Fox Family Films | Release Date: June 16, 2000
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 123 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
105
Mixed:
13
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BroyaxMay 27, 2018
Un film d'animation américain, c'est rare. Un film qui ne soit pas sorti du trou de balle de Disney ou Pixar, s'entend, à savoir des niaiseries (sauf incroyable exception) super débiles qui n'ont pour seule fin que de laver la cervelle desUn film d'animation américain, c'est rare. Un film qui ne soit pas sorti du trou de balle de Disney ou Pixar, s'entend, à savoir des niaiseries (sauf incroyable exception) super débiles qui n'ont pour seule fin que de laver la cervelle des chiards déjà passablement demeurés. Car en dehors de ça, ,nous n'avons plus que les Japonais pour produire encore de l'animation de qualité (enfin la plupart du temps) et heureusement qu'ils sont là.

Surtout qu'il s'agit de science-fiction du genre space-opera qui puise sans vergogne ici et là dans le vaste catalogue des idées plus ou moins ressassées ad libitum ou ad nauseam, c'est selon... mais Titan A.E. connaît ses classiques et les exploite ici avec une allégresse et une jubilation très communicatives.

Après une Terre anéantie et une espèce humaine en voie d'extinction, l'étrange vaisseau Titan reste le dernier espoir de l'humanité et pour le retrouver, un blanc-bec forte tête, une pettie caille et un baroudeur cynique (ainsi qu'une équipe pleine de diversité xénomorphe) ne seront pas de trop face à la menace d'une race belliqueuse qui ne veut pas vivre ensemble !

Si les inspirations Star Wars ou Star Trek sont nombreuses, le film a sa propre identité et un monde cohérent, des personnages bien délimités et des rebondissements... A dire vrai, le rythme est très élevé d'un bout à l'autre et il se passe toujours quelque chose... de souvent spectaculaire. Si quelques clins d'oeil hystéro-bouffons parsèment le film, Titan A.E. demeure néanmoins suffisamment sérieux pour que l'on y croit et sait rappeler l'importance de ses enjeux, prétextes à une pure aventure endiablée et fort créative.

On regrettera la musique désagréable, sorte de chansonnettes rockprouts et soupe commerciale idoine ainsi que le choix de la réalisation en 2D même si celle-ci est correctement animée. On regrette d'autant plus que nombre de passages ont été réalisés en images de synthèse et si l'ensemble est bien mélangé, on aurait aimé une synthèse intégrale !

Quelques rebondissements font par ailleurs certainement tiquer, surtout à la fin... mais soit ! le film en dehors de son statut d'ovni dans le genre reste réjouissant de par son tempo effréné et sa direction artistique très soignée avec en prime une excellente VF.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tiber5Oct 5, 2016
Traditional animation was already falling out of favor when Bluth’s Titan A.E. dropped into a market that would sink other similar sci-fi products (WB’s Iron Giant, and Disney’s Atlantis and Treasure Planet). Fox Animation Studios would closeTraditional animation was already falling out of favor when Bluth’s Titan A.E. dropped into a market that would sink other similar sci-fi products (WB’s Iron Giant, and Disney’s Atlantis and Treasure Planet). Fox Animation Studios would close soon after, six years after its inception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SimpsonFansSep 18, 2016
Traditional animation was already falling out of favor when Bluth’s Titan A.E. dropped into a market that would sink other similar sci-fi products (WB’s Iron Giant, and Disney’s Atlantis and Treasure Planet). Fox Animation Studios would closeTraditional animation was already falling out of favor when Bluth’s Titan A.E. dropped into a market that would sink other similar sci-fi products (WB’s Iron Giant, and Disney’s Atlantis and Treasure Planet). Fox Animation Studios would close soon after, six years after its inception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ImJTHMMar 23, 2014
A long winded, borderline random series of sci-fi cliches, strung together with a weak story and weak characters, Titan AE is one of those films that just doesn't make any sense to me. It has a massive following, but I don't really understandA long winded, borderline random series of sci-fi cliches, strung together with a weak story and weak characters, Titan AE is one of those films that just doesn't make any sense to me. It has a massive following, but I don't really understand why.

The movie revolves around the main character, Kale, who has been somehow encoded with a map to Titan, humanity's chance at recovery. Why this has been done to Kale is never explained. Along the way, he gets a variety of aliens friends, whose personalities flipflop essentially at random, to help.

Literally everything in this movie is a cliche. There is not a single original thought in this movie's head. Besides a decent presentation and some okay voice acting, this movie is bottom of the barrel C-list garbage.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Jan 16, 2013
While I get that this movie has gotten some unfair criticisms, that is to be expected as people have set the bar pretty high for Don Bluth. Personally, I liked this movie and the story it told. A real shame that they didn't make the movieWhile I get that this movie has gotten some unfair criticisms, that is to be expected as people have set the bar pretty high for Don Bluth. Personally, I liked this movie and the story it told. A real shame that they didn't make the movie just a bit longer to go into a bit more depth with some of the side characters and sub plots. I can easily see this movie being expanded into a series, and perhaps an animated mini-series would have been better as there is just so much lore that it tries to introduce in such a small amount of time. Animation is just spectacular. Voice actors are well cast and do their job well enough. Overall: A very good movie, just a shame that it does not live up to its potential as it could have been allot more than it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jfrotylpe532Dec 22, 2012
Everybody looked at this movie thinking this is going to be one of the best animated films ever. But in reality your trying to say slow down and explain your reasoning for this movie. The events happened way too quick. Also that oneEverybody looked at this movie thinking this is going to be one of the best animated films ever. But in reality your trying to say slow down and explain your reasoning for this movie. The events happened way too quick. Also that one character, I think his name is Tech, was so quick to be off the screen and you don't even no his importance. for the future you need to explain the events. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
a very good sci-fi film...............................................................................................................................
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
AwesomeReviewerApr 18, 2012
â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RickzsRock3D4Nov 28, 2011
Titan A.E. is getting a 3D re-release on September 21, 2012 in Theaters.

"TITAN AE IS BACK TO THEATERS" got to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18Q-CEjT92E and http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/titan+ae
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
It's alright. I don't think it's quite up to the standard of Don Bluth's earlier films like The Land Before Time, but it's not bad. The CGI and animation blend together fairly well.

I always found the film rather thought provoking, because I
It's alright. I don't think it's quite up to the standard of Don Bluth's earlier films like The Land Before Time, but it's not bad. The CGI and animation blend together fairly well.

I always found the film rather thought provoking, because I first watched it while I was playing Mass Effect, and one central idea in the film captured my imagination. Cause see, humanity at the beginning of the movie almost goes extinct. They're scattered to the far reaches of the galaxy as refugees. The main character, a young teenage male named Cale Tucker, is stuck working at an asteroid salvage yard. He's kinda lonely there, surrounded by aliens. Luckily, he eventually encounters an attractive human girl named Akima.

Now, what I always wondered was what would have happened if he had never lucked into finding another human girl? What if he really was alone on that alien asteroid facility? This is a teenage guy, after all. How do you deal with being horny all the time without having any chance for sex? Sure, you can masturbate, but how long can you do that before pondering the possibility of having sex with an alien girl? It's kinda gross and disturbing, because that would be bestiality, but eventually you'd have to consider it, right? The months and years pass by. Is he able to hold onto his humanity? Will he give into his hormones and try to romance and **** an alien?

It's something to think about.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TheAnti360FoxMay 5, 2011
Don't listen to the critics. They're trying to get you to agree with them. Titan A.E. is a fantastic traditionally-animated flick with fantastic visuals, a great story and a fantastic voice cast (Matt Damon, Drew Barrymore, Bill Pullman andDon't listen to the critics. They're trying to get you to agree with them. Titan A.E. is a fantastic traditionally-animated flick with fantastic visuals, a great story and a fantastic voice cast (Matt Damon, Drew Barrymore, Bill Pullman and John Leguizamo, more specifically). Sure, it's not "Star Wars" or "Planet of the Apes", but still, it's worth watching. I think I even saw a cult following on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
this is the right movie you've been looking for
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TitaniumDragonNov 30, 2008
This movie is the definition of the Animation Age Ghetto. Its target audience wasn't interested in it, so it flopped. Its not a kids movie; its a movie for preteens and teens. But it didn't really quite ever make up its mind. The This movie is the definition of the Animation Age Ghetto. Its target audience wasn't interested in it, so it flopped. Its not a kids movie; its a movie for preteens and teens. But it didn't really quite ever make up its mind. The movie is overall quite decent; while it got poor reviews its really not bad. Its a decent movie. It also has the ultimate bit of Fridge Logic - years after the fact, I finally got that the Drej, the energy beings, had been entirely justified in attacking the Earth as they ended up doing exactly what the Drej were afraid of, using it as a weapon against them. The movie is not amazing, but its not terrible. It has a decent enough plot, and the characters are fine. Its worth watching, but its not a must-see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kittyJul 9, 2008
I love this movie. it is a pretty original storyline and is also very entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JeffCFeb 29, 2008
It's a great movie with an excellent soundtrack. The voice acting is top notch with people like Matt Damon, Bull Pullman, and Nathan Lane. The characters were fun and you can relate to them in some way. I believe that this is one of the It's a great movie with an excellent soundtrack. The voice acting is top notch with people like Matt Damon, Bull Pullman, and Nathan Lane. The characters were fun and you can relate to them in some way. I believe that this is one of the most underrated movies of all time. It was a fun concept and the CGI was awesome. The only complaint I have is that it should have been live action or 100% animation, not something in between. It was a little disorienting to watch because of the mix of CGI and hand drawn cartoons. If you can get past that, this is a great film for any Science Fiction fan! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful