This Must Be the Place

This Must Be the Place Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Cheyenne is a former rock star. At 50, he still dresses 'Goth' and lives in Dublin off his royalties. The death of his father, with whom he wasn't on speaking terms, brings him back to New York. He discovers his father had an obsession: to seek revenge for a humiliation he had suffered.Cheyenne is a former rock star. At 50, he still dresses 'Goth' and lives in Dublin off his royalties. The death of his father, with whom he wasn't on speaking terms, brings him back to New York. He discovers his father had an obsession: to seek revenge for a humiliation he had suffered. Cheyenne decides to pick up where his father left off, and starts a journey, at his own pace, across America. (The Weinstein Company) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 12, 2012
    100
    Sean Penn makes a striking screen presence in This Must Be the Place, a smart, funny and original road movie by Italian director Paolo Sorrentino ("Il Divo").
  2. Reviewed by: Joseph Jon Lanthier
    Oct 28, 2012
    88
    The film believes in maturity, but only as a freely continual process of acceptance.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Nov 1, 2012
    80
    Sorrentino's languorous photography, understated humor, and quiet but profound dramatic reveals coil together into something organic, whole, and achingly sweet.
  4. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Oct 27, 2012
    70
    This Must Be the Place is dazzling to behold, not least when our hero leaves Ireland. [29 Oct. & 5 Nov. 2012, p.128]
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 31, 2012
    60
    The film's numerous idiosyncrasies - virtues at the outset - ultimately suffocate it.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 27, 2012
    60
    The Holocaust material was not entirely successful, though certainly transmitted with absolute certainty and sincerity. This Must Be the Place is not my favourite of Sorrentino's films, but it certainly deserved inclusion at Cannes, and deserves to be watched for the glorious Byrne moments alone.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 1, 2012
    20
    As juxtapositions go, regressed Goth rock star and Holocaust could hardly be more bizarre, and bizarre can be good when it's done deftly. In this case, however, it's done ponderously and sententiously.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm glad I came along for the ride with Cheyenne. This is one of the best trips I've ever taken. I realize that maybe this film is not for everybody, but for me it hits a lot of the right spots, including most of all, how everyone misunderstands everybody else. As the movie ended, it felt, as Cheyenne said, that "something's not quite right here. I'm not sure what exactly. But something...." Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers. I completely understand where Joe Morgenstern is coming from in his pan of this film - and when I truly think about it, it's not a film of immense substance, and it doesn't make sense in many ways. But there's something about the way that Penn plays the role that connects with me. The portrayal reminds me of a friend, and perhaps that colored my judgement a bit, but I really feel like I need to see this film again. His ultimate treatment of the Nazi war criminal seemed a bit out of left field to me, and I'm sure it was meant as food for thought. It's the most disturbing movie in an otherwise genial, benign flick. Collapse
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    7
    Never in a million years would I have thought to see Sean Penn dressed as Robert Smith. Which catched my attention making me curious to seeNever in a million years would I have thought to see Sean Penn dressed as Robert Smith. Which catched my attention making me curious to see this film being a big fan of David Byrne and Robert Smith. This film is a perfect definition on an independent film since it's only for a specific audience who can appreciate misunderstood classic artist which Sean Penn does a perfect example of. The film had a great soundtrack and an unforgettable execution. This film isn't for everybody but I personally enjoyed it. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    6
    I think Sorrentino would not have pulled this one off without the involvement of Sean Penn who yet again diversifies his repertoire and like aI think Sorrentino would not have pulled this one off without the involvement of Sean Penn who yet again diversifies his repertoire and like a chameleon he just blends in. Yes it is slow and long, but there is also a fine soundtrack and plenty of food of thought weaved into the storyline. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    This film was created solely to test those who rate films. If you gave it more than a 5 (out of 10) then you are too dumb to rate movies.This film was created solely to test those who rate films. If you gave it more than a 5 (out of 10) then you are too dumb to rate movies. There is nothing going on here. It is a waste of talent and should never have been green-lighted. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    Just a mess. This film feels like it was written by a class of stoned film students. Ideas are thrown together seemingly at random. The firstJust a mess. This film feels like it was written by a class of stoned film students. Ideas are thrown together seemingly at random. The first part is set in Dublin, with Sean Penn playing Robert Smith. Penn delivers all his lines as though he is watching a really good TV show and is very, very tired. That is ok for the first 10 minutes. France's McDormand doesn't even have to try to steal every scene, and the film gets worse when Penn and we leave her in Ireland and go to America. There's a road journey to Texas, which has no point, a quest which has something to do wight the holocaust (rather insultingly) and wasted cameos by David Byrne and Harry Dean Stanton. None of the characters are there for any reason other than to contribute to banal, disjointed scenes which become quite boring. One example - Penn drives through a puddle and drenches a uniformed marching band. He gets out and says he is sorry, although they should know he did it on purpose. This is the kind of scene that must seem like fun when you are high and desperate to come up with something, but when you string dozens of these scenes together, it's alienating, pointless, and a waste of the talent available. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2015
    0
    This is one of those movies that totally flat-lined for me. I watched it only because a friend liked and recommended it. However, I hadThis is one of those movies that totally flat-lined for me. I watched it only because a friend liked and recommended it. However, I had serious doubts about it, after having read the synopsis and seen a photo of Sean Penn in drags. I am not a Penn fan, although I would not rule out a movie just because he is in it.

    In this particular movie, I really disliked him for lots of reasons: the exasperating monotone of his speech; the phoniness of all his “conversations”; the weird and yet dull interaction with the many bizarre characters populating the movie, etc…

    The word “boring” is used quite often when we explain why we did not like a movie. Basically, we did not feel emotionally or intellectually engaged by the story unfolding onscreen. Nothing works against this type of disengagement. No rational explanation will convince you about the deep, inner meaning the director, scriptwriter, actors and other reviewers saw or tried to instill into the story.

    Therefore, for me this is the ultimate boring movie. A plot so thin I lost track of it after 10 minutes, totally disengaging and disengaged characters, far too much artsy Penn. I gave up, 1 hour and 6 minutes into it and I am not even sure why I lasted that long. By then, I still had no clue about what was going on and I definitely stopped caring even earlier …..
    Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 31, 2012
    This week, get your final pre-release look at "The Master," watch new trailers for "The Company You Keep," "Seven Psychopaths," "This Must Be the Place," and more, and get a recap of the week's movie news.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.