Samuel Goldwyn Films | Release Date: January 22, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 42 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
3
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
AllisonSJan 27, 2010
This movie really changed my life. After looking at the critic reviews it is clear that they completely missed the whole message of the movie. It challenged me to include everyone around me. So many times people are overlooked around us. This movie really changed my life. After looking at the critic reviews it is clear that they completely missed the whole message of the movie. It challenged me to include everyone around me. So many times people are overlooked around us. This was a reminder to me that just a simple "hello" can mean a lot to someone and may even save a life. This is not all about Christianity like the critics make it out to be. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JanelleKJan 24, 2010
Parents need to take their adolescents to see this movie!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffBJan 24, 2010
Movie portrays real struggles faced by teenagersm faced by the modern day church and the transforming power of God. Movie is inspirational and a must see for anybody raising children or working with children.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PattiN.Jan 25, 2010
Based on the negative reviews of the "blind" it's obviously a powerful life changing film for those who can see and think for themselves. This movie captures the daily life in high schools accross the nation. The media would love to Based on the negative reviews of the "blind" it's obviously a powerful life changing film for those who can see and think for themselves. This movie captures the daily life in high schools accross the nation. The media would love to keep youth away with poor reviews but the reality is is that it's going to transform hearts in young people, they will be convicted and the other well reviewed movies promoting death, sex, no hope will go broke...get a clue media land...change is on it's way. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoyceD.Jan 26, 2010
Must see great message. We all could learn something.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LarrySJan 31, 2010
Good movie, good messages. Yes, it's not awesome by Hollywood standards (too many subjects tackled, maybe a little too much dialogue), but it still made me think about how I interacted (or didn't interact) with people in high Good movie, good messages. Yes, it's not awesome by Hollywood standards (too many subjects tackled, maybe a little too much dialogue), but it still made me think about how I interacted (or didn't interact) with people in high school, and sometimes today. I hope people will give it a chance, we all need some of the messages here (not just teenagers). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TomIFeb 1, 2010
An instant cult classic. Think "Left Below" with the cast of "Saved by the Bell". I caught this after it showed up on Metacritic because I knew the users section would be flooded with irate apologists. A form of backlash I saw popping up An instant cult classic. Think "Left Below" with the cast of "Saved by the Bell". I caught this after it showed up on Metacritic because I knew the users section would be flooded with irate apologists. A form of backlash I saw popping up almost immediately on the NYTimes review. Here it is in a nutshell: Everything is broken down into the simplest, after-school special, watered down, Hallmark card terms. Don't be fooled, anyone giving this above a 3 or so without being ironic is suffering from the delusion that these reviews weren't entirely objective and free of bias. All that said, and I say this without any anti-Christian agenda; if you don't mind throwing the money down for Rocky Horror level unintentional laughter then you'll have a good time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Itâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
TonyTJan 30, 2010
I have to admit I had no idea what this movie was about when I went. It was fairly well acted and the primary theme wasn't pushy christianity per se but about looking for those around us that are lonely and need help and how that help I have to admit I had no idea what this movie was about when I went. It was fairly well acted and the primary theme wasn't pushy christianity per se but about looking for those around us that are lonely and need help and how that help can prevent a tragedy at best (Columbine?) and at least lift the burden of those that need a friend. Its message was right on and we all can judge less and look for those in need. What is wrong with that? This is not a Christian only message. Wouldn't Islam, Hindu, Budhism, etc. teach the same thing? Wouldn't common decency and moral obligation demand the same? I for one don't look at what critics think but look at the ratings of those who have watched the show, experienced the message without the "job" of being a "critic" getting in the way. Critics are by their own job title "critical" and therefore not looking for the good in a film but looking for the bad. Just read their words in the critique and you can see their anti-moral bias. If you are looking for a good message, good acting with a moral and important ending then this is a film to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesleyMJan 22, 2010
I though the movie was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikRJan 24, 2010
Why do the critics resort to negative reviews to further prove their bias against Christianity? It's discouraging to know the true message of 'To Save A LIfe' went right over many of the reviewers' heads. Not the best Why do the critics resort to negative reviews to further prove their bias against Christianity? It's discouraging to know the true message of 'To Save A LIfe' went right over many of the reviewers' heads. Not the best cinematagoraphy by a long shot, but it does succeed at challenging the standard Christian walk as well as pushing a flawless theme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillVJan 26, 2010
A very smart and well done movie. Very sweet and applicable to today's times with regard to young people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MicahPJan 26, 2010
Best Christian themed film I've ever seen...the acting was much better than fireproof or any other one for that matter. Many christian films come off as really cheesy, but this one seems much more real. I love how all the critics hate Best Christian themed film I've ever seen...the acting was much better than fireproof or any other one for that matter. Many christian films come off as really cheesy, but this one seems much more real. I love how all the critics hate it because it's a christian movie.....the goal of the film isn't to garner awards....it's to change lives!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisM.Jan 26, 2010
7 friends traveled 40 minutes to see this movie and were not disappointed...Could you do that with Avatar?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaneDJan 28, 2010
Reviews by professionals renew my belief that they've lost touch with the movie business. Great movie, great message, great delivery. Critics need to get in touch with the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
coolcaroOct 9, 2011
this movie is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sad. I mean its a good move but i almost cried 3 times during the movie. i just saw it at youth group. its sooooooooooooooooooooooo good but it will make u cry if u cry during sad movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMar 27, 2013
Wow guys. Just wow. The critics couldn't have been more wrong on this one. Fantastic film. Unlike many christian films, this doesn't feel low budget, and the story is intense fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012May 5, 2013
To Save A Life is a little confused and a little too zealous, attempting to deal with several subjects at once and not doing that very effectively. But the film succeeds when it comes to the simple message of how priceless life is, and youTo Save A Life is a little confused and a little too zealous, attempting to deal with several subjects at once and not doing that very effectively. But the film succeeds when it comes to the simple message of how priceless life is, and you don't need religious sentiment to appreciate that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tmlorfingApr 15, 2015
OK, let's get this out of the way: It is not a great movie by cinema standards. Shots out of focus, unlikeable characters, and some very cheesy dialogue. However, it is the overall story arch that is pretty decent, and stands out amongst theOK, let's get this out of the way: It is not a great movie by cinema standards. Shots out of focus, unlikeable characters, and some very cheesy dialogue. However, it is the overall story arch that is pretty decent, and stands out amongst the cringe worthy parts of the film.
This is NOT a bible-bashing cram-biblical-verses-in-your-face-until-you-puke-blood type of movie. In fact, the Christianity aspect of the film is actually quite subtle; a pleasant suprise in a Christian film industry of "God's not Dead" or "Persecuted". The story revolves around a young high schooler, who snaps out of his "party boy" niche after Roger, his old best friend, kills himself. He takes a good look at his world, and realizes how empty and vain his existance is, and seeks to try and prevent another depressed kid from sharing the same fate as Roger. This will take him down a path involving Christianity, relationships with his "friends", and the seek for true friends who like him for what he's made of.
An interesting aspect of this film is that it portrays some of the more despicable behaviors of so-called "Christians" through a son of the local pastor. Since most Christian films are built upon a foundation of self-righteousness, this is a pleasant suprise.
However, the plot does take some odd turns, and the challenges thrown at the protagonist seem to be thrown in there after the writers were locked in a room watching MTV for 24 hours. It includes a bizzare mash-up of infidelity, teen pregnancy, and school terror. This makes the overall plot lose a lot of its steam, but the main ideas of the film should still be taken as good.
If you are a Preacher, or Youth PAstor, or Sunday School Teacher, then I recommend playing this film for your youth groups. It takes a sobering look at relevant issues in a way that is not self-righteous or arrogant. Play this instead of other Christian films, like the ones mentioned at the beginning.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ColetheoMay 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was up and ridiculous really, I tried giving it the benefit of a doubt because it was a movie that spoke out against bullying, and I admire that, but the only thing about it is is that the message almost get's smothered under the Christian undertones (or overtones as the case of this movie), meaning that by the time Jake the main aresehole that ignores the guy that saved his life for the lead arseho- ahem, female becomes a christian, there is a scene of a "hip-priest" reading a bible passage almost every 5 minutes throughout the rest of the movie. Also, regarding how Roger saved Jake, he sees a car going approximately 4 miles an hour and what does he do? Jump and push him out of the way instead of telling Jake to get his arse out of the road and stop staring at that butterfly, that's what I would've done! Also, the movie shamelessly exploits school shootings to forward the plot of this movie, in Rodger shooting himself due to bullying, now why is he bullied? Because he has a permanent limp. Now what in the blue barnstorming bloodbaths would motivate you to pick on someone with a limp? You may as well just pick on someone with a heart defect, or someone with a tumor that causes them visible pain.

Also, let's go into the characters themselves, NONE of them go through character development before the point that Jake meets them, almost as if they were created at that exact age specifically for them to interract, and bond with Jake, the only hint of childhood-characterization in this movie is what happens to Jake and Roger, but I'll sum up the characters in the most short and sweet way I can:

Jake - Arsehat basketball playing jock turned obnoxious christian

Roger - Person getting picked on for no apparent reason that commits a suicide relevant to the plot of the movie for like 18 minutes spread out across the movie

Chris - the "hip-priest" I mentioned earlier that secretly thinks Jake is a bumbling drunk (he's not wrong)

Doug Moore - Blatant Arsehat that you can tell is bad the second you see him that looks like Will Ferrel

Johnny Garcia - Depressed teen that makes very suspicious drawings

Amy Briggs - Self-righteous carjacker that gets pregnant midway through the movie

Andrea WhoEvenGivesAHoot - Sickeningly nice once-depressed-but-turned-to-the-church-and-it-miraculously-made-everything-better-as-if-by-unrealistic-movie-magic teenage girl that has a puppy love story (if you could even call it that) arc with Johnny that's abandoned just about as quickly as it begins.
There are lot's of others, but I got tired of talking about these 2-Dimensional twits.

As if I wasn't expecting differently from a movie involving teens and bullying, there's also an obligatory drinking scene around the start, almost as if every teen is an alchohol-chugging puppy-kicking monster.

Eventually Jake takes his girlfriend the previously mentioned crazy carjacker Amy to a religious service where in WHATEVER order Amy tells Jake that she wants to go away because she doesn't want to be judged, then she sees a girl on stage and says that she's a crackhead, and that was the point that I gave up and threw the movie away.

Bad writing, bad plot, christian views being shoved down your throat, a suicide that *drives the plot* at the beginning but becomes irrelevant 30 minutes in, and is only brought up like once or twice in the movie, 2-Dimensional players that go through unnecessary character development that almost never elaborate on their past save for like 2 different characters, neither of which would be VERY important to the story if one wasn't a love interest, Andrea, and the other one Idon'tevenfuggingknow, shameless exploits on school shootings, and the uncanny ability of everyone in the movie to actually make you hate them instead of caring about them all roll together to make a poor-quality movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews