To the Wonder

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After visiting Mont Saint-Michel, Marina and Neil come to Oklahoma, where problems arise. Marina meets a priest and fellow exile, who is struggling with his vocation, while Neil renews his ties with a childhood friend, Jane.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 3, 2013
    91
    A beautiful, hearfelt and raw piece of work.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 10, 2013
    83
    Still, there’s no doubt that To The Wonder is a fans-only proposition, continuing Malick’s evolution (or devolution, for some) from the narrative grounding of "Badlands" to much more abstract, poeticized notions of the human condition.
  3. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Mar 3, 2013
    80
    To The Wonder doesn’t quite live up to the sky-high expectations set by his earlier films. But it’s still a brave, soul-stirring and sensitive work.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 15, 2013
    63
    There are moments of pure poetry in the movie but the production as a whole seems overlong and repetitive and takes a detour or two that distract from the aching beauty of the central story.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Pretty but inert, To the Wonder is a vaporous mystery wrapped in a gauzy enigma — a cinematic riddle that'll appeal principally to those eager for another piece, however tiny, of the puzzle that is Terrence Malick.
  6. 50
    To the Wonder feels like generalized woo-woo—and self-parody.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Apr 9, 2013
    0
    Plotless and almost mute, To the Wonder is the kind of fiasco that keeps film-festival programmers salivating and discriminating audiences stampeding toward the exit doors. It’s a simpering yawn that makes "The Tree of Life" seem like an action thriller with Bruce Willis. It is about … nothing.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 9 out of 25
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poemI loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with very little judgement, it seems to me. Everybody knows Paris is beautiful, but Oklahoma apparently has its own sort of beauty. I saw Tree of Life four times in two weeks, mainly dragging recalcitrant friends along. It got better each time. I'll see this at least twice in the first week, but not planning on taking anyone else. This is better savored alone. Also, I'm really glad Ben Affleck has so thoroughly redeemed himself as a serious artist, and Olga Kurylenko and Javier Bardem were perfect. I don't think there's a more interesting actor than Javier out there right now... Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    Beautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not toBeautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not to make some of the best films ever made.

    To the wonder is a sensation. It's textured and layered with romantic imagery, the minimal dialogue only adds to the beauty and romance of the film.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    You can approach this movie in several ways, but if you go in with an appreciation of Terrence Malick's latest works, you will enjoy thisYou can approach this movie in several ways, but if you go in with an appreciation of Terrence Malick's latest works, you will enjoy this movie. Cinematography over story. Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    5
    With the seemingly aimless direction, heavenly soundtrack and slow development, this is a typical Terrence Malick film. However, unlike hisWith the seemingly aimless direction, heavenly soundtrack and slow development, this is a typical Terrence Malick film. However, unlike his previous efforts, this one felt far more removed. ‘To the Wonder’ is an art film that presents the cycle of romantic relationships; from its beautiful beginnings to its sometime tragic end, and back around to the beautiful new beginnings. I take it that this was meant to be a study rather than something plot driven, and that the overall experience should be the ultimate “pay-off”; however, there seems to be something missing here. Unlike Sean Penn’s grief for the death of his brother in ‘The Tree of Life’ and Collin Farrell’s adoration for Pocahontas in ‘The New World’, we didn't feel the love that the characters in ‘To the Wonder’ presumably shared for each other. We were never able to immerse ourselves in the feelings of these characters; but were simply relegated to being bystanders looking at glimpses of the relationships as it unfolded and dissolved. Sometimes it’s easier to respect the artist than the art on display, and that is the case here. I have to give this film a mediocre grade despite being a huge fan of Malick. This one just wasn't doing it for me; and in the end, it was too emotionally unsatisfying. One thing you’re guaranteed to take away from this film is Emmanuelle Lubezki’s splendid cinematography. His sun kissed lighting and eloquent camera movements were what kept me engaged most of the time. Expand
  5. May 11, 2013
    4
    If you liked "Tree of Life" you'll be in heaven with this latest from writer/director Terrence Malick (there's even some of the same footage).If you liked "Tree of Life" you'll be in heaven with this latest from writer/director Terrence Malick (there's even some of the same footage). It's all beautiful imagery with poetic VO and almost no dialogue. There's a relationship runaround with Ben Affleck and Olga Kurylenko, where they do lots of silly stuff that people only do in movies…and perfume commercials. Javier Bardem wanders around as a priest. Cinematic poetry and obtuse storytelling. Painfully pretentious for my taste. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    2
    A waste of two hours. There is no real dialogue but there is a lot of background noise and some pretentious inspirational thoughts. SomeA waste of two hours. There is no real dialogue but there is a lot of background noise and some pretentious inspirational thoughts. Some nice scenery though. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    HORRIBLE! This is the worst movie that I've watched in my 47 years on this earth. EVERYONE; actors, directors, producers, grips, EVERONEHORRIBLE! This is the worst movie that I've watched in my 47 years on this earth. EVERYONE; actors, directors, producers, grips, EVERONE involved in this movie should never be allowed to participate again! This is the WORST movie I've suffered through in my life! Please save your money. Don't even consider it! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers