Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 11, 2013
    100
    In its own sloppy, raunchy, sophomoric, occasionally self-pleased and consistently energetic way, This Is the End is just about perfect at executing its mission, which is to poke fun at its stars, exhaust every R-rated possibility to get a laugh, and even sneak in a few insights into Hollywood, the celebrity culture and the nature of faith.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 5, 2013
    100
    It's the wildest screen comedy in a long time, and also the smartest, the most fearlessly inspired, and the snort-out-loud funniest.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 11, 2013
    90
    From the clockwork comic timing to the movie's salty mix of the ridiculous and the reflective, This Is the End is stupidly hysterical and smartly heretical. Cross my heart and hope to die, it's funny as hell.
  4. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Jun 14, 2013
    88
    This is the End finds a balanced tone most horror comedies fail to deliver. Grossout humor melds easily with grossout horror, sometimes at the same moment.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 13, 2013
    88
    There's no way you won't have a blast. In their directing debuts, Rogen and Goldberg come up aces, mixing hilarity and horror like pros and never letting up on the killer momentum.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 11, 2013
    88
    A one-joke movie, but it’s a joke whose recurring rimshots grow as loud as our laughter.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 10, 2013
    88
    Outrageous-plus, but often hilarious.
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 12, 2013
    83
    There are no boundaries in this movie, so deal with it or leave.
  9. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jun 12, 2013
    83
    With less intelligence behind it, this could have easily been one of those films that seem like they were more fun to make than to watch. Instead, it's a thoroughly good time at the movies, from humble beginning to cosmic, surprise-cameo-featuring end.
  10. Reviewed by: Beth Hanna
    Jun 11, 2013
    83
    Rises above the over-tired gross-out comedy genre partly because of its meta celebrities-parodying-themselves trick, but it mostly stands out because it's genuinely funny.
  11. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    That film is far more interesting in concept, and infinitely more elegant in execution, than what Rogen and his buddies have cooked up in This Is the End — but I've gotta admit, it's not nearly as funny.
  12. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 12, 2013
    80
    It is intensely raunchy and silly and joyous and tapped right into my inner teenager in a glorious way.
  13. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 11, 2013
    80
    The Is the End is a different take on the R-rated comedy, a raunchy laugh riot that actually gives you a little to think about.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Maytum
    Jun 11, 2013
    80
    As a celebrity’s-eye-view apocalypse movie, This Is The End delivers huge guffaws and large-scale carnage with enough gusto to mask the indulgences. You’ll never look at Michael Cera in the same way again.
  15. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jun 3, 2013
    79
    Occupies an odd middle ground between their Apatow-produced bromances, the giddy gruesomeness of the recent “Aftershock” and the confined social abrasiveness of “It’s a Disaster.”
  16. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 12, 2013
    75
    The film is uneven and about 15 minutes too long. But when it's funny, it's hilarious.
  17. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jun 12, 2013
    75
    Out-of-control hilarious.
  18. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 12, 2013
    75
    This Is the End is a marvelously sustained, high-wire goof – a movie so nutty and daring, so crazy and out-there, that it feels like a low-budget independent except with big stars and a sizable budget.
  19. 75
    An often hilarious/generally irreverent comedy.
  20. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    [A] crass, patchy, often shamelessly funny farce.
  21. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    By the time September arrives, This is the End will probably be in the running for "funniest comedy of the 2013 summer."
  22. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jun 10, 2013
    75
    There is stuff in This Is the End that had me laughing so hard, I sensed new body parts joining in to help out — my pancreas was heaving, my bile ducts ripped.
  23. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Jun 11, 2013
    70
    After going this far, both in raunchy bad-boyism and mock-apologetic love-us shamelessness, they've effectively blown up their own formula. That's not a bad thing. This is the end; now it's time to try for more.
  24. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    It also expresses the anxiety and insecurity of comics conscious of the big issues in life they are expected either to avoid or make fun of in their work. Rogen and Goldberg take the latter approach here, in an immature but sometimes surprisingly upfront way one can interpret seriously. Or not.
  25. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    This directing debut for co-writers Rogen and Evan Goldberg offsets its slightly smug premise with a clever sense of self-parody and near-cataclysmic levels of vulgarity.
  26. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Maybe it has something to do with Jewish writers riffing on the apocalypse, but This Is the End doesn’t really know how to end.
  27. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Funny is funny, and it would be truly dishonest to deny the big laughs—the spikes of gut-busting inspiration—that the film sporadically delivers.
  28. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Jul 3, 2013
    60
    This apocalypse isn’t a nightmare so much as the ultimate bromantic fantasy, one in which – with the removal of any responsibility – the boys are free to bicker, banter, and bed down together.
  29. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    No comedy classic, then, but a good natured and engaging slice of goonish self-mockery.
  30. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 29, 2013
    60
    Some funny stuff, but a rental/download only.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 634 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 180
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    What has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was reallyWhat has happened to society!? Are male members really worth basing an entire movie on? I didn't find the humor in this at all and was really looking forward to a LOL movie. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft.Are you people insane? If this is what you are willing to pay your hard earned money to see then why should anyone work at their craft. Possibly the most juvenile idiotic movie I have ever seen. Is this what Hollywood now calls entertainment. I have as good as sense of humor as the next person but this flick was awful. The people connected in making this should be ashamed. Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    Don't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR.Don't waste your time. I thought this must be funny after hearing such a positive review, 4.5 stars, by David Blaustein of ABC and WJR. There are a couple of laughs but that is about it. We walked out after about 40min. It may help if you are high before going. Totally over rated. I now know to ignore Blaustein. Rent a Cheech and Chong movie. Full Review »