Toy Story

Toy Story Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 746 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Led by Woody, Andy's toys live happily in his room until Andy's birthday brings Buzz Lightyear onto the scene. Afraid of losing his place in Andy's heart, Woody plots against Buzz. But when circumstances separate Buzz and Woody from their owner, the duo eventually learns to put aside theirLed by Woody, Andy's toys live happily in his room until Andy's birthday brings Buzz Lightyear onto the scene. Afraid of losing his place in Andy's heart, Woody plots against Buzz. But when circumstances separate Buzz and Woody from their owner, the duo eventually learns to put aside their differences. [Pixar] Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The first animated feature produced entirely on computer is a magically witty and humane entertainment, a hellzapoppin fairy tale about a roomful of suburban toys who come to life when humans aren't around.
  2. The film will intoxicate children and charm the parents in their company.
  3. 100
    What the bright minds of Walt Disney have produced here is a must-see movie. Must-see, must-talk-about, must-plan-to-see-again.
  4. 90
    Though computer-animated rather than hand-drawn, this wry, rippingly paced buddy movie is as delightful in its own way as any of Walt Disney's traditional fairy tales.
  5. 88
    The computer-generated effects are a marvel. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.
  6. Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios join forces on an entertaining computer-generated, hyperrealist animation feature that's also in effect a toy catalog.
  7. Clever, fast-moving and unobtrusively self-conscious.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 144
  1. PatrickD.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    WHat makes this film so appealing? Who cares? It's brilliant!
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie ofPertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!! Expand
  3. May 20, 2011
    10
    I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH. ITS MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME. I WAS WONDERFUL AND FUNNY AND GLORIOUS. TOY STORY is a classic. Woody andI LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH. ITS MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME. I WAS WONDERFUL AND FUNNY AND GLORIOUS. TOY STORY is a classic. Woody and Buzz Lightyear will always be remembered. Pixar's best movie ever. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. ComparedIn my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. Compared to these days animated movies like Wreck-It-Ralph, Frozen, etc, Toy Story has better animation and plot. I really enjoyed the movie franchise and this movie makes you feel to watch it 10 times a day. So, that makes me love the movie franchise sooo much. I give this movie a 10/10! Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Excellent family movie. Original story and great animation.
  6. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    A hilarious and amazing film that begins PIXAR's epic reign as part of Disney. Spectacular casting and acting, great visuals, and anA hilarious and amazing film that begins PIXAR's epic reign as part of Disney. Spectacular casting and acting, great visuals, and an unforgettable adventure make this one of the best Disney movies of all time. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    A cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. MyA cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. My kids hates it too. Doesn't surprise me. Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: May 5, 2016
    We rank all 17 Pixar films from worst to best.
  2. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  3. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  4. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.