Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 3, 2012
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 395 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
156
Mixed:
164
Negative:
75
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
tvchicano07Feb 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Total greatness! This film was great for several reasons. The first because the special effects and the acting was out of this world. The second because although it was not like the original it was a unique expression of art all its own. Last but most important is the allegory that is expressed in the film, the film is a story between the oppressed and the wealthy oppressors. If you tend to be more conservative you will hate this film and if you tend to love leftist ideas you will fall in love with this amazing film. The UFB represents capitalism and imperialism and the fall represents oppression. Colin Farrell's character represents the change that a single man can make within himself and in an oppressed society. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Theone_0630Aug 3, 2012
I thought This Movie was BADASS. I mean overall i like it better than the original. The action scenes in this film are incredible! The world in this film is so beautiful. The story was Decent but it's the action that won me over. Overall thisI thought This Movie was BADASS. I mean overall i like it better than the original. The action scenes in this film are incredible! The world in this film is so beautiful. The story was Decent but it's the action that won me over. Overall this is a really fun summer film. Watch it Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
DebbieGWhizAug 4, 2012
This movie was amazing! It's a fresh take more true to the book rather than just copying the original. I have to say that I had this fantasy in my mind about how fantastic the original one was so I rewatched it a couple of months ago.This movie was amazing! It's a fresh take more true to the book rather than just copying the original. I have to say that I had this fantasy in my mind about how fantastic the original one was so I rewatched it a couple of months ago. Let's face it, those special effects are over 20 years old. This version was non-stop action, great acting and fresh! A must see! Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Y2188Aug 4, 2012
I really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake areI really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake are great..it was very interesting, maybe some escape scenes were the same but I really liked it overall, especially the implanted communication device..I just wish that the movie makers didn't spoil a bunch of it with their trailers Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
bachastainAug 6, 2012
I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects,I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
DragonClawAug 27, 2012
This movie was great! I was invited to the cinema and I first thought it would be good but after I got ouf of the cinema I was happy that I was the movie with my buddies. It was great, had a good story and it was interesting all the time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BinaryRecoilJan 20, 2013
So I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second markerSo I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white panties (which struck me odd for the rating) but then my ridiculously acute eye notices what I thought at first to be a smudge in a single frame. It's no frame jump of any kind, its completely Kate Beckinsale's vagina showing through those knickers as clear as day. My life is complete.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MeiklaOct 22, 2014
Dont listen to the critics. If u like steampunk this film is great! Action combiend with a deep story. It remind me of the overhyped inception movie. But not so serious
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HyperwolfAug 23, 2012
If you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the firstIf you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the first except for Special Achievement in special effects. The Fall also seems to be contentious among people, but who cares if it's not realistic. Since when were action movies (especially those with Arnie in them) hard core realism? The set designs of the cities alone made this worthwhile for me, but it has an awful lot more going for it. Great action scenes, good acting, great special effects. Check it out. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
McNeelyJAug 10, 2012
I really enjoyed the movie. Not sure what the professional reviewers are complaining about. Wasn't too thrilled with Kate Bs accent. Also could have been a bit more clear on which location is which between Britain and the Colony.I really enjoyed the movie. Not sure what the professional reviewers are complaining about. Wasn't too thrilled with Kate Bs accent. Also could have been a bit more clear on which location is which between Britain and the Colony. Otherwise it was a fun romp and definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
EvarinAug 4, 2012
I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

1. They do not go to Mars.
I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

1. They do not go to Mars. This movie takes place entirely on Earth.

2. It is not campy. Do not expect the movie to poke fun at itself, or have goofy characters. Keep those two points in mind and I think you'll enjoy the ride.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
franco214Nov 13, 2012
As youy read this you should know that i have not watched the first movie!! Shock!! Horror!! I know where have i been hiding all these years!! With that asside i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and is definitely going to be added to my DVDAs youy read this you should know that i have not watched the first movie!! Shock!! Horror!! I know where have i been hiding all these years!! With that asside i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and is definitely going to be added to my DVD collection. All parts are well acted, the story is gripping and there is certainly enough action going about to keep you interested and rooted to your seat. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer4life1985Aug 5, 2012
Having just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thatsHaving just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth the price of admission for it. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
OikeAug 3, 2012
WOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever theWOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity of charging all your police forces into tunnels so a handful of thugs can take over a city of 12m people, putting all of policemen in a single street so they can rush to tanks and thugs with machingus, and the total absence of American army for 3 months, the weaknesses in this movie are infinitesimal. I am going to watch it again. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
UnityAug 9, 2012
This remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world isThis remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world is stunningly beautiful for a dark future. The action scenes are amazing. As in the original, there's also a good helping of political intrigue and social commentary. This is an all-around great movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Jay0676Sep 10, 2012
Good Saturday afternoon movie film. Plenty of action and sci-fi fantasy. Good cast and nicely done change to the storyline from the original.. Yet another film that will get slated by the people who must be covered in dust and cobwebs andGood Saturday afternoon movie film. Plenty of action and sci-fi fantasy. Good cast and nicely done change to the storyline from the original.. Yet another film that will get slated by the people who must be covered in dust and cobwebs and daren't open their minds a little to enjoy this film a little. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Mr-Liberal-LDSFeb 2, 2013
Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate aWhy the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CJx101Aug 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought it was a perfectly fine movie. The plot was decent, not great, but it wasn't terrible. Of course I am a large fan of sci-fi movies so it was right up my alley. Having seen the original, no it wasn't as good, no amount of CG or Collin Farrel will make up for that (even though I really like Collin's acting). But the action scenes were good, the intensity was there, the only question I'm left to wonder is how they can show **** in a PG-13 movie, having 3 breasts may not be natural but that doesn't mean it's not freaking nudity. What the hell guys? Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
Much better movie than the original. The action sequences were great, the ideas about the environment were interesting, and the acting was really good. They also got rid of a lot of the retarded aspects of the original like the Mars setting,Much better movie than the original. The action sequences were great, the ideas about the environment were interesting, and the acting was really good. They also got rid of a lot of the retarded aspects of the original like the Mars setting, the cheesy filming style, and the alien/freak plot points which really ruined the film. Instead, they tried to go for some realism while still staying true to the science fiction elements and if watched with a moderate suspension of disbelief then I think most people would really enjoy this movie. Also, Kate Beckinsale is absolutely amazing. This movie is worth watching just for her. The only thing that bugged me was that they still had some plot holes from the original and some of the "mind games", while improved, still didn't resonate as well as they could've. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience
Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience guessing but the answer was a teensy bit on the obvious side.

In a world divided in a future not too far away, people are struggling to survive. Some have more than others, and that is enough - until those who have more want to take it all. The old story, but told very well in this case.

I enjoyed the film a lot. It could have used some improvements, but all in all it was a stunning ride and a thrill to watch with top notch effects and visuals!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeAug 12, 2012
This movie was great. No real complaints. Good acting, story, pace, action, etc. The movie is very action oriented with an interesting take on a world post chemical warfare. The characters and world felt real and the actors fit the scriptThis movie was great. No real complaints. Good acting, story, pace, action, etc. The movie is very action oriented with an interesting take on a world post chemical warfare. The characters and world felt real and the actors fit the script well. Also this movie is a "remake". I say "remake" because I never saw the original and I hear the plot is pretty different. In any case don't go in thinking that's what you'll get if you love the early 90s film. Overall I highly recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
javier24Aug 19, 2012
I think this version of total recall is pretty cool. Yes is not as good as the original but i liked it too. All the actor s and actresses were good, specialy Kate and Jessica!!! ;) And the theme of this movie is vere interesant, yes it isI think this version of total recall is pretty cool. Yes is not as good as the original but i liked it too. All the actor s and actresses were good, specialy Kate and Jessica!!! ;) And the theme of this movie is vere interesant, yes it is different but i think its good Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ExpectonerDec 16, 2013
It's not the same film but story are similar.
Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
Have a very good special effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance. Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with
It's not the same film but story are similar.
Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
Have a very good special effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance.
Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with more ambiguity, more questions if the patient is dreaming or not !
Finally it's a good film for thé family but not thé movie that i could have been dreaming for a Total Recall Universe fan like me
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CorvinAug 4, 2012
Before I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hintsBefore I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hints of The Matrix, Fifth Element, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith found their way in, with perhaps a dash of Terminator and a sprinkle of Johnny Mnemonic, to name a few.

