User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 199

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Tower Heist is watchable if you have nothing better to do. It's not very funny, and it's not exciting at all. It really has no reason for being. The film defines the term mediocre.
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This movie came to me as a total disappointment. The jokes weren't that funny, I only laughed like twice and the film all in all was just totally boring. There comes a movie once in a while that is just terrible and this was it.
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    1
    Tower Heist (2011): An extremely unfunny script with awkward pacing, weak characters and complete waste of actors. The film's only justification is to show Eddie Murphy and Matthew Broderick still can give decent comedic performances, it's a shame it's not a better movie for them.
  4. Feb 25, 2012
    1
    another stupid movie. Criminal activity from some idiots, trying to break into the hotel and steal the dudes golden car. Stupid. A Car made out of solid gold? I'm supposed to believe this **** The stupid car goes on top of the elevator, and they ride it up and down the building, while the cops are in the elevator? Also the car ius hanging form the edge of the building and the charactersanother stupid movie. Criminal activity from some idiots, trying to break into the hotel and steal the dudes golden car. Stupid. A Car made out of solid gold? I'm supposed to believe this **** The stupid car goes on top of the elevator, and they ride it up and down the building, while the cops are in the elevator? Also the car ius hanging form the edge of the building and the characters are hanging from the car, a thousand feet above the street? Horrible. Just a stupid movie,. Big budgets and everything for this **** Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    I do not recommend wasting your time watching this movie, unless it is a last resort to save your self from worse parts of the internet. There is terrible comedy, and incoherent plot, characters are not clearly defined or very stereotypical contributing nothing new what so ever to the film industry.
  6. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Occasionally funny, predominantly boring. I'm happy Eddie is in a more adult comedy again, but it's also kind of sad to watch. It was also weird to see him take a backseat in an ensemble cast. I realize the concept was his, and it was a nifty concept, but leave it to Brett Ratner to be the poor man's Michael Bay: occasional flashes of interest, but no knowledge of how to tell a story viaOccasionally funny, predominantly boring. I'm happy Eddie is in a more adult comedy again, but it's also kind of sad to watch. It was also weird to see him take a backseat in an ensemble cast. I realize the concept was his, and it was a nifty concept, but leave it to Brett Ratner to be the poor man's Michael Bay: occasional flashes of interest, but no knowledge of how to tell a story via film. The highlights were Gabourey Sidibe, who steps up during the funniest moment in the movie versus an FBI guard, and Matthew Broderick, who looks so old and chubby, but pulls off a teetering-on-the-edge former stock broker who has lost it all. Unfortunately, the movie wastes the talents of Ben Stiller, Alan Alda and the always-underrated Tea Leoni. If you miss it, you won't miss it. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2011
    1
    Writing this negative review is the reason I opened my metacritic account.

    This movie is terrible. I did try to enjoy it for what it is, yet could not get past the ridiculous events that actually transpired in the movie.

    The usually funny cast had terrible characters, with many moments intended to be funny off track conversation, that just were NOT funny.

