User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 348 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 348

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    Total Failure - the first third of the movie is OK (I really liked the gadgets!). Just when the story started to get interesting, suddenly the visual effects guy got in the way and the video editor decided to do his/her job while smoking pot. The story line is filled with inconsistencies to the point that it is annoying. Suddenly you will be twisting in your seat watching all the goofs throughout the last two thirds of the movie. Save you trip to the theater for this one and watch it on TV once it hits Netflix (wait, with the poor quality of content in Netflix these days you may need to watch it on cable TV - which either way is just fine). Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    WOW! WOW! WOW! Those are the only words I had when the movie ended. This movie should be the realy Summer hit following Avengers in this year. One after one of well executed action scenes will make you forget to breathe and whenever the actions stop, the plots will step in, keeping the story flowing. There may be some weaknesses in the overall storyline, but compare to the stupidity of charging all your police forces into tunnels so a handful of thugs can take over a city of 12m people, putting all of policemen in a single street so they can rush to tanks and thugs with machingus, and the total absence of American army for 3 months, the weaknesses in this movie are infinitesimal. I am going to watch it again. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Before I launch into some gleeful pointing out of this movie's plentiful plot holes, I want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Total Recall. Possibly because it borrowed from some of my favorite movies. Not just Total Recall, but also hints of The Matrix, Fifth Element, and Mr. and Mrs. Smith found their way in, with perhaps a dash of Terminator and a sprinkle of Johnny Mnemonic, to name a few.

    Also, the special effects were excellent, and the protagonist and his love interest were relentlessly appealing, not to mention almost supernaturally attractive. The final five minutes might have viewers grown weary of climatic fist fight scenes rolling their eyes, but other than that, it was well paced and extremely enjoyable.

    Now, on to pointing out plot holes. Warning, spoilers ahead!

    If you have the technology to send your wage slaves through the core of the Earth to build your robot army for you, you would have the technology to create radiation proof housing, with proper ventilation and tasteful decoration, to ease overcrowding. If you have the technology to create robot forces, you have the technology to create robots to make your robots, so you don't need wage slaves traveling through the core of the Earth (however cool and essential to the plot that mode of transportation might be), to make your robot army for you.

    One also wonders why the only way to travel from what was once Australia to what was once Europe is through the core of the Earth. Sure, it's fast, but it was really the only way post-apocalyptic blue collar workers could commute? But then again, because it was made clear that this mode of transportation is the only mode of transportation, it really helped wrap the plot up neatly.

    It also seems that humanity, while creating a robot army, a subway tunnel through the Earth, and a cellphone implant, failed to create a way to subdue a civilian population that didn't involve a troop transport of soldiers marching in, however robotic the rank and file of those soldiers might be. Of course, they wouldn't want to simply blow the civilian population up, seeing as how, for some bizarre reason, they still needed human workers.

    And clearly the human workers needed subduing by the robot forces, because even though the evil overlords in Europe had the technology to completely wipe a person's memory, they must not be able to create Stepford Aussies to do their work for them.
    Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    Wow. I'm gonna give a general spoiler here: there is a little twist at the beginning that seems to set up a cool movie, and then the rest of the movie is one giant chase scene without a single moment of story. I couldn't believe how many times the heroes are backed into a corner when at the last minute they pull out their guns and start shooting and then comes the getaway. This is nearly the entire movie. A pointless experience. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end.
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    Don't bother to compare this "reboot" to original. It
  7. Aug 5, 2012
    3
    Doesn't hold a candle to the original, which was so full of original ideas that could be exploited here. Sure, it looks fantastic, but it's just dry and boring. It's missing the camp that I loved so much about the original. You know you're in trouble as a moviegoer when you first check your watch at about 45 minutes in.
  8. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Besides the good characters and the action thrills, this movie is an unnecessary remake to the original as what preview critics would say. Mars, memory and life were the main themes in the original movie, but this one just doesn't seem to have those good ones, not even the setting of Mars. This looks and feels like Star Wars meets Blade Runner and Minority Report.
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Strong action mixed with a loose and well-worn plot that made for an entertaining, but not necessarily good, movie. It's the same basic premise of the original movie with plenty of nods. The Blade Runner style future is nice, but the premise and world created was nonsensical. A world destroyed by chemical warfare and only Australia and the UK survive? Plus they're connected via a mass transit system that goes through the earth's core. The trip is so fast it only takes 17 min, but not so fast that the characters can't climb the exterior or stand atop the device without being crushed by g-force. The shear impossibility of the climax is only permissible in the assumption that everything we witnessed as an audience was part of Quiad's Rekall. And for that, the hint at the end, and the decent action, Total Recall gets a passing rating. Expand
  10. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie. If you're a fan of the sci-fi genre and not too stuck on the particulars of the first film I think most will as well. There are two important things to keep in mind before seeing this movie.

    1. They do not go to Mars. This movie takes place entirely on Earth.

    2. It is not campy. Do not expect the movie to poke fun at itself, or have goofy characters. Keep those
    two points in mind and I think you'll enjoy the ride. Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I finally saw this movie, and am a little disappointed. Having seen the 1990 version of this movie, I knew that there would be changes (a reboot) to the original in this outing, and figured that I would give this movie the benefit of being able to stand on it's own. To start, the entire setting of the movie seems off, almost as though the director decided to mesh Blade Runner with the video game Mass Effect. In fact, the synthetic security force is a complete rip-off from the video game, to name only one. It's hard to write this review without picking the movie apart, and the stigma of the first movie will always be there as a critique because this movie modelled itself completely after it. It's not really a complete reboot, but it's as though someone with a better budget and technology decided to make a visually stunning film with the story of Total Recall kind of spliced into it. Things, like the three breasted woman or the fat-woman disguise, made a cameo in this film, but they were very out of place. There was a great suspension of reality in several parts of the film, but I guess in the future, people crash through windows, survive gunshot wounds without treatment, and climb ladders on trains going 500 mph through the Earth's core everyday. At times, the fight scenes and the constant chase scenes can become very tedious and boring, and the story appears to fall on the back burner to move these scenes along. There were very few memorable characters in this reboot, unlike the original movie which had more acting and less scowling from the actors and actresses; in fact, I had a hard time keeping up with Jessica Biel's and Kate Beckinsale's characters because they looked similar to each other, and their characters weren't exactly fleshed out very well. Having seen it, I can't recommend this movie to anyone just yet. I admit that I've watched it once, and that sometimes a different frame of mind may change one's interest in watching a movie. But this movie seems to lack something that you can't really put your finger on, and the design choices, once you've seen them elsewhere, are distracting and dislikeable. Do yourself a favor and see the 1990 version first, if you haven't, then youtube Mass Effect 2's videos after watching Blade Runner before you watchi this movie, and you'll see what I mean. Expand
  12. Aug 8, 2012
    1
    I was very disappointed with this mindless and unintelligible flick. It's a total waste of time as nothing makes any sense at all and it's just an endless barrage of running and fighting and confusion.
  13. Dec 2, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're looking for a great example of a director destroying the story they are trying to tell, you've come to the right place. The novelty of the story has been completely butchered by a director (Len Wiseman) that doesn't seem to understand how to use perspective. If the audience is meant to question whether what they are watching is reality or implanted memories, the story has to be told from the perspective of Quaid (Colin Ferrell). Wiseman, however, frequently breaks away from the main character and shows the audience scenes that Quaid isn't even in. This destroys any illusion that the story is only taking place inside Quaid's head. How can you remember something you weren't even there for? Apart from the perspective debacle, the story is just a complete mess, with plot holes and inconsistencies waiting around every turn. The action, on the other hand, would have be great, if I hadn't already seen it in Minority Report. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    3
    have to agree with your '44' concensus. this movie was all action and cgi and precious little story/substance. how come arnold is such a so-so actor yet so watchable? glad 1) he's out of my state government and 2) back in the movie biz
  15. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    Reading some of the reviews on here makes me wonder if the studios have their stooges post here. Aside from a few video effects this movie is such a piece of garbage, and it gives the original a bad name. From the stupefied plot to flat acting, is this really the best they could do with several hundred million dollars budget? Where no real actors available, or they all just tossed the retarded script in the bin? Seems so, as it ended up "starring" this Colin Whatever--an absolute zero as far as acting and looks, and Jessica Biel who was hot in the 90s playing a non-acting role, but is well pass her prime. Best skip this, watch the original, watch the Blade Runner for some dark robotic futurism. Nothing to see here other than a few very average special effects. Expand
  16. Aug 28, 2012
    4
    Paul Verhoeven's Total Recall is much much better than this remake version. I pretty enjoy this, its modern set piece but its third act is total disaster. Will always leave you bad memory.
  17. Aug 10, 2012
    3
    What was Sony thinking? This is total BS. First off, who told the director to plan a remake of the 1990 original classic starring Arnold Schwarzenegger? Two, why is Colin Farrell in this movie, anyway? He's not an action star yet. I used to like him since "Phone Booth," but not anymore since the new "Total Recall"
    alienated fans and critics alike. And just like that, it's a mess! I
    definitely like both Kate Beckinsale (Underworld) and Jessica Biel (7th Heaven) and the three-breated women part, but it wasn't meant to be well concrete. The action, however, wasn't that even good. Can't you see it's a lot different than the original version? Well, it doesn't quite match it. This is one of the worst remakes of all time and this year because I need an 70's or 80's style of a reboot, not living it up to 90's nostalgia, again. I hope Arnold should take notes because trust me, he's gonna be pissed off and I smell a lawsuit going on here. Expand
  18. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    I was hoping the critics were overthinking this and it would be worth the trip and price of admission. Unfortunately I was ready to leave after a half an hour. It's just a really soulless movie that bludgeons you with action. If you tried to analyze it, it'd be worse since much of the plot and action hinges on really implausible connections. Even by sci-fi standards it's lazy. We already live in a world that is already connected by a network. The characters in this future-set movie escape the authorities time and time again in ways that would be almost impossible even in a world of today's technology, let alone the far-off future. Expand
  19. Aug 6, 2012
    5
    I don't feel that this Total Racall is superior to the original. The first hour is incredibly fun with some great story and action thrills. After that it becomes very slow. Its got some other positives like the fact that despite reusing a few things from the original it still feels somewhat new. The script could be a lot better. Its a little fun but its more worth a rental once it is on DVD.
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    As youy read this you should know that i have not watched the first movie!! Shock!! Horror!! I know where have i been hiding all these years!! With that asside i thoroughly enjoyed this movie and is definitely going to be added to my DVD collection. All parts are well acted, the story is gripping and there is certainly enough action going about to keep you interested and rooted to your seat.
  21. Sep 2, 2012
    3
    "But those hoping for a real head trip - a truly cerebral Dick adaptation - will have to keep waiting."

    forever i'll add to this review...
    This movie has nothing that reminds P.K.Dick and is not even funny as it's predecessor, basically a shame
  22. Jun 28, 2013
    4
    Good action movie I guess. It starts to raise a cool premise, but then almost immediately abandons it in favor of CGI sequence after CGI sequence. The epitome of American "cinema". It's definitely a movie for teenagers. Sorry, guys. When I saw who directed it (Underworld clown) I was no longer surprised at what I got. A cool premise, but not much more, just like Underworld.
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    I think what ruins this movie the most is that it's 2 hours long and there is no story what so ever. I mean there is one but there isn't. It seems that you just jump from scene to scene with no real backstory or anything, That's what makes this movie so bad. I didn't care for the action scenes either. It really just came off as The Bourne Identity (even had the main character going into a bank and finding passports and money just like bourne identity) but in a sci fi setting. The only solid things about this movie is that the acting is good and the gadgets are cool (I really loved the phone embedded in your hand gadget). Expand
  24. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    Went in with low expectations considering the critics' opinions. Got what I expected, too. Took only minor cues from the original and even those got lost in the breaking glass. Never once thought 'hmm, is this real or recall" I just thought "3 good looking stars does not a movie make." Epitome of mediocrity.
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    3
    I haven't seen the original Total Recall, so I'm unable to comment on how well this one matches up to it. But what I can comment on was how insignificant this reboot was. It was bland, greatly lacking in edge and originality. The first half of the film had some purpose, but the remaining half gives way to a typical, extended chase scene with typical results. Ram-packed with so many "A" list stars its almost embarrassing to watch them try to perform in this high octane mess. And thank you Len Wiseman for crafting not only some decent visuals, but also crafting something that's as forgettable as a spec on the floor. He doesn't even attempt to go beyond the 'summer flick' mold. This was a Total Failure. Expand
  26. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Having just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth the price of admission for it. Expand
  27. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    I can't believe I'm going to say this, but the Arnold Schwarzenegger (googled and spellchecked) version was better. And they killed Walter White. Why?! Why kill Walter White? He didn't do anything wrong. Heck invade that overpopulated hellhole called Australia, they should stop breeding. I'm all with you there buddy. And I just checked Google Earth, Australia and the UK are not on geometrically opposite sides of the globe; so there's that. Expand
  28. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I thought This Movie was BADASS. I mean overall i like it better than the original. The action scenes in this film are incredible! The world in this film is so beautiful. The story was Decent but it's the action that won me over. Overall this is a really fun summer film. Watch it
  29. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    I must admit; I (like many others no doubt) have never seen Arnold in the original Total Recall. Right off the first 10 minutes, director Len Wiseman showed the type of movie Total Recall was to be. The first pan of the futuristic city Wiseman had envisioned the world of Total Recall to be was reminiscent of Blade-Runner: a city so unlike our own but so detailed that it seems a perfectly logical direction for which the world would be heading towards. Often times I forgot that Total Recall was part Sci-fi, as I became so immersed in the setting that it became normal. The Colony, one of the only two mega-cities left on earth, was able to blend a heavy sci-fi theme with a sense of overpopulation, allowing it to seem technological but backwards at the same time. The first half of the film does an excellent job creating a believable world, but unfortunately the characters that inhabit the world itself fall a bit short.
    A major problem with the film was its cookie-cutter characters. Colin Farrell just seemed confused most of the time, and Jessica Biel and Kate Beckinsale were just action-movie eye-candy with no really distinguishing characteristics. Going by the trailer, I had expected Total Recall to be mind-boggling; juggling reality and fantasy until it became a blur. This unfortunately was not the case, as the plot became incredibly straightforward. With such a simple plot and such simple characters, by the end there was no element of surprise or shock. For a sci-fi action movie, it ended rather dully. That is not to say; however, that the entire movie was boring, or that it wasn
    Expand
  30. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    I really liked it, especially the main method of transportation from the colony to the UFB, I thought it was absolutely genius and well thought out plus the scenes that make you question whether it's real or one of his memories are fake are great..it was very interesting, maybe some escape scenes were the same but I really liked it overall, especially the implanted communication device..I just wish that the movie makers didn't spoil a bunch of it with their trailers Expand
  31. Aug 5, 2012
    3
    Massive disappointment. Bland, soulless action and forgettable characters. A real pity and a waste of a good cast. Somehow everything that made the original good and fun is missing here. What's even more frustrating is that it has an interesting and intriguing set up that is so utterly let down by a never ending stream of identical fights and chases as to make any memories of story distant.
  32. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Excellent movie with an amazing cast and CGI. Remake is'nt not the same and enjoyed the experience more than the first. I missed a few famous quotes from the original movie but otherwise I can say anything bad about the movie. Its a must see for any syfy fan. I liked it better than Batman, personally
  33. Dec 8, 2012
    0
    the original movie was excellent, this movie was a piece of s**t. They are never going to stop ruining old movies when all they see is dollar signs in their eyes. Hollywood cries they are losing money to piracy, well make some descent movies and maybe people will watch more. I have seen the movie industry go downhill for the last 20 years and i won't pay for this crap anymore. There are lots of talent movie makers out there, give them a change and stop with the bulls**t. Expand
  34. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    So I immediately don't know what to say about the movie. The PG-13 pops up & my heart drops. But a movie deserves a critic rating equal to the value it will hold in your heart. I haven't actually gone past the 5 minute & 59 second marker yet- as this movie is obviously rated improperly in the best way of my life. Not only do I get to see Kate Beckinsale's dreamy figure in white panties (which struck me odd for the rating) but then my ridiculously acute eye notices what I thought at first to be a smudge in a single frame. It's no frame jump of any kind, its completely Kate Beckinsale's vagina showing through those knickers as clear as day. My life is complete.. Expand
  35. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Why the film critics decided to band together on hating this movie has left me utterly baffled. Complaining that it is a sequel we didn't need is not a criticism...it's just whining. If you are going to attack a film I would appreciate a thoughtful argument defending your denouncement. While I haven't seen the first one, I don't care what strengths it may have possessed, there is no way that it invalidated the intensity of this remake. Total Recall was an excellent engaging ride through a decayed but recognizable futuristic world where what you see may or may not be what you get! It is an admirably creative story including unique gadgets, captivating plot twists, awesome fight scenes, and excellent visual effects! This film was everything I think it should have been! I don't care what everyone else says, I loved it. Expand
  36. Aug 11, 2012
    5
    The visuals were spectacular. The plot was weak. The dialogue was even weaker. If you are really into mindless action and great special effects you'll like it. If you need more you won't.
  37. Jan 25, 2013
    2
    This should of been renamed "Recalled", for both lovers of the original and fans of Philip K. Dick. This doesn't even try to follow the short story, the trailers don't even lie. Convoluted script, boring leads, and those "references" from the original are shoehorned in (including the 3-breasted prostitute), just to remind us what we should of been watching. The setting feels nice but it feels like it's borrowed from Blade Runner and Minority Report. If Philip K. Dick was alive, he'll wish that it was all a dream. Expand
  38. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    Total Recall is at it's best when it's plowing it's own furrow. Elements (and sometimes whole scenes) that are taken directly from the original film feel a bit jarring and, strangely, forced. Although the original was no outright classic, it does score two major victories over this remake; firstly, the whole "is it real?" aspect is done better in the original and secondly, the 1986 version is a lot more fun. That said, this more serious version has some spectacular action scenes and a gorgeously realized sci-fi world to balance things out. Overall, Total Recall is a superior SF action romp. Collapse
  39. drm
    Aug 7, 2012
    6
    So I went out to see this last night, with the lowest of expectations. Much to my surprise, it wasn't that bad. Sure it had problems, and it doesn't really stand up to the original, but I really didn't need it to. I am not a fan of reboots, but still, the people behind this did manage to make an entertaining film. Colin Farrell does a decent job, and thankfully does not try to act like Arnold. Kate Beckinsdale is super hot, though her character seemed a bit ruined by one flaw I see in a lot of films: the supermodel military commando, complete with skin tight catsuits and lady gaga heels. Hollywood...you really need to get over this cliché. Was Kate not hot enough to dress her up in fatigues? I don't think so. They definitely simplified the plot from the original, but found interesting work-arounds for some of the glaringly missing components. The villain was unflinchingly evil, the violence was constant, the effects were pretty, and the action sequences were unrelenting. There are some things they could've done better. The Blade Runner homages going on this picture tread on cannibalism. It felt a little like a club to the head in parts. Still, that's minor. The other thing that didn't exactly work for me was Kate's character. In the original, Lori is married to Richter. When Quaid kills Lori, Richter is pissed, and has a strong motivation for revenge. In the reboot, Lori and Richter are morphed into the same character of Lori, which deprives us of the revenge subplot, and makes her come off like a psycho **** without a clear motivation. The next thing that was a bit upsetting, was the use of clones. Clones, much as George Lucas knows, are just a cheap tool to minimize the impact of hardcore violence. These suckers die by the hundreds, and you just don't care about them. The last thing I found puzzling, was why they bothered to connect it to the Total Recall franchise. It's a decent film on it's own. Parts of it felt shoe-horned into the franchise, and I don't think it needed to be. Look, we're all starved to death for some sci-fi and violence. We don't need it connected to some nostalgia. It's fine on it's own. PS Hats off to whoever did the industrial design on this picture. It's worth looking at just for that. Expand
  40. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Highly enjoyable action sci-fi movie, full of explosions, good actors and a lot of gunplay. The movie quickly introduces us to the important characters and then just goes into action over-drive as we're taken on a journey through a technofascist dystopian city with beautifully rendered sets. Don't watch it for the deep and engaging story you believe to find, just watch it as an action movie set in a sci-fi universe. Expand
  41. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    this movie is good, but it isn't the better that I watched, I like Collin Farrel, he was good, but the problem of the film every time is action, but it is a good movie
  42. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    What a disaster of a movie! the movie reminded me of a bad copy of "balde runner" with a mix of the prequel "star wars". The whole movie consists of the main character running, shooting. getting into a corner. and once again shoot their way out of it. The remake of total recall was worse then the orginal.
  43. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    The cast are more than on par in this sic-fi action bonanza, but the often bewildering plot and back and forth story-telling leaves the new Total Recall with a lot to answer for.
    Colin Farrell takes the reigns from Arnold Schwarzenegger as Douglas, a man living at the end of the 21st Century, at time where there are only two survivalist nations on earth, the United Federation of Britain
    and The Colony, where most reside. The only means of transport is through the Fall, which travels through the core of the earth.
    So when Doug happens across Rekall, a memory implantation service, he always believes that something is missing from his life, and that Rekall is the answer. But an unexplained interruption happens in the process and Doug starts to instinctively act like an agent, something he wanted to be implanted but never got the chance, and now something that is trying to get the poor guy killed, he already has these memories.
    This sets up for a thrilling first hour in this remake and built a lot of promise by introducing an array of characters easily likeable and unlikeable.
    But the second hour was its own worst enemy.
    Too many times now do movies trade in a convincing story and excellent plot with big special effects and one explosion too many. Total Recall fails to progress the character development in this story and it becomes unclear just what exactly is happening, in regards to this being real or not, something which I hear is only slightly hinted at in the Director's Cut.
    The plot was back-tracking too much to the point of losing interest and getting invested in the big explosions for some enjoyment, simply because the quite interesting plot and drive took a back seat in the final hour.
    Jessica Biel, Kate Beckinsale and Brian Cranston are on exceptional for, but their characters are grossly under-developed and at times questionable to the point.
    But saying that, it is still a watchable and enjoyable film, with exceptional special effects to rival the biggest and baddest of blockbusters, but something that was also unnecessary, but still not a film that requires your full attention in the closing hour, its just a shame that it started off with so much promise, but perhaps the countless scenarios that it touched upon may indeed work for a sequel, something I certainly wouldn't mind seeing.
    Expand
  44. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought it was a perfectly fine movie. The plot was decent, not great, but it wasn't terrible. Of course I am a large fan of sci-fi movies so it was right up my alley. Having seen the original, no it wasn't as good, no amount of CG or Collin Farrel will make up for that (even though I really like Collin's acting). But the action scenes were good, the intensity was there, the only question I'm left to wonder is how they can show **** in a PG-13 movie, having 3 breasts may not be natural but that doesn't mean it's not freaking nudity. What the hell guys? Expand
  45. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    Total Recall isn't a movie for everyone. If fan's of the old movie are coming into this one thiking its going to be the same, your wrong. This 2012 remake starring Colin Farrel and Jessica Biel was suprisingly good. The story spun in a completely different direction, but that's not a bad thing. It made the movie more interesting to watch instead of just watching the same story twice. Even though you don't have much time to enjoy each character, the actors play them to their best. I was nervous to see this movie because one it's a remake of a movie which i loved, two director Len Wiseman was set to make this movie, and three I just wasn't sure how good it could be, but it was better than i expected it to be. The acting was the best they could do, the soundtrack was awesome, the visuals were amazing, and all in all it was a very entertaining movie. If your looking for a good action packed movie, with quality visuals, and a decent story than this is the movie for you. Expand
  46. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Yet another remake from Hollywood, and of Arnold's movie, no less, but don't the stigma hampers your view of Total Recall. It's a visually enchanting, albeit flawed gem, which ironically will be more enjoyable if you have no knowledge of the original. With detailed environment, striking action sequences, it's definitely eye-pleasing, but unfortunately lacking in plot and script department. Since it's based on a mind game movie, the allure is less if you're familiar with the original and it just creates an anticipation of what would they do differently like a game of Spot-the-Difference. That on itself might distract you from the fast pace of this movie.

    It has style, luxurious in its dytopian oriental vistas and drab white of conformity. The selection of gadgets is a blast to see, the glass phones or magnetic cars are sci-fi delights. There are so much attentive details across the settings, they subtly give off a futuristic presence but thankfully in more realistic slum-like portrayal. The actions which take place in those surroundings are gratifyingly fast and still able to pertain its focus despite moving at such hectic pace. It's a precise analogy of cinematic video game, identical to Deus Ex, and it's a treat to see them developed in less preposterous way.

    Colin Farrell as Douglas Quaid is fine on his performance, although he's too stiff at some points. Sadly he doesn't exhibit the urgency one might have when their mind is being played with, and acts almost in predictable manners. Jessica Biel as Melina has the love interest role, and she does it relatively well. I think she didn't get the best of the script, as she boften pouts some profanities or snarky remarks which could be seen as provoked attempts at securing alpha female crown from Kate Beckinsale, who is relentlessly phenomenal here.

    As a planted wife, Kate Beckinsale has much longer role than the original. She exudes fierceness and vigor as she chase her soon-to-be ex-husband. In what may be the most pleasant surprise of all, her character proves imposing and threatening, more than most villains on-screen. It's one of her best roles so far. In trivial matter, when Bill Nighy appears, briefly, I thought they were going to sword fight just to please, or shock, the audience. The least entertaining choice for villain in the movie is Bryan Cranston as Cohaagen, who the movie hypes so much on being a grim politician. As the action pushes forward and Colin actually stands in a duel against him, it's almost hard to watch, almost like Thor getting in a bar fight against Loki.

    If a movie focused on action, the plot is almost bound to suffer, not to mention this is also a remake. It holds itself well only to fall at latter parts, when the movie turns into a generic lone crusader versus an army. The script falters bits by bits, traversing in between ludicrous and gritty. It a shame since the use of gadgets and its implementation work quite well at first, but eventually it suffers as it approaches the ending. I want to give more praise for this movie since it's arguably exciting, but the flaws are apparent.

    Ironically if this is a standalone title, or have alternate plot and script, it could
    Expand
  47. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Much better movie than the original. The action sequences were great, the ideas about the environment were interesting, and the acting was really good. They also got rid of a lot of the retarded aspects of the original like the Mars setting, the cheesy filming style, and the alien/freak plot points which really ruined the film. Instead, they tried to go for some realism while still staying true to the science fiction elements and if watched with a moderate suspension of disbelief then I think most people would really enjoy this movie. Also, Kate Beckinsale is absolutely amazing. This movie is worth watching just for her. The only thing that bugged me was that they still had some plot holes from the original and some of the "mind games", while improved, still didn't resonate as well as they could've. Expand
  48. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Total greatness! This film was great for several reasons. The first because the special effects and the acting was out of this world. The second because although it was not like the original it was a unique expression of art all its own. Last but most important is the allegory that is expressed in the film, the film is a story between the oppressed and the wealthy oppressors. If you tend to be more conservative you will hate this film and if you tend to love leftist ideas you will fall in love with this amazing film. The UFB represents capitalism and imperialism and the fall represents oppression. Colin Farrell's character represents the change that a single man can make within himself and in an oppressed society. Expand
  49. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    The first half of the film: brilliantly shot and full of excellent action sequences. The later half...its like as if a teenage douchebag came into the production studio, replaced the final sections of the script with his weirdass, cheesy fight scenes and a crappy ending and managed to convince the director to keep them when they found out it happened. I was sceptical going into this reboot. There's no Mars, the premise is exactly the same and many plot elements are recycled. But the first hour it convinced me otherwise: this is going to be epic. Awesome cinematography and tense fight/chase scenes in a beautiful, futuristic city (so beautiful that I actually want to live there) and more action/great dialogue after. Then, without warning, the movie just went downhill. You know, like a ferrari suddenly having punctured tires, following by engine problems and everything slowly goes to **** This is the 2012 Total Recall. You just watch a great movie, brilliantly shot (one of the best ive seen in a long time) with awesome action scenes all on top of a well-loved story, slowly get peppered with **** and eventually, a cartload of **** And then when you hit the ending, you'll be cutting yourself. Had they retained the awesome futurisitic utopia/minory repory-esque fantasy world with tight action scenes so evident in the first half of the film for the entire film and had a satisfying climax and ending, I would've given this film a 8/10 or even a 9/10. Sadly, dunno what happened to the script writer in the final pages of the movie script . Maybe he got drunk. Maybe he just got frickin lazy. Or maybe he got jacked into rekall and a false memory implanted when finishing the final sections of the script. Srsly, when you watch this movie, right after Quaid arrives at the Resistance base, just turn off the movie - it gets fully ****house from there and even Brian Cranston's awesome acting could've save it. Though there's another two things that this movie did right - it cemented and consolidated Kate Beckinsale as one of my favourite actresses and added Jessica Biel to my **** list. Expand
  50. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    Not having seen the original 1990
  51. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    I think this version of total recall is pretty cool. Yes is not as good as the original but i liked it too. All the actor s and actresses were good, specialy Kate and Jessica!!! ;) And the theme of this movie is vere interesant, yes it is different but i think its good
  52. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    They try hard to differentiate this film from the original: the setting is different (not mars anymore), the production style -which is very stylish btw- is much greyer and dysotopian and the acting is much more low key. It's not that the film is bad, it just hasn't got the good stuff. Schwarzie's character had much more charisma and his 2 different persona were more clearly separated, in Farrell's case they just seem the same bland dude. Beckinsale plays a good antagonist but nowhere near the **** level that was done so very well by Sharon Stone in the original. The new one has tons of action and destruction but ultimatly lacks the visceral and raw violent feel of the Verhoeven version. Expand
  53. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    This movie was amazing! It's a fresh take more true to the book rather than just copying the original. I have to say that I had this fantasy in my mind about how fantastic the original one was so I rewatched it a couple of months ago. Let's face it, those special effects are over 20 years old. This version was non-stop action, great acting and fresh! A must see!
  54. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Despite all the critics I watched the movie(s) in a row and this new one is much much much better than the first one. Creativity, action, storyline, music, everything was top. I really enjoyed the movie. One of those "sci-fi" movies! Thanks and RIP Philip K. Dick
  55. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    The main character in Total Recall is a man who's lost his identity, but the film is not about him rediscovering it. Yes, that's part of it, but Recall is about the well paced, gritty sci-fi action. It doesn't want us to think, just to enjoy.
  56. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    The CGI was impeccable. Kate Beckinsale pulls off a brilliant character. But ultimately, it wasn't a very memorable movie. The plot was unimaginative, and the supporting characters were all archetype.
  57. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    The first hour is great. Unfortunately it falls away from there to become just another Sci Fi shoot em up. Sadly it doesn't have the feel and suspense of the original where we were led through feeling the desperation and anxiety of the main character. In this reboot all those moments feel rushed. Had potential but unfortunately dropped the ball. In saying this it is not a horrible film and will entertain most people for 2 hours on a rainy day. Check it out if you have nothing else to do. Expand
  58. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    This movie surprised the hell out of me..skipped it this summer cuz of bad word of mouth..its the best summer movie of 2012..by summer movie I mean a roller coaster thrill ride full of inventive action scenes and popcorn movie magic fun..I don't understand what all the hate for this movie is about..visuals are crisp and clean..feels fresh with 1 amazing imaginative set piece after the other..very well put together scifi flick.. Expand
  59. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    This is easily one of the worst movies ever made on planet Earth. It was boring, corny, stupid, it had bad acting, and the runtime felt an hour longer than it really was. What a total ripoff money grab. I wish I didn't have to say this, but Total Recall, is Total Crap.
  60. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    If you are a fan of action and sci-fi go see this movie. Some of the criticisms are completely inane. I loved the original, and I also loved this movie despite, or rather because of them. It's not an Oscar winner, but neither was the first except for Special Achievement in special effects. The Fall also seems to be contentious among people, but who cares if it's not realistic. Since when were action movies (especially those with Arnie in them) hard core realism? The set designs of the cities alone made this worthwhile for me, but it has an awful lot more going for it. Great action scenes, good acting, great special effects. Check it out. Expand
  61. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed the movie. Not sure what the professional reviewers are complaining about. Wasn't too thrilled with Kate Bs accent. Also could have been a bit more clear on which location is which between Britain and the Colony. Otherwise it was a fun romp and definitely worth seeing.
  62. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. http://lackadaisicallyliving.wordpress.com/?p=133&preview=true

    Okay, let
    Expand
  63. Jan 8, 2013
    1
    This is the biggest pile of **** Every aspect that made the original so amazing is missing here. This is the same guy that made the worst Die Hard movie. Someone should blacklist him from working in Hollywood.
  64. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    Total Recall is ludicrous in parts and full of plot holes. That said, it is SO visually stunning that I have to recommend it based solely on that. The look and atmosphere is not original and will remind you of Blade Runner, Minority Report, and the Matrix (among others), but there is so much detail and it simply looks spectacular. All the actors seem to be into their roles and are not simply phoning it in despite some of the silly dialog and situations. The ubiquitous car chase scene was fun and didn't last overly long like chase scenes tend to. Even though I rolled my eyes a few times I still had fun and enjoyed it. Expand
  65. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Forget the original Arnie version as there are not many similarities other than memory loss. This version plays it straight. However I would have liked to have to think more, given the "Inception" like premise of dreaming or not dreaming. I liked the interesting update of the story to suit a current world obsessed with "taking down the terrorists". The action scenes are eye poppingly good with a crazy hover car chase a stand out zero gravity scene. Farrell and Beckinsale are good but for me there was no heart to the story and I'm afraid it was kept too simple to stop the summer audience getting confused. Expand
  66. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Having never watched the original, I didn't quite know what to expect from this.

    The film is dry on humor, but the action scenes and great score from Harry Gregson-Williams kept me watching this again and again. The original might be better, but the remake was quite decent IMO.

    One of my favourite films of 2012.
  67. Aug 16, 2012
    6
    Total Recall was by no means a stroke of genius but it was definitely an enjoyable film if you can deal with some unrealism and minor plot issues. The cgi was beautiful, the action was worth the admission alone, and the story had its flaws but overall it was on par. Colin Farrell was good, and extremely lucky, being able to kiss both Kate Beckinsale (who was the usual Kate Beckinsale, hot and awesome) and Jessica Biel (who was great as well) in the same movie! This movie got dull at times and the story didn't make sense and the nevernding elevator shaft scene was a bit ridiculous, but other than that, if you like a good scifi flick then i would recommend this, i wouldn't say its worth all of the admission price but this is a movie that needs to be seen on a big screen so go for it. Overall a fun scifi action spectacle with great cgi and good characters. 6/10 Expand
  68. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    NOTE: I have not seen the original
    Total Recall is a visually dazzling and well done remake that has a great cast and impressive action sequences. Fans of the action and Sci-Fi genre will surely enjoy this remake of the well-loved cult classic.
  69. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    All my 6 points go to the brilliantly crafted and art directed first half of this film. If you liked Blade Runner then you'll be totally engrossed in this initial part of the movie. Excellently staged stunts and action sequences and lots of juicy detail for all you sci-fi fans. Unfortunately the second part of Total Recall is such a mess that it really lets down the entire experience. Still worth a look. And Colin Farrell does a good enough job too. Expand
  70. Aug 10, 2012
    5
    Total Recall is a mixed bag. It recalls (pardon the pun) other, and better sci-fi movies that includes Blade Runner and Minority Report. Despite its high production values, the original is still a much better film. This version doesn't bring anything new on the table.
  71. Mar 31, 2014
    3
    Sluggish, predictable, and immediately fading from memory, this movie is far less entertaining than such sci-fi flicks as Timecop 2 or Streetfighter, let alone Verhoven's great original. The political satire is dull and heavy-handed, the visuals are utterly undistinct and even the action scenes offer nothing of interest.
    In short, an complete waste of time. The only thing that stands out
    in this ocean of recycled tosh is the solid acting of Farell and Beckisale, who does a fantastic Sharon Stone impression. The one feeling left in me after watching the movie was that these two deserved a better script. Expand
  72. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

    Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience guessing but the answer was a teensy bit on the obvious side.

    In a world divided in a future not too far away, people are struggling to survive. Some
    have more than others, and that is enough - until those who have more want to take it all. The old story, but told very well in this case.

    I enjoyed the film a lot. It could have used some improvements, but all in all it was a stunning ride and a thrill to watch with top notch effects and visuals!
    Expand
  73. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    I'd be lying if I said I wasn't slightly disappointed by this. It's a pretty serviceable action film, but other than that? There's none of the original film's wit or intelligence here, and the few subtle references to it are just nostalgia for that better film. But, i mean, its watch-able, but as a remake of the Total recall we all loved, it has to go down as a big failure.
  74. Sep 9, 2012
    7
    I didn't expect much but i was pleasantly surprised. There was an obvious effort in melting the structure of the old Verhoeven/Schwarzenegger movies with new plots and twists, while paying homage to all the K. Dick onscreen adaptations, from blade runner to i, robot and Minority report. The sfx are gorgeous, the wide shots are amazing, and there are a few great ideas here and there. Also, if you love the cast, it's a feast. The only thing i find itchy is that, in the end, the script has a lot of trouble giving the Rekall facility any real importance. They could made up another starting point for the movie, and it would have been ok. All in all, it just ends up being a huge nod to the original adaptation.
    I gotta say, you can't judge a movie named Total recall by just overlooking that, but that's the only point that bugged me. I really enjoyed watching it and will surely catch that on blu-ray in a few month.
    Too bad a making-of book isn't on the shelves right now, there must be loads of amazing concept art somewhere.
    Expand
  75. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bryan Cranston and Colin Farrell turn in two very enjoyable performances as the visionary and the fly in the ointment. The plot is a flimsy, but albeit sometimes interesting, reason for the key folks involved to get their hands dirty and the love interest(s) are both drop dead gorgeous. Seriously Colin, it's a little hard to feel sorry for you in this one. After the first hour, and the plot twists have lost their sheen, the movie runs out of steam well ahead of its running time and culminates in a rather embarrassing sessions of fisty cuffs between Cranston and Farrell. Prior to the limp ending I thought I was enjoying a more wholesome adaptation than the original film. Sadly it just couldn't hold out, but that's no reason to miss maybe the third best action flick of the summer. (Behind obvious choice The Dark Knight Rises and another of your personal taste.) Expand
  76. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This movie was great. No real complaints. Good acting, story, pace, action, etc. The movie is very action oriented with an interesting take on a world post chemical warfare. The characters and world felt real and the actors fit the script well. Also this movie is a "remake". I say "remake" because I never saw the original and I hear the plot is pretty different. In any case don't go in thinking that's what you'll get if you love the early 90s film. Overall I highly recommend this movie. Expand
  77. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    This is the wrong way, in my opinion, to approach sci-fi. Superficially it does well, in terms of creating the appropriate mood and atmosphere, and it has some interesting gadgets. But good sci-fi should primarily aim to provoke thought, so I think it's usually bad news when there is an overabundance of mindless action--here, the action just takes centre place. Worse, the choreography is nothing to go wow at. In terms of performance, Beckinsale is at the top of her game, while Farrell and Biel are just clumsy. Expand
  78. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    I'm not sure how deep down the list of 80s films remakes we are at this point. But one thing is clear: we are kicking ass. Back in the day, Total Recall was a cool idea, but amped up with the effects and cinematic skills of the 21st century, it is an insanely cool idea.
    Maybe it wasn't everyone's cup of tea. After all, this kind of effects and blow'em up buffet has become common meal in
    our time. But you can't deny the new version of Total Rekall is super slick and completely entertaining.
    Colin Farrell plays a good double agent lost in a futuristic wonderland. The guy already has that get-me-a-map kind of dumb founded look naturally, so not a stretch. Kate Beckinsale is awesome in the rare role of a **** of a wife. I think I speak for all of the male population when I say: "we don't mind a bit of smacking around, Kate. Tell us what to do. Any time." And if that wasn't enough, some god sent studio executive thought to toss Jessica Biel in the mix. I don't need to spell it out for you. Do I? Let's just say I am hoping for the Baywatch slow motion edition when it comes out on blu-ray... No, you can't borrow my copy! So you see? Total Rekall delivers the new version of the ultimate 80s ice cream. Delicious to look at, stronger in flavor, and with plenty of nuts to go around.
    Expand
  79. Nov 8, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now, I really like the original, so I went into this quite looking forward to a version with better special effects. And the special effects are fantastic, the landscapes are breathtaking. But this film is catastrophically dull. This is a heavy eyelid educing movie, and yes the whole lift through the centre of the earth thing is ludicrous, but I wouldn't care if it was fun. But it's just so soul crushingly boring. Expand
  80. Sep 10, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not going to compare this to the original, but analyse it on its own. This movie is basically an action packed thriller in a sci-fi setting that's visually very good but done with little intelligence, if any at all. If you enjoy the "science" part of "science fiction" this is not for you, as the movie is riddled with problems in that department - the sci-fi is mainly just eye-candy. Additionaly, the main plot has good premises but disappoints because everything is explored in a such a shallow manner and things never take off from that superficial "all-action" approach.
    Lets start with the sci-fi stuff. So, in the future, there was a biochemical war apocalypse that left everything but we know today as England and Australia inhabitable. Despite of this, in both areas there isn't any visual indication that something is wrong. How come only both these areas are habitable is never addressed, is there a crystal bubble around those areas? "England" is a sprawling technological metropolis spanning multiple levels high, with all the gadgets and visual candy you could dream. The "poor" "Australia" is reminiscent of "Bladerunner" with a hint of Hong Kong, but here, everything is glossy, sparkly and you can't see misery, filth, pollution, poverty, etc anywhere, not to mention technology is amazing and available everywhere too. "England" dominates economically and politically, alledgely enslaving "Australia", and there's an underground movement of rebels that want independence for "Australia". The real crazy part is that there is a tunnel through the Earth's core between both countries and common people travel in massive building-elevators in it... And gravity goes from normal to zero to reverse during the trip in a few minutes time... If you have a minimum knowledge of science you know this isn't possible (check links below if you're interested), you need only to remember the Earth's core is filled with molten metal at extremely high temperatures and pressures. There's lot of mistakes here and there, like for instance the elevator goes fast enough to make the trip in 17 mins, but not fast enough so that you can't blow out a window and ride outside while being chase by guards. I mean, one thing is to have a little Deus Ex Machina in sci-fi to keep things cool and/or futuristic, but they usually have a rooting in science, they're not just an excuse for spectacularity. They would have been better off if they had teleporters instead of this. Additionaly, despite the security being ultra heavy on the elevator stations, inside the elevador, the single most important device in that world, there's hardly any guard in the corridors and the main character infiltrates it with ease... Moving along to the plot, the main character (Colin Ferrel) is not content with his life despite having a nice home and a beautiful wife (Kate eckinsale). He wishes he was doing something more important than his job at a robot construction factory and has this recurring dream seemingly out of a spy movie (he's reading an Ian Fleming btw) where he and another beautiful woman (Jessica Biel) are trying to escape some sort of secure facility. The implications of what this dream might mean about his marriage are only just very lightly addressed. He eventually succumbs to his longing for more, and goes to Rekall, a company that promises to make your fantasies come true via chemically induced dreams indistuingishable from reality. However, the Rekall company is portrayed with very little mystique and despite there being some dangers to the mind in the process, these are only lightly hinted. He goes in for a session and ends up picking the "spy" package. Apparently before the program is initiated something goes wrong because the process doesn't work if the user has had previous experiences similar to those he's trying to "dream" about. Suddenly, apparentely he was a most-wanted spy, unbeknowst to him, and police and special forces storm the place after him, forcing him to kill a lot of them and run. Supposedly, the idea is that the audience (and the character) can't know if this is the "dream" or the reality, which would be a fantastic concept to explore throughout the movie, but it never is. Later on we realise why, and (without spoiling too much) it makes some sense, but it leaves a pungent feeling of a missed oportunity to explore those themes of what is a dream and what is reality. Instead, the movie goes in a rampage of action and action and it hardly ever stops to take a breath, never setting the tone that things may not be what they seem. That being said, it's true that the action is mostly good, and the visual effects very good. Some stuff is clearly exagerated, like Kate Beckinsale being as strong as a man and Colin Ferrel stronger than a robot...
    http://blog.wolframalpha.com/2012/08/13/the-science-of-total-recall/
    http://youtu.be/jN-FfJKgis8
    Expand
  81. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good movie, not a great one, but not totally rubbish either. For a 40 year old, it suffered as a result of comparison to the original. For a 12 year old (my son took a couple of mates as part of a birthday treat) it all moved too quickly to really comprehend the reality vs recall plot device. Everything was taken at face value. Having said all that, it was entertaining, the effects were good, and removing Mars from the plot was a good idea (although its hard to believe GB would be the most powerful country on earth again, so that evened itself out). Expand
  82. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    It's not the same film but story are similar.
    Some reference of the old "Total Recall" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
    Have a very good special effects and a good Cyberpunk ambiance.
    Just the end is ok but I had imagined a better ending with more ambiguity, more questions if the patient is dreaming or not !
    Finally it's a good film for thé family but not thé movie that i could have been
    dreaming for a Total Recall Universe fan like me Expand
  83. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This remake improved on the original in every way! If you're a hard sci fi fan, you will love this movie. All of the technology feels believable, and it's mixed with plenty of boundary-pushing tech to keep it interesting. The world is stunningly beautiful for a dark future. The action scenes are amazing. As in the original, there's also a good helping of political intrigue and social commentary. This is an all-around great movie! Expand
  84. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    Why all the hate? To me this is the perfect example of a remake as its faithful to the original's story while giving it its own new ideas. If your curious definitely check this one out.
    P.S- the gravity cable gun thing is F***ing awesome!
  85. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    There is a lot of action in this movie and It kinda keeps you watching. The effects are also really good. The bad part is that it is very predictable and that the laws of physics don't apply at all.
  86. Aug 15, 2012
    4
    eh another big money remake of a so-so movie, its official Hollywood has run out of ideas and good acting. Wait for the dv.... ah nevermind watch it once then move on yea its that "good"
  87. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was great! I was invited to the cinema and I first thought it would be good but after I got ouf of the cinema I was happy that I was the movie with my buddies. It was great, had a good story and it was interesting all the time.
  88. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    I have read the 44 here, but as i am a big fan of the first one i go to the movies. It surprise me, its a good movie, could be better, always, but its a good movie and a very good sci-fi movie, the techs are very plausible and well done. nice movie
  89. Sep 2, 2012
    5
    I like how it looked. It was graphically/artistically inspired. It started very well too, both story-wise and action-wise. The issue I have with it is that after the good start, everything else felt bland and not really very exciting. I don't know how to explain, I simply lost interest in the movie and got bored...
  90. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Good Saturday afternoon movie film. Plenty of action and sci-fi fantasy. Good cast and nicely done change to the storyline from the original.. Yet another film that will get slated by the people who must be covered in dust and cobwebs and daren't open their minds a little to enjoy this film a little.
  91. Oct 18, 2014
    5
    Compared to the original film, Total Recall lacks the wit and humour. However it contains satisfying action sequences and above average performances from it's cast to be entertaining enough.
  92. Mar 12, 2013
    4
    This one pissed me off, it did. I loved the original. No story here, not even a rehash of the first new invention of the Philip K. Dick story. If you must watch it, turn off the sound. The pictures are lovely.
  93. Jul 11, 2014
    4
    It has a some great action just not enough actual story to the movie. Not enough character development in the movie. If you like action then you will like this movie but If you like anything else then you probably leave the theater disappointed and what the story really was.
  94. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This was a good movie. It makes you wonder what is really going on. It moves at a fast pace and doesn`t get you bored. Takes you to another time. Not the best movie but kept my interest and was a good watch. Not to mention the fact that it`s different from the typical movie.
  95. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Definitely better than a 6.0. This is a great sci-fi movie with a more believable cyberpunk world than that overrated mess called "Blade Runner", an interesting plot, and great action sequences. Go watch it. NOW
  96. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Kind of a shame how much gripe this movie has gotten. True, the original is better, but I really liked the remake take on it. Not really a spoiler as it is mention in almost every trailer, but I actually liked the fact that they left Mars out of this film. I always felt the Mars setting in the original was a bit too far fetched. The FX are gorgeous, Kate Beckinsale was a huge improvement to Sharon Stone. Colin Farrell was also good, but nowhere near as memorable as Arnold. Overall this is a decent remake that just had to much expected of it. If you haven't seen the original, then you'll likely enjoy it more. If you have seen the original, then you'll either like it or hate it. I liked it. Expand
  97. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun, but they got the physics of "The Fall" completely wrong. If the capsule had no external acceleration, the trip would take about 45 minutes, not the 17 minutes indicated in the movie, and the inside of the capsule would have zero gravity for the duration of the trip. Expand
  98. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Don't expect a remake of the original. They succeed only in producing a completely forgettable movie. The references to the original Total Recall, were very anti-climatic and only reminded viewers where the bar was and how short this movie came to meet it.
  99. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    I tend never to use a rating of 0, as it would state that the film is a 100% failure, not only artistically, but also technically. Hence my usual lowest rating being 1 out of 10. When the filmmakers remember to remove the lens cap prior to shooting, or when they don't film themselves while shooting against a reflecting surface, or when the boom mic doesn't swing at the top of the screen, that deserves to be taken into consideration. And that just what the rating of 1 does: acknowledge the minimum amount of professionalism put into a film.

    And that's just what can be said about Total Recall (2012). The universe the story unfolds into is sure good looking, but at the same time unimaginative and made of bits and pieces from other films. The acting is horrible -when will someone finally tell Kate Beckinsale to please just model?- The stunts are over the top, the characters bi-dimensional, and the movie fails to follow it's own logic.
    Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Perhaps no more absurd than the Verhoeven version, but certainly less amusing. Farrell and Beckinsale emerge unscathed, but the endless scrabbling for novelty and reinvention leaves this feeling unaccountably stale and familiar.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Aug 17, 2012
    40
    Entertaining in small doses, but gruelling at two hours, Wiseman's derivative, spec-hackular upgrade bins the twisted wit and meaty thrills of the Arnie original.