User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 189
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    Hmmm. This was a movie that seemed to have come out of Apatow's clinic of typic movies. This movie had his typical earmarks such as being a major platform for informing the public about his love of music to say the least. It was also infused with Paul Rudd's befuddled rants and Mann's classic freakouts. Combine with McCarthy's run-of-the-mill psychotic episodes, it was just too much of theHmmm. This was a movie that seemed to have come out of Apatow's clinic of typic movies. This movie had his typical earmarks such as being a major platform for informing the public about his love of music to say the least. It was also infused with Paul Rudd's befuddled rants and Mann's classic freakouts. Combine with McCarthy's run-of-the-mill psychotic episodes, it was just too much of the same thing as these actors typically do in the other Apatow movies. Too much of the kids arguing, too much jokes that didn't land, and let's face it, if you're not married/have kids/and or 40, alot of what might be subtle humor just will fly over your head, but at the fault of not directing the humor in a way that us minority might understand it. The addition of Megan Fox was just insult to injury on that front. Overall, I didn't absolutely hate it, but after the credits rolled, it left me thinking "wow, that wasn't very funny." Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    This movie is funny but ultimately bland and pointless. At least 45 minutes of the film (which never really goes anywhere, or has any sort of plot) could be cut out and the same message will still be gleaned. Fans of Knocked Up may enjoy this, but otherwise it is a mediocre romantic comedy.
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    Paul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life arePaul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life are presented in this movie, development is scarce. Nice to see if there is nothing else on at the theater. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    Bland, annoying and badly executed, Judd Apatow disappoints once again. If you liked Knocked Up, give this one a miss.

    These movies with family members playing major roles don't ever work, learn your lesson Apatow.
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    This is good piece of film making and story telling. I know on the
    poster it tells us 'It's sort of a sequel' but it's not. OK, if we had
    Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl then it might pass for a sequel but we don't. What we do have is a good comedy/drama (dramedy?) where we glimpse into the lives of Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up. All their trials and tribulations, dentist and
    This is good piece of film making and story telling. I know on the
    poster it tells us 'It's sort of a sequel' but it's not. OK, if we had
    Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl then it might pass for a sequel but we
    don't. What we do have is a good comedy/drama (dramedy?) where we
    glimpse into the lives of Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up. All their
    trials and tribulations, dentist and gynaecologist visits which are
    very funny and so true. Judd Apatow enlists the help of the family
    again and they are all great, especially Iris Apatow as the annoying
    baby sister. This is as funny as Knocked Up but I felt it was 30
    minutes too long. Even so it works well. Couples who have been together
    a few years will especially find it hilarious.

    Good fun.

    Score 6.5/10
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    4
    sentimental, sometimes funny, typical Aptow navel gazing about emotional discovery and maturity. Wish he would get over the mid-life crisis and make something funny again. It is comparable to Louis the television series in that it makes fun of real life, steals some of his jokes, and is a realistic humor on getting older, only not nearly as funny. It is well balanced in that Megan foxsentimental, sometimes funny, typical Aptow navel gazing about emotional discovery and maturity. Wish he would get over the mid-life crisis and make something funny again. It is comparable to Louis the television series in that it makes fun of real life, steals some of his jokes, and is a realistic humor on getting older, only not nearly as funny. It is well balanced in that Megan fox has few lines and is mostly camera fodder to make the viewer forget that he is watching a **** polished version of a boring married couple. Would have been much more interesting if Rudd and Mann actually tried to kill each other and not just joke about it. don't pay money to see it. online free version is watchable. not worth the price of admission. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    "While it comes with many flaws. This is 40 is a calmly funny, up-beat comedy that takes us through the mid-life crisis. While its not always laugh out loud funny. Thanks to comedic timing by Rudd & Mann, this movie saved itself from being a much worse" C
  8. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Fight-make up-fight-make up-fight=make up. There is never a big moment in this movie. Right when you think that their gonna have the fight to end all fights and the movie is gonna take some sort of a turn, the fight is over and we go back to square one. No real story arc. The acting is good and there's a few funny parts. Not a bad movie but definitely not Apatow's best by a long shot.
  9. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    A little long, a little inconsistent, and a little full of unnecessary supporting characters. In the end its success hinges on the likability of its cast, and it that regard it mostly works.
  10. Jan 1, 2013
    4
    This is 40 is self indulgent, silly and only occasionally funny. The main problem is its just too long, scenes dither and meander which ultimately detracts from any possible cinematic weight or substance. I have no doubt that there is a perfectly funny, astute 90min movie itching to get out of this fatty 134 min sludge of a film. A crying shame.
  11. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    I was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like were fighting the entire time. If I wanted to see a couple fight, I could have stayed home. The movie was also too long, the ending dragged on a lot and II was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like were fighting the entire time. If I wanted to see a couple fight, I could have stayed home. The movie was also too long, the ending dragged on a lot and I feel like they could have deleted a few more scenes. Megan Fox was awesome to look and Paul Rudd is always adorable. In all, I just wasn't impressed. Expand
  12. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    I give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments inI give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments in the story, but it is rather entertaining, though a tad too long. Not bad at all, but not a great film either. It's within the 'good' category, for sure. 6/10 Expand
  13. BKM
    Jul 18, 2013
    5
    The movie has its fair share of laughs, although none of them are of the gut busting variety, and Mann and Rudd do a commendable job of carrying the film on their combined shoulders. But This Is 40 ultimately fails due to a maddening lack of focus. It feels like it's trying to go in ten different directions at the same time.
  14. Mar 23, 2015
    6
    The story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeable enough as the squabbling couple, but their problems are hard to sympathise with when they live in (what must amount to) a mansion, and despite theThe story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeable enough as the squabbling couple, but their problems are hard to sympathise with when they live in (what must amount to) a mansion, and despite the constant moaning about lack of money and cost cutting seem to live like millionaires. Ostensibly a film about "first world problems" it will make you chuckle, but you won't have a shred of sympathy for anyone by the end. Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    A family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what they perceive to be middle age and decide to change their lives for the better although in reality it might just be for the worst, the absolute worst. It's aA family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what they perceive to be middle age and decide to change their lives for the better although in reality it might just be for the worst, the absolute worst. It's a film designed for the modern family, or that's what all the posters and adverts seem to suggest but to be honest the idea that this film is something for the modern family is completely absurd. In fact the family portrayed in this film feels nothing like the modern family (does anyone really know what a modern family is?), it feels dated even for 2013, I mean even the Lost references (there are plenty) are 3 years old. It's a film that does have a lot to say about family and does display a interesting family unit and a unique view of what a family should look like as compared to the idealised one we have in our head. This family unit is a strong one and each character interacts well with each other. However that's not to say the film is just about family and portrays family perfectly, its a very flawed film too. It's middle suffers due to some boring plot developments and lackluster jokes that befit a much different film. Ultimately its a film that seems it was written in parts with the beginning and the end meshing with each other well but the middle feeling wholly out of place and wrong. The middle does have some merit in fact Megan Fox surprises with a hilarious supporting role as one of Debbie's employees. However it is the ending that really raises the film up above Apatow's usual fair with some touching family moments that feel real. The inclusion of Albert Brooks and John Lithgow as Pete and Debbie's respective fathers gives a nice contrast and makes for some decent conflict the these characters. It's a film that has a huge chunk of a flaw but its one that you can ultimately shrug off thanks to an ending that reminds you why you liked these characters to begin with. Expand
  16. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    Pete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as their family. They get new jobs and reconnect with family on their journey toward becoming a more mature couple, but it comes at a cost. Judd Apatow writesPete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as their family. They get new jobs and reconnect with family on their journey toward becoming a more mature couple, but it comes at a cost. Judd Apatow writes and directs this unique comedy, so I was expecting another hilarious winner, but they can't all be winners. The cast is fantastic and there are more than a few good laughs here, but this movie is extremely long and drawn out for a romantic comedy, and while it starts out strong, it starts to grow tiresome. There are many scenes between husband and wife that are boring and completely unnecessary. What I did like was how Apatow cast his daughters to be Pete and Debbie's daughters. They really are sisters and there was no pressure working for their dad, allowing them to really make it seem like this is a real family, and it's a good thing too, because for as good as both Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are, they just didn't have much chemistry together. Both cast members were good in portraying their own characters, but when you put them together you see that something just isn't right about the pairing. I loved the concept and you will definitely laugh during this film, but it does lack a certain chemistry and is far too long for what it is. Expand
  17. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Marketed as the ‘Sort-of sequel to Knocked Up‘, writer/director/producer Judd Apatow returns with his regular blend of bickering tragicomedy, only this time it’s more cantankerous, self-aggrandising, and most painful of all longer then it ever should or deserved to be.

    Full review here:
    http://theframeloop.com/2013/02/13/40/#
  18. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This is 40 was not the kind of comedy that I was expecting, and has shown that Judd Apatow is becoming a much darker director. I have always enjoyed Judd Apatow's work; films like Bridesmaids and The 40-Year Old Virgin were really well made and well written while also being hilarious. This film is a sequel to Apatow's 2007 film Knocked Up, but it doesn't bring back Seth Rogen or KathrynThis is 40 was not the kind of comedy that I was expecting, and has shown that Judd Apatow is becoming a much darker director. I have always enjoyed Judd Apatow's work; films like Bridesmaids and The 40-Year Old Virgin were really well made and well written while also being hilarious. This film is a sequel to Apatow's 2007 film Knocked Up, but it doesn't bring back Seth Rogen or Kathryn Bigelow and instead stars the supporting actors Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann. This new movie proves to have some funny and touching moments, but Judd Apatow seems to be more focused on making a drama rather than a comedy. I didn't laugh as much as I wanted too and many of the characters reach a fine line between likable and really mean. I like to enjoy the characters in a comedy but in this movie the two parents are just always fighting, the two kids are just wretched little creatures, and all the people around them just always give bad advice and make their lives even more difficult. I must admit, the fights between this married couples were some of the best moments of the movie as they really show the good performances from Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann while also showing some real life arguments that married couples have all the time. I know many couples that have gone through this kind of mid-life crisis when they were around 40 years old and this movie shows the difficulties of that kind of marriage. I love the heartfelt and true moments that Judd Apatow puts in his comedies, but he directs this movie so sad and depressing at some moments that it Expand
  19. Apr 27, 2013
    6
    There are some funny one-liners, but the irresponsible nature of the characters in this movie drove me nuts. The fathers in this movie are total dead beats and all the fighting and bickering got annoying. If there is one message to take away from this, having kids is no reason to keep someone around!!!
  20. Feb 16, 2015
    6
    This movie is pretty decent. Arguing over which music is best. The father likes rock music, the mother likes classic pop music, and the kids like the modern pop music. It seems pretty legit.
  21. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    funnier than expected, but its a typical 1 time see movie and thats it.at least you can see leslie´s **** and megan is always welcome
  22. Feb 27, 2015
    4
    I don't remember anything but somehow hating girls music a little more and paul rudd failing to make cupcakes funny...which isn't easy i bet....december 5th is my actual birthday too ......
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 11, 2013
    80
    With his fourth film as writer-director, Judd Apatow has arguably made his most personal film yet, without forgetting to make us laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jan 11, 2013
    80
    Apatow's return creates a pleasantly sprawling, perceptive study of mid-life angst that never lacks for laughs. Promoting Rudd and Mann from Knocked Up's margins to centre stage proves to be a shrewd move.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    40
    It's not bad, exactly – but it is boring and very rarely funny. This is laboured. This is aimless. This Is 40. It's really quite a grind.