Also, the special effects were excellent, and the protagonist and his love interest were relentlessly appealing, not to mention almost supernaturally attractive. The final five minutes might have viewers grown weary of climatic fist fight scenes rolling their eyes, but other than that, it was well paced and extremely enjoyable.

Now, on to pointing out plot holes. Warning, spoilers ahead!

If you have the technology to send your wage slaves through the core of the Earth to build your robot army for you, you would have the technology to create radiation proof housing, with proper ventilation and tasteful decoration, to ease overcrowding. If you have the technology to create robot forces, you have the technology to create robots to make your robots, so you don't need wage slaves traveling through the core of the Earth (however cool and essential to the plot that mode of transportation might be), to make your robot army for you.

One also wonders why the only way to travel from what was once Australia to what was once Europe is through the core of the Earth. Sure, it's fast, but it was really the only way post-apocalyptic blue collar workers could commute? But then again, because it was made clear that this mode of transportation is the only mode of transportation, it really helped wrap the plot up neatly.

It also seems that humanity, while creating a robot army, a subway tunnel through the Earth, and a cellphone implant, failed to create a way to subdue a civilian population that didn't involve a troop transport of soldiers marching in, however robotic the rank and file of those soldiers might be. Of course, they wouldn't want to simply blow the civilian population up, seeing as how, for some bizarre reason, they still needed human workers.

And clearly the human workers needed subduing by the robot forces, because even though the evil overlords in Europe had the technology to completely wipe a person's memory, they must not be able to create Stepford Aussies to do their work for them.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
ziggleoAug 5, 2012
Excellent movie with an amazing cast and CGI. Remake is'nt not the same and enjoyed the experience more than the first. I missed a few famous quotes from the original movie but otherwise I can say anything bad about the movie. Its a must seeExcellent movie with an amazing cast and CGI. Remake is'nt not the same and enjoyed the experience more than the first. I missed a few famous quotes from the original movie but otherwise I can say anything bad about the movie. Its a must see for any syfy fan. I liked it better than Batman, personally Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
starscream97Aug 9, 2012
Why all the hate? To me this is the perfect example of a remake as its faithful to the original's story while giving it its own new ideas. If your curious definitely check this one out.
P.S- the gravity cable gun thing is F***ing awesome!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
alexandreskAug 28, 2012
I have read the 44 here, but as i am a big fan of the first one i go to the movies. It surprise me, its a good movie, could be better, always, but its a good movie and a very good sci-fi movie, the techs are very plausible and well done. nice movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
K44NNov 1, 2012
Despite all the critics I watched the movie(s) in a row and this new one is much much much better than the first one. Creativity, action, storyline, music, everything was top. I really enjoyed the movie. One of those "sci-fi" movies! ThanksDespite all the critics I watched the movie(s) in a row and this new one is much much much better than the first one. Creativity, action, storyline, music, everything was top. I really enjoyed the movie. One of those "sci-fi" movies! Thanks and RIP Philip K. Dick Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Patrick94Jun 8, 2013
Definitely better than a 6.0. This is a great sci-fi movie with a more believable cyberpunk world than that overrated mess called "Blade Runner", an interesting plot, and great action sequences. Go watch it. NOW
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
KendallJan 28, 2013
This movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..IThis movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..I don't understand what all the hate for this movie is about..visuals are crisp and clean..feels fresh with 1 amazing imaginative set piece after the other..very well put together scifi flick.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews