This Is Spinal Tap (re-release) Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The rock scene hasn't been the same since this hilarious 1984 comedy.
  2. 100
    Deserves an encore anyway for its invaluable contributions to the vocabulary of rock'n' roll and pop culture.
  3. 100
    One of the funniest, most intelligent, most original films.
  4. One of the great movie satires. And if it isn't the funniest rock spoof ever made, it certainly shares the title with "The Rutles."
  5. 90
    A vastly amusing satire of heavy metal bands.
  6. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    90
    That rare comedy that is as completely entertaining now in its re-release...as it was back then.
  7. 50
    Begs the question: Did the lads from Squatney trail the zeitgeist at every turn, or were cobandleaders David St. Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel simply in touch with their past and ahead of their time?

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    80 mins of pure orgasm.

    So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the
    80 mins of pure orgasm.

    So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the usual slapstick comedy is that it feels real and still maintains a decent structure. It is impossible to rate this lower than 10.
    Expand
  2. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Great movie. My favorite comedy. You owe it to yourself to watch this and laugh your ass off.
  3. DaveK.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Great movie! The satirical content in this is great, any big band would think this is hilarious.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite movie ever. It's witty, funny and clever. They take what could have been a crappy movie and cranked it up to 11. It isOne of my favorite movie ever. It's witty, funny and clever. They take what could have been a crappy movie and cranked it up to 11. It is fantastic. 11/10 Expand
  5. JeffF.
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    Very funny. One drummer choked on someone elses vomit. I wish Metalica some kind of monster would have been this good.
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first time I saw this it was just an okay movie. But the more I watch it the funnier it gets, the dialog is clever, and the music is hilarious and great to listen to. The interactions between the characters is so well done and feels very real. It may not be a very well known movie but I highly suggest watching it. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    Witty and good fun, even if it was a bit over done.
    You have already reviewed this product. You can submit a new review and rating now if you
    Witty and good fun, even if it was a bit over done.
    You have already reviewed this product. You can submit a new review and rating now if you wish to make changes.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.