Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 1997
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1041 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
905
Mixed:
63
Negative:
73
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
KonradR.May 2, 2003
From the opening shots of Titanic in harbour, to the final fade out, the sheer size, grandeur and realism had me completely absorbed in it. Cameron's only mistake was not hiring a professional screen writer. Technically, and visually, From the opening shots of Titanic in harbour, to the final fade out, the sheer size, grandeur and realism had me completely absorbed in it. Cameron's only mistake was not hiring a professional screen writer. Technically, and visually, it is nothing short of a masterpiece. It amuses me how Steve began by saying it is one of the worst films he has ever seen, then going on to say it is a visual masterpiece. Fair enough, a movie cannot rely on visual attraction, but surely if it is a masterpiece in any area it cannot be one of the worst movies ever made! Of course, you are probably the type of person that gives "Freddy Got Fingered" ten. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 8, 2004
The greatest button-pusher of all time. Gets away with being too long: Riveting storytelling and great editing. Who cares if it doesn't always ring true. Someone should. I do. It's not enough that so many drowned so long ago, now The greatest button-pusher of all time. Gets away with being too long: Riveting storytelling and great editing. Who cares if it doesn't always ring true. Someone should. I do. It's not enough that so many drowned so long ago, now we're losing fine jewelry too. Will this tragedy ever end? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
stephens.Jul 3, 2005
Actually the rating should be a 2 or 3, but considering this won Oscars, a 1 or zero is appropriate. The absolute worst "best film" On a par with such other successful stinkers such as Forrest Gump and Deer Hunter.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
IlzeSDec 1, 2004
This movie is awesome & brilliant. I think that Titanic is one of the best movies ever made. Movies like ?Lord of the Rings? trilogy is very empty. Titanic is a classical love story, but I like great effects in movie. Also I think that LOTR This movie is awesome & brilliant. I think that Titanic is one of the best movies ever made. Movies like ?Lord of the Rings? trilogy is very empty. Titanic is a classical love story, but I like great effects in movie. Also I think that LOTR never will not be a true good movie, but Titanic is movie that takes you, you experience it, not like other movies. I watched it 10 times! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NathanTOct 24, 2006
The idea that this was a better film than "L.A. Confidential" or the nominated "Boogie Nights" or "The Sweet Hereafter" is plain silly. But watching "Titanic" again for the first time in a few years, I was struck by how much of it does work. The idea that this was a better film than "L.A. Confidential" or the nominated "Boogie Nights" or "The Sweet Hereafter" is plain silly. But watching "Titanic" again for the first time in a few years, I was struck by how much of it does work. Unfortunately what does work is hampered at every turn by what doesn't. James Cameron doesn't let the British shine (this is an American movie) and he can't resist the urge to do those cutesy references to the era of the film (and aren't we all so clever looking back knowing who Picasso is while the benighted fools aboard think he's doomed to be a starving artist?). Yet what works is the film's romance, as cornball and contrived as it may be. Far from Leonardo DiCaprio's best performance (that would be as Howard Hughes in the far, far superior "The Aviator"), Kate Winslet keeps the film afloat on her shoulders and provides a compelling reason to watch "Titanic" even as it sinks (literally). And remember how fashionable it was to say in 1997 that you only liked the last hour of it when all the 'cool' special effects take over? Regretfully there isn't enough heat in those dramatic closing scenes and the direction feels off for that material. But as the 1990s was the decade of the period piece winning the Best Picture prize ("American Beauty" and "Silence of the Lambs" notwithstanding), this predictably swept the Oscars that year. It's a decent, occasionally overwrought film that sold more tickets and ran for longer than it deserved to. But as a Best Picture winner, it's sandwiched in between one of the 1990s best films, "The English Patient" and the delightfully romantic "Shakespeare in Love". Those two are deserving of every second they ask of the viewer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
FrederickS.Jun 10, 2006
The wettest and most hyped movie of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CorinnaW.Jan 3, 2007
I can't believe some people don't like this film. It is timeless, I have seen it at least 15 times and would gladly watch it another 30 (I probably will). One of the rare movies that can make me cry every time. However, it is not I can't believe some people don't like this film. It is timeless, I have seen it at least 15 times and would gladly watch it another 30 (I probably will). One of the rare movies that can make me cry every time. However, it is not the "I'll never let go" part that sets me off...it's the old people cuddling in bed and the mother reading one last story to her children..because you know then that they have lost all hope. Truly beautiful. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KimsJan 7, 2008
