Tower Heist

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 258

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I liked the movie a lot. The plot was well developed, the characters were likable, the movie writers (and comedy writers for the funny lines) were clever, and I laughed at least a third of the time. The rest of the time, i was on the edge of my seat. The only reason I am not giving it a 10, is because of the language. I have to keep my standards up, and language will make me give it oneI liked the movie a lot. The plot was well developed, the characters were likable, the movie writers (and comedy writers for the funny lines) were clever, and I laughed at least a third of the time. The rest of the time, i was on the edge of my seat. The only reason I am not giving it a 10, is because of the language. I have to keep my standards up, and language will make me give it one less point. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    Tower Heist is a fun film but it doesn't leave a mark on cinematic history like Avatar or Deathly Hollows Pt 2. Which is good considering we're bombarded with a game changing blockbuster franchise every three monthes. Plot is good, Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy are back with picture perfect comedy after a failed few attempts, mostly from Murphy.The plot starts a little slow but gets goingTower Heist is a fun film but it doesn't leave a mark on cinematic history like Avatar or Deathly Hollows Pt 2. Which is good considering we're bombarded with a game changing blockbuster franchise every three monthes. Plot is good, Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy are back with picture perfect comedy after a failed few attempts, mostly from Murphy.The plot starts a little slow but gets going about 15-20 minutes in and gets more exciting every scene. The movie great for a rainy sunday afternoon or to watch with family or mates it might even make your DVD viewing rotation every now and again. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    A lot to like in this movie. Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller are hilarious while the supporting actors are also pretty good. It's an extremely likable movie and how the whole staff unites against the owner is very close to what's happening on wall street. I think you should see this movie its worth the $18.00
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    My husband and I seldom agree on a movie but we both found this movie entirely entertaining from start to finish..It had a portion that we were both trying to catch the car indeed great excitement. It was hilarious with no slap stick or abundance of filthy language which is indeed rare today. I would thorurgly recommend this movie to friends something I very seldom think of doing
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    A funnier movie than I expected, and a brief opportunity for Americans to day dream about a world where corporate greed gets it in the end. I chuckled, but left a little angry...like everyone else.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyed this wild crazy caper. The cast was excellent. The screenplay not bad for the type of film it is and it held your attention. Mathew Broderick, Gabe Sidibe, Eddie Murphy were standouts as well as the rest of the supporting cast. Ben Stiller was restrained and that was good. Eddie Murphy was a little over the top but totally acceptable. Really a good film.
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This was all a pretty good combination, the cast, the film, every thing can't wait till it gets on DVD because i'll definitely buy it GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    It was a fun escape for a couple hours on a slow afternoon. The plot and action are so full of holes you could drive a Ferrari through but really its a comedy action flick what did you expect. I caught myself laughing out loud a time or three but if I did have one criticism it would be a bit of a comedic timing issue. Good humour doesn't have to be dumbed down or over explained, and for anIt was a fun escape for a couple hours on a slow afternoon. The plot and action are so full of holes you could drive a Ferrari through but really its a comedy action flick what did you expect. I caught myself laughing out loud a time or three but if I did have one criticism it would be a bit of a comedic timing issue. Good humour doesn't have to be dumbed down or over explained, and for an action comedy it was a little too serious at points. Overall... Money well spent. Expand
  9. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    It takes time for the laughs to start, but this is a really great movie that really shows how the guys at wall street may seem nice, while making things miserable for the middle class.
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    It's nothing original in the idea or setting of the movie (a group of people going against the odds to rob a corrupt rich guy), but it succeeds because of it's humor and likable characters, and the good writing also helps, honestly it's not the funniest movie out there but it did make me laugh, and I was also surprised at how good the supporting characters are, let's just say Eddie MurphyIt's nothing original in the idea or setting of the movie (a group of people going against the odds to rob a corrupt rich guy), but it succeeds because of it's humor and likable characters, and the good writing also helps, honestly it's not the funniest movie out there but it did make me laugh, and I was also surprised at how good the supporting characters are, let's just say Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller wont be getting all the laughs, so in closing I do recommend this, it may not succeed in all it tries to do but it's funny and has heart, and is enjoyable from start to finish, a great movie. Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    Tower Heist enjoys a coincidence of sorts in its choice of opening weekend. The Occupy Wall Street protest is alive and well not too far from where this film is set and hundreds of other Occupy protests are simultaneously happening around the world. Tapping into a particular segment of that angst, Tower Heist is about the blue collar vs. the mega rich; the staff (99%) vs. the penthouseTower Heist enjoys a coincidence of sorts in its choice of opening weekend. The Occupy Wall Street protest is alive and well not too far from where this film is set and hundreds of other Occupy protests are simultaneously happening around the world. Tapping into a particular segment of that angst, Tower Heist is about the blue collar vs. the mega rich; the staff (99%) vs. the penthouse owner (1%).

    Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) is a Bernard Madoff archetype who is put under penthouse arrest by the FBI for running a Ponzi scheme and defrauding his investors. His smallest investment account happens to be the pension funds of the staff that run the vast and luxurious tower he lives on the top floor of. Josh Kovacs (Ben Stiller) plays the towerâ
    Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Walked into this expecting an average comedy, came out very surprised. A great comedy that actually made me laugh, not many shows and films can do that. Funny jokes, funny people. A complete win in my books, a must see. Yes it may be predictable at times, but it's still very well done.
  13. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Pretty good soft comedy, although I think they could have done a bit more work on the characters...I kept being reminded of Murphy's character from Trading Places without really liking him. Stiller role was decent sort of anal suit turned rebel by losing his job...wait a minute thinking Trading places again? Anyway that aside a decent riches to rags revenge comedy that did have some goodPretty good soft comedy, although I think they could have done a bit more work on the characters...I kept being reminded of Murphy's character from Trading Places without really liking him. Stiller role was decent sort of anal suit turned rebel by losing his job...wait a minute thinking Trading places again? Anyway that aside a decent riches to rags revenge comedy that did have some good jokes and action. Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    This was a flatout fun movie. With such a jam-packed cast it can be very risky and it could be overtop, but in this movie, it worked. Everything fit together, great use of every actor. Eddie Murphy was hilllaaaarrriiiooouuusss in this film, eberybody else was too but Murphy was definately a standout. This movie was good fun. Definately watch this, youll love it. 7/10
  15. May 6, 2012
    7
    This movie was... Eh... Decent. The only thing that made me give this a 7 and not a 5 were the voice actors I really, really liked.
    The story is pretty simple and well thought-out, but that's it. Nothing special.
  16. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Tower Heist may not be the top Comedy-Crime film but the wonderful cast made it pretty awesome . ok so at first the script ... I felt script was the weakest part of this film , the basic story was good , nothing new but good but they really should work on the techniques of robing , most of the techniques were so lame . Brett Ratner directing was good . No the awesome part , "The Cast" .Tower Heist may not be the top Comedy-Crime film but the wonderful cast made it pretty awesome . ok so at first the script ... I felt script was the weakest part of this film , the basic story was good , nothing new but good but they really should work on the techniques of robing , most of the techniques were so lame . Brett Ratner directing was good . No the awesome part , "The Cast" . No need to say anything about Ben , He is the best . Eddie "Axel" Murphy came back after a long time . This role remind me of his masterpiece Beverly Hills Cop (1,2) , it was good to see him again . Casey Affleck remind me of his Oceans role . Haven't seen Matthew Broderick like this in a really long time .Michael Peña was good in his role . Gabourey Sidibe was really funny & the beautiful Téa Leoni reminded me her role in Bad Boys , Its been 16 years but she is still so beautiful as she was then . Without this amazing cast, the film would go deep under water , So Deep . Expand
  17. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    Director Brett Ratner doesnâ
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    As it was saturday nite went with frndz @Wave cinemas, I really really liked this movie, it was just so fun to watch especially since the cast was so great. There were several stretches in the plot but really nothing too bad. It was easier to buy than Timberlake and Seyfreidâ
  19. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    A great movie to see with friends or family. Not the comedic gold that we would expect from such a cast, but an entertaining time nonetheless. The characters are well played. and there are many moments when you just can't help but laugh. There are, however, times where jokes fall flat. Don't expect this to be the best Comedic experience of your life, but enjoy it anyways!
  20. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The collaboration between Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller is fabulous in this movie. The first third of the movie is pretty boring, and exponentially got hilarious when Eddie Murphy was finally introduced. The mexican guy was a perfect choice for his role. One great scene was when Eddie was teaching the guys to steal and ends up taking their wallets. Also, the plot actually isn't bad for a comedy. As "cal1998" said, it is like Occupy Wall Street. The final scene is hilarious when all the supporting characters receive golden parts of the car. Expand
  21. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    It's not a bad movie, for a comedy. It does most things okay, but makes you laugh, which at the end of the day is what matters most in this type of movie.

    Check out my full take:

    http://www.filmresource.net/reviews/tower-heist-review/
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    It boasts a great cast and a very smart and funny premise. It's great fun for not just comedy fans but general audiences alike. And a welcome return-to-form for Eddie Murphy. 4/4 stars.
  23. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This movie so great and made by great producer. I laughed as much as on both parts of Hangover.
    Great job guys!!!
    Movies with Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy rarely can be boring and not imaginative!!!
  24. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    Tower Heist is full of great performances and and a clever twist. The humor is mostly funny, but the story could've had some fine tuning. Overall, its a pretty cool film.
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Tower heist isn't what you would quite call a gem, but it is a light,fluffy action comedy that is worth checking in the theaters if you know what you what you're dealing with.
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Fun if forgettable comedy fare. It's a little unusual in that it is much better than most of Eddie Murphy's recent work but doesnt live up to Ben Stiller's usual caliber. That being said it delivered some good laughs and is certainly worth catching on DVD even if you aren't keen to see it in theaters.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Erin Yri
    Kacie Jossart
    English 110 Movie Review Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller lead an all-star cast in a dramatic action packed comedy called Tower Heist. Tower Heist is a movie about employees who seek revenge on the Wall Street swindler who stiffed them. When employees of a luxurious Central Park Condominium discover the multi billionaire who lives in the penthouse has stolen their
    Erin Yri
    Kacie Jossart
    English 110
    Movie Review
    Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller lead an all-star cast in a dramatic action packed comedy called Tower Heist. Tower Heist is a movie about employees who seek revenge on the Wall Street swindler who stiffed them. When employees of a luxurious Central Park Condominium discover the multi billionaire who lives in the penthouse has stolen their entire retirement money they plot a mischievous way to get it all back.
    It is present-day Manhattan and the Tower is a tightly run, high-class condo managed by a tightly wound, attention-to-every-little-detail Josh Kovaks (Stiller). Josh has gotten so comfortable rubbing shoulders with the resident elite especially the top dog at the top of his game and the owner of the Tower's top suite, Wall Street guru Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) that he sometimes forgets he's "not one of them."
    Because of this he is stricken when Arthur Shaw is taken down by an FBI sting that reveals Arthur's billion-dollar fraud â
    Expand
  28. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    On the surface, Tower Heist appears to be nothing more than a stupid comedy about some pissed off employees, getting back at their rich bosses, that's kind of why I didn't want to see it. This movie did surprise me though, aside from it's lame jokes, there is substance here, which include a pretty good story and an interesting cast. Ben Stiller is terrific as usual, but Eddie Murphy wasOn the surface, Tower Heist appears to be nothing more than a stupid comedy about some pissed off employees, getting back at their rich bosses, that's kind of why I didn't want to see it. This movie did surprise me though, aside from it's lame jokes, there is substance here, which include a pretty good story and an interesting cast. Ben Stiller is terrific as usual, but Eddie Murphy was not. I was never a big fan to begin with, but in recent years he has completely lost the ability to be funny and carry a film, the way he did with the Beverly Hills Cop series. Usually Murphy is an asset, injecting humor into an otherwise dry plot, but here his appearance actually takes away from the film. His character is both forced and uninteresting and I'd go as far as to say that this movie would have been better, if Eddie Murphy's character was just eliminated altogether. As I said earlier, the previews don't do this film justice and if you base what you're going to watch solely on previews, than you probably didn't see Tower Heist, and you're missing out. It is an interesting movie, that's different, and has a couple of twists in the story. Not an award winner by any means, but it's certainly something that will entertain you for a couple of hours. Expand
  29. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Critics got this film so wrong, Its hilarious. The cast is solid through out, Its interesting to watch, and thankfully it doesnt become another sappy comedy with poor drama added in. I really enjoyed watching it.
  30. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Tower Heist is a movie directed by Brett Ratner and stars Ben Stiller & Eddie Murphy, and the story is this Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) has stolen their money, and they want it back. First off, this movie was not as funny as I first thought. Eddie Murphy provides a couple of laughs but not as much as I thought. At some parts, it wasen't realistic, like the $45 million gold car on a cable? ItTower Heist is a movie directed by Brett Ratner and stars Ben Stiller & Eddie Murphy, and the story is this Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) has stolen their money, and they want it back. First off, this movie was not as funny as I first thought. Eddie Murphy provides a couple of laughs but not as much as I thought. At some parts, it wasen't realistic, like the $45 million gold car on a cable? It would snap and the gold will fall down and kill people. My favourite part was when the black chick knocked out the security guard. I didn't expect that at all and I died laughing! Overall this movie is a great time and I recomend it on the big screen. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Nov 6, 2011
    60
    Fun if uneven stuff from Ratner. A welcome return to form for Eddie Murphy and an even-more-welcome turn by the ever-excellent Alan Alda.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 4, 2011
    75
    As far as sophisticated caper flicks go, Tower Heist is oceans away from George Clooney's crew. Compared to other recent comedies, it's pretty light on the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 4, 2011
    58
    If this film turns out to be a big success, malls everywhere may want to hire more security.