User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 131

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    4
    I had such high hopes for this film, and the first 25 minutes or so really deliver. But after that, it becomes a disorganized mess and it lacks focus. About half way through, I started checking my watch, which is a bummer in a thriller. Some compare it to Inception, but that's an insult to the latter. I mean, you figure out all the "facts" of this story by the end, but it's told with such recklessness that blaming it on the "trance" or "dream" method is really just a cop-out. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    I like Danny Boyle's work and I enjoy complex and clever films but this one is convoluted purely for the sake of it. Aside from the story, the visuals in this movie simply aren't worth the trek to the cinema. From start to finish it seems made for the small screen, sometimes compensating for the lack of visual story-telling with the use of loud and frenzied music which is also used to spice up scenes that lack suspense. On the whole, however, the story isn't there. The script could've done with a dozen more drafts. If you're still anyway interested, I'd advise waiting for it on TV. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    Danny Boyle is back to playing with your head in his latest feature Trance, a film that blasts out of the gates before it whimpers across the finish due to the films overburdened, twist filled story. Trance follows Simon (James McAvoy), an art exhibitor who gets attacked by robbers during a mid auction robbery when the robbers realize the painting they stole was taken by Simon they must find out where, something a bump on the head seems to have erased. With the help of hypnotherapist Elizabeth (Rosario Dawson) they might actually discover what happened to it. Despite the strong cast and a career high performance for Dawson, Trance ultimately leaves a bitter taste in your mouth because the high caliber direction and acting being let down by a story so incredibly complicated and far fetched. The film opens with the robbery and everything about it is exhilarating, it is directed with flair and has a killer soundtrack to boot (in fact the movies soundtrack is superb). The problem is that thanks to the truly awesome opening the film never manages to live up to it. Another problem is that the film has something to say about art and obsession but the film is so jumbled and at times confusing that deciphering some kind of meaning or message is nigh on impossible. The film also uses violence (most of it excessive) and nudity (all of it excessive) but its never really necessary, except for one key scene towards the end. When the film does use violence it always feels like its too much and ruins a crime drama that could have used a little more subtlety to say what it wanted instead of trying to shock an audience who came to be entertained, not disturbed. The finale while impressive visually feels forced and oddly safe for a Boyle film. It's a shame that after some time away Danny Boyle has returned with a film on par with the thoroughly disappointing 127 hours. Ultimately its a film built around a premise so complex that when it comes down to it the picture crumbles under the weight of its own plot. Collapse
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    I was close to rating it a zero actually. Because this film it doesn't worth your time actually. There is nothing in it. Plot is so simple and understandable, that I find it utterly ridiculous that people like it. C'mon guys you're better than that! Don't look at this piece of and pretend its a diamond. Everything about this film is worthless. But the biggest letdown is definitely the script. Its really, really stupid. I actually hate that people compare it to Inception. This movie has no depth only the depth of badness it drops you into.

    Actually hypnosis the core of the film is executed very poorly. Why one just don't go and make his homework for God's sake! Just sit in some open sessions and see what it looks like. Its nowhere near what is shown in this film. And the last scene is just plain stupid. Why is it there? I don't know. The plot has so many holes and flows it's just ripping apart right before our eyes. Also for me the film was very boring. Right from the start (at about 20 min.) I already guessed what as going on. And I wasn't the only one! I heard whispers all around me at the theater. People got the plot from 20 minutes into the movie! And the plot must have been a strong point here. That's just nuts.

    I have a feeling that this film had once a marvelous script or maybe just a story. But it got torn, ripped and crushed and became this piece of awfulness. I really hope that Danny Boyle will stick to his guts and make good thrillers. Because this one right here is not a movie that should receive such high grades.
    Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    2
    I was really looking forward to this movie. What the hell happened? The movie is average at best. The plot had great potential but fell flat and loses focus. Honestly it drags and becomes boring. There really is nothing to it and has no real impact. VERY disappointed.
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    3
    The pre credits of Trance had me thinking that i was in for a really good thriller. It's not long though, before the film degenerates into a confusing exercise in style over substance, meandering towards a denouement that is a long time coming. There is a lot of back story exposition before the unremarkable ending, (one sudden shock involving a minor character not withstanding) and to say that the plot development requires much suspension of disbelief is to understate. Overall it's a pity because the first half an hour had me enthralled. At best this effort by Danny Boyle can only be considered an interesting mis fire. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    This seemed like an interesting plot of a movie, so much that we chose to watch it among 4 other quite good movies. When the movie started I actually thought it was interesting, nevertheless as time passed the initial good feeling started to become boredom and later dislike.

    This movie is a poor try to confuse your mind into not knowing what is happening in it and it tries so hard that
    at some point it loses focus and becomes a pointless mixture of scenes.

    When I finished watching it, I thought it was a bad movie, but one day later I realized it was a waste of 1.5 hours of my life.

    Its a shame because the actors that participated were quite good, still it was not enough to save this movie. I almost never give a 0 for score in anything I see, as I value the work put into content, be movies, games or other things, but this movie is one of the 3 that deserves that '0' score
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    If you can look past the sputtering conclusion — or the pseudo-intellectual banter about memory, modern art, and other assorted nonsense — what you'll find is a brisk, breezy, style-heavy crime flick that happens to be one of the most purely entertaining movies Boyle has made in a long time.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 12, 2013
    50
    The wrinkles between reality and illusion soon become irritating.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    Dawson, who to this point has largely built her career playing supporting characters, seizes the opportunity to stand center-stage, all but taking over the film.