to all you people who claim its bad, only because you dont like romance or that it wasn't actiony enough for you: dont comment on how good a movie it is if you cant stand apart from personal opinion. its a damn good movie and even if to all you people who claim its bad, only because you dont like romance or that it wasn't actiony enough for you: dont comment on how good a movie it is if you cant stand apart from personal opinion. its a damn good movie and even if you don't like romance or epic 11 TIME OSCAR WINNERS -may i point out-you have to admit its amazing. i love it and will always love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ConradR.Jul 9, 2001
Visual masterpiece which is one of a few historical movies which actually gets the facts right. Unfortunately, the movie editing is bad, and a vital piece is cut out where Jack is helped up onto the first class deck - as portrayed in the Visual masterpiece which is one of a few historical movies which actually gets the facts right. Unfortunately, the movie editing is bad, and a vital piece is cut out where Jack is helped up onto the first class deck - as portrayed in the movie: it is impossible for him to wander around the ship as he pleases. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonP.Mar 22, 2002
The "Gone With The Wind" of our generation. A dazzling recreation of the disaster....overlaid by an intriguing romance which takes you to all parts of the ship and to a cross-section of the doomed passengers. You are stunned by the magnitude The "Gone With The Wind" of our generation. A dazzling recreation of the disaster....overlaid by an intriguing romance which takes you to all parts of the ship and to a cross-section of the doomed passengers. You are stunned by the magnitude of the ship and its demise, and find yourself emotionally reacting to the simple, the heroic, and the selfish acts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Aug 3, 2002
Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. An absolute masterpiece. No matter what other roles Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet ever take, none will ever match this performance. They will always be remembered for this role. Just a Quite possibly my favorite movie of all time. An absolute masterpiece. No matter what other roles Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet ever take, none will ever match this performance. They will always be remembered for this role. Just a breathtaking suspenseful romantic adventure that was captured perfectly as if it were on canvass. James Cameron will never again equal this great work of art. In time I believe Titanic will be compared to Gone With The Wind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJun 22, 2004
Without a doubt one of the best, if not the best movies ever made. Definitely in the top ten of all time and richly deserving of all the Oscars it received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeFeb 14, 2005
Great movie, from start to the ending. I was afraid that this movie would be boring, but it actually was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KellyE.Jun 1, 2005
I found it too unbeliveable.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
miker.Jan 3, 2006
One of the top 5 movies ever. It had great cinematoraphy, special effects, underrated outstanding acting, excellent interwoven life stories and one of the best movie love stories ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrissyJan 5, 2006
Saw it 7 times in theaters. enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CiaranG.Jan 4, 2007
One of the greatest movies ever made in my opinion. It has a fantastic storyline that is based on a true story. This film has everything - sex, romance, violence, fantastic stunts etc. Also, the soundtrack along with this film is brilliant, One of the greatest movies ever made in my opinion. It has a fantastic storyline that is based on a true story. This film has everything - sex, romance, violence, fantastic stunts etc. Also, the soundtrack along with this film is brilliant, includes the likes of Enya and more... At parts this film is thrilling, sometimes it will have you on the edge of your seat, perhaps you'll enjoy the romance or you'll be upset at some of the more horrific scenes. I would recommend buying this on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisB.Jul 5, 2007
Worst movie ever made. Were it not for Kate Winslet being naked for a couple of minutes, I'd have gouged my eyes out. There probably would have been a class-action lawsuit against James Cameron because his movie caused blindness due to Worst movie ever made. Were it not for Kate Winslet being naked for a couple of minutes, I'd have gouged my eyes out. There probably would have been a class-action lawsuit against James Cameron because his movie caused blindness due to eye-gouging had Kate Winslet not been naked. It's a bullshit romance. Go watch Rambo or something if you want to see a real movie. You know, one where there's no character development and shit gets blown up because it's awesome. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
10
KaitlynnH.Oct 20, 2008
This movie was a good makeing. It really explains true love. But it also makes you think twice before getting on a ship or a boat in the icey waters.
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
connersJan 4, 2008
This is by far the best movie ever made! he acting is amazing and the effects are perfect and the score is lifealtering. you will cry your heart out! the movie will change your life. after seeing it, i was numb and cried every time someone This is by far the best movie ever made! he acting is amazing and the effects are perfect and the score is lifealtering. you will cry your heart out! the movie will change your life. after seeing it, i was numb and cried every time someone even mentioned titanic....... and i am a 14 year old boy! best movie ever! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.Apr 16, 2008
This is the best movie ever. Those who say that it's horrible, are just people without feelings. If you are sentimental, you love love stories, you will definetily will love this movie. Kate ands Leonardo are just great. The whole movie This is the best movie ever. Those who say that it's horrible, are just people without feelings. If you are sentimental, you love love stories, you will definetily will love this movie. Kate ands Leonardo are just great. The whole movie is great. The best of all times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JamsB.Jun 24, 2008
I would have given it about a 5 as it is an average try-hard hollywood blockbuster but the fact that you see Kate Winslet's horrible naked body makes it a zero.
1 of 9 users found this helpful
4
JaeqJul 26, 2008
There's Great, Good, Okay, Bad, and Terrible when it comes to movies, This one is somewhere between okay and bad, don't mean to be sexist, but many girls and women tend to see movies for other things than what they are, in this There's Great, Good, Okay, Bad, and Terrible when it comes to movies, This one is somewhere between okay and bad, don't mean to be sexist, but many girls and women tend to see movies for other things than what they are, in this case, pretty boy leonardo decaprio in a 4 hour softcore porno, same idea with brokeback mountain , imagine a stupid chick flick that takes a 5/10, now put homsexual romance in it, goldmine. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
10
HannahBOct 19, 2009
I loooooooove this movie xxx It made my cry at the very end though!!! YAY Titanic Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieTJul 19, 2009
Love this movie. It is so dramatic. The acting in this movie is outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TSJul 26, 2009
Along with Braveheart and Forrest Gump, one of the worst Oscar winners of all time. Pure turgid drivel. A chick flick for the mentally defective.
2 of 15 users found this helpful
10
shelbyjAug 7, 2009
The most gratifying movie i have ever seen. it takes your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillSSep 14, 2009
this movie is THE BEST FILM IN THE HISTORY OF MOTION PICTURES. oh and stephen B, feel free to hit me up so i can beat your faggot ass to pieces for disrespecting the best movie of all time. man up or shut the fuck up you faggot nobody.
4 of 8 users found this helpful
3
SteveT.Jun 27, 2001
Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Visually, it's a masterpiece. But the screenplay/story is just horrible. The f-word was never said during that decade and I hate the way Rose was in cold water for over 30 minutes Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Visually, it's a masterpiece. But the screenplay/story is just horrible. The f-word was never said during that decade and I hate the way Rose was in cold water for over 30 minutes and somehow never had hypothermia. Another thing is that 1st class people would never even think of talking or be seen with lower class people. There wasn't even a way for the low class people to go the deck! Main point is watch the movie with the volume down and watch about 10 minutes and that's it. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful
1
ChrisR.Jul 7, 2001
Cameron takes one of the most dramatic stories in history and turns it into an hackneyed third-rate fictional soap opera. Poorly written, acted and directed it represents the worst of major Hollywood film making.
2 of 10 users found this helpful