User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 820 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2014
    4
    So disappointed with this movie. The first three were mediocre and I was hoping for a better character connection than Shia La'boeuf gave us. BOY WAS I SO WRONG! Mark Wahlberg's character development was horrid as for his daughter's acting and development is even worse. Her boyfriend doesn't seem to make such stand in this movie, as for we don't get much dialogue from him leaving out theSo disappointed with this movie. The first three were mediocre and I was hoping for a better character connection than Shia La'boeuf gave us. BOY WAS I SO WRONG! Mark Wahlberg's character development was horrid as for his daughter's acting and development is even worse. Her boyfriend doesn't seem to make such stand in this movie, as for we don't get much dialogue from him leaving out the cliche cheesy jokes he makes.

    The movie is way too f****ng long, standing at about 3 hours. The CGI does make up for whatever the hell is going on, as for there are over 3 stories going on at once. Also, I am a HUGE fan of Transformers G1 and I got to say, I don't remember Galvatron being a truck.

    The Dinobots only show up in the last 20 minutes also, and I didn't really understand why Grimlock didn't talk either, as for I remember him talking in G1. And for the last of my review, the Dinobots scene was confusing and painful to watch.

    This movie was a major let down and I feel bad that people spent their money to go watch this in the theaters.

    Michael Bay, 'nuff said.
    Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2014
    4
    A marginal improvement on the last movie. Far, far, far too long. Most of the "human" element could easily of been cut. Wahlberg, Grammer and Tucci seem to be having fun in their roles and they make the movie a bit more bearable.

    The plot is an interesting one, however is so drawn out it can be little hard to remain vested. A real, real shame how little the Dino-bots are in the movie,
    A marginal improvement on the last movie. Far, far, far too long. Most of the "human" element could easily of been cut. Wahlberg, Grammer and Tucci seem to be having fun in their roles and they make the movie a bit more bearable.

    The plot is an interesting one, however is so drawn out it can be little hard to remain vested. A real, real shame how little the Dino-bots are in the movie, but when they are there, they are awesome.

    The Autobots this time are a bit more flushed out and have a bit more personality. Likely because of how few of them there are. The villains on the other hand seem a bit disorganised in the focus. It seems Bay couldn't decide who the main villain should be, but concluded with an obvious tease to a sequel.

    Overall:
    Transformers AOE isn't terrible, even a bit enjoyable at times, but it drags on so damn much that it really makes it hard to even try to like it.

    Note to the Producers:
    If you make a movie intentionally long, be sure that the screen time is utilized properly. Also, quit making all your female leads look like pin-up hookers. Seriously, WTF? There's a fine line between hot and smut.
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    4
    Don't think this will be much of a review rather a rant of just how HORRIBLE this movie really is. Well first things first like most other peoples problem with the movie is that its just too damn long, a movie made for kids doesn't need to have the running time of a Peter Jackson movie simple as that. I was pretty much on auto pilot after the first 40 minutes of the movie and that'sDon't think this will be much of a review rather a rant of just how HORRIBLE this movie really is. Well first things first like most other peoples problem with the movie is that its just too damn long, a movie made for kids doesn't need to have the running time of a Peter Jackson movie simple as that. I was pretty much on auto pilot after the first 40 minutes of the movie and that's actually when the movie starts to pick up. So my mind was pretty much drained of any knowledge at this point and now here comes the onslaught of explosions you'd expect from a Michael Bay movie but holy **** did it never end i mean seriously someone needs to do a cut of this movie and see just how much time is spent on explosions i bet that could be a movie in itself. Now for the plot of the movie.... well wait which one... the one were Megatron oh wait never mind its Galvatron wants to comeback rule again for the umpteenth time or its the one about "The Seed" and them needing to get rid of it so it doesn't explode killing millions of humans or is it the one were Lockdown is hunting autobots and killing them looking for Optimus Prime well whichever one it was they all where crap. I would have rather just liked to have seen Lockdown hunting down Optimus and the other autobots that would have been a way better movie.

    All the human characters are completely forgettable and have some of the WORST dialog i have ever heard in a movie the back and forth between Cade (Mark Wahlberg) and his daughters boyfriend Shane (Jack Reynor) was some of the most cringeworthy stuff ever to say the least. Kelsey Grammer was annoying and his character was cliched to hell, Nicola Peltz and Stanley Tucci weren't bad but not good just forgettable. Bumblebee not speaking yet by the fourth film is just ridicules also it seemed like they tried to make him more like Skids and Mudflap in his voice reactions and it just didn't work at all. John Goodman as hound was actually one of the only things a liked about the movie i thought he did a really good voice over and his dialog wasn't bad which helped for sure. The effects were crap and a serious step down from previous installments the way the new transformers could construct and deconstruct themselves was some really bad cgi and so was being able to see the metal move around like liquid and make anything and turns into a Beats speaker pill thing which was some of the most shameless advertisement i have seen but it wasn't as bad as the single worst advertisement i have seen which was the Bud Light beer scene in the movie it was pointless other than to just show the product whats worse is that they even tried to be funny with it but it fails hard now i didn't hate the mountain dew transformer nor the Xbox 360 transformer advertisements in previous installments but these were just terrible.

    I can go on for longer but i don't think that's necessary I've gotten my point across that i didn't like the movie.

    Overall i give it a 4.0
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2014
    4
    Yet another disappointment from a transformers movie. It is just the same explosion after explosion and no story development what so ever. At least the vehicles are cool and Mark Walberg is good in it, other wise it would be a 0 from me.
  5. Nov 18, 2014
    4
    This movie shows clearly that the Transformers movie series has reached its limits and has nothing else to offer. Same formula as the others with the twist of Autobots and humans now being enemies. The new Autobot's design is very bad and none of them are likeable, I find them all very annoying. Same goes for the human protagonists. A complete lack of charisma.
  6. Nov 22, 2014
    4
    Mark Wahlberg didn't help at all by replacing Shia LaBeouf as the protagonist. He possibly made the franchise worse. I'm starting to think that it's not the actor, but the writers and director, that should be replaced.
  7. Mar 30, 2015
    4
    This film epitomizes commercialism over art, and that's the reason I hate it. The film as a film is terrible, the poor is incoherent, the film is loaded with dumb humor, poorly developed characters, terrible dialogue, laughable acting, and even more explosions in slow motion. All of this plus the fact that it feels like an almost 3 hour bud light commercial, is why I hate it.
  8. Dec 21, 2014
    4
    Despite good visual effects,the movie suffers from the plot and too much fight scenes that one question that you'll always ask "What The **** is Happening?".This yet the dumbest ,most incoherent Transformers movie Yet.
  9. Dec 27, 2014
    4
    I love Transformers, dearly, always have done. I have the Decepticon logo tattooed on my hand. If that's not a statement, what is?
    Visually great, always is with Michael Bays movies, but the cast!? Mark Walhberg clearly wasn't the correct character for the part. It shows. For 165 minutes.
    It pains me to say that Shia LaBeouf controlled a much stronger, interesting, witty lead role. Mark
    I love Transformers, dearly, always have done. I have the Decepticon logo tattooed on my hand. If that's not a statement, what is?
    Visually great, always is with Michael Bays movies, but the cast!? Mark Walhberg clearly wasn't the correct character for the part. It shows. For 165 minutes.
    It pains me to say that Shia LaBeouf controlled a much stronger, interesting, witty lead role. Mark Walhbergs character is just all around lack-luster, he's not interesting nor funny, neither charismatic or confident.
    For me, the movie fell apart entirely once they unveiled the Dinobots, I had waited many, many years to see Grimlock, Slag, Sludge, Snarl and Swoop on the silver screen but according to my partner, I was asleep. I'm sure they looked pretty nice though.
    The only thing this movie had going for it was visuals.
    The things the movie did NOT have going for it; Cast, Dialogue, Story, Ambition.

    Go watch 2; Revenge of the Fallen.
    or the G1 animated series from the 80's.
    Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2015
    5
    Justo cuando creía que esta franquicia no podía decaer más, parece que se empeñaron en demostrar lo contrario, increíble que una quinta parte esta en proceso.
  11. Jul 14, 2014
    4
    Loud, incoherent, unnecessarily violent, and unbelievably simple-minded, Transformers: Age of Extinction is a 2 and a half-hour long headache that brings the franchise to a seemingly impossible all-new low.
  12. Aug 10, 2014
    4
    It is interesting and shows a nice plot but when watching the movie it comes to something as simple as this; You can sleep during one hour of the movie and when you wake up, it'll be in the exact same scene: vileness and useless violence.
  13. Aug 3, 2014
    5
    A movie you can watch quietly, has great special effects, but then you finish watching the movie, you realize how many flaws this film has, and this greatly diminishes his review of the movie.
  14. Jul 14, 2014
    5
    Okay, Optimus Prime is back! Lots of components were added to the film, just like the new 'dinobots'. However, this is the sad part: the film has about 3 hours of boring and, somehow, clichéd scenes. Your first desire in the first 40 minutes is to go home and leave the film behind. The first " epic robot transformation" happens after these dull 40 minutes and it is when the film tries toOkay, Optimus Prime is back! Lots of components were added to the film, just like the new 'dinobots'. However, this is the sad part: the film has about 3 hours of boring and, somehow, clichéd scenes. Your first desire in the first 40 minutes is to go home and leave the film behind. The first " epic robot transformation" happens after these dull 40 minutes and it is when the film tries to hold you a bit longer on your seats. In a nutshell, the story has no sense whatsoever; there are only fights scenes and nonsense explosions amongst robots, a chin-up teenager girl and her father trying to afford a better life, and unfortunately, the story goes on. Unless you want to get bored quickly, I recommend you to try another film. Expand
  15. Jul 29, 2014
    4
    It could be a fun action movie but it just goes on and on and on. I'm of the type to see a movie whether or not it has good reviews if it seems like a fun movie. Transformer movies tend to be silly and not masterpieces by any definition but at least fun. The plot seemed to have holes in it or they hand waved everything in a moment's notice so you didn't catch all the explanations. TheIt could be a fun action movie but it just goes on and on and on. I'm of the type to see a movie whether or not it has good reviews if it seems like a fun movie. Transformer movies tend to be silly and not masterpieces by any definition but at least fun. The plot seemed to have holes in it or they hand waved everything in a moment's notice so you didn't catch all the explanations. The 'Asian' autobot seemed like a stupid and honestly racist addition and few characters seemed to have any decent character building. Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2014
    5
    This movie was simply...alright. It wasn't anything we haven't seen so far and nothing in the movie shows me that Michael Bay has done nothing to innovate the series. The saddest thing is that he won't learn. The movie will make tons of money, and he will release Transformers 5, which will also make tons of money. Rinse and Repeat. I do like that they tried to rejuvenate the series with aThis movie was simply...alright. It wasn't anything we haven't seen so far and nothing in the movie shows me that Michael Bay has done nothing to innovate the series. The saddest thing is that he won't learn. The movie will make tons of money, and he will release Transformers 5, which will also make tons of money. Rinse and Repeat. I do like that they tried to rejuvenate the series with a new cast, as Mark Wahlberg is leagues better than Shia. His character is a lot more likable than Sam. A new villain in Lockdown, and actually, before I realized they were going to just rehash Megatron again, I really liked him. He was actually pretty menacing. Other than a new villain and cast, Transformers 4 does nothing to set itself apart from the other movies and makes me question why I spend money on these movies. Expand
  17. Jul 27, 2014
    5
    I thought this was a meh. confusing story and character development and it was just too long. I got motion sick near the end. but DA F@#$N' DINOBOTS WERE AWESOME
  18. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    Yep, its a Transformers movie. Being in the Army, i had nothing better to do with my Sunday off, so it was good for killing time. They should probably go ahead and stop continuing these slo-mo abusing auto-bots.
  19. Oct 18, 2014
    4
    The fourth installment of the blockbuster franchise stars Mark Wahlberg as he finds Optimus Prime and the other autobots in order to stop Megatron and his army.
  20. Mar 12, 2015
    6
    Perfect title for a long-dead series, but AoE is the best out of the Bay films. Bought the Bluray for the Atmos soundtrack and the film is highly enjoyable. Wahlberg is brilliant, and the cgi visuals are eye popping. Alternatively for Transformer fans wishing more, watch reruns of the 80's classic and that's all she wrote.
  21. Jul 4, 2014
    5
    If you've seen any of the three previous installments, then you pretty much know what you're getting walking into this one. I actually kind of had high hopes for this one, considering that the unbearable original cast from the previous films wasn't returning and the fact that A-list actor Mark Wahlberg was cast as the main character. Sadly, not even a fresh new cast could make this filmIf you've seen any of the three previous installments, then you pretty much know what you're getting walking into this one. I actually kind of had high hopes for this one, considering that the unbearable original cast from the previous films wasn't returning and the fact that A-list actor Mark Wahlberg was cast as the main character. Sadly, not even a fresh new cast could make this film work. The only decent performance worth mentioning is Stanley Tucci's, which I somewhat enjoyed. Kelsey Grammar's wooden villain was a complete waste. And Nicola Peltz, much like Megan Fox from the first and second film, and Rosie Huntington Whitely from the third film, is reduced to "that hot but dumb girl." The effects are cool to watch for only so long before they become overblown and ridiculous. There are a few cool sequences here and there, but they just aren't enough to make it any better. And with the nearly three-hour runtime, that didn't help much either. Overall, this installment, in no way builds upon the previous three, as it repeats so many mistakes from them. Some people never learn (yes I'm talking about you Michael Bay!) Expand
  22. Jul 25, 2014
    5
    The Transformers franchise is one of the most successful and reviled series in recent memories. At the end of the day, it is a toy commercial, albeit a very long one. It's filled with mind numbing spectacle, and constant product promotion that it borders on parody. It's also shamelessly target itself to its main audience, the ever growing market in China. Nevertheless, it's at leastThe Transformers franchise is one of the most successful and reviled series in recent memories. At the end of the day, it is a toy commercial, albeit a very long one. It's filled with mind numbing spectacle, and constant product promotion that it borders on parody. It's also shamelessly target itself to its main audience, the ever growing market in China. Nevertheless, it's at least consistent and you can give Bay credit for that. Expand
  23. chw
    Mar 12, 2015
    4
    The fourth installment should not have been made, not even if it was directed by somebody like Martin Scorsese. There are so many clichés, but that's not the point. In the fourth installment, nothing's the POINT. It's pointless!
  24. Aug 16, 2014
    5
    To be honest, for a Michael Bay flick, this movie wasn't as bad as many of his other offerings.

    I went to see this with some friends IRL, and I was somewhat surprised at the improvement of this over the previous Transformers movies. Mark Wahlberg delivers a markedly improved performance over the annoying Shia LaBeouf, and his costar Nicola Peltz did the same. Nothing special here.
    To be honest, for a Michael Bay flick, this movie wasn't as bad as many of his other offerings.

    I went to see this with some friends IRL, and I was somewhat surprised at the improvement of this over the previous Transformers movies.

    Mark Wahlberg delivers a markedly improved performance over the annoying Shia LaBeouf, and his costar Nicola Peltz did the same. Nothing special here. The standout in this mediocre explosion porno-fest was Stanley Tucci.

    The plot of the movie was standard Transformers trite. The effects were your standard Michael Bay style of "over the top, in your face". And they were well done, as expected.

    Other than that, I can't really say much more about this movie except that it was merely an average flick. I had fun, and you can too, if you "turn off" your brain and just sit there as the movie bombards you with an explosive set piece at every turn.
    Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2015
    4
    Michael Bay brings to us another installment of the Transformers saga, which, once again, is everything that he has to offer. This time, it's been five years since the disaster in Chicago, and humanity is afraid of both Autobots and Decepticons, hunting them, but, again, humans and Autobots must fight together to save the Earth from its imminent destruction.
    This movie is too long, and
    Michael Bay brings to us another installment of the Transformers saga, which, once again, is everything that he has to offer. This time, it's been five years since the disaster in Chicago, and humanity is afraid of both Autobots and Decepticons, hunting them, but, again, humans and Autobots must fight together to save the Earth from its imminent destruction.
    This movie is too long, and it’s only recommend for anyone who wants to sit through two hours and 46 minutes of action, lots of explosions, and a silly and repetitive story.
    Expand
  26. Feb 1, 2015
    5
    The effects and action are praisable along with Kelsey Grammar appearing as a villain. Sadly, the movie is overshadowed by a plot that's just as terrible as "Revenge of the Fallen" if not worse. There are plenty of plot holes in this movie and the fact that too much of the same overlong cliche like explosions, unfunny comic relief, beautiful girls without a shred of personality, and so onThe effects and action are praisable along with Kelsey Grammar appearing as a villain. Sadly, the movie is overshadowed by a plot that's just as terrible as "Revenge of the Fallen" if not worse. There are plenty of plot holes in this movie and the fact that too much of the same overlong cliche like explosions, unfunny comic relief, beautiful girls without a shred of personality, and so on will make you feel sleepy. This franchise has already OVERSTAYED its welcome. Not to mention this movie is the stupidest way of making the U.S. government look like the bad guys, unlike "Batman: The Dark Knight Returns" which was more philosophical. Expand
  27. Jun 27, 2014
    5
    A destruction fetishist's wet dream, the film's most egregious sin it simply it's length. 2 hours and 45 minutes? Are you kidding? This is not some Braveheart-like epic. Without any character development or real drama to form the skeleton of a movie of this length, what you get is a highly labored final third act. Beyond this simple fact, Mark Whalberg is a decided upgrade over LeBoof. AndA destruction fetishist's wet dream, the film's most egregious sin it simply it's length. 2 hours and 45 minutes? Are you kidding? This is not some Braveheart-like epic. Without any character development or real drama to form the skeleton of a movie of this length, what you get is a highly labored final third act. Beyond this simple fact, Mark Whalberg is a decided upgrade over LeBoof. And they finally got themselves a young starlet of the moment who can act. (But why does Bay insist on giving his actresses that artificially tanned glow? She looks 100% better on Bates Motel - and if you haven't started watching that series, get with it. Great stuff.) Tucci is excellent, as usual. And even the most skeptical critic can't help but get caught up in the fun that is the Autobots when they get juvenile and rambunctious. The new John Goodman character - seemingly pulled straight out of the Big Lebowski - is a refreshing addition. Expand
  28. Jun 28, 2014
    5
    The fourth installment of the blockbuster franchise based on the Hasbro toy line. Great action movie, story was a little better, but not as much. I dont know what most people expect... but i'm happy that saw this movie
  29. Jul 3, 2014
    4
    This 4th installment has a new cast (headed by Mark Wahlberg), but everything else is pretty much the same: the good guys being chased by giant mechanical robots in massive, destructive battles. The first 90 minutes are actually well paced and enjoyable (T.J. Miller adds the comic comments), but then you realize there's another whole movie yet to come. Yes, this is 2:45, which is way tooThis 4th installment has a new cast (headed by Mark Wahlberg), but everything else is pretty much the same: the good guys being chased by giant mechanical robots in massive, destructive battles. The first 90 minutes are actually well paced and enjoyable (T.J. Miller adds the comic comments), but then you realize there's another whole movie yet to come. Yes, this is 2:45, which is way too long for the same noisy chases and fights that we've already seen. The effects are convincing, but not particularly original. Michael Bay's hectic pacing and flared cinematography give it that big screen polish, but somebody should have cut it in half. Expand
  30. Jun 30, 2014
    6
    Expectations lower than dirt are what I had going into this movie. To my surprise the first hour and a twenty minutes were great. Age of Extinction follows all new characters set five years after the events of the third film. The movie’s plot is pretty much the same format we saw in the first three films: “Get the spark before the Decepticons do.” The start of the film focused more onExpectations lower than dirt are what I had going into this movie. To my surprise the first hour and a twenty minutes were great. Age of Extinction follows all new characters set five years after the events of the third film. The movie’s plot is pretty much the same format we saw in the first three films: “Get the spark before the Decepticons do.” The start of the film focused more on introducing the new cast rather than showcasing the
    Transformers, which I personally liked. I was in awe of the creative and energetic camera work, smooth editing, and well executed soundtrack. One thing this movie had going for it right out the gate was the totally revamped cast. Mark Wahlberg did a much better job carrying the film than previous stars. We all can admit that none of us could stomach watching Shia LaBeouf run around screaming for Bumble Bee while the same predicable plot unfolded. The cliché plot is still present in the forth installment, and got boring during the two hour forty-five minute runtime. The movie had a lot of great things going for it during the early stages. It set up characters well, established a sturdy plot for the first couple of acts and captured humor and attention spans very well. Once the film got closer to the halfway mark it started to lose it’s magic. The rest of the film was weak and the prolonged fighting sequences became annoying. Even though the plot is about an alien race taking over earth, the makers pushed the envelope on what humans could realistically, physically withstand. This left me and many in the audience thinking, “That’s impossible,” several times. I felt the superhuman-like portrayal and unrealistic abilities of the main stars to repeatedly escape life-threatening situations, unscathed, was way over the top. It started to remind me of the second and third film in the series. The same sort of battles were beginning to unfold with predictable outcomes. The CGI was the film’s saving grace, as it looked good most of the time with only occasional hiccups. In my opinion the only reason to watch this movie would be to see the special effects on the big screen. There’s really nothing deeper than cool CGI and cheesy laughs in the film, but I have to say I was entertained by how it looked on the outside. Inside, Age of Extinction is nothing we haven’t seen before from Michael Bay.
    Expand
  31. Jun 30, 2014
    4
    this movie action are good but the storyline are **** Michael bay always have an awful storyline movie.The worst franchise movie i ever watched TRANSFORMER
  32. Jun 27, 2014
    5
    There are a lot of issues with this movie like the previous installments. But unlike #1 and #3 there is not enough emotional connection with the characters to overcome and ignore the issues. I saw this in 3D and it is the best 3D movie i have seen by far. The action is great and plenty of explosions but you could care less if the characters live or die in this movie. I did not hate itThere are a lot of issues with this movie like the previous installments. But unlike #1 and #3 there is not enough emotional connection with the characters to overcome and ignore the issues. I saw this in 3D and it is the best 3D movie i have seen by far. The action is great and plenty of explosions but you could care less if the characters live or die in this movie. I did not hate it but this is not a movie to pay money and see unless you are going for the action and 3D. Expand
  33. Jun 27, 2014
    5
    this movie has top class cinematography and visual effect. add epic scores, explosions, robot fights to the equation and you get one cool movie. this movie have its moments, of course, but this moments are overshadowed by the boring events followed.

    with 2.5 hour long, this movie feel dragged in some part. the plot follow a linear path but the pacing is-i don't know the right word for
    this movie has top class cinematography and visual effect. add epic scores, explosions, robot fights to the equation and you get one cool movie. this movie have its moments, of course, but this moments are overshadowed by the boring events followed.

    with 2.5 hour long, this movie feel dragged in some part. the plot follow a linear path but the pacing is-i don't know the right word for it- too fluctuated. it can change from one boring scene to epic scene so abruptly. it makes you excited one moment then bored minutes later. there's just less visually amazing robot fights and to many unnecessary dialogs, overdone, silly, failed humor, annoying clichés and character decisions. editing flaws, i guess.

    i don't know if not casting any of the cast of the previous movies is a great move because there's just too many new characters here, both humans and robot wise, and they didn't handle it very well. i didn't feel any connection to any of the new characters. there's just not enough background story and good performances. literary, the acting is so bad (i meant no offense) and the chemistry is nonexistence.

    there are plot holes here and there, but no major stuff, you can ignore it. no character development. a few cliché turns. they often mix dialogs with loud sound effects, soundtrack and action sequence making me hard to understand anything-especially since i am not native English speaker. however, there's this one scene that shocked me, they choose a surprising take on funny sidekick guy. not enough character development to affect me that much but still..... shocked.

    anyway, they have implanted the concept of Optimus Prime becoming somewhat bitter. a good concept if only they dig deeper to this potential sub plot. but no, they just hovering on the subject one or two times then resolve it so abruptly.

    bottom line, it's a cool movie, generally, but with to many boring moments.
    Expand
  34. Jul 5, 2014
    4
    Featuring an unforgivably inflated running time, stilted characters, and a nearly incomprehensible narrative, Michael Bay's newest contribution to the "Transformers" franchise renders the viewer unimpressed, irritated, and - most importantly - tired.
  35. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    I went into the theater with relatively low expectations because of what would likely be a confusing plot and underdeveloped characters. Transformers: Age of Extinction was supposed to be a fresh start for the series--there's a new set of human characters and new Cybertronians (or Transformers). However, I honestly feel this fourth film (the start of a new trilogy?) doesn't really improveI went into the theater with relatively low expectations because of what would likely be a confusing plot and underdeveloped characters. Transformers: Age of Extinction was supposed to be a fresh start for the series--there's a new set of human characters and new Cybertronians (or Transformers). However, I honestly feel this fourth film (the start of a new trilogy?) doesn't really improve much.

    Mark Whalberg as Cade Yeager is a good action lead, and is actually quite inventive/creative and able to lend a hand to the Autobots several times. Still, how can a mechanic/amateur inventor be so tough? His daughter Tessa isn't too much of a damsel in distress or just a pretty face; she is able to take care of herself for the most part. But stills feel kind of pointless to me as a character. She was probably cast in this movie primarily for looks. Her boyfriend Shane can drive and shoot, but honestly doesn't do much either. Cade's friend Lucas is useless as well and %SPOILER% dies early on in the film. Stanley Tucci as Joshua Joyce, head of company KSI who build their own Transformers, is a kind of funny character and provides comic-relief. Kelsey Grammer as Harold Attinger is a good human antagonist.

    In terms of giant mechanical robot beings, there are some new Cybertronians who have sleek designs. But, they are still based on human stereotypes (Asian-like ninja warrior, large cigar-chewing gun-toting soldier, etc). There are MORE enemies to fight--Lockdown and his crew, human-made "improved" Transformers, and some small mechanical animal-creatures. The dinobots, the reason some will watch T4, are not in the film until the Autobots conveniently need reinforcements. They don't have enough screentime and are introduced last minute.

    Optimus Prime has a bigger role in T4 AOE. He shows a more cynical and darker side. Lockdown is interesting but wasn't expanded upon as a character and honestly doesn't feel like too much of a threat. Optimus is able to defeat him relatively easily, and Earth and it's humans don't ever really feel in danger of "extinction". Really, most of the characters--human and Cybertronian, needed more development. But the movie was already long as it is.

    Michael Bay and his Transformers films have plenty of flaws. One, the plots and stories of the films don't make much sense and are hard to follow. Two, about 80% of the films are CGI, basically . Too many explosions! Three, Michael Bay practically harasses his female actresses by objectifying them with shots of them in semi-erotic positions, with shots of their asses, and with crude jokes. Four, there are racial stereotypes. Five, you don't remember the names of most of the humans and Cybertronians (or Transformers) and you don't really care either.

    When I first watched it, it was kind of enjoyable. But the more I think about it, the more I find flaws and mistakes and I feel displeased. So, if you liked the previous films you'll like this and any more films coming soon. Honestly though, I feel kind of sad that this will probably make over 1 billion dollars while other much better films will gross less money. Why do these films and Bay have such financial sucess?There is too much CGI and destruction porn. Explosions and Autobots/Decepticons used to be enough to entertain me, but now...it's not enough. I feel the effects of franchise fatigue, and I feel tired and weary of these films.

    So in the end Transformers 4: Age of Extinction feels disappointing. There is potential for these films but it has yet to be fully used. I wanted to like this, I wanted to have a fresh start for this series but it isn't going to happen. I wonder if it ever will. There are less (lame) jokes and humor, less sexual assaulting by Michael Bay on his actresses, less racism and sexism, but it isn't enough. T4 has it's moments: well executed action scenes, interesting story ideas and concepts (that weren't touched upon fully or expanded), some nice humor, etc, but... I'm starting to wish that these movies would end. Unless they get a new screenwriter and director. Please! Someone make it happen! Don't waste your time or money.

    If you liked this review, read my other ones on movies, TV shows, and videogames. I have reviewed Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men Days of Future Past, Godzilla, Blended, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Lego Movie, and more. I am actually still trying to find time for other film reviews, such as Robocop, Non-Stop, Divergent, Need for Speed, The Monuments Men, etc. I have also reviewed the TV shows Sleepy Hollow, Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, The 100, I Wanna Marry Harry, Crisis, and more.

    Good bye! Sincerely, AG732.
    Expand
  36. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This "Transformers" installment was alright. It's wasn't bad, but not great either, just...alright. First off, I'm comfortable with the new live action cast; not that I had a problem with LeBeouf or Fox or anyone from the previous films, but the films were getting repetitive, whereas this one feels a bit more fresh. The only human character I had beef with was Lucas, because I found him to be quite annoying and useless. While it was somewhat sad the way he died, I was just glad there wouldn't be any more dumb quips from his constantly close-up face. Also, Cade and Tessa's whole "I'm an overprotective parent, and I'm a teen who wants to be free" schtick has been done to death in so many other movies; I really didn't care for that here. However, switching gears a little, the fact that the military wasn't really involved in this movie was actually a fine change of pace. It was more focused on the government and KSI, the company that has obtained the metal the Transformers are made of (which, by the way, is uncreatively dubbed "transformium," and that IS what they call it throughout the film). Now on to the Transformers; for one, they kept the Autobot cast short, with only Prime, Bumblebee, and Brains (Ratchet as well, but he dies in the beginning) being the only returning characters from the other films. Hound, Drift, and Crosshairs were all new to the film, and they were alright. Lockdown is a newly-introduced Decepticon who was pretty badass in my opinion, so there's not much to say there. While Galvatron, a reincarnated Megatron with Prime's likeness, was a cool addition, I'd thought he'd have a bigger role than he'd turned out to have. His "I'll get you next time Gadget"-esque quip near the end suggests he'll be back for the fifth installment, so there's hope for him there. Now, on to my biggest issue; the Dinobots. While they were visually awesome, they weren't in the movie for that long. Since the beginning of the movie they were teased, but they only physically showed up to kick ass in the last act, which disappointed me. In fact, though the concept was cool, they really didn't need to be in the film at all; they only serve as a physical metaphor for the "Extinction" part of the movie title. That whole concept of "an asteroid didn't wipe out the dinosaurs, Transformers did" was pretty dumb as well; they could've done something different with that. If I can add two more small things to nitpick about, it'd be the product placement (though the Bud Light scene was actually pretty comical) and Prime's unexplained rocket boosters when he zooms into space at the very end (wouldn't that have been quite the game-changer if he had those for the whole movie? Where'd he get them??). So all-in-all, for this movie not being a reboot, but merely continuing the story with a different cast of characters, it was, again, just alright. Usually when it comes to a film series, I find myself not liking fourths and fifths unless they're done well, and while not phenomenal, this movie did okay. I say check it out and judge for yourselves. Expand
  37. Jul 2, 2014
    6
    For a Transformers movie there is not enough Transformers. Mark Wahlberg was good better than Shia Labeouf in my opinion. I cant totally hate on any Transformer movie as I am an action movie fan and this movie does do that well. When there isn't action however it gets boring and a lot of cheesy dialogue. My least favourite Transformers to date.
  38. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    It might be the best Transformers movie ever made, but it still suffers with serious mistakes.

    The opening plot was amazing, and the 3D is stunning. The first half of the movie is highly entertaining, because it's so damn unique. But when I saw the second part of the film it felt like I already have seen this, so it was a bit lengthy. The main disadvantages with this fourth installment
    It might be the best Transformers movie ever made, but it still suffers with serious mistakes.

    The opening plot was amazing, and the 3D is stunning. The first half of the movie is highly entertaining, because it's so damn unique. But when I saw the second part of the film it felt like I already have seen this, so it was a bit lengthy. The main disadvantages with this fourth installment of Transformers is that they changed the main character. Another thing is that the 3D could have had more effects. As the previous movies from Michael Bay, they suffer with weird storylines and bad endings, which is exactly what Age Of Extinction got. The CGI is the best I’ve seen in a Transformers movie, and yes there are much negative things in this movie, but I had a good time watching this. The reasons are that it’s so damn unique and entertaining to watch, and the action is spectacular! I love explosions, but with Michael Bay it's to much, even for me.

    The most groovy Transformers movie to date.

    Transformers: Age Of Extinction gets a 6.9/10
    Expand
  39. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    I like the action and Stanley Tucci, and so of the jokes, I didn't like the girl. The movie was dull compare to the others. The plot was ok, but i felt that they ended it was too fast.
  40. Jul 1, 2014
    6
    Everything except transformers is too cheesy and unnecessary (I mean all that family and government crap, stupid chick rescue sequences also). Wahlberg was okay, playing a loser as always. Tucci was really good. The dinibots and the spaceship were cool. Overall, the movie was too long.
  41. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    The suburb battle sequences and draw dropping cinematic's is the only thing keeping this movie watchable and even they become repetitive after a almost 3 hours squeal. The director had a bad case of watching things explode to the point of them becoming pointless and yet again repetitive. Age Of Extinction practically destroyed a perfect series and turned Transformers into a mediocreThe suburb battle sequences and draw dropping cinematic's is the only thing keeping this movie watchable and even they become repetitive after a almost 3 hours squeal. The director had a bad case of watching things explode to the point of them becoming pointless and yet again repetitive. Age Of Extinction practically destroyed a perfect series and turned Transformers into a mediocre picture. B class acting, characters, script and direction make this as one of the most disappointing movies of the year.The half hearted story may be enough to keep you entertain because boy do explosions soon wear off. Expand
  42. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    I'm definitely a fan of the Transformers film series but i think, for me, Age Of Extinction is my least favorite out of the four. The movie is pointlessly long. They could have easily cut it down to a 1h 45min film or so. Secondly the characters are pretty boring and the plot for the movie is kind of weak. I definitely prefer Shia LaBeouf to Mark Wahlberg. Its basically Transformers 3 allI'm definitely a fan of the Transformers film series but i think, for me, Age Of Extinction is my least favorite out of the four. The movie is pointlessly long. They could have easily cut it down to a 1h 45min film or so. Secondly the characters are pretty boring and the plot for the movie is kind of weak. I definitely prefer Shia LaBeouf to Mark Wahlberg. Its basically Transformers 3 all over again - the action/fight scenes, the spaceships, the destruction. Lockdown doesn't really *seem* like a huge threat, pretty easily defeated by the Autobots towards the end with Bay saving up Galvatron for the next film. I couldn't agree more with the San Francisco Chronicle: "Imagine if instead of creating new music, a recording artist kept putting out the exact same album, just playing the songs a little louder each time. That's what it feels like watching Transformers: Age of Extinction." The destruction and fighting, at times, seems pretty pointless. Nonetheless the action which we basically get to see in the last hour is good but nothing new or exciting. The Dinobots were a good addiction to the movie though. Overall its a good movie to pass time but nothing we haven't seen before. Expand
  43. Jun 29, 2014
    5
    Introducing new assembly of human cast, the movie offers fresh perspective, while not exactly stellar, but they are better than the previous one. Mark Wahlberg is a legitimate action star with a touch of comedy; he tries his best despite the lackluster script and does manage to pull off a few humorous scenes. Action does improve, after three movies with at least some jumbled scenes of slowIntroducing new assembly of human cast, the movie offers fresh perspective, while not exactly stellar, but they are better than the previous one. Mark Wahlberg is a legitimate action star with a touch of comedy; he tries his best despite the lackluster script and does manage to pull off a few humorous scenes. Action does improve, after three movies with at least some jumbled scenes of slow motion debris, this time around there's more clarity to be had. It's not as much as a visual masterpiece as Michael Bay still spams junks to audience faces after all these years, but action fans would acquire some sense of satisfaction.

    Plot is really hectic as there are too many conveniences throughout the almost three hours span of the movie. It's best not to question how hacking is done since the characters infiltrate high level security as if they merely login to social media, or how they arrive precisely at the right time, neglecting time and space boundary just so scenes can be continued. Dialogues are juvenile bantering at best; it's downright silly even with seasoned veteran actors delivering them. Not to mention the soundtracks and camera angles try so hard to convince audience that each scene is as dramatic as climax of Shakespeare's play.

    While the plot or motivation can be sketchy, there's over-abundance of action sequence, back to back in a row. There hasn't been a movie that hurls explosions until the brink of exhaustion since, well, the last Transformers flick. It's quite a spectacle and clearly the most polished area of the movie. Movements are more focused as the Transformers looking more fluid. The movie hits its highest point when choreographing complicated acrobatic stunt with both the robots and humans involved. Effects are nicely done with little respite between cities they destroyed and they are translated relatively well with 3D.

    As one might expect from Transformers, it delivers colossal destruction in spades and little of anything else. At some point the movie lowers the attempt of making the plot plausible in exchange of visual bombardment. Those going for action sci-fi will definitely leave the cinema tired and wobbling with explosion overdose.
    Expand
  44. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    There is so many things you will like in this movie...
    There is some things that you can't understand,just watching the first movie,the second(that is my second favorite),and the third.
    I recommend this movie to everyone,The action is very cool and i had a good laugh in sometimes.
  45. Jul 7, 2014
    6
    this is a good film I don't know what movie alot of people watched and posted there review here or they are on drugs, the other 3 films are better but that doesn't mean this one is bad, this movie should be watched for the dinobots alone
  46. Jul 2, 2014
    5
    I actually thought the first half of the film was a lot of fun and had some great really well done action sequaces but then the film started to become really overlong and full of pretty cheezy bad dialogue and I kinda almost felt like I wanted to walk out it just became super competitive with its self, all though the performances were good and i was surprised to find my self actuallyI actually thought the first half of the film was a lot of fun and had some great really well done action sequaces but then the film started to become really overlong and full of pretty cheezy bad dialogue and I kinda almost felt like I wanted to walk out it just became super competitive with its self, all though the performances were good and i was surprised to find my self actually really routing for the girl a lot in the film. Expand
  47. Jul 7, 2014
    6
    Pésima película, historia sin sentido; actuaciones mal logradas. Lo únio bueno que puedo decir son sus efectos especiales, fueron muy bien logrados. Pero a estás alturas ya todo es de relleno, debió haberse quedado en la segunda.
  48. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the movie. I loved the autobot who turns into a corvette, its pretty awesome when his outfit looks like a jacket! And Lockdown, i really loved him. He could'v destroyed Optimus, and his gadgets and he transform into a Lamborghini! "You think you were born? You were built! And they want you back" this made me feel that optimus prime is in **** now.
    Few things I didn't like was that some parts could'v shortened up. And one part where a transformer tried crushing mark and mark used an alien weapon to stop it. Thats just bull****. I think that's the biggest mistake of the movie. Could'v edited the movie better. I felt like the movie editors were in a rush!
    Expand
  49. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    the director done too much. but still i love blowing things up so i loved it.
    charecters are not at all coordinated, don't expect the movie with your common sense, just enjoy with the tide. draggy but worth the money and moreover everything the director created a T-REX autobot, wow!
  50. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    Transformers age of extinction is for sure better than the second one,it is also the definition of a dumb ,ridicoulous,stupid,loud and senseless but otherwise fun and entertaining popcorn action flick ,with writing of a child,explosions of the michael bay's style and an overall package that is HOLLLY HELL LOOOOOOOOOONG.

    The story is like somebody like michael bay came up to me ,while i
    Transformers age of extinction is for sure better than the second one,it is also the definition of a dumb ,ridicoulous,stupid,loud and senseless but otherwise fun and entertaining popcorn action flick ,with writing of a child,explosions of the michael bay's style and an overall package that is HOLLLY HELL LOOOOOOOOOONG.

    The story is like somebody like michael bay came up to me ,while i was playing with transformers toys and said"hey want 50 million dollars,just write the most cliche,cheesy,stupid story with careless characters who can't joke for **** and make it looooooooooong".Seriously michael bay 3 hours of this nonsense is more than i can stomach ,think back of wolf of wall street,imagine if it had bad writing and giant robots and change leonardo dicaprio to mark wahlberg and voila !Mark Wahlberg is a significant improvement over Shia Laboots,and Stanley Tucci brings the only good humor in this movie,and even he gets turned into John Turturro's character in the third act,Nicola Pelts is Megan Fox 2.5 ,dammn she was hot though,her acting not so much,Jack Rennor was awful and the whole "father despises her daughter's boyfrined"family cliche was one of the most cheesiest i've witnessed in my life, the whole dialogue and the story is just like that.Autobots and the other robots are actually very much full of life and actually have some damn personalities unlike humans,optimus is a strong leader as always voiced by wonderful Peter Cullen,Bumblebee's always very cute,Hound is a fatboy who you don't want to mess with,Crosshairs is a badass sharpshooter and Drift is an honorful samurai,they all come together to create the best autobot team we've had in this franchise,and Lockdown is the most badass villain we've had too,his ship is one of the best designed ships i've seen in movie history,and the whole scene were the humans and autobots are stuck exploring it was ,very riveting and surprising at every turn.

    The action ,well when it's not always about 56 million tons of fireworks blowing up,is really fun and very cool,the fights are nicely choreographed even though sometimes they are a bit shaky,when autobots come and fight decepticons it feels very satisfuing ,especially when they utilise each others' key abilities and work as a team ,hell even the good old Mark Wahlberg put up a good fight with his alien gun,that's something i admire and it already makes him better than Laboots.Michael Bay for all his flaws is still a very competent director of action,if he just stops the fireworks and gets down to robot vs robot bussiness he can reach his long lost level of action like in the rock and bad boys 2 ,the only great movies of his.The much advertised dinobots however lacked screentime and i saw only 4 out of 5 of them ,Grimlock ,Sludge,Snarl and Swoop where the hell was Slag ?however seeing Optimus charge while riding a fire breathing dinobot is just plain BADASS.I have to applaud the IML effects guys for delivering such a live,believable cast of robots,with superb, near perfect animations,and a stylish visual look,as well as sound, the weapons sound cybertronian and pack a punch ,robots sound weighty like they should ,this of course combines to make the most action packed and visually glorious tranformers movie yet.However there are a ccouple of times were the action gets boring mainly becuase of the 2 and a half hour mark,and endless amount of explosions,also some very shaky camera human fights.overall it's still fun,just too long.

    Put aside the story filled with cheese,lack of logic,and a big lack of in depth human characters and some clunky action in third act and you a movie that fullfills an avid action fan's needs and very much satisfies a transformers fan, i however am somewhere in the middle ,that's why i give it 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  51. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    Michael Bay just doesn't seem to understand the fans, does he? After the first two incredible films, he has completely dropped the ball on these last two. While I enjoyed this movie a bit more than Dark of the Moon, it was still a mediocre film. The acting was overdone, the plot was so full of holes it may as well have been swiss cheese, the product placement was ad nauseam, and the lengthMichael Bay just doesn't seem to understand the fans, does he? After the first two incredible films, he has completely dropped the ball on these last two. While I enjoyed this movie a bit more than Dark of the Moon, it was still a mediocre film. The acting was overdone, the plot was so full of holes it may as well have been swiss cheese, the product placement was ad nauseam, and the length of the movie was just ridiculous. After 22 minutes worth of previews, you end up sitting in the theater for over 3 hours for a film that is clearly overproduced and underwritten. Yes, the transformers were cool. The action sequences and battles (at least the ones not involving Mark Walhberg almost single handedly taking out 40 foot war machines) were well done and the anger elicited by some of the Autobots felt genuine. Yes, Stanley Tucci's character is hilarious. TJ Miller and Tucci provided plenty of comedic relief and most of it felt on point... something a lot of apocalyptic action films miss on. YES, Nicola Peltz is absolutely stunning. Bay played the jail bait card with her throughout the movie, causing people in the audience to instantly Google her after the film, relieved that she's actually 19 years old so they no longer feel like pedophiles. And yes, Grimlock was freaking badass. Combine a love for dinosaurs with a love for awesome mechs and Grimlock is pretty much the coolest thing ever. But those handful of positives aren't enough to redeem a movie with terrible acting by the protagonist, a horrible plot, and over-edited and overproduced action. The movie wasn't horrible and was at least better than the third installment but it ultimately fails miserably to capture what made the first two films so great. Expand
  52. Oct 21, 2014
    5
    It's a Michael Bay Transformers movie. You know what to expect. If you're not a fan of the series then don't watch it. However even if you're like me and enjoyed the previous movies you may be in for disappointment. It's easily the weakest in the series.

    Surprisingly there's not as much action this time around. Instead it tries to focus more on it's story, which is far from the series
    It's a Michael Bay Transformers movie. You know what to expect. If you're not a fan of the series then don't watch it. However even if you're like me and enjoyed the previous movies you may be in for disappointment. It's easily the weakest in the series.

    Surprisingly there's not as much action this time around. Instead it tries to focus more on it's story, which is far from the series strong suit. It falls short thanks to boring characters, both human and transformer. The plot is also very nonsensical and filled with holes. Autobots will be in one scene and disappear from the next with no explanation in order to focus on Optimus Prime in one on one duels. The film also seems to forget that it's enemies have the ability to rebuild themselves. Every attempt at humor falls flat.

    So how's the action? It's still big explosions and lots of destruction. Easily the film's most entertaining aspect. Still, the majority of it just ends up becoming visual noise. The series biggest appeal can't even save it as an explosion filled popcorn-flick. I

    It's a really dull film. Not even my typical mindset of "I'm here for the explosions" could bring me much enjoyment. I kept watching until the end, but I was never really satisfied. It's a mediocre film. One that I give a 5.3/10.
    Expand
  53. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    The first half build up was good but it just went wrong after that. The rest of the movie is filled with mindless action and explosions sadly. Its a pity it didn't stay good. I give it a 6 because I wasn't bored just slightly annoyed with the direction.
  54. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    Less annoying than the past 3 films due to Shia Lebeouf being absent and in his place the much more appreciable Mark Walhberg. However the plot is even more dumbed down then the last one, though not as desperately incompetent as the second. This film feels like 4 hours of mindless action sequences and sub plots that are not entertaining but rather corny and stupid. Typical Michael BayLess annoying than the past 3 films due to Shia Lebeouf being absent and in his place the much more appreciable Mark Walhberg. However the plot is even more dumbed down then the last one, though not as desperately incompetent as the second. This film feels like 4 hours of mindless action sequences and sub plots that are not entertaining but rather corny and stupid. Typical Michael Bay style dialogue, the human subplot of the films remain boring and stupid and you can't help but dislike the movie for its very stupid plot. The film has redeeming qualities but very little, the robot fighting is cool and all the action somewhat makes up for the lack of competent plot scattered throughout this film (Not like you actually went to go watch a Michael Bay film for the quality of the plot). Overall painfully long and disastrous plot that breaks new grounds for just how awful a Transformers movie's plot can get but the action and visuals somewhat save this film for total failure as a movie. Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    Sadly, this movie doesn't make the best first impression. There are too many moving parts (not just talking about the Transformers themselves but the structure of the plot).

    There are too many villains, most of whom require their own battle scene in order to be vanquished. This extends the movie to a length that stars to feel too much even for a fan like myself, especially when the
    Sadly, this movie doesn't make the best first impression. There are too many moving parts (not just talking about the Transformers themselves but the structure of the plot).

    There are too many villains, most of whom require their own battle scene in order to be vanquished. This extends the movie to a length that stars to feel too much even for a fan like myself, especially when the fight scenes become less about the fighting and more like images slowly flying by to the pace of a song taking over the real sounds, cutting to random slow-motion glimpses at the human heroes nodding with approval or showing their mild horror at being caught in the crossfire over and over.

    There are too many agendas, and it is hard to keep track of who wants what and whether they just turned their coat.

    A massive amount of characters that really do not contribute in any interesting ways is also making the story sag. Amongst the Autobots, only Prime and Bumblebee remain of the familiar characters that I could recognize, and the rest form a weird team of a metal Dum Dum Dugan, a samurai, and a loudmouth rebel who does very little rebelling in the end despite challenging his leader's authority in every other scene.

    In the direct aftermath, this movie is disappointing. Cut an hour away, make it more contained, and it would have worked beautifully.
    Expand
  56. May 30, 2015
    5
    It`s entertaining, but don`t expect anything beyond a popcorn movie.Do not watch it before any decent movie. ONly watch it when you can`t find anything else interesting. or you will regret it. Once again nice action, but like the previous transformers unnecessary stuff. Mark Wahlbergs character has a daughter just to serve Micheal Bays needs. I f you`re gonna have a girl running around canIt`s entertaining, but don`t expect anything beyond a popcorn movie.Do not watch it before any decent movie. ONly watch it when you can`t find anything else interesting. or you will regret it. Once again nice action, but like the previous transformers unnecessary stuff. Mark Wahlbergs character has a daughter just to serve Micheal Bays needs. I f you`re gonna have a girl running around can you at least come up with a legit reason for it.Plenty of opportunity for her to get away from the chaos, but it never happens. I will say their was less of the unnecessary stuff in this one, but it was enough to annoy me. At least they got rid of Shia LaBeoufs character and all the characters that follow him along like his parents.Also it`s a very long movie, so if your not entertained the length will make it even worst. Plase never give Micheal Bay a Transformer movie again if you want them to be any good. Please don`t give him any movie with characters I want to see. Expand
  57. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    OK so let me start off by saying that i am an avid transformers fan but i'm in no way a fanboy, yes the movie might not make any sense in the transformers world, but i honestly enjoyed every second of it, some parts literally had me on the edge of my seat waiting for that next crunching moment, This movie really shows that it is a Michael Bay film because there are a ton of explosions. AndOK so let me start off by saying that i am an avid transformers fan but i'm in no way a fanboy, yes the movie might not make any sense in the transformers world, but i honestly enjoyed every second of it, some parts literally had me on the edge of my seat waiting for that next crunching moment, This movie really shows that it is a Michael Bay film because there are a ton of explosions. And i think that may have been the downfall of the film. Some parts were incredibly stupid and goofy not making any sense at all why they are even there, I think Michael Bay tried too hard to add some comical relief to the film. Some parts honestly looked like a young kid thought the idea for certain scenes. But if you can look past the goofiness and strange storyline i honestly think you will enjoy the film. After watching it, i thought to myself, Its not as bad as every said it was and its definitely not the worst film i have ever seen, It was action packed all the way through and the animations looked amazing as always. But in all fairness the last transformers movie should of been the last one and there didn't need to be a sequel to an already great movies from Michael Bay. So with all that said, This is a movie worth getting on Blu-Ray, as that is the same version i watched today. Expand
  58. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    Well, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers: Age Of Extinction is genuinely not an awful, nor even bad film, just a flawed one. Michael Bay, despite common misconception is not an inherently bad film-maker, and although he has his fair share of massive misfires, this movie is less so aWell, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers: Age Of Extinction is genuinely not an awful, nor even bad film, just a flawed one. Michael Bay, despite common misconception is not an inherently bad film-maker, and although he has his fair share of massive misfires, this movie is less so a trainwreck and more so a misfire on a smaller scale than some of his previous efforts at a Transformers movie. Expand
  59. Nov 8, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is exactly what you expect from a Transformer movie. If you like Transformer movies, this will fit the bill just fine. What really bums me out, is that T.J. Miller's character is killed in the first 20 minutes of the movies. We'll ignore the fact that, though he was a close member of the family, and it is his horrible betrayal that sets the events of the film in motion, he's never even mentioned again. We'll ignore that and bemoan the fact that a horrible opportunity for comedy was needlessly missed. He really could have elevated this movie, and he does, for 20 minutes, until he's cooked alive in asphalt lava by some evil transformer bounty hunter. There's a lot of Stupid in this movie, but man, that one just really sucked. Expand
  60. Jul 27, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers 4 Was Quite A Good Film. It Had Funny Jokes Awesome Action Sequences And Some Cool Music. The Plot Is About A Dad Who Lives With His Daughter After The Death Of The Mother. There Trying To Sell Scrap Metal Creations To Make Money For Her Daughter To Get To College. There Is Another Guy But He Dies Straight Away So Who Cares. The Military Are Killing Autobot's To Use Them To Make New Creations. But They're All Attached To Megatron With Makes Them Deceptions Without These Idiotic Humans Knowing (Cuz Sceihche Iesh Awhshumez). This Movie Is Starring Horny Teenager, Marky Mark From Good Vibrations, Crappy FBI driver And More Expand
  61. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    Transformers 4 is an average movie. I liked the cast. Mark Whalberg did a nice job, could do better. Niole Peltz payed her part pretty well. The best actor was the bald guy tho i dont know his name. The movie would be A LOT BETTER if they divided it into 2 different ttles, since this one was a bit too long, and they tried to squeeze in too much. What I was disappointed, was the generalTransformers 4 is an average movie. I liked the cast. Mark Whalberg did a nice job, could do better. Niole Peltz payed her part pretty well. The best actor was the bald guy tho i dont know his name. The movie would be A LOT BETTER if they divided it into 2 different ttles, since this one was a bit too long, and they tried to squeeze in too much. What I was disappointed, was the general lack of Dinobots, which seemed as a main premise of the movie. On the other hand the new transformerss' characters were well established and I liked it. What i didnt like, was concentrating on the human characters a bit too much.
    A lot of problems could be fixed, if Transformers 4 was divided into 2 different installments. In general, it is not a terrible movie ( Although I felt a lack of creativity and it got a bit boring in the middle ) but it is not outstanding either. It is somewhere Between TF 1 ( the best) and Revenge of the Fallen ( the worst ). If you liked the first movies, you will love this one at some moments and hate it in the other moments.
    Expand
  62. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    Transformers: Age of Extinction isn't a perfect movie by a long shot. it has it's strong and weak points. If you are reading this before seeing the movie, go in with an open mind. It's Michael Bay and you should understand what you're going to get - entertainment. There is no doubt that this movie is entertaining, exciting, and just fun for everyone. There are moments where you feel withTransformers: Age of Extinction isn't a perfect movie by a long shot. it has it's strong and weak points. If you are reading this before seeing the movie, go in with an open mind. It's Michael Bay and you should understand what you're going to get - entertainment. There is no doubt that this movie is entertaining, exciting, and just fun for everyone. There are moments where you feel with what's going on, many moments where you will laugh, and moments where you will be awed by the Transformers in action. The Transformer universe is now set for years to come, with a new start that can open any realm of possibility (via the ending). I may be biased because I've been such a fan of the franchise for so long, but going in open minded may help you look past some of these missteps and walk out being satisfied with how the Autobots have handled things this time around. Expand
  63. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    in terms of plot and it's about as dumb as the first three. But the new and more charismatic cast of human characters(with the exception of a few) eat up the screen whenever they are on. The auto-bots are the best they've been in this then in the whole series and each one is distinguishable. By the way Lockdown is a badass villain and probably the best character in the movie.
  64. Nov 17, 2014
    5
    Transform This
    What can Michael Bay do in his sleep? The answer—and there is only one answer—is massive amounts of action and huge explosions that light up movie theatres everywhere. Non-stop action with as little dialogue as possible and more destruction than a F5 tornado tearing ass across Alabama. Boats flying, planes crashing, and every girl screaming for her life and to top it all
    Transform This
    What can Michael Bay do in his sleep? The answer—and there is only one answer—is massive amounts of action and huge explosions that light up movie theatres everywhere. Non-stop action with as little dialogue as possible and more destruction than a F5 tornado tearing ass across Alabama. Boats flying, planes crashing, and every girl screaming for her life and to top it all off, the hottest young woman Bay can find as the damsel in distress. Transformers Age of Extinction has all of this.
    Leading up to release, I saw trailers filled with raw action and introduced my favorite characters from the Transformers franchise. The Dinobots. Colossal transforming robots that take the shape of Dinosaur—twice the size and twice the power—and Grimlock, the Dino-bot leader. He is an over sized Tyrannosaurus Rex with a temper on a really short fuse. New looks for the returning characters from the previous movie and new characters from the franchise’s roots. Super car manufacturer from the round the world, send their fastest and most expensive products for the cast. Every Transformers movie has really only been expensive car commercials with a bad love story and a lot of explosions. Of course, this is a stereotype of Bay’s works but, Age of Extinction look to have more potential than its predecessors. Now I normally rate movies by how engaging—via story and action—they are and how cringe worthy any scene is. I followed the movie like a hawk since was announced and thought the new human cast would do better than the previous one. I was excited.
    Now since I finished this action packed thrill ride, I was half impressed and half disappointed. As I had predicted, the movie was filled with mammoth action scenes and enough explosions to make a fireworks display jealous. What Age of Extinction doesn't have is a plot—no beginning, middle, or end to speak of. The best description of the conflict is the US government is responding to the aftermath or the transformer invasion in the previous movie by hiring a robot bounty hunter, Lockdown. In exchange for a device that create more resources for human made transformers, the CIA tracks down the leader of the Auto-bots—the good robots—Optimus Prime. The only problem for the human is they have brought the original enemy from the first three movies back from the dead. After the Auto-bots are out of options and on the run, they recruit the Dino-bots to end the fight. That makes up the bulk of the story elements, the rest action. I didn’t find the story engaging. I cringed as I watched one of my favorite franchises get ruined. Transformers Age of Extinction is an action scene with short interaction between the human characters and transformers. Age of Extinction is all action and insignificant exposition with a pathetic love story between the main human character’s daughter and some Irish guy. Oh, did I mention that product placement is too much with appearances from Bud Light and Dr. Dre’s Beats. Let’s be honest, no one goes to see a Transformers movie for the human, they want to see sentient robots destroy each other.
    The most redeeming character from the entire cast is Lockdown. He is the perfect, heartless, genius enemy that the franchise needed but he is not enough to make Bay’s critics jump. Critics tore into this movie for its lack of story and how the Age of Extinction seems lazy. For example Rolling Stone’s Peter Tavers said this in his review of Age of Extinction, “Bay, with the help of screenwriter Ehren Kruger, is telling the same damn story as he did before.” Peter admits in his review that there are new characters but other than that he rips Bay’s setup and execution of Age of Extinction apart.
    To sum up Michael Bay’s newest smash fest, Transformers Age of Extinction. I give this a 5/10. It’s a good action movie but its lack of flowing story keeps it to an average score. The movie is a never ending action roller coasters. If you are looking for great action move, Transformers is a good way to waste the day away but if you’re craving more than what Bay can offer, look elsewhere.
    Expand
  65. Sep 26, 2014
    6
    well this was good really considering these guys are the only guys who can make these movies and really guys we would praise the director for really taking time to do all the stunts and also the animations were well done..the director has maintained the quality of the transformers or made then better especially Optimus Prime's look,but didn't like Mega-tron..who did not maintain his namewell this was good really considering these guys are the only guys who can make these movies and really guys we would praise the director for really taking time to do all the stunts and also the animations were well done..the director has maintained the quality of the transformers or made then better especially Optimus Prime's look,but didn't like Mega-tron..who did not maintain his name or retain his name after rebelling from his garage guys...but really they should have gone the scripts a lot on so many occasions as you watch you will notice some scenes really were bad..script wise....the movie was really long but was worth it though....but the end scenes they seemed as if they rushed to packed events just to cut time..any way yeah its was a dope movie Expand
  66. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is the perfect dream of a marketing firm. One big commercial promoting all sorts of high end cars, products, and events with some script and giant monsters to connect it all. In other words, Age of Extinction follows on an already established pattern by previous entries in the franchise.

    Was this supposed to be a reboot of sorts? Or different in some way?
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is the perfect dream of a marketing firm. One big commercial promoting all sorts of high end cars, products, and events with some script and giant monsters to connect it all. In other words, Age of Extinction follows on an already established pattern by previous entries in the franchise.

    Was this supposed to be a reboot of sorts? Or different in some way? Just because you change the human cast, that doesn't mean you're making it better. In fact, once again the human aspect of the movie falls flat at best with the occasional terrible line that makes you want to throw something at the screen. However, this time even the Autobots seemed so cheesy and miss-handled. Somehow, the fourth entry in this movie manages to take down storytelling a level below from what the movies before it left it. Is not good at all.

    The "5" I give this movie is solely based on the excellent work from the VFX department. Although the action feels incredible hectic at times, the Transformers are still a sight to be hold.

    If you enjoy the previous Transformers movies, then there's a legitimate shot you might not like this one. Is somehow worst than the previous ones. Yet, if you just want a crazy ride of nonsense so you can shut down your brain, then my friend this movie is for you. And I respect that!
    Expand
  67. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    There's some laughs, better action and cool villains. But since Michael Bay is still the director of the movie; it's too loud and long. Which also holds the film back.
  68. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    They did a lot of liberty on the adaptation and Michael Bay always has that signature mechanical look and feel on all his movies. You can tell when its by him.
    Nonetheless, as an actual paying individual to watch the movie, it was a sufficiently ok film.
  69. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    Not the best film ever done, but a HUGE upgrade from "Dark of the Moon", which was a complete mess. Marky Mark does well and the story/writing at least makes a little more sense this time around. Worth watching.
  70. Apr 30, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mediclore. Why? Here:
    * Its not too bad, but its too long, 3 HOURS!
    * Exessive screaming and explosions worsen it too.
    * The story is ok, but a bit sad, seeing Ratchet get killed within the first few moments as well as Lockdowns (which is cool since he is evil) brutal head ripping death.
    * Too many human scenes which are mostly pointless.
    * Not enough robots, too little.
    * A bit too violent for little kids.
    * Bad dialouge.

    If there all the robot scenes are collected together, maybe the film would end up being 40 minutes long, far from 165 minutes
    Expand
  71. Jan 11, 2015
    5
    Michael Bay de volta, com a sua "odiada" franquia de Transformers. Bem ou mal, o filme entrega o que promete. Vale a pena assistir, para quem é fã de Transformers, sem esperar um clássico do cinema. O filme, visualmente, é o mais bonito da franquia. Michael Bay aprendeu que aquela "confusão" de metal nas batalhas causava tontura no público. Neste filme ele usou cores bem vivas e bemMichael Bay de volta, com a sua "odiada" franquia de Transformers. Bem ou mal, o filme entrega o que promete. Vale a pena assistir, para quem é fã de Transformers, sem esperar um clássico do cinema. O filme, visualmente, é o mais bonito da franquia. Michael Bay aprendeu que aquela "confusão" de metal nas batalhas causava tontura no público. Neste filme ele usou cores bem vivas e bem diferentes em cada um dos robôs, para que durante as batalhas ficasse mais claro o que estava havendo. Os efeitos de CGI do filme são incríveis. Mas, para por ai. A história é fraca, atores fracos, diálogos sofríveis. Enfim, um filme mediano, feito apenas para assistir e se divertir, sem compromisso nenhum. 5/10 com certeza! Expand
  72. Jan 17, 2015
    6
    Although I felt the movie had a lot of loop holes to the plot, such as the dinosaur's appearing out of now where and alive, and others... you can't compare this movie to the others. I believe what the director was doing was trying to start another series with new cast members. I liked the action and a lot of clean funny parts it was a good movie.
  73. Jun 21, 2015
    5
    The problem with Age of Extinction isn't the scope/scale and slick production. Transformers has always produced complex and large-scale sequences with mostly CGI work and pulled it off pretty well. No, the problem is substance, which has been lacking ever since the first Transformers film. I maintain that the second movie is the worst of these films (so far), but Age of Extinction isn'tThe problem with Age of Extinction isn't the scope/scale and slick production. Transformers has always produced complex and large-scale sequences with mostly CGI work and pulled it off pretty well. No, the problem is substance, which has been lacking ever since the first Transformers film. I maintain that the second movie is the worst of these films (so far), but Age of Extinction isn't a whole lot better. It's too long, too littered with action sequences that come off gratuitous instead of meaningful. Bay has a flair for the dramatic and can capture some incredible scenes, but the ownership of Transformers need to figure out how to tell a good story and better dialogue or they'll completely tarnish what could be a cool universe to explore (much like how the Marvel universe translates well to sequels and spin-offs). Mark Wahlberg can turn in a better performance too, he just needs better material to work with. Personally, I'd rather see Transformers can some of the silly tendencies and get a little grittier, a little more serious, instead of mercilessly tossing in one-liners to break the tension (Avengers seems to do this more tactfully than any other movie I can think of). AoE isn't terrible, but it's length and at-times overwhelming on-screen action doesn't make me eager to see it a second time. Expand
  74. Jul 5, 2015
    6
    I was waiting for Shia LeBauf to leave, and hey? HE LEFT! Great! nobody wants to hear him screaming anymore, and glad to have Mark Whalberg killing robots.
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 21 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Jan 9, 2015
    40
    When someone in Age Of Extinction carps about “crap sequels and remakes” in movies, you almost choke on the audacity.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Frankl
    Jul 10, 2014
    20
    Does Michael Bay fit the criteria of an auteur? He certainly has his own line of distinctive tropes: the migraine-inducing noise, the fetishistic gloss, the playground-bully characters elevated to hero status and a fervently male gaze.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Jul 7, 2014
    40
    The loyal fans — and they are legion — will trot out clichés like, “Leave your brain at the door,” and defend Age Of Extinction’s right to be nothing but a succession of varoom! and kersmash! sequences. For those who aren’t still blindly faithful to something they liked when they were nine, despite the colossal scale, there’s little to see here.