User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 670 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 670
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I can't believe some people don't like this film. It is timeless, I have seen it at least 15 times and would gladly watch it another 30 (I probably will). One of the rare movies that can make me cry every time. However, it is not the "I'll never let go" part that sets me off...it's the old people cuddling in bed and the mother reading one last story to her I can't believe some people don't like this film. It is timeless, I have seen it at least 15 times and would gladly watch it another 30 (I probably will). One of the rare movies that can make me cry every time. However, it is not the "I'll never let go" part that sets me off...it's the old people cuddling in bed and the mother reading one last story to her children..because you know then that they have lost all hope. Truly beautiful. Expand
  2. Kims
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    to all you people who claim its bad, only because you dont like romance or that it wasn't actiony enough for you: dont comment on how good a movie it is if you cant stand apart from personal opinion. its a damn good movie and even if you don't like romance or epic 11 TIME OSCAR WINNERS -may i point out-you have to admit its amazing. i love it and will always love it.
  3. ConradR.
    Jul 9, 2001
    8
    Visual masterpiece which is one of a few historical movies which actually gets the facts right. Unfortunately, the movie editing is bad, and a vital piece is cut out where Jack is helped up onto the first class deck - as portrayed in the movie: it is impossible for him to wander around the ship as he pleases.
  4. DonP.
    Mar 22, 2002
    10
    The "Gone With The Wind" of our generation. A dazzling recreation of the disaster....overlaid by an intriguing romance which takes you to all parts of the ship and to a cross-section of the doomed passengers. You are stunned by the magnitude of the ship and its demise, and find yourself emotionally reacting to the simple, the heroic, and the selfish acts.
  5. RobertH.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. An absolute masterpiece. No matter what other roles Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet ever take, none will ever match this performance. They will always be remembered for this role. Just a breathtaking suspenseful romantic adventure that was captured perfectly as if it were on canvass. James Cameron will never again equal this great work of Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. An absolute masterpiece. No matter what other roles Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet ever take, none will ever match this performance. They will always be remembered for this role. Just a breathtaking suspenseful romantic adventure that was captured perfectly as if it were on canvass. James Cameron will never again equal this great work of art. In time I believe Titanic will be compared to Gone With The Wind. Expand
  6. Fantasy
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best, if not the best movies ever made. Definitely in the top ten of all time and richly deserving of all the Oscars it received.
  7. Mike
    Feb 14, 2005
    8
    Great movie, from start to the ending. I was afraid that this movie would be boring, but it actually was very good.
  8. KellyE.
    Jun 1, 2005
    4
    I found it too unbeliveable.
  9. miker.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    One of the top 5 movies ever. It had great cinematoraphy, special effects, underrated outstanding acting, excellent interwoven life stories and one of the best movie love stories ever.
  10. chrissy
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Saw it 7 times in theaters. enough said.
  11. CiaranG.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest movies ever made in my opinion. It has a fantastic storyline that is based on a true story. This film has everything - sex, romance, violence, fantastic stunts etc. Also, the soundtrack along with this film is brilliant, includes the likes of Enya and more... At parts this film is thrilling, sometimes it will have you on the edge of your seat, perhaps you'll enjoy One of the greatest movies ever made in my opinion. It has a fantastic storyline that is based on a true story. This film has everything - sex, romance, violence, fantastic stunts etc. Also, the soundtrack along with this film is brilliant, includes the likes of Enya and more... At parts this film is thrilling, sometimes it will have you on the edge of your seat, perhaps you'll enjoy the romance or you'll be upset at some of the more horrific scenes. I would recommend buying this on DVD. Expand
  12. ChrisB.
    Jul 5, 2007
    0
    Worst movie ever made. Were it not for Kate Winslet being naked for a couple of minutes, I'd have gouged my eyes out. There probably would have been a class-action lawsuit against James Cameron because his movie caused blindness due to eye-gouging had Kate Winslet not been naked. It's a bullshit romance. Go watch Rambo or something if you want to see a real movie. You know, one Worst movie ever made. Were it not for Kate Winslet being naked for a couple of minutes, I'd have gouged my eyes out. There probably would have been a class-action lawsuit against James Cameron because his movie caused blindness due to eye-gouging had Kate Winslet not been naked. It's a bullshit romance. Go watch Rambo or something if you want to see a real movie. You know, one where there's no character development and shit gets blown up because it's awesome. Expand
  13. KaitlynnH.
    Oct 20, 2008
    10
    This movie was a good makeing. It really explains true love. But it also makes you think twice before getting on a ship or a boat in the icey waters.
  14. conners
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best movie ever made! he acting is amazing and the effects are perfect and the score is lifealtering. you will cry your heart out! the movie will change your life. after seeing it, i was numb and cried every time someone even mentioned titanic....... and i am a 14 year old boy! best movie ever!
  15. JasonP.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie ever. Those who say that it's horrible, are just people without feelings. If you are sentimental, you love love stories, you will definetily will love this movie. Kate ands Leonardo are just great. The whole movie is great. The best of all times.
  16. JamsB.
    Jun 24, 2008
    0
    I would have given it about a 5 as it is an average try-hard hollywood blockbuster but the fact that you see Kate Winslet's horrible naked body makes it a zero.
  17. Jaeq
    Jul 26, 2008
    4
    There's Great, Good, Okay, Bad, and Terrible when it comes to movies, This one is somewhere between okay and bad, don't mean to be sexist, but many girls and women tend to see movies for other things than what they are, in this case, pretty boy leonardo decaprio in a 4 hour softcore porno, same idea with brokeback mountain , imagine a stupid chick flick that takes a 5/10, now There's Great, Good, Okay, Bad, and Terrible when it comes to movies, This one is somewhere between okay and bad, don't mean to be sexist, but many girls and women tend to see movies for other things than what they are, in this case, pretty boy leonardo decaprio in a 4 hour softcore porno, same idea with brokeback mountain , imagine a stupid chick flick that takes a 5/10, now put homsexual romance in it, goldmine. Expand
  18. HannahB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    I loooooooove this movie xxx It made my cry at the very end though!!! YAY Titanic Movie!
  19. KatieT
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Love this movie. It is so dramatic. The acting in this movie is outstanding.
  20. TS
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Along with Braveheart and Forrest Gump, one of the worst Oscar winners of all time. Pure turgid drivel. A chick flick for the mentally defective.
  21. shelbyj
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    The most gratifying movie i have ever seen. it takes your breath away.
  22. BillS
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    this movie is THE BEST FILM IN THE HISTORY OF MOTION PICTURES. oh and stephen B, feel free to hit me up so i can beat your faggot ass to pieces for disrespecting the best movie of all time. man up or shut the fuck up you faggot nobody.
  23. SteveT.
    Jun 27, 2001
    3
    Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Visually, it's a masterpiece. But the screenplay/story is just horrible. The f-word was never said during that decade and I hate the way Rose was in cold water for over 30 minutes and somehow never had hypothermia. Another thing is that 1st class people would never even think of talking or be seen with lower class people. There Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Visually, it's a masterpiece. But the screenplay/story is just horrible. The f-word was never said during that decade and I hate the way Rose was in cold water for over 30 minutes and somehow never had hypothermia. Another thing is that 1st class people would never even think of talking or be seen with lower class people. There wasn't even a way for the low class people to go the deck! Main point is watch the movie with the volume down and watch about 10 minutes and that's it. Expand
  24. ChrisR.
    Jul 7, 2001
    1
    Cameron takes one of the most dramatic stories in history and turns it into an hackneyed third-rate fictional soap opera. Poorly written, acted and directed it represents the worst of major Hollywood film making.
  25. JohnT.
    Apr 6, 2002
    7
    Certainly there have been films more desserving of 12 acadamy awards (The Lord of the Rings, Gosford Park, Ghost) but Titanic is an enjoyable, if an overly long experience.
  26. NicoleL.
    May 30, 2002
    10
    I love this movie. I watch it like everyday. I am a huge fan of Billy Zane so i watch it because hes' in it [While I was saying that I was laughing and blushing.] YOU KNOW ME! If there are any people who feel the same way about this movie please post it in this, O.K.? Thanks to all those Billy fans. [BACK OFF GET YOUR OWN MAN! All right I have to go. BY BY, Nicole!
  27. AndraB.
    Jun 8, 2002
    2
    ..and it's a generous grade, inspired by the fx (even if we've seen better in Matrix, Haunted, etc). The subject: another unhappy love story (plenty of them since Romeo & Juliet), but we accept it. The message: very uncertain (maybe 'fate is irevocable', maybe 'carpe diem', maybe 'life goes on', maybe 'love is blind' or 'love never ..and it's a generous grade, inspired by the fx (even if we've seen better in Matrix, Haunted, etc). The subject: another unhappy love story (plenty of them since Romeo & Juliet), but we accept it. The message: very uncertain (maybe 'fate is irevocable', maybe 'carpe diem', maybe 'life goes on', maybe 'love is blind' or 'love never dies') but we accept it. But the contradictions, the sense of incomplete, the horrid-acting of Leonardo something and the fat miss with red hair, the way action develops, those pathetic love scenes ... that's hard to accept from a film quoted .... 11 Academy Award nominees??? No more comments. Expand
  28. Isabel
    Jul 1, 2002
    3
    This was one of the few movies I ever walked out on. I never fail to be stupified by those who like this silly thing. With a horrendous script and lame acting, this movie commits the egregious sin of taking an actual heartwrenching event and turning it into sentimental Hollywood mush.
  29. RickJ.G.
    Jan 15, 2003
    5
    The only aspects of this vastly overrated movie I enjoyed was David Warner as the villain body guard and the special effects. Warner simply makes a good villain and the movie is a visual achievement. I finally gave in and saw the film immediately after it won all those academy awards and, unlike the herd that loves this movie, I wasn't falling over myself to get back to the theater The only aspects of this vastly overrated movie I enjoyed was David Warner as the villain body guard and the special effects. Warner simply makes a good villain and the movie is a visual achievement. I finally gave in and saw the film immediately after it won all those academy awards and, unlike the herd that loves this movie, I wasn't falling over myself to get back to the theater and see it again and again. You don't need to spend $200 million to write a good screenplay. Instead we are subjected to a lame after-school romance special with lousy, contrived dialog. No wait, Jack tells Rose she's the most amazing person he has ever known! I hadn't heard that before. I was laughing at the silly proceedings by that point in the movie. I wish Rose had checked out on the deck at the beginning of the movie and not forced me to wait nearly three hours to finally see the ship sink sinking. Also, a little pipsqueak like DiCaprio does not make for a convincing street tough. Bad casting move. Romanticing life on the lower decks of the ship is a major blight on historical memory. Titanic is the best example in our time of wholesale bribery effectively used to buy a bunch of academy awards (None of them for the movie's acting, for obvious reasons). Expand
  30. O.H.VictorRajK.
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    A true international masterpiece of a movie. Few films can go and convince the critics and viewers alike and Titanic does it. All those who keep complaining about Titanic are those who like bashing about what becomes liked by all as they want to be seen otherwise to make a statement. If there's one true measurement of a film's real likeability then one has to look at the A true international masterpiece of a movie. Few films can go and convince the critics and viewers alike and Titanic does it. All those who keep complaining about Titanic are those who like bashing about what becomes liked by all as they want to be seen otherwise to make a statement. If there's one true measurement of a film's real likeability then one has to look at the collections - after all people vote with their money. If still in doubt look at the Oscars. Expand
  31. AndrewM
    Nov 23, 2004
    5
    I will admit, this film was already tainted in my eyes before I had seen it - before I had even seen the trailer. The reason: the whole premise of this film just rubs me the wrong way. It did when I first read about, it did when I watched it (the one and only time) and it continues to do so today. A fictional love story set aboard one of the greatest disasters the world has even seen... I will admit, this film was already tainted in my eyes before I had seen it - before I had even seen the trailer. The reason: the whole premise of this film just rubs me the wrong way. It did when I first read about, it did when I watched it (the one and only time) and it continues to do so today. A fictional love story set aboard one of the greatest disasters the world has even seen... Am I the only one a little put off by this notion?! If so, I am wholly comfortable with my solitude. It just strikes me as either poor judgement by the filmmakers, or a distinct lack of confidence on their part that this story could not be pulled off without a vicarious angle. Now I appreciate that the story of the famous ship and its fate was a large part of film...but let's be honest, it's not what the film was really about. It was the love story. The characters. Their story. And that's fine - or would have been, anywhere else! On a side note, the fact that Di Caprio was involved certainly didn't help things - he is one of the most overrated actors around. Winslet on the other hand was an asset, as were most of the supporting cast. The writing was impressive, at times memorable. The direction was as resolute as humanly possible. The costumes, the set decorations, the art direction, it's all grand and completely pertinent to the setting - but I can't get past the thought that this film would have been so much more respectable, and could have worked every bit as well, on a less infamous and melodramatic stage as the Titanic. I know many will say I'm missing the whole point: that this is fantasy set against a historical backdrop. If so, again, it just leaves me cold. The bottom line is that I give this film 5/5 for execution, and 0/5 for foundation; when I watch a film about the Titanic, just gimme the facts! Expand
  32. GaborA.
    Feb 17, 2004
    0
    Remains at the top of my refuse to see list.
  33. RobertC.
    Feb 25, 2004
    6
    I do give at least one credit to Titanic...it's the most mysterious commericially wise. Like how a film like this could win nearly twice as much awards as works of art like The Godfather or Apocalyse Now. Was it really that good, or was the entire year a mediocre joke in cinematic history. How could a overly-expensive film starring merely a pretty face cause a whole list of fangirls I do give at least one credit to Titanic...it's the most mysterious commericially wise. Like how a film like this could win nearly twice as much awards as works of art like The Godfather or Apocalyse Now. Was it really that good, or was the entire year a mediocre joke in cinematic history. How could a overly-expensive film starring merely a pretty face cause a whole list of fangirls (whom are dead to me for making this successful) to make this an unbearable phenomenon. Bottom line is though it's an alright film, with great visuals and decent acting, there's no reason that is ever shouldn't been this large, for it honestly doesn't deserve a 10th of it's worldwide gross nor 11 Oscars. Collapse
  34. EveningSun
    May 25, 2004
    10
    The greatest fictional love story of all time, and definitely the best motion picture of 1997. In fact, it deserves every single one of the 11 Oscars it got.
  35. DaveC.
    Jun 1, 2004
    10
    A classic love story in every sense of the word. Charming, heartbreaking, very highly entertaining and visually beautiful. To compare it to other romantic masterpieces, it's more direct and succinct with its characters and develops them just enough get the audience emotionally involved and it does overwhelm the characters with the grandiose scale of its story like Doctor Zhivago did. A classic love story in every sense of the word. Charming, heartbreaking, very highly entertaining and visually beautiful. To compare it to other romantic masterpieces, it's more direct and succinct with its characters and develops them just enough get the audience emotionally involved and it does overwhelm the characters with the grandiose scale of its story like Doctor Zhivago did. Sure, the characters are archetypal and the events of the film are quite melodramatic, but these old fashioned archetypes are lovingly recreated and the melodrama is sincere and effective. This just might be the perfect romantic epic were it not for Billy Zane's pathetic, caricatured performance as the jealous lover. Expand
  36. MichelleL
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie in the whole world! James Camron is a terrific director! Leonardo DiCaprio is not just hot, but a wonder actor! Kate Winselt is a beautiful, magnificent actress! And James Horner, the conductor of the music in this film, is definitely a great musician. And least but not last, this is a wonder film of romance, adventure, and drama. Good luck to the actor, actress, This is the best movie in the whole world! James Camron is a terrific director! Leonardo DiCaprio is not just hot, but a wonder actor! Kate Winselt is a beautiful, magnificent actress! And James Horner, the conductor of the music in this film, is definitely a great musician. And least but not last, this is a wonder film of romance, adventure, and drama. Good luck to the actor, actress, director, and conductor. Expand
  37. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    T2 is more exciting, but Titanic is certainly worth a look. It certainly deserved Oscars, but maybe not eleven of them. It actually isn't boring...James Cameron proves himself versatile, as the movie flows along well...w/o fight sequences and battles in his action work. THe romance is actually well written...not too deep, but not phony or shallow, and for real, as it stands the test T2 is more exciting, but Titanic is certainly worth a look. It certainly deserved Oscars, but maybe not eleven of them. It actually isn't boring...James Cameron proves himself versatile, as the movie flows along well...w/o fight sequences and battles in his action work. THe romance is actually well written...not too deep, but not phony or shallow, and for real, as it stands the test of disaster. In fact, this movie's charaters HATE phoniness, in a way both girls and guys can relate too and embrace. James Horner's score was great, too. Expand
  38. Jake
    Dec 18, 2005
    6
    Not all that bad, but definately not worth the 600 million at the box office and the 13 oscars. The film was very entertaining and visually stunning, but the romantic aspects of the film seemed both cliche and fabricated. It was pretty much Romeo and Juliet mixed with Lady and the Tramp. But the ending was amazing and gorgeous to look at. A lot like Pearl Harbor, i was disappointed that Not all that bad, but definately not worth the 600 million at the box office and the 13 oscars. The film was very entertaining and visually stunning, but the romantic aspects of the film seemed both cliche and fabricated. It was pretty much Romeo and Juliet mixed with Lady and the Tramp. But the ending was amazing and gorgeous to look at. A lot like Pearl Harbor, i was disappointed that hollywood could take horrible disaster and turn it into a mediocre romance flick. Ultimately entertaining, but left a whole lot to be desired! Expand
  39. AmandaH
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    I still get teary at some points in the film. It moves me on every level, and I feel that Cameron captured the heartbreak, sadness and fear that these people were feeling. He not only has a made up love story, but wrapped it around with true accounts and people. Even the extras went above and beyond.
  40. BrunoM.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    I don't like romance.
  41. KeithH
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    The world
  42. AmyM
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Titanic is one of those breath taking movies that will be with you for the rest of your life. It is the best movie ever. It makes every girl wish she could be loved like that.
  43. BonnieH.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Best movie ever. No competition will ever be presented to it.
  44. StephenB.
    Dec 26, 2008
    1
    Mr. Cameron started his career by establishing himself as a great science-fiction writer/director, able to simultaneously be exciting and smart. He delievered on that promise with the two "Terminator" films and the completely awesome "Aliens". In fact, in some jurisdictions, not liking "Aliens" is considered a criminal act. However, having proved his talent at greatness, he decided to Mr. Cameron started his career by establishing himself as a great science-fiction writer/director, able to simultaneously be exciting and smart. He delievered on that promise with the two "Terminator" films and the completely awesome "Aliens". In fact, in some jurisdictions, not liking "Aliens" is considered a criminal act. However, having proved his talent at greatness, he decided to switch gears and try sucking for a change. And so we have... this... abomination. Gone are the great writing and pacing that anchored his previous sci-fi outings, instead replaced with a laughable script, incessant repetition and miscasting galore. There are no characters, just cardboard cutouts. The historic mistakes are mind-boggling. Even composer James Horner turns in a huge pile of cliched, faux-"romantic" gloop, all the more travesty if you remember he did the rousing score of "Aliens". Yes, the SFX is good and probably the only part of the film I will ever find anything positive to say. I have no idea why the director abandoned the niche he was most successful in for another where he fails. The final impression: "I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit". Expand
  45. Roy
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    I don't get all the hate for this film, sure i hated leornado di'caprio in this film, i thought he was a weak lead, would have preffered someone like say Brad Pitt or johnny depp, and the romace is a little boyish at time, but you can't deny the cinematography excellence of this film, still haven't been matched till this day.
  46. Josh
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    "The f-word was never said during that decade " Ummmm... You lived during this decade? Just wondering because you'd be pretty old if you did. Please tell us more about this decade? If you are just saying this to put down this film than I suggest you study your history a little. Of course the word was not used then as much as it is now but it was still used.
  47. Robert
    Dec 26, 2002
    0
    Quite possibly one of the most boring, overblown, overlong movies I have ever seen in my life. The movie simply was not interesting at all, and it ran far too long. 3 hour running times are fine if there is actually an interesting plot, but this was just horribly boring.
  48. AaronS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    As contrived as the love story is, the visuals are some of, if not the, most uncompromisingly brilliant ever put on film! Visual perfection... anyone who does not at least honor Cameron's achievement in that regard should just stop watching films altogether, because they're missing the point.
  49. ZackW.
    Mar 24, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Like Robert Says ''There no plot.'' It was based on a true event, Robert, it's not supposed to have a plot. I do recommended for ages 7-100.
  50. RosaA.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    Titanic is the best movie I have seen in my entire life!
  51. TonyB.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Every now and then a film lives up to its hype. "Titanic" is such a film; it is quite an achievement.
  52. JimG.
    Nov 28, 2005
    2
    Muzak for the eyes. Tedious, vacuous, schmaltz.
  53. sugamomma
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    This movie is the best romance movie ever made. supreme acting by all of the cast members I still cry every time i see it and the score by james horner was just awe!!!!! James cameron really brought the love story between jack and rose to life it gets to the point where the audience actually cares about jack and rose's relationship we want them to get married. and when billy zane This movie is the best romance movie ever made. supreme acting by all of the cast members I still cry every time i see it and the score by james horner was just awe!!!!! James cameron really brought the love story between jack and rose to life it gets to the point where the audience actually cares about jack and rose's relationship we want them to get married. and when billy zane played the jealous fiancee that was priceless his acting was so good you would think that was billy zanes true nature but we have to remember hes not really a bad guy he just plays one. I even lost count of how many times ive seen the movie. you cannot hate this movie if you tried. Expand
  54. SinanR.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    The best movie ever, excluding the nudity scene.
  55. NikkiK.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    This movie is a great movie, it tells about happened with titanic when it sank (even though there was mistakes it) but the way it was told with the romantic but sad and Adventures style. It had a great plot and the actors and actresses just made it even better. They were great I dont think any one else could have doen a better Job then Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Billy Zane, Kathy This movie is a great movie, it tells about happened with titanic when it sank (even though there was mistakes it) but the way it was told with the romantic but sad and Adventures style. It had a great plot and the actors and actresses just made it even better. They were great I dont think any one else could have doen a better Job then Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Billy Zane, Kathy Bates, Frances Fisher, and Gloria Stuart. Also how James Cameron leads one thing to another. What Im trying to say is that this movie was Great. Expand
  56. ConorM.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    It was the best movie I ever seen. i'm completely obsesed with the RMS Titanic and have everything about the Titanic.I know everything about it and the passengers too
  57. CodyG.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I loved the movie Titanic the only part i disagree with is the scene in which Kate Winslet is nude. One of my favorite scenes is when the ship hits the iceberg another one is where the ship goes under. One thing I think is possible is where First officer Murdoch commended suicide. It was reported by many survivors and i think it really did happen.
  58. JakeL
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    One of the great epics stirring, epic, breathtaking, even after The Dark Knight this is still the #1 movie of all time.
  59. ScaraB
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    A solid movie, but no doubt one of the most overrated movies of all time. If you have a male friend that loves this film, dig further for evidence of his actual masulinity.
  60. KatieP.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    How can you not love this movie?
  61. JimmyP.
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    Great, film. Seen it tens of times. I would pay to watch it again. That's how much I like it.
  62. LawrenceY.
    Dec 29, 2008
    1
    If you like disaster films, this is the film for you. But if you dont like to see love in a disaster film, just leave this one alone.
  63. CCN
    Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Heart-warming, poignant and occasionally comic, Titanic is powerful love story set aboard the ill-fated luxury liner, that is almost guaranteed to touch any audience's heart. The special effects, costume and set designs are all spectacular, and the cast members are all on key, with two outstanding performances from Leonardo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet. The lighting and music oftenHeart-warming, poignant and occasionally comic, Titanic is powerful love story set aboard the ill-fated luxury liner, that is almost guaranteed to touch any audience's heart. The special effects, costume and set designs are all spectacular, and the cast members are all on key, with two outstanding performances from Leonardo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet. The lighting and music often contribute to the film's ability to absorb you into it's world, and it often feels as if you're on the wide specious decks of the luxury liner itself. Titanic has been a huge commercial and critical success, and is one of the most expensive and successful films of all time; watching it you can easily see why. In April 2012 Director/Writer James Cameron will release his masterpiece once again for a new generation of cinema-lovers to enjoy on the big screen, and this time it'll be sailing into cinemas in 3D. It is set to be released days before the 100th anniversary of the sinking. Expand
  64. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Titanic is a movie merging two characters coming from completely different social backgrounds on the ill-fated ship. I don't understand why lots of people didn't like this movie. Q: Why is it such a "sappy" love story?
    A: It's a trick used to make us love the main characters, so that when one of them dies, we feel sadness for all the other people that died with the ship.
    Q: Why such a
    Titanic is a movie merging two characters coming from completely different social backgrounds on the ill-fated ship. I don't understand why lots of people didn't like this movie. Q: Why is it such a "sappy" love story?
    A: It's a trick used to make us love the main characters, so that when one of them dies, we feel sadness for all the other people that died with the ship.

    Q: Why such a terrible script?
    A: Seriously? It's brilliantly written. In fact, it closely has some of the aspects that the blockbuster "Inception" contains. You have to look closer than the dialogue and the actions of the story. Writing a screenplay is a very hard job. You have to symbolize with almost everything. You have to feel what the characters are feeling and how they would react to certain situations. Plus, there it has a pretty big plot behind it (you've got the heart of the ocean, the painting, the whistle, the hair pin, etc) that has to be weaved together... and this can be a VERY messy process that takes a LONG time to clean up. It's a slap in the face when someone says your work, in which you worked five years on, is horrible.

    Q: Why the best picture?
    A: Come on, it was the 90's. In that decade, picture wasn't that great considering it was VHS. And when they talk about best picture, they don't just talk about how HD the film is. They talk about the colors, the cinematography, the lighting, etc.

    Q: Why the cheesy dialogue?
    A: Okay, try writing a play right now. What would you say if you were in water BELOW FREEZING and you knew you were going to die. What would you say to your lover? It's not cheesy, and it's not dumb. It's well thought out. I have to go through my written dialogue many times before it seems right. The dialogue also has to move the story forward, which is what happened in the film. Q: Wow, there's no action before the sinking. Why?
    A: What if Titanic was written differently? Maybe it introduces a thief on the ship who tries to kill everyone on board, and actually knocked the captain off the ship and drove it into the iceberg? It would be completely stupid. It doesn't follow history. Now, I know Jack and Rose are both fictitious characters, but there were many people on board the ship that had relationships. It's not like they knew the Titanic was going to sink and broke up so that it wasn't as depressing...

    I'd just like to say that lots of people under-rate Titanic because it's a romance. Come on, there's actually a penis joke during a dinner scene. People are way to picky. You wanted to see a film of a ship sinking, and that's what you got. I give this film a 9/10.
    Expand
  65. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Cannot really understand how can anyone give this movie a negative review. Loved it, was extremely touched by the movie and I believe it may be the most touching and romantic movie ever made. 10/10
  66. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Titanic is romantic, beautiful, and sad. This is my favorite movie of all time, and totally deserved the best picture award it won. This and Inception is the reason Leonardo DiCaprio is one of my favorite actors. And This is why Kate Winslet's one of my favorite actresses
  67. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Unbelievable movie. I think everybody should go back to when he first watched this movie and no judge after watching it several times . Great love story that cannot be repeated in any other movie!
