This movie does one thing right: It shows how you must not raise your kids. Simply because of that I´m giving an average rate I have come to realize that the ones that give a high rank are usually kids and my question is: What use the This movie does one thing right: It shows how you must not raise your kids. Simply because of that I´m giving an average rate I have come to realize that the ones that give a high rank are usually kids and my question is: What use the restrictions have if a kid is watching a R-rated movie? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EinarJ.May 4, 2008
Amazing acting. Am i the only one who f*cking loves this soundtrack ?!? Great acting, bit overblown situation, but this has happened before, no doubt. Liked it in general, loved the acting and soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyN.Sep 18, 2005
I am a 13 year old girl going to a junior high somewhat like the one portrayed in this movie, and when I saw it I was blown away. I've never chosen to do most of the things thses girls do simply because I know what it can do to my life. I am a 13 year old girl going to a junior high somewhat like the one portrayed in this movie, and when I saw it I was blown away. I've never chosen to do most of the things thses girls do simply because I know what it can do to my life. I loved the film, and it inspired me to keep trying for what I know is right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyFMay 16, 2007
Superb acting. Evan Rachel Wood is amazing. Holly Hunter is remarkable. When I first saw it I doubted the storyline, because it IS unbelievable what this thirteen year old does and how quickly she changes. Then I looked at the youth in my Superb acting. Evan Rachel Wood is amazing. Holly Hunter is remarkable. When I first saw it I doubted the storyline, because it IS unbelievable what this thirteen year old does and how quickly she changes. Then I looked at the youth in my town and surrounding towns. Times are changing. Kids are getting high, smoking, drinking, and some having sex / getting pregnant. It's becoming more and more common. Cutting is extremely common. Even though these girls are probably a hugely exaggerated version of this, it is an exaggeration of the truth. Too bad there's so much profanity, drug use, sexual content, and a scene of nudity. I am not against this, but schools are (OBVIOUSLY.) But, this is an important film for youth to see, though it may not change their ways, it can effect them, even in a small way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jimmytancrediNov 30, 2011
I didnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 17, 2015
As one of those movies that prove a point in the most vehement matter, 'Thirteen' is certainly a movie worth admiring. Although it loses in aesthetics because of it's harsh realism, it is a wonderful movie about life, about growing up andAs one of those movies that prove a point in the most vehement matter, 'Thirteen' is certainly a movie worth admiring. Although it loses in aesthetics because of it's harsh realism, it is a wonderful movie about life, about growing up and about pressure piling up from each side. Similar to Linklater's 'Boyhood', 'Thirteen' utilizes a very similar method in it's approach to the plot and the characters. It gives us an insight into a chaotic environment, a specific state of mind and shows us the struggle, both internal and external, of a young girl just trying to find herself in the world she's been put into. The struggle is difficult, disturbingly realistic and it certainly demands a very strong emotional investment into watching the movie. But it also has a point, a strong message it sends and that message is why the movie is so exceptional and interesting. Evan Rachel Wood is brilliant in her role and you cannot help but wonder how such a wonderful actress managed to not become one of the greats... there is still time, sure, but... you just feel sorry.

All in all, 'Thirteen' is the next thing to a real master-piece, a movie that, unlike many others, shows us how life functions and how it can be difficult for individuals to fight. But, it sends a strong message and one not so depressing as the movie itself and there is, certainly, a big lesson to be learned and it is, surely, a movie worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews