Overture Films | Release Date: August 27, 2008
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
10
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
TrenttL.Sep 6, 2008
Daring movie. We haven't really seen black men in roles like this before and Cheadle does this with a depth of character that many action films lack. It is not all one liners or cowboy attitude. The character is intelligent, conflicted, Daring movie. We haven't really seen black men in roles like this before and Cheadle does this with a depth of character that many action films lack. It is not all one liners or cowboy attitude. The character is intelligent, conflicted, capable and at most times "cool" in a believable way. Critics are doing a good job of managing the expectations of viewers. Glad I saw this one before reading the reviews (which seem to contain more spoilers than usual). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WayneC.Aug 29, 2008
A brave film with good performances let down by weak editing that allows it to dissipate its dramatic impact midway through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyCAug 30, 2008
Disappointing. Isn't as insightful as Traffic or as compelling as Syriana or as entertaining as Blood Diamond. Steals elements from each of these films. If you want a powerful movie experience spend your money on the DVD of Traffic or Disappointing. Isn't as insightful as Traffic or as compelling as Syriana or as entertaining as Blood Diamond. Steals elements from each of these films. If you want a powerful movie experience spend your money on the DVD of Traffic or Syriana. If you want a great movie that tackles terrorism and moralism with any kind of depth see The Siege. From a dragging beginning to an absurd "duh" ending this film doesn't add anything to American's understanding of Islam, terrorism, or morality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Aug 30, 2008
The film is much better than the critics "score"would have you believe. It really had me guessing until - well, almost the end. This is not an action film, more a psychological type thriller. I quite enjoyed it. Certainly more than the The film is much better than the critics "score"would have you believe. It really had me guessing until - well, almost the end. This is not an action film, more a psychological type thriller. I quite enjoyed it. Certainly more than the critic score would have yo believe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaeS.Sep 6, 2008
I can't believe this movie isn't getting better reviews from the so called professional critics. They will probably rate bangcock nights higher. This might be the best movie in it's respective genre I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinMJan 30, 2009
Great film - as an Arabic student, it gave an accurate portrayal of what Yemen culture and prison life would have been like. Plus, Don Cheadle is amazing in this role - he encompasses it perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredC.Aug 25, 2008
It's difficult to explain what Traitor is like. It isn't perfect, and it isn't bad, nor all right. This is probably Don Cheadle's best movie since Hotel Rwanda. That's really the only truth about this film It's difficult to explain what Traitor is like. It isn't perfect, and it isn't bad, nor all right. This is probably Don Cheadle's best movie since Hotel Rwanda. That's really the only truth about this film that's simple to describe. But other than that, the truth is complicated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Aug 28, 2008
To accrue more cred as a practicing Islamic extremist, Samir Horn(Don Cheadle) impresses the Muslim affiliates of his terrorist cell, by coordinating the detonation of an American consulate. Eight people die in the blast, a number To accrue more cred as a practicing Islamic extremist, Samir Horn(Don Cheadle) impresses the Muslim affiliates of his terrorist cell, by coordinating the detonation of an American consulate. Eight people die in the blast, a number that's horrific, to be sure, but not catastrophic enough to affect vicissitude in the U.S. Special Operation officer's license for fighting the jihadists. Keeping the collateral damage at a minimum is a plot contrivance which allows "Traitor" to remain a pop entertainment that makes geopolitics digestible for everybody's comfort. If the number of casualties approached the upper reaches of, say, a hundred, sticking to the "Donnie Brasco" formula would become more problematic, if not, impossible. A blurring between both factions of Islamic faith already exists when Samir triggers that remote on the Nice building. By default, his actions turn him into a double agent. Samir is actually caught in no man's land, but "Traitor" can't risk political incorrectness by implying that all Muslims are terrorists. Since the terrorist act is deemed a necessary evil when it's performed in the name of vigilantism, Samir isn't a terrorist, because American lives weigh more than Muslim ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jwAug 31, 2008
Clearly Don Cheadle is money in the bank. Cast him, and your movie is automatically ahead of the curve. Jeff Daniels has quietly become that same kind of actor in supporting roles and ensembles. So it makes sense that all of the best scenes Clearly Don Cheadle is money in the bank. Cast him, and your movie is automatically ahead of the curve. Jeff Daniels has quietly become that same kind of actor in supporting roles and ensembles. So it makes sense that all of the best scenes in this movie happen when they're both on the screen. In many places, the "message" lines seem forced and awkward. But the story is always put back on track, and the movie is most "on message" when it returns to the Cheadle/Daniels interplay. Best line in the movie: "You know who you sound like, right?" This binds the clashing powers together by their rhetoric, and says gracefully what other parts of the movie say fitfully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickAug 31, 2008
Very good movie. In lieu of his prior work in Hotel Rwanda, Cheadle has already established himself as a top-notch actor, but elements of his performance in Traitor were truly impressive. His language capabilities were excellent as he Very good movie. In lieu of his prior work in Hotel Rwanda, Cheadle has already established himself as a top-notch actor, but elements of his performance in Traitor were truly impressive. His language capabilities were excellent as he flawlessly transitioned between dialects. Unlike other espionage flicks, Cheadle's character of Samir is not indestructible; rather he's highly adept in combat and other fields akin to the special forces, but nonetheless makes his mistakes and loses some battles. The vulnerability and intensity of Samir in both his personality and religiosity were superb, he came off as a human going through this test of spirit rather than an agent robotically decimating a terrorist organization from within. Universal morality is the crux of this film and I believe the intense focus on the cultural exchange and interaction between the peoples and faiths is the strength of this film. These guys did their homework, no doubt, but as many have said this isn't a perfect movie. Definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CherylNSep 20, 2008
Great Movie. Don Cheadle was very believable in his role, and I was genuinely surprised at the plot twists throughout the movie. One of the aspects of the movie that I really enjoyed was the music. It was phenomenal and I immediately came Great Movie. Don Cheadle was very believable in his role, and I was genuinely surprised at the plot twists throughout the movie. One of the aspects of the movie that I really enjoyed was the music. It was phenomenal and I immediately came home and downloaded the soundtrack. I think it was just an all around well produced, well acted, and well executed film. One of the few movies that was worth my money so far this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
shschSep 3, 2008
The ending may be far-fetched, but I found the movie quite entertaining and the 2 leads, Cheadle & Pearce, very solid indeed. This movie would probably be a blockbuster if it starred Will Smith & Tom Cruise instead, although I can't The ending may be far-fetched, but I found the movie quite entertaining and the 2 leads, Cheadle & Pearce, very solid indeed. This movie would probably be a blockbuster if it starred Will Smith & Tom Cruise instead, although I can't believe they could do it any better. Go see it; I'll bet you'll enjoy the world of terrorism and the parts of the world you get to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChuckV.Sep 6, 2008
Edge of the seat action. Don Cheadle is superb. Felt like I was watching a reality show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PearlPDec 5, 2009
Very different and somewhat refreshing to have Islam show up as its true self in Samir. Excellent performances, excellent sound track. I would highly recommend and was also surprised to read the "professional" point of view!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sidn.Nov 21, 2008
Very good movie with similar suspense. plot is unwrapped flawlessly. keeps you hooked to the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Aug 27, 2008
A taut thriller that pulls you along and keeps you guessing. Kudos to Steve Martin and Don Cheadle for a movie well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherR.Aug 28, 2008
This is not hollywood formula crap. real writing. great movie. every year we get one two very well movies to see. i really do not understand the critics on this one. this is just a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartH.Aug 29, 2008
Cool thriller...Cheadle is great...I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevitivityAug 29, 2008
This is one of the very few Hollyweird films that takes Islamic terrorism seriously. I was really surprised by this. Much better than The Kingdom which suggested at the end of the movie that we are all terrorists...?!? Go see this movie. This is one of the very few Hollyweird films that takes Islamic terrorism seriously. I was really surprised by this. Much better than The Kingdom which suggested at the end of the movie that we are all terrorists...?!? Go see this movie. Lots of fun twists and turns. It's not really an action movie - it much more cerebral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LyleS.Jan 26, 2009
Forgettable - not a must watch - I'm sure the Jihad portrait is the reason the critics lashed out at the film and I'm not comfortable with it either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Boy sees his father blown up by car bomb, years later helps terrorists, makes bombs, blows up US Embassies, twists & turns.
Really good thriller that is very modern & an interesting story & plot.
Don Cheadle is very convincing with Said
Boy sees his father blown up by car bomb, years later helps terrorists, makes bombs, blows up US Embassies, twists & turns.
Really good thriller that is very modern & an interesting story & plot.
Don Cheadle is very convincing with Said Tagmaoui & Guy Pearce lending decent support. Nice cameo by Jeff Daniels too.
The film does jump about a lot between locations but it had me gripped right until the end of the film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Traitor is a truly can't miss movie, that gives you a perspective on terrorism from both sides. Don Cheadle continues to be one of the best and most underrated actors in Hollywood. This movie was amazing! It wasn't just another shoot 'em upTraitor is a truly can't miss movie, that gives you a perspective on terrorism from both sides. Don Cheadle continues to be one of the best and most underrated actors in Hollywood. This movie was amazing! It wasn't just another shoot 'em up action nightmare. It has a great story, I really connected with the characters, and I kept finding myself surprised at every turn, not knowing what was coming next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 30, 2014
Don Cheadle puts forth an extremely valid effort, but when you boil it down to its essence, "Traitor" is just a very standard science fair volcano of a movie that just barely sputters out an eruption in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 15, 2013
Traitor is a patriot.
The movie is a very interesting concept that is fully explained over the course of the film without much confusion. The acting is solid and the film is very unpredictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NukaCocaColaJan 11, 2016
It's a pretty good movie which raises the emotions and makes you wonder what'll happen next since the movie is very unpredictable. It were impossible to know which side he stood on since he seemed to be on both sides and being conflictedIt's a pretty good movie which raises the emotions and makes you wonder what'll happen next since the movie is very unpredictable. It were impossible to know which side he stood on since he seemed to be on both sides and being conflicted about who were bad and good. So I'll give the movie 7/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 21, 2016
A very, very good and very credible spy movie. Very relevant too in today's fight against global terrorism.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-739-Traitor-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews