User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 343

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    Tinker Tailor is one of the most planned out films I have seen in all my years. It is filled with subtle hints and images. It's a film that doesn't point things out, it crams the screen full of imagery and lets the viewer decide whats relevant just like Gary Oldman's George Smiley is. Its a film that marvels in the enigma that is Smiley and works best when you have no idea what he is thinking. It is one of the greatest thinking mans films. The performances are flawless with Oldman giving one of the best of his career and Colin Firth following up his Kings Speech role with something more in your face and exuberant that makes him stand out in a crowd of people known for secrets and lies. The cast is rounded out by some of the best British Thesps around from Toby Jones to Kathy Burke. The direction is so clever in the way it toys with the viewer. Its outstanding in every possible way, well worth a watch. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    I really liked this movie. I can understand how some users say that the movie is "jumbled", "convoluted" or "confusing" but instead of taking that as a negative while I watched I was drawn in by the subtlety of what was shown as an observer to the events in the film. Do things really need to be explicitly explained at every turn in the movie for you to enjoy it? Do you not want to have to think at all while watching a movie? Is that what you'd call "entertainment"? Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    this came out in the uk around 5 months ago and is about as good a film you can get these days. great cast, great direction and exuding britishness. fantastic. the film is quite confusing however, but all the loose ends are wrapped up nicely. the cast are in some of their staring roles, maybe not benedict cumberbatch (sherlock) or gary oldman (the dark knight) buy certaintly other minor characters. very good, and quite shocking at times. may not suit an american audience however, so take heed. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This is a work of genius. The subtlety screams on screen and it just delivers. And that cast! The best, and I mean the best British actors of each generation. Masterpiece!
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This film isn't for idiots. Those who seek a more shallow experience ought to take a look at Soul Plane. or perhaps Big Momma's House. The fact that the film might be incomprehensible might not be because of the film itself, but you. Stick to tired Hollywood blockbusters where everything is literally spelled out to you. Enough is said.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    I am brand new to Metacritic, having joined this site in order to submit my review of the movie, which I saw last night and is still in my head.

    Although this movie is slow to pull you in, once it does, you're hooked. For me, I didn't realize how much I really enjoyed the film until the very end, when things finally came together and the "can you get ON with it" feeling I had during
    the first 15-20 minutes of the movie had passed. Now, I keep thinking about how much I want to see it again. Usually I see a film once and that is it. This film is subtle, and I know that seeing it again will reveal more to me than I realized the first time around.


    The performances were excellent all around. Everyone is crowing about Gary Oldman, with good reason, but for me, Mark Strong had the best performance of the film, followed closely by Benedict Cumberbatch. Not a weak link in the chain, though. I don't know if this movie will do well in the U.S. at the box office. Frankly, you have to be intelligent and really pay attention to the movie. As I left the theater last night, I heard some people saying how much they loved it, and then I heard a few ladies saying that it was too long and convoluted. These were the same ladies before the movie started that were asking me what a mole was, and if people in the movie were going to speak with British accents. The sets were superb--drab, draber, and drabest. Flawlessly realistic. I hope that there's an Oscar nomination for the movie here, as well as the one anticipated for Gary Oldman.

    I knew absolutely nothing about the book or the Alec Guinness version, but intelligence, patience and attention here are all anyone needs. I wouldn't recommend taking someone to see this movie who thinks that Michael Bay films are their gold standard.
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Astounding. Period drama with real teeth and depth. Oldman, Cumberbatch, Strong and Toby Jones are wonderful. Disappointed with Firth for first time in ages. Upstaged in TTSS by stronger actors. If you like slow-burning spy dramas - akin to The Good Shepherd - then this will be right up your street.
  8. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    This film is one of the best of the year! It is not for the common viewer who just wants cheep thrills. The film builds suspense not with senseless action but with an engaging story that you are attempting to figure out what is going on. The viewer like the protagonist is left to figure out these random events that are happening. Tomas Alfredson's direction is flawless evoking a feeling of mystery and really setting a tone that keeps you engaged throught the whole movie. For the users that did not enjoy this movie they probably to dumb to figure out what was even going on in the movie. The dialogue in this film is very subtle so many viewers will find this film hard to understand. Expand
  9. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    This movie is not for everyone and if you don't enjoy the movie, please do yourself a favor and don't try to read the book. I read most of John LeCarre's books when they came out a generation ago and this one was a tough read even back then.

    Spy stories without near non-stop action are not a very popular film genre. This one has British accents to boot and a very complicated plot so be
    prepared to concentrate on every scene and and every conversation. Having said all that, I loved this movie and the cast which contains every great English character actor working today.

    At times, it may seem slow in plot development but in the end everything comes together and quite frankly, I can't wait for the DVD to come out so I can go back and forth to scenes with the "closed captions" on.

    Gary Oldman is terrific as George Smiley, master spy, who finds himself forced into retirement because of a botched mission in Hungary. He's brought back for the sole purpose of finding a "mole" in MI-6, who may have compromised that mission. The "back stories" of the possible suspects (nicknamed "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy") is partially told in flash back and in scenes that don't seem important at the time. Pay particular attention to Smiley's glasses since they tell you when the scene is a flashback.

    The ending may be a shock if you haven't been paying attention to the relationship between the characters so either stay on your toes watching this one or find something a little easier on the the brain to watch.
    Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Everyone is right and wrong about this film. Geez. I don't remember the 'original' being so bloody violent. Well done stuff. I just had a difficult job hearing some words from time to time. My bad hearing. But, that damn broken up PBS series just killed it. I went and read the book later on and got into how David Cornwell writes and he's a genious in his own way. This film of the story was a smackin' great visit, even though I had to guess and wonder and follow along, all over again. [Great bit that, right?] Expand
  11. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This was a truly great spy thriller. It was so engaging and believable it could have been a leaked account of the real travails of intelligence agencies during the cold war. The grainy style of filming and muted colors helped transport us to the early 70's adding to that believability. Expecting to be tested by all the plot twists I suppose I was more tuned in then usual but, if you couldn't follow it you weren't paying attention. If tripe like Angelina Jolie's "Salt" is your idea of a spy thriller you'll hate this film. If on the other hand you enjoy an intelligent and gripping and utterly believable spy thriller this is a must see for you. Expand
  12. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Do you know what happened on Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy? I don't know either. But this movie has great score, dazzling cinematography, well-direction, **** script, solid acting - each frame well say it's quality.
  13. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This film was just made for Gary Oldman. From the very moment Smiley (Oldman) appears on screen you just knew he was going to take centre stage. Given the fact he doesn't actually utter a word for the opening 15 minutes of the film, his performance is still sensational, he himself does the talking. In 1973, Control (head of British Intelligence, The Circus, sends agent Jim Prideaux (Mark Strong) to Hungary to meet a Hungarian general who wishes to sell information, however the operation is blown, Prideaux shot. Amid the international incident Control and Smiley are forced into retirement. Soon after, Smiley is brought out of retirement to investigate a claim made by an agent that there is a mole deep in the British Intelligence. As Smiley puts his team together it soon becomes apparent that agent Ricki Tarr's claims are true and he can trust nobody. He also discovers the real reason as to why Control had sent Jim Prideaux to Hungary; to learn who the mole was. Control had codenamed each suspect: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Poorman and Beggerman (Smiley!) The beauty of this film is the fact that it depends upon the acting. Its such a subtle and delicate film and you really sense the atmospheric setting of 1970's Cold War British espionage. That being said, this film requires the utmost attention because every detail is important as it jumps back and forth from time-to-time all the while becoming an utterly absorbing watch as Britain's finest excel in what turns out to be a beautifully executed film by Tomas Alfredson who slowly but surely pieces together the jigsaw with sublime skill resulting in one of the films of the year. Whilst Gary Oldman is genius as Smiley, mentions have to be made of what is a stellar supporting cast including Tom Hardy, Benidict Cumberbatch, John Hurt, Mark Strong and Colin Firth. An utterly rich, absorbing execution of espionage delivering a masterstroke in detail and a truly fantastic film. Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Films like Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy don't come along very often. Films that are this intelligent, lovingly crafted and unafraid to take their time are a rarity in modern cinema, so, oddly enough, Tinker Tailor feels like a breath of fresh air, despite its 1970s setting, cold grey sets and tweed. Director Tomas Alfredson proved his talent for building tension and creating a chilly atmosphere in his last feature, Let the Right One In, and this talent he puts to good use in maintaining the suspense of the plot and providing the right insular, secretive, emotionless feel to the world of Cold War espionage. The cast are exceptional, with Gary Oldman delivering the performance of his career as retired spy George Smiley - he doesn't say much, but doesn't really need to when he's got the art of communicating through sitting perfectly still and subtly altering his facial expression down to such a fine art. Others in the film's huge ensemble cast all have their moments to impress over the course of the film, but the of particular note are Colin Firth, Mark Strong, Benedict Cumberbatch and John Hurt (the latter of which was once considered to play Smiley, but is much better suited as the cantankerous Control). Though it's undeniably an exceptional spy film, where Tinker Tailor really hits the mark is as a commentary on the futility of war. Every character is on edge as the investigation to find the Soviet mole within the British secret service progresses - the paranoia of the Cold War and threat of an enemy gaining the upper hand is perfectly communicated through the film's in-depth characterisation, with every member of "The Circus" looking as through they're rotting from the inside out. This constant sense of unease is heightened by Alfredson's direction - you're kept at arms length from all of the characters we follow, and we never really get to know anybody. We just look on, helpless, at once-powerful men who sit slowly crumbling in bleak, cold offices and dingy hotel rooms. In a lesser film, denying the viewer to really get inside character's heads would be a drawback, but not so here. We are given just enough information to make our own judgements about what may be going through the heads of this group of decrepit spies, but not quite enough to plot the exact course the film will take. Smiley is always one step ahead of the viewer in his investigations, and marveling at the way his mind works when all the pieces of the puzzle finally slot into place is part of the fun. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is expertly directed, designed and filmed, and has the fiendishly clever plot and script adapted from John le Carre's novel and sturdy, complex performances from the whole cast to make it the complete package. You don't get movies like this anymore, and that's a damn shame. Take note British film industry - this is what film perfection looks like! Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Although it does start off slow, it begins to pick up the pace as the plot moves along. A great looking film with great acting, as good as I thought it would be. I recommend paying close attention otherwise you might miss something important.
  16. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is rare that two contrasting masterpieces are made from the same source. That has, however, happened with Tinker, Tailor. This insidious, ugly-beautiful picture can stand proudly beside the classic BBC TV series. The plotting is layered. The photography is cunning. And it has one of the great last scenes. Superb.
  17. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This movie has beautiful cinematography, and it excels in confusing the viewer to the degree where you are caught up in the same confusion as the characters in the movie experience when chasing the proposed mole. I don't think it's confusing enough to make you want to let go of the movie entirely, I would say that it rather creates an immersion for the viewer that is required in order for this movie _not_ to feel boring.

    This is a movie that doesn't say it all straight out, and like any good literature or screenplay it leaves the interpretation up to the viewer. If that's your cup of tea, this movie is for you.
    Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    I have never read the book but after seeing Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy my mind went all confused . Its was an deep minded brilliant movie. The whole movie had a very different kind of tone and which is very rear. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is a spy film and by Spy film most people would think of James Bond of Mission Impossible which are just a movie and impossible to compare with real life But on the other hand Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is so realistic and it was damn realistic . Screenplay was absolutely amazing . Bridget O'Connor (Respect) & Peter Straughan did an amazing work . It was really hard o figure out whats happening wan what about happen which is a great example of a great film. Tomas Alfredson did awesome jod and the cast were so amazing . This was definitely Gary's best work. also Colin , Tom , Mark , Ciarán , Toby , Benedict & John did the best work of their supporting acting.Original score was good and was perfect for each scene . Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is undoubtedly 2011's top films. Expand
  19. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    Excellent movie, espionage kind of film at his best. Great written, the whole time I was trying to figure it out who was the mole, and it keep me so excited throw out the film, so the whole theme of the movie was amazing and interesting. Gary Oldman deserves an Oscar nomination, and the technical achievements good lord, they were fantastic. It may have been a little bit slow at beginning, but they were just explaining the way that turns would turn out to be.So for me this is on the top 10 movies of 2011. Expand
  20. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. This film is not for everyone- I understand that. It took me two watches to fully understand everything (damn english names) but the cinematography was beautiful and the cast was brillant. I wou ld not recomend for the casual viewer but for someone who wants to be mind F@cked
  21. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Tinker Tailor is one of the most planned out films I have seen in all my years. It is filled with subtle hints and images. It's a film that doesn't point things out, it crams the screen full of imagery and lets the viewer decide whats relevant just like Gary Oldman's George Smiley is. Its a film that marvels in the enigma that is Smiley and works best when you have no idea what he is thinking. It is one of the greatest thinking mans films. The performances are flawless with Oldman giving one of the best of his career and Colin Firth following up his Kings Speech role with something more in your face and exuberant that makes him stand out in a crowd of people known for secrets and lies. The cast is rounded out by some of the best British Thesps around from Toby Jones to Kathy Burke. The direction is so clever in the way it toys with the viewer. Its outstanding in every possible way, well worth a watch. Expand
  22. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Forty-six year old Swedish director Tomas Alfredson came to prominence three years ago when he directed the film adaptation of John Ajvide Lindqvist's novel 'Let The Right One In'. After the initial success of the vampiric romantic drama, Alfredson became attached to an international adaptation of John le Carre's espionage-novel 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy'. Based on aspects of le Carre's (also known as David Cornwell) experiences during his time as a member of the British Intelligence service sectors MI5 and MI6 during the 1950s and 1960s, Alfredson creates a fine, absorbing picture which engrosses from beginning to end.

    Control (John Hurt), the leader of an unknown sector of the British Intelligence service, is ousted along with his long-standing companion George Smiley (Gary Oldman) due to a botched operation in Budapest, Hungary which saw the officer Jim Prideaux (Mark Strong) murdered in public. Control was under the impression that there was a mole among the top ranking members of the service, referred to as the Circus by the other top ranking members due to its location in Cambridge Circus, London, and Smiley is drawn out of retirement to pinpoint the culprit after Control passes away. Alongside the young Intelligence officer Peter Guillam (Benedict Cumberbatch), Smiley has four primary candidates to focus his investigation upon; they are the last remaining members of the Circus, Bill Haydon (Colin Firth), Percy Alleline (Toby Jones), Roy Bland (Ciaran Hinds) and Toby Esterhase (David Dencik).

    Utilizing an all-star, established cast, Alfredson allows the film to unfold at an almost flawless pace. Every sequence contains a small snippet of information which allows the viewer to conduct their own investigation alongside that of Smiley's. While the narrative is also driven along by strong performances from the primarily male cast, Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, Toby Jones, Ciaran Hinds, David Dencik, Stephen Graham and Kathy Burke all give strong, commanding performances. While the true artists of the piece are Benedict Cumberbatch, who plays the young, and somewhat naive intelligent officer assigned to assist Smiley. John Hurt as the aging, instinct-driven leader of the British service, and Tom Hardy, who is Ricki Tarr the dirty cleaner for British intelligence's most fowl operations. Their performances go above and beyond in their supporting roles, and at times eclipse Gary Oldman's subdued portrayal of a man drawn back into the murky world of corruption, betrayal and treasure.

    Alongside the narrative and its cast, one of the more surprising aspects of the film, is Alfredson, Cinematographer Hoyte van Hoytema and Editor Dino Jonsater's use of stylistic nuances that further enhance the viewing experience. Lingering close-up shots of seemingly insignificant objects and shallow focus shots constantly evoke the nature of mystery and intrigue which surrounds such clandestine organisations. Alfredson never rushes any moment, instead he allows for the audience to become accustomed to their surroundings and appreciate their beauty. Wide angle shots and long lenses are used for interior and exterior locations, showcasing the breakdowns of their interiors, while close-up shots are used to examine objects and characters in their most frail states. During the opening sequence involving Prideaux's botched secret mission, a simple concoction of jump cuts and lingering static shots concentrating upon various characters within the vicinity creates a sense of the tension, suspense and vulnerability of the situation and this is how Alfredson constantly keeps the audience engrossed. By providing those observing the action on screen with just enough information that they themselves become entwined within Smiley's investigation as he moves forward.

    Once the credits and a dedication to the films screenwriter Bridget O'Connor who passed away last year finish, the viewer is left with an overriding sense of satisfaction. Smiley's world is a far cry away from the glitz and glamour that the espionage genre has become accustomed to. There are no martinis in sight, but only reel upon reel of bureaucratic wrangling, childish bickering and greed-induced deal-making, where it seems everybody is working for themselves and their reputation rather than the nation's government that is employing them. Since its premiere at the 68th Venice International Film Festival 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy' has been touted as an Oscar contender and it is easy to understand why, Tomas Alfredson has taken a solid source novel, utilized an established cast and infused the final concoction with elements from his own visual repertoire to create a wonderfully crafted film that does the original BBC televised series justice.
    Expand
  23. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Tomas Alfredson has balls, and I'm talking huge ones. In crafting this mystery, he chooses to treat the narrative like a poker pro treats his hand in an intense poker match. He never reveals too much. This strategy is sure to disappoint and bore many viewers. After all, the narrative jumps back and forth rapidly from past to present, and we never get a very deep look into any of the characters. In fact, the one we're exposed to the most is George Smiley (Oldman), and his character's most notable feature is that he wears his emotions on the inside, so you can imagine the frustration viewers might have with this. But for me, this risky decision to keep viewers at arms length worked wonders. The entire time I was compelled to find any clue that would lead me to the discovery of the mole. Every time I came up empty handed, but this only increased my determination to keep trying. After finding out the identity of the mole in the end, I believe there is at least one scene that tells you who the mole is before the big reveal. I didn't realize the scene was a clue until the mole was revealed to me. So although Alfredson does play tough, he does give the viewers an opportunity to win. It's a small opportunity. The scene that comes to mind only lasts a few minutes, but it's a credit to him that he at least makes it worth your time to try. Because of this opportunity, "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" manages to be one of the best mysteries in the last few years. It's beautifully shot and it rarely plays nice when you're wanting more details. Another incentive to watch this is the astounding cast. Oldman gives one of the best performances I've seen all year, and Tom Hardy does wonders with a small role as a frustrated and confused hitman. Everything about this movie is top-notch, so if you like the mysteries that give you a challenge, you have to check this one out. Expand
  24. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    It was a great film. I thought everything in it was well done. It has some of the best camera work I have seen in a film. The acting in the film is very subtle. It's a very good foil to the classic, over the top spy films such as James Bond.
  25. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    The best spy movie I've seen in the last 15 years and probably one of the best in its genre. If you like thinking about what you see and not just see some images pass by, that's the movie for you. Period.
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Yes, it's an intricate and challenging movie to follow. However, "Tinker" rewards your patience and intelligence, and ultimately, you'll "get it."
  27. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    A brilliant throwback spy movie. Great actors, great script, great filmography. Puts any James Bond or other throw-away Hollywood 'spy" movie to shame through sheer intelligence and intricacy. I love a good action flick, but that isn't all there is folks. I've never read any of the LeCarre books nor seen the BBC series from way back, but I saw it with my parents who did. This movie has zero "action" but a fast moving, well-crafted plot! Expand
  28. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    So, having seen the thing twice, and having found it utterly absorbing both times through- I want to ask a question of the haters that seem to pile dreck onto this movie merely because it takes it's time. Did you watch the movie?
    Seriously...
    Everything about this movie is absorbing. There's nothing confusing about it, it's stream of consciousness- as Smiley learns more we see more, and as
    he learns more he realizes more and we see just enough to have a vague notion of what he's realized. The movie is kind of perfect, I can't think of one scene without the thought dovetailing into another and then into another. I look at one piece of the puzzle and I can't help but see the whole thing sprawl out of it.
    This movie is wonderfully constructed, anyone who says different is... You know what, agree to disagree... I disagree with you negative people! Emphatically!
    Expand
  29. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    I'm writing this review purely because I feel it would be a massive injustice to this film if people were put off by people assuming critics weren't being true to their feelings on the film or viewers are simply talking up their enjoyment to claim some perceived intellectual high-ground. This is certainly not an easy, sit back and consume film by any stretch of the imagination, but that is ultimately it's greatest strength, as the satisfaction at the final pay-off is all the larger for it. There are LOTS of strands to arrange and balls to juggle early on, and a massive part of this film keeping all the mental plates spinning as all the little pieces start to come together to create a seamlessly interlocking whole.
    I disagree with arguments of pretension in this film. While I feel it's valid for Thomas Alfredson's 'Let the Right One In' more so, though I also enjoyed that, there is no interpretation required, everything you need to know is either on screen or in the script. The more attention paid the greater the rewards, which is surely the perfect undercurrent for a spellbinding spy movie.
    I only don't give it a ten because if you either don't enjoy complexity in your films (though this is not the faux-complexity of bad story-telling) it isn't for you - which bares no relation to intelligence, purely taste. Classics need to be accessible and this isn't. But if you do access it it is a hugely rewarding and satisfying journey entirely unreliant on cheap tricks and hollywood mainstays. Two hours of beautiful brain workout and tantalising story depth.
    Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    This dense, slow, and complex film rewards the intelligent and invested viewer and repels those seeking a quick fix or spy thriller. Its sepia stained ambiance creates an increasingly tense character drama where a stellar cast interact at increasingly high tensions played, not through over dramatisation, but the machinations of the 70's English intelligence communities methodology. A highly rewarding film for those smart enough and engaged enough to commit to it. Expand
  31. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    Angels:
    This is a very good movie. You have to pay attention. It does not have a straight narrative. However, that is part of its appeal. It is a well constructed intriguing puzzle. The dialog is excellent. The acting is first rate. And there is a sense of suspense, or dread from beginning to end. Who is the mole? when is the next shoe going to drop? Will Smiley ever smile? If you
    are looking for a thoughtful, well constructed, beautifully acted, well-paced (o.k. slow paced) movie you will enjoy this immensely; I did. (In the interests of full disclosure, I have to tell you that my date fell asleep during the movie.)
    Shine Brightly Angels
    Expand
  32. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    The best things were the acting and the story, very very intriguing. Highly recommended for the suspense/thriller audience. It was very confusing I would say, had to watch it two times to completely understand almost every detail about the plot, but that's not a bad point in my opinion. A great movie anyways.
  33. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This was a very engrossing, tightly woven, and well-paced film, that doesnâ
  34. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is just the best film of the decade, one of the best of the history! Gary Oldman is one of the gratest actor in the world, and the cast is one of the most impressive of the year.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jan 7, 2012
    63
    All of the pieces fall into place by the third act -- or most of them, anyway. But Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy is such a cold, unemotional film that getting there is a chore, muting the payoff.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jan 7, 2012
    75
    Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is the anti-Bourne of espionage movies, a deliberate, cerebral, grim and utterly absorbing film that makes covert operations appear as unsexy as the Bourne films made them seem fast-paced and thrilling.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jan 5, 2012
    88
    The film requires close attention, especially while it jumps back and forth in time for the first half-hour, but all the pieces lock into place tightly by the end.