    Worst movie I have seen 2011.
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    This movie looks good in yellow. It's a mystery to me how it got a score of 59. Seriously, '' Tower Heist '' is an epic fail. Not funny at all, just boring dialogue. The only part that made me laugh was when Ben Stiller (as Josh Kovacs) and Eddie Murphy (as Slide) were talking in the car. Stiller said something like '' ....our partnership...'' (he's taking about them being in a team) andThis movie looks good in yellow. It's a mystery to me how it got a score of 59. Seriously, '' Tower Heist '' is an epic fail. Not funny at all, just boring dialogue. The only part that made me laugh was when Ben Stiller (as Josh Kovacs) and Eddie Murphy (as Slide) were talking in the car. Stiller said something like '' ....our partnership...'' (he's taking about them being in a team) and Murphy was like '' I ain't fuc*ing you're ass ''. Actually, the best thing about this movie was Eddie Murphy. The rest of the cast were okay, except for Casey Affleck, he played poorly. Also, the end seemed rushed. All of the sudden, everything speeds up (the events) and then it just ends. Plus, there are a lot of unrealistic situations, which makes me lose credibility of the story. I'm not giving it a lower score then 4, because there are worse movies then this that came out this year. Just don't waste time and money on this crap. I already forgot about it. Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    It has a stellar cast but they only give half of the talent they can bring and the humor is mostly silly and stupid and the whole movie will never live up to its cool premise which we all wanted it to. I give this movie 34%.
  10. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    I'm sorry, was this supposed to be a comedy? I felt like I was sandwiched between a ridiculous crime drama and an unfunny farce. The movie took its subject matter too seriously in my opinion, which made the jokes feel completely out of place. While it had some good ideas, they were never utilized in a complete, funny, or comprehensible manner. Granted, I thought Eddie Murphy had a funnyI'm sorry, was this supposed to be a comedy? I felt like I was sandwiched between a ridiculous crime drama and an unfunny farce. The movie took its subject matter too seriously in my opinion, which made the jokes feel completely out of place. While it had some good ideas, they were never utilized in a complete, funny, or comprehensible manner. Granted, I thought Eddie Murphy had a funny character. But, every other character had no character to them, and every joke or gag they performed came off stale and uncomfortable. Just my 2 cents. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    This movie was straight-up insulting to my intelligence. Absolutely terrible. The plot was over the top ridiculous (and completely predictable). The "master" plan is so flawed it makes National Treasure look like Ronin. A kindergartner will be questioning the logic behind Tower Heist. A flawed plot in a comedy can be as forgivable as it is common, though this comes only with the exceptionThis movie was straight-up insulting to my intelligence. Absolutely terrible. The plot was over the top ridiculous (and completely predictable). The "master" plan is so flawed it makes National Treasure look like Ronin. A kindergartner will be questioning the logic behind Tower Heist. A flawed plot in a comedy can be as forgivable as it is common, though this comes only with the exception of the comedy actually containing comedy. Throughout Tower Heist's oh-so-long 104 minutes, the audience will be subject to comedic gold, like jokes about lesbians and Burger King employees. Anybody familiar with some of Ben Stiller's movies, such as Zoolander and Meet The Parents, knows that he's capable of producing some absolutely memorable material. The worst part about Tower Heist is that my only laugh throughout the entire movie didn't come from Ben Stiller but from Eddie Murphy. What's worse than that is that this isn't even Eddie Murphy's worst movie (or Ben Stiller's considering last year's Little Focker's). Skip this one. Instead, go rent Ocean's Eleven. Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2011
    2
    Sorry, I really wanted to like this movie. Most Law and Order shows are better written than the script for this movie. The backstory goes on for 40 minutes before anything starts to happen. Then the think it is going to be clever but nothing really materializes and it ends with a whimper. It was just flat at the end and left you wanting. Eddie Murphy is good but it seems like he is now theSorry, I really wanted to like this movie. Most Law and Order shows are better written than the script for this movie. The backstory goes on for 40 minutes before anything starts to happen. Then the think it is going to be clever but nothing really materializes and it ends with a whimper. It was just flat at the end and left you wanting. Eddie Murphy is good but it seems like he is now the jinx for any movie he is in. This would be an OK TV movie, but don't spend money on this when there are better ones out there. Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    I enjoyed the first half of this film immensely, but once the "prize" was claimed by Stiller and his crew, the film simply fell apart. Ted Griffin, the screenwriter, gave us an interesting, smart, and amusing script for the first 48 minutes...and then he went on vacation and his 10-year old son finished writing the rest of it! It left me scratching my head wondering how dumb andI enjoyed the first half of this film immensely, but once the "prize" was claimed by Stiller and his crew, the film simply fell apart. Ted Griffin, the screenwriter, gave us an interesting, smart, and amusing script for the first 48 minutes...and then he went on vacation and his 10-year old son finished writing the rest of it! It left me scratching my head wondering how dumb and incompetent all the characters suddenly became, and how stupid, dull, un-clever, and implausible the plot line became. Mr. Griffin's uneven script felt as if he wrote it years before he wrote Ocean's Eleven...when he was still learning his craft. O-11 was a far superior film, even though the two movies are similar in many ways. This movie had SO much potential but it fell WAY too short of reaching the "good flick" status it was craving. Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy worked well together and complimented each others talents tremendously. I only wish that Mr. Murphy was on the screen longer because the film was only a "comedy" when his character was present. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Nov 6, 2011
    60
    Fun if uneven stuff from Ratner. A welcome return to form for Eddie Murphy and an even-more-welcome turn by the ever-excellent Alan Alda.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 4, 2011
    75
    As far as sophisticated caper flicks go, Tower Heist is oceans away from George Clooney's crew. Compared to other recent comedies, it's pretty light on the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 4, 2011
    58
    If this film turns out to be a big success, malls everywhere may want to hire more security.