User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 178

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    Funny as heck!! Paul Rudd is the best! There are so many great moments that you can barely find time to stop laughing before something else happens. Anyone with pre-teen aged kids can relate to most of this story. My only real issue with the movie is that it is entirely too long for a movie of its type. Its a comedy about life at 40, not a Lord of the Rings trilogy!!
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Marketed as the ‘Sort-of sequel to Knocked Up‘, writer/director/producer Judd Apatow returns with his regular blend of bickering tragicomedy, only this time it’s more cantankerous, self-aggrandising, and most painful of all longer then it ever should or deserved to be.

    Full review here:
    http://theframeloop.com/2013/02/13/40/#
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    2
    How did this movie even get over a 6 from the users? C'mon people. This movie is unbearable. Its 2 hours and 20 minutes of people yelling at each other. The characters are insufferable. I hated them all. This is 40 is not a funny movie. Nor is it a good movie. Skip it.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    This is 40 was not the kind of comedy that I was expecting, and has shown that Judd Apatow is becoming a much darker director. I have always enjoyed Judd Apatow's work; films like Bridesmaids and The 40-Year Old Virgin were really well made and well written while also being hilarious. This film is a sequel to Apatow's 2007 film Knocked Up, but it doesn't bring back Seth Rogen or Kathryn Bigelow and instead stars the supporting actors Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann. This new movie proves to have some funny and touching moments, but Judd Apatow seems to be more focused on making a drama rather than a comedy. I didn't laugh as much as I wanted too and many of the characters reach a fine line between likable and really mean. I like to enjoy the characters in a comedy but in this movie the two parents are just always fighting, the two kids are just wretched little creatures, and all the people around them just always give bad advice and make their lives even more difficult. I must admit, the fights between this married couples were some of the best moments of the movie as they really show the good performances from Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann while also showing some real life arguments that married couples have all the time. I know many couples that have gone through this kind of mid-life crisis when they were around 40 years old and this movie shows the difficulties of that kind of marriage. I love the heartfelt and true moments that Judd Apatow puts in his comedies, but he directs this movie so sad and depressing at some moments that it Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    This is 40 is a tale of 2 movies. The first hour and half seems forced, unnecessary and has mindless conversations. The last 40 minutes, Apatow brings back his old ways of comedy and has some of the funniest scenes since The 40 year old Virgin
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    This movie is so bad it hurt my eyes to watch,Leslie Mann is less than a one trick pony and if she wasnt married to apatow she would be dredging a living on reality shows....maybe.
    Paul Rudd looks a sif he wants to scream.."where did it all go wrong"!
    The only possible saving Grace is Mellisa Mcarthy who is always a joy.
    dont watch this, you will never get the time back!
  7. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    This is good piece of film making and story telling. I know on the poster it tells us 'It's sort of a sequel' but it's not. OK, if we had Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl then it might pass for a sequel but we don't. What we do have is a good comedy/drama (dramedy?) where we glimpse into the lives of Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up. All their trials and tribulations, dentist and gynaecologist visits which are
    very funny and so true. Judd Apatow enlists the help of the family
    again and they are all great, especially Iris Apatow as the annoying
    baby sister. This is as funny as Knocked Up but I felt it was 30
    minutes too long. Even so it works well. Couples who have been together
    a few years will especially find it hilarious.

    Good fun.

    Score 6.5/10
    Expand
  8. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    The opposite of a date movie... this is more like a "never date" movie. The couple at the center of the story get into an argument 30 seconds into the film and the squabbling never lets up. Eighty minutes in, one of their kids says, "I'm sick of everybody fighting." I couldn't have agreed more. Although it's true that a story needs to have some conflict to be interesting, the mistake Apatow makes here is thinking that more conflict means more interesting. Sitting through over two hours of miserable people blaming each other for their miserable lives is far closer to torture than entertainment. Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    6
    I give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments in the story, but it is rather entertaining, though a tad too long. Not bad at all, but not a great film either. It's within the 'good' category, for sure. 6/10 Expand
  10. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    Its not terrible but Paul Rudd keeps playing the same kind of guy. Honestly I saw it a couple weeks ago and I had to watch the trailer again on here in order to remember it. I do like John Lithgow and he was one of the more interesting characters but his role was very small. Also I'm not sure when Hollywood is going to learn that most men generally are uncomfortable with jokes about masturbation.
    It was just okay but very forgettable. If you watch a trailer for it, you've seen all you really need to see.
    Expand
  11. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Maybe it is about 20 minutes to long and concludes the main plot point twice, but "This Is 40" is full of comedic moments and overall relatable content that is definitely worth a watch.
  12. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd (reprising the characters they created in "Knocked Up") turn 40 and deal with complications in their marriage, family and careers. There's not much of a plot line, just situations where they interact with each other and friends. In typical Judd Apatow style, the dialogue often feels improvised, but that doesn't stop it from being very funny. The supporting cast is loaded with strong comic turns, esp. Albert Brooks & Melissa McCarthy. This movie is full insights into life and relationships that elicit chuckles of recognition and lots of laughs. Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Fight-make up-fight-make up-fight=make up. There is never a big moment in this movie. Right when you think that their gonna have the fight to end all fights and the movie is gonna take some sort of a turn, the fight is over and we go back to square one. No real story arc. The acting is good and there's a few funny parts. Not a bad movie but definitely not Apatow's best by a long shot.
  14. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    Probably the worst movie I have seen. What a waste of time and money!! Extremely fragmented, excessive, unnecessary vulgarity, no chemistry between the characters and not funny.. nobody laughed in the audience. All I heard were gasps related to the unnecessary vulgarity even from the children. I guess after reading all the reviews and seeing who was in the movie I expected to laugh a little... didn't happen. Not sure if the people that gave the positive reviews were paid off because there is no way anyone could say this movie was good. Expand
  15. Jan 3, 2013
    3
    Not even the stunning Megan Fox can save this film.
  16. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Not a movie so much as extended takes edited together (by no less than 3 credited editors) of improvised scenes from previous characters in another Judd Apatow movie. Like Funny People, this sacrifices story (and humor) for honesty, but the 2 hours of mean-spirited jaunt isn't worth the 9-minute payoff thrown together, nor the 2 minutes of outtakes at the end watching Melissa McCarthy improvise. Fast forward to her 2 scenes and turn the rest off. Waste of time. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie and didn't want it to end. I can't wait another 5 years for a sequel, I want Apatow to write another immediately, or put everyone in a sitcom or reality show. I laughed and I cried, I love Leslie and her daughters the most.
  18. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    A little long, a little inconsistent, and a little full of unnecessary supporting characters. In the end its success hinges on the likability of its cast, and it that regard it mostly works.
  19. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    I really think Apatow is trying to win an Oscar. This film is so more serious and relatable than his previous ones, and I'm not sure how I like it. It's a pretty good movie and it definitely makes you question your realationships but the 2 and a half hour run time are felt, and at times it is more awkward than enjoyable. Still a pretty good movie even if it is nothing like the other ones.
  20. Jan 1, 2013
    4
    This is 40 is self indulgent, silly and only occasionally funny. The main problem is its just too long, scenes dither and meander which ultimately detracts from any possible cinematic weight or substance. I have no doubt that there is a perfectly funny, astute 90min movie itching to get out of this fatty 134 min sludge of a film. A crying shame.
  21. Dec 31, 2012
    1
    The movie "This is 40'' is such an aweful movie, such a piece of crap who are these people acting in
    the movie? D list stars! First off, it was all about filthy sex, and there wasn't anything interesting in this movie, nothing left to the imagination, just pure filth. And to put kids in this movie is beyond me. This is pure rubbish and I was very, very, disappointed with this garbage
    movie. This was by far one of the worst, boring movies I have seen in a long, long, time. There, I got that off my chest. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    While this movie isnt perfect by any means, I feel its been getting a bum rap. As a 42 year old myself, I could relate to a lot of the humor and I really enjoyed the chemistry between Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd. My main problem is it seems there were too many underdeveloped plot issues where the meat and potatoes were left on the cutting room floor or just went left unsaid (the last 10 minutes of the movie doesnt really tie anything up).
    Bottom line is if you are married and have kids and are nearing 40, then I definitely recommend this movie to you. If you are young and single....maybe not so much.
    Expand
  23. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    This movie was surprisingly good ! From now on I'm going to ignore the critic reviews when going into movies, because this one was way more enjoyable then they lead on. Rudd and Mann have the perfect chemistry as displayed in Knocked up. I love how their daughters grew up, and the actors are very believable as a family. And many of the actors from bridesmaids add more comedy to the all ready funny plot. The only complaints I have is that the movie is overly long. Its not poorly paced at all, but it was a good two hours and ten minutes long, so be prepared for that. And my last complaint is that like fellow review "kristen58" pointed out is that Alison ( Katherine Heigel) and Ben (Seth Rogan) are absent and not even mentioned in this entire movie. They were the Main characters from Knocked Up and even though I see this film as a spin-off rather than a sequel from knocked up, It would have been a nice touch if they even referenced them. Mann's character constantly talks about her family and her father, but there is never even a mention of her sister. But overall I would definitely recommend this movie. Money well spent. Expand
  24. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    I agree with much of bl_nk's review, but I'll add that it's very long, but I never felt that it was too long or that I wanted it to end. It almost felt like a full season of Parenthood (though much funnier) crammed into 5 episodes. Most of the black humor resonated with me in particular - I noticed that I was often the only one laughing (hard) among the 20 or so people seeing the late, late show with me. My primary criticism is that it might have bitten off a BIT more than it could chew in terms of subplots and storylines. But Rudd and Mann are just flat-out funny. And I appreciate the basic honesty of the story. Apatow's kids are also excellent in their roles. Albert Brooks may have been a bit too strong for the film - he stole his scenes to the extent that he pulled focus away from the rest of the movie. So yes, the film employed a bit of a buckshot approach and was a touch unfocused, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. Expand
  25. Dec 28, 2012
    4
    sentimental, sometimes funny, typical Aptow navel gazing about emotional discovery and maturity. Wish he would get over the mid-life crisis and make something funny again. It is comparable to Louis the television series in that it makes fun of real life, steals some of his jokes, and is a realistic humor on getting older, only not nearly as funny. It is well balanced in that Megan fox has few lines and is mostly camera fodder to make the viewer forget that he is watching a **** polished version of a boring married couple. Would have been much more interesting if Rudd and Mann actually tried to kill each other and not just joke about it. don't pay money to see it. online free version is watchable. not worth the price of admission. Expand
  26. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This movie was hilarious. I wasn't expecting much because of the so-so reviews, but I was really surprised. The lines were great and the the cast carried them off beautifully. Loved Leslie Mann, but I thought that Albert Brooks stole the movie. Would've loved even more of him. Judd Apatow knew exactly what he was doing, maybe because it is his life, but even if not, he was spot on. Funniest movie of the year! Expand
  27. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This movie was hilarious! It had its serious moments that didn't get too dramatic and romantic moments that didn't get too cheesy. The humor was clever and probably too modern and advanced for the movie critics to comprehend. I really enjoyed the film and felt like a lot of the characters and situations between parents and children really hit close to home. Thanks for another great film Judd Apatow! Expand
  28. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    Paul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life are presented in this movie, development is scarce. Nice to see if there is nothing else on at the theater. Expand
  29. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    Very funny, entertaining movie...but I think it's probably not as good as Knocked Up. The most negative thing I can say is that it's super weird and awkward that Katherine Heigl's character from Knocked Up, Alison, is not even mentioned. I mean in Knocked Up, they're so close that Alison lives with her sister Debbie (Leslie Mann) and brother-in-law Pete (Paul Rudd), but in This is 40, she's gone and not even mentioned? I mean maybe she moved away, but would they really pretend she doesn't exist? In the movie, we meet Debbie's father, and learn about her childhood, still no mention of her sister, Alison. Kind of weird. But, despite this, it's a funny movie. It is slightly long, but never slow or boring. Has a good amount of R-rated-ness for those that like their comedies a little less squeaky clean and a bit more adult. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 11, 2013
    80
    With his fourth film as writer-director, Judd Apatow has arguably made his most personal film yet, without forgetting to make us laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jan 11, 2013
    80
    Apatow's return creates a pleasantly sprawling, perceptive study of mid-life angst that never lacks for laughs. Promoting Rudd and Mann from Knocked Up's margins to centre stage proves to be a shrewd move.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    40
    It's not bad, exactly – but it is boring and very rarely funny. This is laboured. This is aimless. This Is 40. It's really quite a grind.