  68. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Titanic: an epic masterpiece of cinema to say the least. Not to mention THE MOVIE people love to hate, because for whatever reason pretentious people can't stand the idea that the greatest film can also be the most popular. Titanic is my favorite movie of all time, and in my modest opinion the best movie ever made. The acting regardless of what people say is brilliant. Leo and Kate have excellent chemistry and were both perfect choices for their roles. Billy Zane plays a perfect high class villain. And, who could forget the tender and touching performance of the late Gloria Stuart. The movie is historically accurate to the last detail (up to that point) and if you disagree, you don't know the titanic yourself. James Cameron had the top titanic historians on set at all times, as well as early 20th century etiquette experts training 150 permanent extras on behavior and mannerisms. Not to mention the brilliant set pieces and cinematography! The full sized set of the ship was the icing, and not a dollar of his record breaking budget was misspent. From the eerie opening dive scene, to the sunny days at sea meeting the characters, to the captivating and dramatic sinking scene, and of course the famous ending kiss atop the grand staircase, titanic is an experience. An experience of love, greed, class separation, dreams, loss, and closure: things that the audience can still relate to 100 years after the origina of the film. You aren't human if you didn't shed a tear at this film, because like it or not it's hear wrenching. All in all, this film is beautiful. Despite what you may think, it won 11 Oscars for a reason, and is a must see for film for people of all ages (after all, it's been my favorite film since I was 3). Expand
  69. May 30, 2013
    10
    This movie is one of those movies that when you look at it do not you forget it and will always remember him as one of the best movie you've ever seen the film as everyone knows speaks of the sinking of the Titanic, but James Cameron tries to make the lighter moment by telling the love story between Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio), an artist who lodges in the third class, and Rose (Kate Winslet),This movie is one of those movies that when you look at it do not you forget it and will always remember him as one of the best movie you've ever seen the film as everyone knows speaks of the sinking of the Titanic, but James Cameron tries to make the lighter moment by telling the love story between Jack (Leonardo DiCaprio), an artist who lodges in the third class, and Rose (Kate Winslet), a seventeen year old girl from middle class family with a mother who has already planned a life and his wealthy fiancé Caledon "Cal" Hackley (Billy Zane). This film I've seen it many times and every time I feel an incredible feeling, it is precisely for this reason that Titanic is a masterpiece, because as many films do not ever get tired of seeing him always and every time you feel the same emotion as if it were the first time personally I can not even find a flaw in the film, I think the points that make a moving film Titanic and that leaves its mark are: the soundtrack by James Horner, the song My Heart Will Go On Celine Dion, dazzling special effects photography Russell Carpenter and the incredible interpretation of Kate Winslet. Unfortunately, the Cinema today has had many changes compared to what it once was, most of the movies they make today are trash films, Cinema today's needs instead of movies like Titanic, one of a kind and that will leave a mark in the heart and mind. Winner of 11 Academy Awards in 1998 (all deserved): Best Film, Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Special Effects, Best Original Score, Best Song, Best Editing, Best Sound, Best Sound Editing and Best Costume Design, I conclude saying that Titanic is a masterpiece and is one of the best films ever made. Expand
  70. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Titanic is a movie that made me extremely respect the director James Cameron. Titanic is a outstanding dramatic film and it made me understand how true love can th overcome fear of death.
  71. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Beautiful movie....

    This movie is the greatest in Romantic genre.

    Perfect movie by James Cameroon.

    Perfect acting by Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet
  72. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Titanic gives audiences around the nation a hope that love can be found anywhere, even on a sinking ship. In the film Titanic we follow the love story between two characters who go by the name of Rose and Jack. The discover love in a place that many people would not think you could. Their love is tested when the Titanic hits an ice berg. The director of Titanic is James Cameron andTitanic gives audiences around the nation a hope that love can be found anywhere, even on a sinking ship. In the film Titanic we follow the love story between two characters who go by the name of Rose and Jack. The discover love in a place that many people would not think you could. Their love is tested when the Titanic hits an ice berg. The director of Titanic is James Cameron and based on his past film you can guess that Titanic will be a film to remember. Cameron's dedication to the film shows through the finished product of the film. He studied the Titanic for many months before he started writing this film because he wanted the audience to feel as though they were sailing on the ship with Rose and Jack. He achieves this goal making audiences feel fully emerged in the whole story. Titanic is rate PG-13 and I strongly advise children under the age 13 to go to the movie with a parent because there are some nude scenes and fowl language. This film can be seen by both male and female because it has an adventurous side and a romantic side. I would strongly advise seeing this movie because it leaves you with a feeling of hope and completion. I enjoyed the movie and would defiantly go and see it again. James Cameron has once again made a classic movie that will go down in history. Expand
  73. Mar 7, 2015
    8
    Titanic is an unmatchable movie experience. It may have a mishmash romance,but after all cameron intended to make a movie on titanic and he wanted the viewers to 'go into' it, so he chose this love story. In tyat case titanic is bst movie ever
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. 100
    You don't just watch Titanic, you experience it.
  2. No amount of excellent period costuming and brilliant set decoration can substitute for a good story and decent acting.
  3. The first half drags a bit, but the adventure scenes are exciting and the visual effects are as dazzling as Hollywood's most advanced technology can make them. Focusing as much on time and memory as on danger and disaster, it's an epic with a heart.