User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 913 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    The movie's CGI is very impressive, i'll tell you that. But the movie lacks strong narration to their overly cliched plot and its overwhelming explosions and flashes will hurt your eyes. However, the movie's main criticism is the British girl from Victoria's Secret; in all that 157minutes, she does nothing but screaming and staring at the Decepticons like a brainless moron. The next thingThe movie's CGI is very impressive, i'll tell you that. But the movie lacks strong narration to their overly cliched plot and its overwhelming explosions and flashes will hurt your eyes. However, the movie's main criticism is the British girl from Victoria's Secret; in all that 157minutes, she does nothing but screaming and staring at the Decepticons like a brainless moron. The next thing I would need is a another popcorn and Megan Fox. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    i agree with those who feel the second installment in this series (Revenge of The Fallen) was a horrible movie. Sure, it's a action-sci fi so you don't expect it to be the next Gone With The Wind, but even by action Sci-fi standards the second movie was very bad. So my hopes walking into the theater on this one weren't set very high, but Dark of the Moon really impressed me! Behind all thei agree with those who feel the second installment in this series (Revenge of The Fallen) was a horrible movie. Sure, it's a action-sci fi so you don't expect it to be the next Gone With The Wind, but even by action Sci-fi standards the second movie was very bad. So my hopes walking into the theater on this one weren't set very high, but Dark of the Moon really impressed me! Behind all the action, this time we get a pretty good story, one that might even strike an emotional chord in some (think Spiderman 2). There is more depth to the characters and although it has it's funny moments, there is none of the high school humor that trashed the second film so much. The story feels fresh and even the action sequences feel new... I know this is Bays last of these big-robot films, but this one left me hoping they make more! Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2011
    5
    Outside of the special effects and action, which are stunning and improved from the second one, and the cut down on annoying humor, Transformers: Dark of the Moon really is a lifeless movie, with nothing very good to offer outside of the effects. The script is weak, the performances are a little underwhelming, the pacing is off, and the movie is far too long. I don't know why so manyOutside of the special effects and action, which are stunning and improved from the second one, and the cut down on annoying humor, Transformers: Dark of the Moon really is a lifeless movie, with nothing very good to offer outside of the effects. The script is weak, the performances are a little underwhelming, the pacing is off, and the movie is far too long. I don't know why so many people liked this movie, but I say compared to some of the quality Summer releases of the past few weeks, like Harry Potter and Captain America, it falls flat on its face. And sure it is better than Revenge of the Fallen, but is that really saying anything? Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    A huge letdown compared to the Megan Fox era. The suspense was exciting, but left us with blue balls and led to a mediocre finish. The CGI was great as always and I wished I could've seen more robot drama instead of human tension.
  5. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    the film was moving smoothly until it came to Chicago and reached a screeching halt in the form of an overturning building......dat part was so repeatative i panicked that it wud ruin all the goodwill i had in mind bout Transformers..and worse it dint mean to stop nd it spent almost 20-25 odd mins on the same place....but then Optimus came to the rescue and the fight that followed wasthe film was moving smoothly until it came to Chicago and reached a screeching halt in the form of an overturning building......dat part was so repeatative i panicked that it wud ruin all the goodwill i had in mind bout Transformers..and worse it dint mean to stop nd it spent almost 20-25 odd mins on the same place....but then Optimus came to the rescue and the fight that followed was simply awesome....nothing there..bottomline Transformers sure is a movie that cant b just ignored... Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    "WHAT IS GOING ON?" This is the question I started asking at the beginning and continued to ask pretty much through the whole film. I am still unsure as to why some characters were even in the film. Further to this there is a strong difference between amazing action (bordering on the unbelievable) and bizarre action (swimming frantically in the middle of unbelievable). Transformers 3 is crap!
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157 minutes of glittery CGI robot porn without actually being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes. In all seriousness though the film has some good points that i'll get out of the way first before I continue. First the 3D against my initialTransformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157 minutes of glittery CGI robot porn without actually being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes. In all seriousness though the film has some good points that i'll get out of the way first before I continue. First the 3D against my initial pre-conceptions was excellent the best 3D i've ever seen in a film and is by a huge margin the best thing the film has going for itself. But, That's it, That's the only good quality transformers 3 possesses other than the fact that it's better than it's atrocious predecessor; revenge of the fallen. The action is mental as is customary in Michael Bay's films with almost all of Chicago massacred by the end of the film and most of the scenes where someone dies being kinda crap. Fortunately the action is handled in a much more controlled way than the second film with the viewer actually being able to walk out of the cinema without a coma. The plot is pretty much non-existent involving a 60â Expand
  8. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Transformers Dark Of The Moon is a good film. The fighting scenes are very good and the 3D is very impressive. My only problem with the film is the jokes are still not funny and the ending was not very good. This is definitely better then Revenge Of The Fallen. I would give this film a low matinee!
  9. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    The film is a mind-blowing action experience and looks gorgeous with the 3D effects, that's all. In some parts it seems like the plot(a weak one) is merely a excuse for the fast paced action.
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    Dark of the Moon is a Michael Bay film so you don't to expect film art. Like the other Transformers films it's pretty brainless, rather desolate below the surface and has very dumb and cliched dialogue. The difference between DOTM and its predecessors however, is that it has completely embraced its stupidity. The first film took itself too seriously (an amazing feat considering it's aboutDark of the Moon is a Michael Bay film so you don't to expect film art. Like the other Transformers films it's pretty brainless, rather desolate below the surface and has very dumb and cliched dialogue. The difference between DOTM and its predecessors however, is that it has completely embraced its stupidity. The first film took itself too seriously (an amazing feat considering it's about giant alien morphing robots). Revenge of the Fallen was plain awful, not just in an inept way, but in a downright offensive way. This film knows it's big, loud and ridiculous, and excels at it. The effects are stonking and the fluidity of the action is superb. Bay is a true master of carnage. Steve Jablonsky's thumping score also helps maintain momentum through much of the film's colossal runtime. The quality of the acting and of the script is mixed - LaBeouf and Huntington-Whiteley are serviceable at best, but Turturro, Malkovich and McDormand bring a level of professionalism, underused though they are. If there are any true stars of the film it is the voice actors, especially the two principle transformers of the film, Optimus and Sentinel Prime (Cullen and Nimoy). The decision to have two of the most distinctive voices on the planet sharing screen time was a stroke of genius, and will likely result in nerdgasms everywhere. It's not by any means a great film, but if you're in the right frame of mind, Dark of the Moon will give you a rollicking good time. Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    Was definitely better than the second one but let's be honest that might probably be the worst sequel of all time. Dark of the Moon is a real crowd pleaser, if you like your movies really dumb with no plot, a very confusing storyline, lousy dialogue and endless explosions. If you're looking for a very long fun movie than this is it. Michael Bay is going for Christopher Nolan's The DarkWas definitely better than the second one but let's be honest that might probably be the worst sequel of all time. Dark of the Moon is a real crowd pleaser, if you like your movies really dumb with no plot, a very confusing storyline, lousy dialogue and endless explosions. If you're looking for a very long fun movie than this is it. Michael Bay is going for Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight outline here with a slow first act to build the characters and the platform for the movie. TF3 was all over the place. I don't like Rosie Huntington-Whiteley at all, she can't act to save her life. I mean, how bad can you be up to the point that I was missing Megan Fox. The second act is where things are heating up, plots get underway we're already clear with what the core of the story is about and twists are revealed. TF3 was confusing and messy, ooh the Autobots were betrayed and one em' died, I was supposed to feel something but dagnamit why didn't I give a damn? And the third act is where everything comes together in blazing glory. Dark Side of the Moon couldn't rival The Dark Knight but this one was quite awesome with an hour of non-stop rat-tat-tat-tat, explosions and the big-finale-moment-of-truth and whatnot. Both movies were 2 1/2 hours long but only one was worth hurting my ass for Expand
  12. Jul 1, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3 may be better than the second, but it ain't by much. The third and last installment of the movie, Transformers 3 may have good 3D effects and CGI, but everything else is just bad. First off is the plot, it's just the same old thing. Optimus Prime saves the humans when the Decepticons try to destroy it. This time it's a little different though, as Sentinel Prime, ex-Leader ofTransformers 3 may be better than the second, but it ain't by much. The third and last installment of the movie, Transformers 3 may have good 3D effects and CGI, but everything else is just bad. First off is the plot, it's just the same old thing. Optimus Prime saves the humans when the Decepticons try to destroy it. This time it's a little different though, as Sentinel Prime, ex-Leader of the Autobots, betrays his allies to bring Cybertron to earth. The other plot, there is none. Just filler and slapstick humor that gets old fast. The new female star, Rosie Huntington - Whiteley, is first shown walking in her underwear right when the movie starts off and the camera is directed right at her butt. This is the reason why she is here, because she cannot act for her life (I'm trying not to swear if you noticed). Everyone else in the movie wasn't that great of an actor/actress either. The only redeeming life to this movie is the Robots and the Special Effects. There was hardly any action, and if there was, it was short. Only the end was the good part of the movie, and even then it was still not that great. Especially when Whiteley goes up to Megatron and insults him. Really? Give me a break! No one would ever do that. It's so dumb and makes no sense. I know this was supposed to be more for the fan that the Average Joe like myself (I'm more like the Angry Video Game Nerd), but it could have still been suitable for both. This movie had great potential, but in the end it was the same garbage that has been done countless times before. Only recommended for Transformers fans. If you're just like me, you will find yourself bored as well. Expand
  13. Jul 1, 2011
    4
    To put it shortly, it's better than Revenge of the Fallen, but then again, it doesn't take much to achieve such an honor. It will be remmebered yes, but for it's great action sequences, and everything else it can't manage to do.
  14. Jul 9, 2011
    4
    This one is a bit of an improvement over the previous installment in the Transformers franchise, but truth be told, it would actually have been an even more impressive achievement in some ways if Michael Bay had managed to make a movie that was worse than the execrable Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. The 3-D looks great, Frances McDormand is fun in a supporting role, and there's anThis one is a bit of an improvement over the previous installment in the Transformers franchise, but truth be told, it would actually have been an even more impressive achievement in some ways if Michael Bay had managed to make a movie that was worse than the execrable Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. The 3-D looks great, Frances McDormand is fun in a supporting role, and there's an intriguing subplot that ties the whole series into the real-life Apollo 11 moon landing of 1969. Still, 157 minutes is waaaaaaaay too long for this loud, thudding, overblown nonsense. And as for as the new leading lady, Victoria's Secret model Rosie Huntington-Whitely: she's pretty (of course) but so incredibly dull and colorless that I actually started to miss the (extremely limited) thespic stylings of Megan Fox. Expand
  15. Jul 9, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is like a sandwich, the first and last buns are horrible and old, where the middle has your favorite, whether it's meatballs, patty or ribs, then they sprinkled the worst condiments know to man and serve it to you swearing its good. Transformers 3 began with a series of investigation scenes better saved for a crappy Eagle Eye sequel, introduces new threats and goes on for some expected to be epic sequences only to end on the most mundane note conceivable. The main threat ShockWave got close to no scene time and is the given the simple explanation: "that was ShockWave", and never heard of again until the end where the most action he got was shooting at Optimus once and struggling with a parachute stuck on his face before getting killed. But regardless, optimus goes on a revenge crazed beat down on him for what I can assume is because Optimus hates it when they call his name and shoots him once. Yeah I played the game, but for those who didn't, this would seem a bit stupid, if not beyond stupid. They kept bumblebee and optimus alive for fans sake and went buck wild with the fates of the other transformers, which resulted in the death of all decipticons and half of the autobots, and having Cybertron implode, just for the sake of having an intense emotional moment that ended in a swing and a miss. Most of the moments ended up as predictable and boring. The movie left questions unanswered and answered some unnecessary questions, don't worry you'll see them. The only thing keeping me from dropping a 0 on this review is the unexpected plot twist in the midpoint of the movie. Expand
  16. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    An OK movie, not as good as the first but not as bad as the second. I expected a better movie with all the talk of not making the same mistakes as the second, but they did. The story is slighty better but the BAD comedy is still here. I don't find sitting there chringing to be funny. Lots of bad acting from models or good actors in bad roles. The real thing you go to see this for howeverAn OK movie, not as good as the first but not as bad as the second. I expected a better movie with all the talk of not making the same mistakes as the second, but they did. The story is slighty better but the BAD comedy is still here. I don't find sitting there chringing to be funny. Lots of bad acting from models or good actors in bad roles. The real thing you go to see this for however is the amazing 3D and special effects. Put on your glasses and prepare for jaw dropping action. The best 3D since Avatar. Expand
  17. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    I wasn't expecting much give the mediocre reviews, but this was actually a little better than I expected. A good, loud summer popcorn movie. My major complaint is that it was way too long. Should have been cut down to 2 hours or so.
  18. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went to see Transformers: Dark of the Moon with a descent level of skepticism, expecting a not so smart summer blockbuster movie but a much more coherent one then the over bloated and offensive Revenge of Fallen. Well yes, this film is much more tolerable than the previous Transformers movie however this is a Michael Bay film and sadly all of its awesome CGI and actions scenes arenâ Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The big flaw: the central characters are humans, not robots. Imagine an X-men movie in which the mutants never speak; they just show up to fight. You never learn their personalities nor motivations. Even if the fights were well choreographed, that movie would be boring.

    Here is the very minor spoiler: for Transformers 3, they created an all new villain ... but it's not a robot. It's Patrick Dempsey! Yep, he is the main antagonist. That stinks!

    I grew up loving the old Transformers cartoon TV series. The stories were about Starscream scheming to usurp Megatron or about Bumblebee being naive and courageous and getting himself into trouble. Sure, the cartoons had human characters, but they were sidekicks. In Michael Bay's movies, Bumblebee has become Shia LeBouf's pet.

    Michael Bay's movies aren't about the Transformers; they are about Shia LaBeouf, his interchangeable girlfriend, his parents, and John Turturro. Sadly, Shia's parents get more character development than any of the Transformers. In fact, the parents possibly have more lines of dialogue than all the robots combined. That isn't right.

    I got really excited when I saw the red, sportscar autobot on screen -- I just knew that had to be Sideswipe! But y'know what, it really wasn't. Sideswipe was **** and loved competing with Sunstreaker. He was fun because he was always showing off. I can't even recall if he spoke once in this movie -- he wasn't really a character; he wasn't Sideswipe, just a red autobot. That was disappointing.

    Here's what this fan wants: for the next Transformers movie, do a prequel about the events on Cybertron that led to the war. No humans. All robots -- with character. This probably won't happen. For this fan, the animated Transformers movie from the 1980's still stands as the greatest of them all.
    Expand
  20. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    If you like your movies big, dumb and noisy fun then Transformers 3 will be absolutely perfect for you. The plot makes no sense, the immature script reduces every human character (except for Rosie Huntingdon Whiteley because, you know, she's the hot chick and the opening shot of her butt establishes exactly what she's there for) to a cliched stereotype at least once, the action goes onIf you like your movies big, dumb and noisy fun then Transformers 3 will be absolutely perfect for you. The plot makes no sense, the immature script reduces every human character (except for Rosie Huntingdon Whiteley because, you know, she's the hot chick and the opening shot of her butt establishes exactly what she's there for) to a cliched stereotype at least once, the action goes on for so long - particularly towards the end - that you get explosion fatigue.. This film exists to make money out of people who don't realise that action films can be smart and mind-blowing as well as screen blowing. It's basically the first and second film combined, with an added half hour, and is a license to print more cash. The opinions of critics, just like punctuation, grammar and worthwhile filmmaking, is something that people who'll give this 10 just really won't need to take any notice of. If you do sit through this, remember to thank Michael Bay at the end for making you that little bit dumber. Expand
  21. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    A movie that pounds the viewer senseless with special effects and slow motion transformation sequences. There are, admittedly, some pretty neat tidbits scattered throughout. The problem, however, with the Transformers franchise lies in its lack of ability to show its viewers something new. Nothing really blew me away or left me wanting more. The action has become stale and repetitive. I'dA movie that pounds the viewer senseless with special effects and slow motion transformation sequences. There are, admittedly, some pretty neat tidbits scattered throughout. The problem, however, with the Transformers franchise lies in its lack of ability to show its viewers something new. Nothing really blew me away or left me wanting more. The action has become stale and repetitive. I'd be happy to see the franchise end right here and now. All in all though, its a solid action movie. Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    I am really on the fence about this film - my thumb is halfway. First the negatives. The story is too confusing, the dialogue is laughable, the film is way too long, and the great actors involved are pretty much wasted and are here for the paycheck. This big budget film actually has three of my favorite actors, Frances McDormand, John Turturro, and John Malkovich. McDormand has theI am really on the fence about this film - my thumb is halfway. First the negatives. The story is too confusing, the dialogue is laughable, the film is way too long, and the great actors involved are pretty much wasted and are here for the paycheck. This big budget film actually has three of my favorite actors, Frances McDormand, John Turturro, and John Malkovich. McDormand has the most screen time so she is the best of the three, the other two are underused. Now for the positives. It is better than the second Transformer movie BY FAR, but what film isn't? Most importantly, the special effects are extraordinary. Really extraordinary. The last 1/2 hour to 45 minutes of the film is a loud, glorious, cacophonous spectacle of action and noise. Although I'm not a fan of 3D, the 3D in the film is MUCH better than most films using this technology. I'm actually a fan of Michael Bay due to the fact that he did "The Island", a film I love, but that film had a great story along with great special effects and remains his masterpiece. Nobody does special effects like Michael Bay. Expand
  23. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    well, good special effects - like in all transformers movies, lot's of moving parts going from left to right, new girl (much better from the old one), new plot but beside this all went wrong. Definitely not worth paying extra price for 3D, if you start thinking what to cook for tomorrow dinner it means that it is not worth to watch.
  24. Jun 30, 2011
    5
    This movie looks ridiculously good. The first two did, but this one just steps it up big time. We're talking oscar level visuals here. Characters, well the humans all suck. Autobots are all awesome, even the twins get a reduced and non-racist role (thank god). Decepticons get little to no screen time, at all. However, this movie got the most important part right: The final battle betweenThis movie looks ridiculously good. The first two did, but this one just steps it up big time. We're talking oscar level visuals here. Characters, well the humans all suck. Autobots are all awesome, even the twins get a reduced and non-racist role (thank god). Decepticons get little to no screen time, at all. However, this movie got the most important part right: The final battle between Optimus Prime and the main villain. It's long enough, cool enough, and most importantly, it's **** awesome. However at the end of the day, this is style and nothing else, and even the style isn't good enough to make this movie good. Expand
  25. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    Yet again, a CGI rich, plot and acting dismal movie. Although the CGI is fantastic and the movie works well in 3D, why the hell are the acting talents of John Malkovich and Frances McDormand reduced to pit part players with no opportunity to levitate the movie above mediocrity? if you're an adrenaline junkie than you'll probably love this, otherwise only watch it if you've seen the firstYet again, a CGI rich, plot and acting dismal movie. Although the CGI is fantastic and the movie works well in 3D, why the hell are the acting talents of John Malkovich and Frances McDormand reduced to pit part players with no opportunity to levitate the movie above mediocrity? if you're an adrenaline junkie than you'll probably love this, otherwise only watch it if you've seen the first two and want to see where the story goes before the inevitable next movie comes along. Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    Those who know me know that I cannot stand Michael Bay. Not that I know him personally, but he has exhibited quite a bit of douchery over the years. However, I wouldn't judge his films because of that. The guy clearly is talented, extremely so. Quite possibly the best action director there is. My problem with him is the same problem I have with most of America. The masses are quiteThose who know me know that I cannot stand Michael Bay. Not that I know him personally, but he has exhibited quite a bit of douchery over the years. However, I wouldn't judge his films because of that. The guy clearly is talented, extremely so. Quite possibly the best action director there is. My problem with him is the same problem I have with most of America. The masses are quite dumb and no depth to them. So goes the typical Michael Bay film. It's remarkable how someone so visually talented has absolutely no ability to actually convey any realistic emotion or make you feel at all for a character. Just very surface portrayals. All that being said, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is his best Transformers film. He even tells a much better story than either of his previous Transformers films, or any of his other non-Transformers films, for that matter. The action is not just good, it's freaking spectacular. The amount of detail and realism in his action is absolutely unmatched. This was definitely what a summer film is supposed to be. Considering I've seen every blockbuster this year so far, the action in this film surpass the others by miles. As a Transformers fan as a kid, seeing Shockwave and Laserbeak play such prominent roles had my 11 year old pants on fire! Sadly, though, the nearly-40 year-old in me was critical of the unnecessary length, the gratuitous/immature language and the vapid ending. However, it all depends on what you are looking for in a summer film and, if it's what most people want, I would highly recommend it. It will definitely satisfy the masses and impress budding filmmakers. Expand
  27. Jul 1, 2011
    4
    i didn't like the plot. dialogue not great. there were some cool action scenes. some good laughs. there were moments of ridiculousness that remove you from the story and flow of the movie. the movie went on for too long and i was happy for it to be over. it's not worth watching in 3D. it's a little bit better than the second movie, but not as good as the first. This franchise had hugei didn't like the plot. dialogue not great. there were some cool action scenes. some good laughs. there were moments of ridiculousness that remove you from the story and flow of the movie. the movie went on for too long and i was happy for it to be over. it's not worth watching in 3D. it's a little bit better than the second movie, but not as good as the first. This franchise had huge potential, but michael bay couldn't deliver. Expand
  28. Jul 4, 2011
    5
    Autobots - Win.Decepticons - Super Win. VFX and 3D Stereoscopy - Epic win. Movie - Fail. :( Metacritic wants me to write at least 150 characters.But I guess the first line sums it up all already.
  29. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    First off, I'm not a fan of this series. It's just a bunch of CGI robots fighting each other, so I wasn't prepared to like this. However, for the first 2 hours (yes, it's 2:37) I was quite entertained. Not so much by the big metal, but by the funny, scenery-chewing supporting cast, the well-executed special effects and design and the involving story. Then comes the big battle and evenFirst off, I'm not a fan of this series. It's just a bunch of CGI robots fighting each other, so I wasn't prepared to like this. However, for the first 2 hours (yes, it's 2:37) I was quite entertained. Not so much by the big metal, but by the funny, scenery-chewing supporting cast, the well-executed special effects and design and the involving story. Then comes the big battle and even though there are some cool sequences, it goes on waaay too long and is just a noisy jumble. Expand
  30. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Somewhere in the middle of this movie, I flatlined and fell into a light doze for a few minutes even though I was well-rested going into the film. There's simply too many little mechadudes running around with little or no exposition to flesh out what their goals and motivations really are. This, in turn, causes the viewer not to really give a rip about what is going on. Still, theSomewhere in the middle of this movie, I flatlined and fell into a light doze for a few minutes even though I was well-rested going into the film. There's simply too many little mechadudes running around with little or no exposition to flesh out what their goals and motivations really are. This, in turn, causes the viewer not to really give a rip about what is going on. Still, the action towards the end is as intense as any action film in recent memory. Those who love the jiggle will not be disappointed by the Megan Fox replacement in this movie. The human actors do a serviceable job moving the plot along, such as it is, but the robots ironically reveal how robotic the script really is. Michael Bay disappoints with his direction of this movie. Clearly, there was a rush job done here, and it is not lost upon many what pressure must have been felt to revive this franchise after the faultering of the second film in the trilogy. Wanted to love it, but just came out liking it a little. I give this a hesitant matinee price recommendation, at best. Expand
  31. Jul 3, 2011
    4
    Here we go again... Another movie about giant robots blowing stuff up. Michael Bay proves, yet again, that he has no skill whatsoever at telling a story, instead opting for special effects and explosions to compensate. Having said all that, it's leaps and bounds better than it's predecessor, which was god-awful, the premise isn't bad, and it is a lot of fun. If explosions are your thing,Here we go again... Another movie about giant robots blowing stuff up. Michael Bay proves, yet again, that he has no skill whatsoever at telling a story, instead opting for special effects and explosions to compensate. Having said all that, it's leaps and bounds better than it's predecessor, which was god-awful, the premise isn't bad, and it is a lot of fun. If explosions are your thing, see this movie. If you want intelligence, run as fast as you can away from it. Expand
  32. Jul 18, 2011
    6
    not bad, but far from great. the special effects and action are great without a doubt, but there are moments when it just seems like everyone is trying too hard. specifically trying too hard to be funny in the transformer-less scenes of the movie. overall pretty decent and a side note: shia labeouf's latest squeeze is pretty hot too.
  33. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    Shia's character is very funny at the beginning of the movie. Its interesting to see how he gets along with his new boss,colleague and the new (hot and British) girlfriend. I even for a moment forgot I was watching Tansformers. After a while the aliens come in and the 'action' starts. There are a lot of cool fight scenes but it seems to take forever. At times they try too hard to beShia's character is very funny at the beginning of the movie. Its interesting to see how he gets along with his new boss,colleague and the new (hot and British) girlfriend. I even for a moment forgot I was watching Tansformers. After a while the aliens come in and the 'action' starts. There are a lot of cool fight scenes but it seems to take forever. At times they try too hard to be funny,especially those little autobots. Optimus Prime's old buddy Sentinel betrays the Autobots and Earth is in jeopardy but as usual they find away to escape certain death and destroy the billions of Decepticons who have 'the better stuff'. Pretty darn good though for a Transformers movie. Expand
  34. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must say this to start off; i came into the theatre with very low expectations for this flick. Considering how godawful Revenge of the Fallen was, i was curious to see if the final installment in Michael Bay's robot beat em up series was worth watching. I came to the conclusion that its a decent action flick, but when the story, script, and characters are put into consideration, its barely bearable.

    The moon landing was the investigation of an autobot ship that contains the autobots original leader before Optimus, Sentinel Prime. He turns out to be working with Megatron and he, Megatron, an evil human and the rest of the Decepticons are holing up in Chicago (of all possible cities) where the autobots wage their last epic battle. In short; good guy is actually a bad guy, good robots fight bad robots, people and bots are killed. Really, thats all you need to know. So the story aspect is crap. Utter crap. Shia's performance was dull, and laughably annoying; he mainly fills in the role of a damsel in distress by yelling and screaming nearly the whole movie. Rosie Huntington Whitley's performance as a replacement for Megan Fox is, well, its there. She's only the hot chick that Sam is willing to die for and thats about it. The fact that her acting is horrible is, well, damnit shes only there to look pretty, nothing more, so i wont critique her performance in depth. Anyways, the movie was also made rather obvious and pathetic attempts at American Patriotism; yes we are in a time of war, but we are not fighting murderous robots or letting robots blow up illegal irani nuclear sites. The movie does shine, however, in a technical level. The robots conversion from vehicle to machine is fluid and realistic, and the number of moving parts in their faces and bodies is remarkable. 3D however.... i failed to see anything really done for 3D. The trailers before the movie made better use of the tech.

    Too long to read; Decent, pretty movie. Dont take it seriously and you'll enjoy it. A must see for fire fetishists, as is with every Michael Bay movie.
    Expand
  35. Jul 3, 2011
    5
    I didn't go into this film with high expectations and that feeling didn't disappoint. As I'm sure most went to see this film to see the action and suspense of these robots defending planet earth, but I found more enjoyment in the comedy in the film. There seemed to be a lot of comedy in it, and I liked that. I believe I, as well as the rest of the crowd, found themselves laughing at everyI didn't go into this film with high expectations and that feeling didn't disappoint. As I'm sure most went to see this film to see the action and suspense of these robots defending planet earth, but I found more enjoyment in the comedy in the film. There seemed to be a lot of comedy in it, and I liked that. I believe I, as well as the rest of the crowd, found themselves laughing at every attempt at humor. Don't get me wrong, the film was decent. However, comparing it to the other Transformers, it fell under par. Expand
  36. Oct 5, 2011
    4
    I saw this movie opening weekend, and I was so bored with it. I bought it on Blu-Ray because I have an appreciation for the amount of detail that goes into the CGI, but I couldn't make myself sit through it again.
  37. May 24, 2012
    4
    Dear Michael Bay, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a bit better than Revenge of the Fallen, but you have miscast Rosie Huntington-Whitley and Ken Jeong, the story has too much cliches and good-guy-vs-bad-guy chasing in 150 minutes, and the Transformers characters are true and relate to the Transformers TV series, but everything else in the story is not. Stop ruining what you adapt! YouDear Michael Bay, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a bit better than Revenge of the Fallen, but you have miscast Rosie Huntington-Whitley and Ken Jeong, the story has too much cliches and good-guy-vs-bad-guy chasing in 150 minutes, and the Transformers characters are true and relate to the Transformers TV series, but everything else in the story is not. Stop ruining what you adapt! You adapted the attack on Pearl Harbor into a failure of a love story and a waste of talent making a bad ruined out of that event, and the first Transformers was good but Revenge of the Fallen ruined the perfect image of Transformers though as I said, Dark of the Moon was better than Revenge of the Fallen and the Transformers characters relate enough to the TV series, but the story was still poor. You ruin the history of Pearl Harbor, and now you ruin the history of Transformers. Stop scarring your career as a director with your movie failures and THINK ABOUT WHAT YOUR DOING! Stop miscasting actors and hire better writers and visual effects artists! Also, why the hell did you miscast Patrick Dempsey? Now you've scarred his career as an actor. Expand
  38. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    Monotonous, incredibly unnecessary entry in this worsening franchise. Young Huntington is as poor an actress as she is aesthetically alluring. Albeit, she isn't helped by such boring dialogue. Typically effects-laden and trite, although admittedly the visual effects are impressive (particularly in the nonsensical third-act in which LaBeouf's Sam Witnicky and co tumble through skyscrapersMonotonous, incredibly unnecessary entry in this worsening franchise. Young Huntington is as poor an actress as she is aesthetically alluring. Albeit, she isn't helped by such boring dialogue. Typically effects-laden and trite, although admittedly the visual effects are impressive (particularly in the nonsensical third-act in which LaBeouf's Sam Witnicky and co tumble through skyscrapers as the city is destroyed around them). Effects aside, the film has little to legitimately recommend about it-- Malkovich as Sam's boss and serial weirdo Ken Jeong as a 'learned in the field of what nefarious robots go after' co-worker are entertaining in throwaway roles, however it's obvious they only signed on for the money as there is little in the way of genuine quality in the screenplay. Expand
  39. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, the movie can be a disaster, but the truth is that yeah is better than the second part, but is a really large and some boring. I'm started for the story, I think that is excellent, and the time to do all the story is good, but the problem is the development of the story, in some parts much action, in other really stupid lines, and after most action and explosions, same like the other two movies of the saga. Now the cast, is regular, the performance of Shia LaBeouf is same, like the insoportable teenager now adult, the characters of John Turturro and John Malkovich be the worst of the movie, and is awesome, because the two are a great actors, but the terrible direction of Michael Bay do that this 2 characters look like a stupids, the soldiers, Tyrese, Duhamel and the rest have same moments like the other two films of the franchise and this is boring, Rosie, I think that she have a terrible performance, but no, not is excellent but be okay, Patrick Dempsey and Frances McDormad are really excellent selection of the cast, their performances are okay, and finally, please tell me what is the reason to put in the movie Ken Jeong? one of the worst actors of all the world, the only good that he do in the film is the scene when he was killed, but his characters is poor and really terrible. Now the screenplay, is very regular, have some problems, and is boring, I think that a better development do a better result, but no. The effects are amazing, the 3D is spectacular, is awesome, the details of the autobots and decepticons are awesome, I don't have problem with this. Finally the direction on Bay, I think that he have the incorrect job, he need work in the effects, because are awesome, but his direction is poor, and terrible. Other point that I wanna say is about the music, is supreme, and no, I don't talk about the soundtrack [that is cool], I'm talk about the score, is awesome and incredible. Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a decent result, that could be better, the terrible development and some performances are bad, the only great are the effects, soundtrack and score. Is entertaining and any more. Expand
  40. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    Far, far, far better than the atrocity that is Revenge of the Fallen. I enjoyed it as a silly popcorn flick and I liked it as much as the first Transformers film (though Transformers 1 is still better). The story is easy to follow, the action is less nausiating, it is less juvenile (no decepticon scrotum, dog humping robot or John Turturro's ass, thank god), and any scene with OptimusFar, far, far better than the atrocity that is Revenge of the Fallen. I enjoyed it as a silly popcorn flick and I liked it as much as the first Transformers film (though Transformers 1 is still better). The story is easy to follow, the action is less nausiating, it is less juvenile (no decepticon scrotum, dog humping robot or John Turturro's ass, thank god), and any scene with Optimus kicking ass is great but it still has problems that made Transformers 2 bad. Shia La Beouf as Sam Witwicky is extremely annoying, overtly whiny and can't act to save himself, his parents are excrutiatingly painful as ever, the girlfriend, though ridiculously hot, is very unrealistic and is only in the movie for fan service and her lips are so big, she outlips Angelina Jolie, most of the human characters are boring and uninteresting, the tone is very inconsistent and it's too damn long. If they just cut out most of the scenes with humans and jusf focus on the robots, it would've been a great CG action flick but it focuses too much on the humans, particularly on Sam whining about his crappy life even though he has a smoking hot girlfriend, an Ivy league education and many job offers. I wish his parents was written out because they have nothing to do in the movie other than just being a pain in the ass. There are some entertaining human characters like John Malkovich as Sam's boss and Alan Tudyk as a John Turturro's flamboyant secretary named Dutch, who has many different sets of skills. What's his story? I am more interested in this character than Sam. Overall, I enjoyed it. Not a good movie by all means but its a good popcorn film. Expand
  41. May 1, 2012
    5
    If most of the girls go crazy about THE TWILIGHT SAGA (2008-2012), I think it is totally OK if the boys have their own toys as well! All the boys need is insanely super cool robots and sexy girls. Thiz one is the third movie following TRANSFORMERS (2007) and TRASNFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN (2009). The story still revolves around Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) and his new super sexyIf most of the girls go crazy about THE TWILIGHT SAGA (2008-2012), I think it is totally OK if the boys have their own toys as well! All the boys need is insanely super cool robots and sexy girls. Thiz one is the third movie following TRANSFORMERS (2007) and TRASNFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN (2009). The story still revolves around Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) and his new super sexy girlfriend Carly Spencer (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley). Thiz time, they have to deal with the mysterious origin of Autobots and Decepticons which later takes them to a hidden fact when Apollo 11 landed on dark side of the moon 42 years ago. The movie featuring a real hero of that historical event, the second person who had ever landed on moon, Edwin Buzz Aldrin. The Director is still Michael Bay. I aware that Michael Bay always has a young spirit as it has shown in every of his films, even in his war movie like PEARL HARBOR (2001). But I also have to say most of his movies are always filled with exaggerated brainless actions and comically overacted characters like in BAD BOYS (1995), THE ROCK (1996) and ARMAGEDDON (1998). If not because of Steven Spielberg involvement as Executive Producer that contributes a lot of technical elements, I think thiz would have been a very easily forgotten movie. Yes, the details of Special Effects are incredible. It is very clear that the main attraction is on its robots. The Autobots comprises the famous yellow Camaro called Bumblebee alongside with Ironhide, Ratchet, Sideswipe, Dino, Brains, Wheelie and the leader Optimus Prime, all are back in action to fight for freedom. And the villainous side named Decepticon which comprises Starscream, Shockwave, Soundwave, Laserbeak and the head Megatron that still dreams of tyranny. The robots are voiced by some notable Actors such as Hugo Weaving as Megatron and Star Trek Mr. Spock, Leonard Nimoy as Sentinel Prime. Thiz is one of the very rare cases in which the robots act better than the Actors itself. All actors are drawn to be unnecessary comical characters without exception include John Malkovich, Patrick Dempsey, John Turturro, Frances McDormand, Ken Jeong and Tyrese Gibson. For the model Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, she has the same color of lipstick and hair, it does not mean that she can instantly replace Megan Fox character. You can see she is there only to provide the visual pleasure, not acting. Julie White repeats her overacted performance as Sam mother, you can see that is one of the ugliest actings of all-time I have ever seen. Sam character is not lovable at all. I do not know what Shia LaBeouf thinks when he delivers such a character. You can see he is just a jerk with amazingly gorgeous girlfriend beside him. He looks so **** and egoistic by always yelling and swearing during the entire film. It comes to my mind, maybe they need to get rid all of the human characters in next films, and let the robots deal with their conflicts, just like what we had in original animated TV series THE TRANSFORMERS in 1984 to 1987. Thiz movie has shown that was one step back for the Actors and one giant leap for the robots.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  42. Aug 8, 2011
    4
    Its special effects -- and 3D shots -- Transformers 3 is all impressive on technical level. The best presentation in 3D. But bloated running time, messy script and ridiculous acting make you laugh.
  43. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was good, although it wasn't anything I have seen in the other transformers. The lines kind of got messed up, as all of the conversations sort of sound like 5th graders talking. I feel like the producers were just trying to play off of the new melee optimus as he shoots a couple times in the entire movie. Also there is a scene where optimus is dangling from suspension wires for literally a good 20 minutes while everyone is getting their asses kicked, he's an advanced auto-biotic organism or whatever he should be able to untangle himself. Also the majority of the film feels like it is in slow motion because the action is so slow or the movie is actually in slow motion (which it is..... a LOT). Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    Wow, "Dark of the Moon" really sucked! I Never thought that it would be worse then "Revenge of the Fallen", and it was. Special effects were top notch as usual, as was the robot fighting, but the story was beyond awful. It was like they pulled it out of their ass the day of filming to explain the bad-ass special effects. I at least thought "Revenge of the Fallen" was somewhat entertainingWow, "Dark of the Moon" really sucked! I Never thought that it would be worse then "Revenge of the Fallen", and it was. Special effects were top notch as usual, as was the robot fighting, but the story was beyond awful. It was like they pulled it out of their ass the day of filming to explain the bad-ass special effects. I at least thought "Revenge of the Fallen" was somewhat entertaining despite the bad storyline, but this one couldn't even do that for me! I really hope this is the end of the franchise, because it went from really good to this!

    Special Effects: Awesome!
    Robot Storyline: Terrible!
    Human Storyline: God Awful! Even worse then "Revenge of the Fallen"! (And that's bad)!
    Expand
  45. Feb 23, 2012
    4
    If you're looking for cheap action thrills, I guess this movie is okay. As with all the previous Transformers movies, the characters are pretty dull and the plot uninteresting. The CGI is all right, and is probably this movie's only saving grace. Michael Bay has a problem with CG though. For some reason, whenever there's too much action on the screen, you can't tell what's going on.If you're looking for cheap action thrills, I guess this movie is okay. As with all the previous Transformers movies, the characters are pretty dull and the plot uninteresting. The CGI is all right, and is probably this movie's only saving grace. Michael Bay has a problem with CG though. For some reason, whenever there's too much action on the screen, you can't tell what's going on. It just looks like a mess of bits of metal and moving clouds of junk. There's no substance. Visuals: B-, everything else: D-. Expand
  46. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    The Transformers series is quickly becoming tired and lame.... okay the first few were hard on the eyes due to stupid amounts of action blur etc but now it's become a parody of itself and I think its time to do He-man or Thundercats before this becomes another police academy
  47. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    A good popcorn flick if you turn your brain off. Only good for one viewing. Great special effects but an awful stroy and no reason to care about any characters whatsoever. Better than the other two movies though..
  48. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    Starts out with interesting plot, but quickly become dull due to uninteresting and shallow characters. Everyone acts like one trick pony. The action is unimpressive...it's more of the same, "a lot of more" of the same. The fun quickly becomes frustration by the end of second hours, when you feel like it just won't end.
  49. Jul 12, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ACTION ACTION ACTION, forget about the plot! Ah, I think that's just called a lousy movie. Plot holes, overdone action movie cliches. I mean seriously, the new autobot betrays the good guys, the hot chick talks megatron into betraying his partner, the Autobots die, except they obviously don't because that would be ludicrous even for Michael Bay, The movie is blatantly bad, terrible even. It is Michael Bay giving us the middle finger and saying "It's Transformers, you HAVE to go see it.". It makes me a bit angry when people say "forget about the plot". Here's why: THERE IS NO REASON FOR THE PLOT TO BE TERRIBLE!!! He could have made a movie with explosions and autobots as well as a storyline that is at least mediocre (i.e. doesn't make your eyes bleed). He did it in the first one, so I know it's possible. Regardless, as far as explosion filled CGI fests that pander to the lowest common denominator go, it does kill a couple hours. I guess terrible plot+amazing effects = mediocre movie. Expand
  50. Jul 13, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unfortunately Transformers 3 was just all kinds of a mess. From the lack of story and any kind of cohesion to the female lead that kept me thinking her lips were reversed the entire time (and that she had some kind of untold super power that allowed her to not take any sort of damage in the last battle when every single person around her looked like hell at the end of it - shenanigans, says I). The movie is like a skate video for robot fights. Michael Bay doesn't want to give you substance, he just wants you to watch cool stuff blow up while you have to withstand horrible dialogue in hopes that maybe you'll find some kind of meaning behind it all, all-the-while questioning how long it actually takes them to go through the events that the cast is going through. Conveying any type of passage of time was lost somewhere on the cutting room floor. And don't even get me started on what they believe should be emotional moments. I cared more for the robots in Wall-E than I did in this film.

    Transformers 3 is a rental at best.
    Expand
  51. Jul 17, 2011
    4
    I watch the transformer movies for mindless action that keeps me mildly entertained with its bullet carnage and missile dodging free for alls and it mostly delivers on this front. So much so that it becomes tedious, I spent some time looking at my watch wondering when the film would end. The acting,plot and blatant advertisement were so horrific that I had to look away and think aboutI watch the transformer movies for mindless action that keeps me mildly entertained with its bullet carnage and missile dodging free for alls and it mostly delivers on this front. So much so that it becomes tedious, I spent some time looking at my watch wondering when the film would end. The acting,plot and blatant advertisement were so horrific that I had to look away and think about bunnies for a while. Personally this film would get a lower rating but a 6 year old child giggled at a deceptacon having its head blown off which made me giggle and if a kid can enjoy it then it can't be that terrible. Expand
  52. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret models that replaced Megan Fox. This is a good movie if you know what you're going to see. Although the plot, the script, and the premise are indeed terrible, the movie achieves what it is going for: An action packed, special effect, animation film.
    Expand
  53. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers: dark of moon is the latest in the three transformers film and while not the worst it is not the best in the series and not a good film in general. The story in this movie made little sense and it does not need to as transformer films do not need a good plot just action however this film also fails in that regard. The action fails as it is boring to watch, the action sequences are to long and not well done as there is always a riffled plot moment in the middle of them meaning you won't understand why this fight takes place this would be ok if they did not pop up every five minutes and adding to this is the fact that they are cliché such as when just before a transformer kills another transformer they start talking about the past and then another transformer kills the evil one that is going to kill the good one so hurrah the good transformer has been saved even though this happens in very action film, hurrah. This film just grows tiresome very quickly and this film goes on for three hours that is three hours of boredom, I plead to you if you have not already seen this film do not seat it is not worth your time or money. Expand
  54. Jul 27, 2011
    6
    This film has the same unbelievable artistic beauty that the others do. Sadly, I though that some characters fell from their previous status, and overall the movie lacked, for me, a story I could believe. Granted it's about alien robots from space, I retain my statement.
  55. Aug 12, 2011
    5
    The effects are extremely good, and they deserve a lot of prizes, however, the acting is horrible, there are many errors, a family that was sitting behind me were counting the errors that they saw, and they were right, Mistakes, mistakes everywhere.
  56. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    the action was ok, and the robots were ok, but the movie makes very much rookie mistakes. Michael Bay should really learn how to make interesting characters.
  57. May 30, 2012
    5
    Michael Bay has never been very good at the story part of the movie. While the underlying story is very interesting, it ignores elements from the first two movies. The new lead actress almost makes me want Megan Fox back. Yes, she's hot, but she's no actor. Besides that, Michael Bay does deliver the best action movie I've seen so far and it's definitely worth seeing.
  58. Jan 28, 2012
    5
    The good news is that "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is better than its predecessor. The bad news is that it entrusts to heavily on CGI, the people acting is below average and it is far to long. This isn't Ben-Hur. Although DotM isn't as good as the original film its storyline, voice acting and musical score is simply devine. Perhaps the biggest criticism I have for this movie is howThe good news is that "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is better than its predecessor. The bad news is that it entrusts to heavily on CGI, the people acting is below average and it is far to long. This isn't Ben-Hur. Although DotM isn't as good as the original film its storyline, voice acting and musical score is simply devine. Perhaps the biggest criticism I have for this movie is how different it is compared to the previous features. This flick sometimes feels like a massive military advertisement for the United States Goverment. Expand
  59. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    At first, the movie was pretty neat. The decepticon tie-in with the first man on the moon sequence was pretty neat. I was fairly impressed with the acting, but the new girl clearly needs some lessons. Overall, the 80 or so minutes of slow motion explosions and fighting was pretty cool, but it took up about half the movie. This movie was a nice way to end the trilogy but I dont think theAt first, the movie was pretty neat. The decepticon tie-in with the first man on the moon sequence was pretty neat. I was fairly impressed with the acting, but the new girl clearly needs some lessons. Overall, the 80 or so minutes of slow motion explosions and fighting was pretty cool, but it took up about half the movie. This movie was a nice way to end the trilogy but I dont think the makers put a lot of time or thought into it. Expand
  60. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    First of all, I did not see this film in 3-D, and have regretted this decision ever since. I have read many reviews saying it was the greatest 3-D experience since Avatar but unfortunately I cannot confirm nor deny this. I'm considerably more upset by my decision mainly because there is very little else ground-breaking or 'epic' about this film, but first the redeeming features. Much likeFirst of all, I did not see this film in 3-D, and have regretted this decision ever since. I have read many reviews saying it was the greatest 3-D experience since Avatar but unfortunately I cannot confirm nor deny this. I'm considerably more upset by my decision mainly because there is very little else ground-breaking or 'epic' about this film, but first the redeeming features. Much like the previous entries, this is arguably one of the most visually stunning movies in recent memory, from half collapsing building set pieces to the location of Chicago for much of its finale, but the greatest beauty of this feature is the shape-shifting robots that are the Transformers, forget the boring homosapiens that take up far too much screen time, why can't these guys BE the movie, the fights, the movement, the shift from motor to robot is a visual joy to behold (apart from the apparent inclusion of blood, which seems grossly out of place) and the bare knuckle fights between the autobots and er...autobots ( you'll see). Unfortunately this movie suffered from the Bayesque syndrome that had plagued the previous installments, weak acting from the consistently annoying Shia LaBeouf, an under-achieving debut from Rosie Huntington-Whitely and silly uncalled for cameos from John Malkovich and the Hangover's Ken Jeong. The plot is exasperating as ever with an over abundance on Pink Floyd references to coincide with the films title, far too many pointless scenes, such as the returning Simmons new assistant in a bar fight ( what was the point) because bearing in mind this film Is 155mins long. You owe to yourself to watch the latest installment, it is a vast improvement on the second, the visually stunning set pieces and transformers themselves are marvelllous in their own right, but the movie gets dragged down deeply by the boring human story and needless moments to drag out the film. Expand
  61. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    Summary: Good action movie, but clearly lacks a winning punch Plot: Optimus is kicking every Decepticon's butt - as a Prime should! But it is sad that there was not that big a build up in terms of rivalry between the Decepticons and Autobots. Important characters like Bumblebee and (even) Optimus seem to get very little screen time. Genre: It is a pure action film; and nearly two and halfSummary: Good action movie, but clearly lacks a winning punch Plot: Optimus is kicking every Decepticon's butt - as a Prime should! But it is sad that there was not that big a build up in terms of rivalry between the Decepticons and Autobots. Important characters like Bumblebee and (even) Optimus seem to get very little screen time. Genre: It is a pure action film; and nearly two and half hours of it! Gets exasperating after a while; but a bunch of good looking Ferrari's and McLaren's save the day. The story definitely has loopholes - I didn't think for a minute it wouldn't; so no big surprises there. Special effects (which is the reason why people go to a Michael Bay movie): 3D visuals was good awesome, I've got to admit it. The initial sequences of "clip pasting" from the past did not seem so realistic. In fact those first few screens seemed way too fast; as if the movie couldn't wait to get to the action mode. Casting and performance: Somehow I NEVER really liked the mom-dad characters of Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf); can do without them really. The new girl (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley) is good looking, but doesn't really seem to perform that well esp. in the intense action sequences. LaBeouf does a good job - fighting (whenever armed) and screaming (when disarmed). He seems to have gotten used to his character! Overall, the casting of the movie was not that great and the characters never really seemed to connect emotionally. I felt it could have been better. Read the full review at http://blog.nrajesh.com/review-transformers-3 Expand
  62. Jan 7, 2012
    5
    I think plot wise it was ok but it didnt have much for backstory but hey this is a Michael Bay film, I cant expect a good script so we can just be happy that he gave us something this decent (suprisingly). Also the acting wasnt as good as the previous film and easily the worst its been in the series. Rosie Huntington-Whiteley is a terrible replacement for Megan Fox because not only is sheI think plot wise it was ok but it didnt have much for backstory but hey this is a Michael Bay film, I cant expect a good script so we can just be happy that he gave us something this decent (suprisingly). Also the acting wasnt as good as the previous film and easily the worst its been in the series. Rosie Huntington-Whiteley is a terrible replacement for Megan Fox because not only is she less attractive but Megan is a far better actress then her (and that is saying something).

    This film also relied super heavy on special effects. Yes I know its a Michael Bay film but the effects were at an all time high for this film. The end result was really boring and stale (you have seen it once you have seen it a thousand times is what im trying to get at).

    The film was rather boring and didnt have the excitement the previous films had. The run time makes you suffer through the film longer then you have too and Michael Bay really drags on these scenes to their fullest (rather annoying). These signs all point towards ending the series because it simply doesnt have that spark anymore.
    Expand
  63. Dec 18, 2011
    4
    Essentially this unnecessary third installment of the Transformers series simply recycles and reuses everything from the past two films and becomes a cliche in itself. Keep the Autobots vs. Decepticon rivalry. Keep the cliched ending. Keep the "girl runs away, only to come back" routine, but simply exchange Megan Fox with another attractive girl who can't act (Rosei Huntignton-Whitley).Essentially this unnecessary third installment of the Transformers series simply recycles and reuses everything from the past two films and becomes a cliche in itself. Keep the Autobots vs. Decepticon rivalry. Keep the cliched ending. Keep the "girl runs away, only to come back" routine, but simply exchange Megan Fox with another attractive girl who can't act (Rosei Huntignton-Whitley). Leave many questions unanswered: Why did Mikalea break up with Sam? How exactly did Sam and Carly come to be together? Then steal the central plot line from Superman Returns. Press play, sit down for 2.5 hours (much, much, much too long), and enjoy the few moments of actual robot violence (they come sparingly and not until after the first hour). Expand
  64. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    Unfortunately this movie was nowhere near as good as the first two. The cinematography and action sequences were really good (though not as good as the first two which I'll get to later) and the acting (minus Rosie Huntington-Whiteley) was also really good. However, this movie just lacked everything else from the prior films. For one, it felt like there was a major disconnect in continuityUnfortunately this movie was nowhere near as good as the first two. The cinematography and action sequences were really good (though not as good as the first two which I'll get to later) and the acting (minus Rosie Huntington-Whiteley) was also really good. However, this movie just lacked everything else from the prior films. For one, it felt like there was a major disconnect in continuity and this is largely due to Megan Fox's absence. I know a lot of people hate on Fox and claim that she's not a good actress but she is 10 times the caliber actress that Huntington-Whiteley is. Her relationship with Shia LaBeouf's character felt so forced and lacked any authenticity whatsoever that it killed a lot of the character dynamic. The dialogue was also kind of mediocre. There was none of that witty humor that provided a lot of laughs in the first two. And this movie should be used as Exhibit A for why NOT to use 3D in films. Instead of just having naturally flowing action that looks and feels awesome, Michael Bay felt the need, for some reason, to randomly include slow-motion sequences during fights that felt nothing but cheesy. The worst part about the movie though was the plot. It was kind of stupid to be completely honest and it didn't develop well at all. Lastly, I don't think anyone could put it better than Tyrese's character did towards the end when he said, "Why do the Decepticons always get the good **** Seriously, why? It's like, the Autobots are all stuck with the same generic technology while in each movie the Decepticons have major leaps in tech and that's just ridiculous. Overall, this movie was entertaining to watch from an action-movie perspective because you get a lot of cool explosions and whatnot but it was not all that good of a film in general. Honestly, it just felt like a cash-in and if they make a 4th (rumored for 2014) then it will probably be a joke. This was an unfortunate butchering of what could've become an epic saga. Expand
  65. Jan 15, 2012
    6
    Transformers 3 is certainly a better movie than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. First of all, there is much more of a plot. The action is better, and it's not overrated with special effects. The characters and the dialogue still aren't very good, especially Carly, Sam's new girlfriend. Her lines seem to be screaming every five seconds, and Sam is just, well, Sam. But really, if you'reTransformers 3 is certainly a better movie than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen. First of all, there is much more of a plot. The action is better, and it's not overrated with special effects. The characters and the dialogue still aren't very good, especially Carly, Sam's new girlfriend. Her lines seem to be screaming every five seconds, and Sam is just, well, Sam. But really, if you're going to see a Transformers movie, pick this one or the first one. Seriously, you'll regret it if you don't. Expand
  66. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    Most sequels don't work, even less trilogies are successful. We have learned that over the years, & "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is no exception. Michael Bay's 1st half of this 3rd chapter seemed promising, the story was a little slow but it started to connect little by little. The comedy was a little over the top, but pretty funny I have to admit. This time around, "Sam Witwicky"Most sequels don't work, even less trilogies are successful. We have learned that over the years, & "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is no exception. Michael Bay's 1st half of this 3rd chapter seemed promising, the story was a little slow but it started to connect little by little. The comedy was a little over the top, but pretty funny I have to admit. This time around, "Sam Witwicky" (Shia LaBeouf) is in a new relationship with his new girlfriend "Carly" (super model Rosie Huntington - Whiteley). Sam feels belittled by his own ego & the fact that he still doesn't have a job, while his girlfriend has a very good job & has taken the role of provider for him. The man she works for is "Dylan" played by (Patrick Dempsey) a very rich yet mysterious man. Up to this point everything seems to be flowing. Optimus Prime finds out that we the humans have kept things from the "Autobots" here on earth, it seems that our mission to the moon back in the 60's was more than we "humans" thought it was. The mission was never about the moon, but what was hidden on it. A powerful being named "Sentinel Prime" he was the key to this chapter, I won't go into spoilers. Again up to this point it's flowing, it's what happens after they find this being, that totally **** this story & film up. It goes from being rather good to very bad in a matter of minutes. Here we go, 1st of all the story gets ruined 1/2 way into the film. 2nd, the film is way too **** long, like way too long. My brother & I figured we could of edited at least 40 to 45 minutes of unnecessary footage. Made the film 2 hours long, instead of the whopping 2 hrs 40+ minutes. It was just very prolonged, which brings us to my 3rd complaint. Not enough action, this is a sequel therefore action sequences are a must, specially in a Michael Bay film. I felt the film was just badly edited, it didn't flow right, in some parts it was right down boring. Now I can't go into too much detail without ruining the film for you. What I will say is that everything that leads up to the final battle in downtown Chicago, is just a **** tease. The battle really never takes flight, the "Autobots" seemed tired & just not what you'd expect. The star of the entire trilogy "Optimus Prime" was nowhere to be found 2/3 of the fight. This film was just too much blah - blah - blah, not enough action & not enough "Optimus". Michael Bay really **** this one up, but the good news is this will be his last take on "Transformers". The one thing I learned from this film is if you're gonna make a bad film, don't make it long in duration. For you just not only piss off your audience, you bore them as well. Thanks a lot, Mr. Bay. Expand
  67. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think some progress was made with this film in comparison to Revenge of the Fallen, but there are too many problems with this movie for me to consider it a 'good' film. That being said, I still watch this movie purely for the action and CGI effects, both of which are excellent. But as a fan of the original animated series, the simple fact that Optimus Prime went from a pacifistic natural leader to a frenzied killing machine in the span of a single scene angered me to no end. Finally, the voice acting (apart from Weaving, who is pretty much infallible) was utterly horrid. Expand
  68. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    Come on people, you ALWAYS have to rate a movie on genre. For this movie's purpose, which was super blockbuster, action, explosion, robot butt kicking CGI awesomeness, this movie hit all the right notes. I take my films very seriously, but if you go into this movie expecting depth and texture... you're seriously going into the wrong movie. However, this movie was just FUN!. I gave it a 6Come on people, you ALWAYS have to rate a movie on genre. For this movie's purpose, which was super blockbuster, action, explosion, robot butt kicking CGI awesomeness, this movie hit all the right notes. I take my films very seriously, but if you go into this movie expecting depth and texture... you're seriously going into the wrong movie. However, this movie was just FUN!. I gave it a 6 because it lost points for length and flow, I though it was too long and there were some unnecessary scenes, dragging plot, etc; and it lost points for lack of diversity. The same cast of autobots are there. I would have liked to have seen some new, more hardcore, born in the 80s type of fan pleasing characters like Jetstream. In 3 movies, he hasn't appeared... oh well. Anyway... it was fun! Good rental for a Friday night with friends when you just want to watch a movie and not take it too seriously. Expand
  69. Jan 7, 2013
    5
    Transformers has come back half way. Though not as good as the first, it was an improvement from the last. A little better story with much better action. Even though Megan Fox if gone her replacement was dreadful. Good thing the action was good because it couldn't have been another diasaster for Michael bay
  70. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    To start things off, I thought the movie was going in the right direction when it started, but after the first 30mins or so, it took a turn for the worst. The plot stopped making sense, the characters are as dull as ever, special effects are used poorly, and overall the movie doesnâ
  71. Jul 28, 2012
    5
    It is safe to say that most people knew what to expect from Michael Bay's third instalment of the Transformers franchise. Impressive visuals, great special effects and plenty of metal on metal action sequences all flimsily supported by a weak script and storyline. Dark of the Moon is a better film than the previous Revenge of the Fallen but is still beset by the same flaws.

    Dark of
    It is safe to say that most people knew what to expect from Michael Bay's third instalment of the Transformers franchise. Impressive visuals, great special effects and plenty of metal on metal action sequences all flimsily supported by a weak script and storyline. Dark of the Moon is a better film than the previous Revenge of the Fallen but is still beset by the same flaws.

    Dark of the Moon starts impressively, taking its initial story from a Transformers novel, where the US moon landings and space race are explained to be a front to investigate a Transformers ship that has crashed on the dark side of the moon. It transpires that the Russians obtained a Transformer energy source from the crash site and began experiments with it at Chernobyl with disastrous consequences. Grounding the beginning of the film in this historical context is the strongest point of all three Transformer films. However, as soon as the initial story is set and the screenplay of Ehren Kruger takes over, starting with the appearance of Sam Witwicky (Shia LeBeouf), the film descends into familiar territory.

    Cue another weak script for the same bunch of characters, Special Agent Simmons (John Turturo), Lennox (Josh Duhamel), Epps, (Tyrese) and what was not great but occasionally amusing the first time becomes annoying the third time around. Megan Fox is not present this time and the script throws some barbs in her direction. Her replacement is posh Brit Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, who ticks all the aesthetic boxes Bay must have been looking for in a replacement but provides nothing more. Cameos from John Malkovich and Ken Jeong provide some fresh humour in places.

    Despite the criticism that Revenge of the Fallen was bloated, Dark of the Moon clocks in at just over two and a half hours and is far, far too long. I have no problems with long films, I have sat through Apocalypse Now and Once Upon a Time in America many times but for an action film with a cheesy script it is completely unnecessary.

    I couldn't help compare the films main protagonist, Sentinel (voiced by Leonard Nimoy), with the Fallen from the previous film in that both were characters from Cybertron's past, re-activated and brought to Earth as part of the Decepticon's plans.

    Visually the action looks amazing again, in particular the scenes on the freeway and with the falling skyscraper but it has all been seen before. The film culminates in another huge battle between the Transformers set against a different cityscape (Chicago this time) that feels oh so familiar.

    By giving Dark of the Moon 5 out of 10, it made me realise I was too kind to Revenge of the Fallen.
    Expand
  72. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon was quite disappointing; the trailers made it look like the best, when it was actually one of the weakest in the franchise. In fact the only things that are good about this film are great CGI and the final battle. But everything else is **** the acting was crap, the comedy seemed like it was trying too hard and they ended up being just horrible jokes, the 3DTransformers: Dark of the Moon was quite disappointing; the trailers made it look like the best, when it was actually one of the weakest in the franchise. In fact the only things that are good about this film are great CGI and the final battle. But everything else is **** the acting was crap, the comedy seemed like it was trying too hard and they ended up being just horrible jokes, the 3D was rather crap and the storyline also wasn't that good. In fact, I enjoyed Revenge of the Fallen more than I enjoyed this! NOTE: I am only giving this a 6 because of the final battle that improved the film, but not too much though. Expand
  73. Nov 2, 2013
    5
    "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is just a slightly better film than the awful "Revenge of the Fallen". At least Michael Bay doesn't fill every second of the movie with noisy garbage or just crude nonsense. That being said, however, the plot is still incoherent and not well planned. The only good thing I can say is that the 3-D effects and the CGI are pretty impressive.
  74. Jul 30, 2012
    4
    The third installment in the money making franchise suffers from a poor script, poor acting (particularly from Rosie Huntington Whiteley) and a slow uninteresting start. Despite this, no one can deny the last third of the film with the destruction of Chicago is visually brilliant, and although it may be overstuffed, it still looks stunning and the interest makes up for the less interestingThe third installment in the money making franchise suffers from a poor script, poor acting (particularly from Rosie Huntington Whiteley) and a slow uninteresting start. Despite this, no one can deny the last third of the film with the destruction of Chicago is visually brilliant, and although it may be overstuffed, it still looks stunning and the interest makes up for the less interesting start. But this film still is not a gem in the film world, just watch the last third and you'll be fine the rest a real waste of time. Expand
  75. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    Without a doubt it is better than Revenge of the Fallen. It might even be better than the first. It has by far the best action in the series. A few useless characters here and there and silly dialogue bring it down, but this is about as good as it gets with Michael Bay's action.
  76. Oct 9, 2012
    6
    Transformers has it's pros and cons, there's no one who can logically argue that. The pro's being superb editing, lethal action sequences, and plenty of water cooler moments. In short, anytime a robot is onscreen slicing or shooting, the movie is a great time.

    The con's, on the other hand, are far more pervasive to serious movie critics. Shia Labeouf serves as nothing more then a snot
    Transformers has it's pros and cons, there's no one who can logically argue that. The pro's being superb editing, lethal action sequences, and plenty of water cooler moments. In short, anytime a robot is onscreen slicing or shooting, the movie is a great time.

    The con's, on the other hand, are far more pervasive to serious movie critics. Shia Labeouf serves as nothing more then a snot nosed punk with no relevance to the story in any coherent sense, with his costars doing little more then delivering one liners and doing nothing of significance. I'll even go as far to say that Michael Bay only has people acting in the film is that it would be too expensive to do a movie exclusively focusing on the transformers. The plot is simple and you know where its going and how it ends. but then again, i think the point of this film is to just try and enjoy the actions sequences. Bay's at least got that in spades.
    Expand
  77. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    The effects are great, and for once, Megan Fox is all right. Now, the plot is still the same old. While this movie doesn't even deserve to have earned $1,000,000,000 at the box office globally; I still hate to think that people will rate this movie higher than 7. Why? It's too slow, and too predictable. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed, but at the end...I thought to myself "I could have goneThe effects are great, and for once, Megan Fox is all right. Now, the plot is still the same old. While this movie doesn't even deserve to have earned $1,000,000,000 at the box office globally; I still hate to think that people will rate this movie higher than 7. Why? It's too slow, and too predictable. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed, but at the end...I thought to myself "I could have gone without."
    Diagnosis: Please see it and have your own opinion
    Expand
  78. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    I just don`t understand the need for all the comedy in the Transformer series. I love the action but I get tired of all the silly crap! After watching this one, they really need to kill off the parents!!! The model also needs to go, after watching her Im convinced "Megan Fox" is a good Actress! lol She`s just there to pose. To be honest with you they could kill her, and the kid off too!I just don`t understand the need for all the comedy in the Transformer series. I love the action but I get tired of all the silly crap! After watching this one, they really need to kill off the parents!!! The model also needs to go, after watching her Im convinced "Megan Fox" is a good Actress! lol She`s just there to pose. To be honest with you they could kill her, and the kid off too! Why not just let the Soldiers play the main human roles? It`s a good movie when they focus on the Bots, but has way to much things that lead me to believe, the "editor" was taking a nap on the job! Expand
  79. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    Better than Revenge of the fallen for sure, but still not as good as the first. The action has improved from the second movie, and it's not as annoying overall, but it still feels like it was made for 10 year olds. It can be fun, but from a story perspective it's brain dead. Some of the plot twists are idiotic, and it lacks a true sense of grandeur like the first movie had. ItBetter than Revenge of the fallen for sure, but still not as good as the first. The action has improved from the second movie, and it's not as annoying overall, but it still feels like it was made for 10 year olds. It can be fun, but from a story perspective it's brain dead. Some of the plot twists are idiotic, and it lacks a true sense of grandeur like the first movie had. It overloads on c.g.i. way too often, the robots seriously need to shut up, and when it's over it's over. Nothing truly lingers beyond the running time. There's nothing to think or feel about. An impressive action scene or two can't give a movie a soul, or a good story, or a brain. Like I said, it's not as bombastic as the second movie, but if Bay's going to keep milking this cash cow, (and we all know he will), he should seriously look at the first movie again, and see what he did there. Not that it was a masterpiece, but it was good. This one however, I can't truly call good. Ok is more like it. Expand
  80. May 6, 2013
    5
    It's definitely a huge improvement over the God-awful second one. Although Transformers: Dark of the Moon had it's moments, it still wasn't that good. The main problems are the cheesy dialogue and the bad acting. Other than that, I found the movie to be kind of dull but it is entertaining.
  81. Mar 31, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The CGI's good, but what i hate with this movie is its cliche plot, narration, and bad jokes. However, the action scenes are cool to watch.. My opinion, this is the best Transformers film (It's bad, i know. But the first and second movies are way worse than this.) Expand
  82. May 15, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So the last live action Transformers movie; for now at least, and it's obvious to say that this one is better than the last one. After the hate the last one got from pretty much everybody, I guess Bay decided not to muck up his next as much. I mean don't get me wrong, none these three movies are really that good. This one is entertaining and less offensive than the last one. For starters no twin robots, that's a positive in my book. Okay so I'm tired of the racist stuff about them, I think they're racist stereotypes, but I just hate them because they were so fricking annoying in that last one. Anyways back to this film, the only offensive stereotype to come out of this movie is probably that Asian guy who was in the Hangover. Action in this movie; obviously, is great to look at, but at times bring up questions. Like, how does shockwave drive that worm thing? Where do these new autobots come from? Why were Decepticons hiding on the moon for so long? And why do transformers have to be involved in Chernobyl? That's the main problem with this movie; of course that's debatable, that while all the action and spectacles are occurring, it causes much more questions. I could give any less care for the main character, I grown tired of him, so I don't even care. The new girlfriend however is a bit better, not by much, but at least isn't as bad as that last chick was. There's nothing much to talk about with this one, it made a lot of money, but what else is new! Expand
  83. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    Another Michael Bay movie with the same defects.

    Bad CGI and slow conversations, that's what characterizes this third Transformers movie. It’s not as great as the second, but it got some entertaining things. The plot is highly entertaining, and it’s a very well made and unique movie that also is cool to watch. The actors aren't flawless, but acceptable. Entertaining but it still got
    Another Michael Bay movie with the same defects.

    Bad CGI and slow conversations, that's what characterizes this third Transformers movie. It’s not as great as the second, but it got some entertaining things. The plot is highly entertaining, and it’s a very well made and unique movie that also is cool to watch. The actors aren't flawless, but acceptable.

    Entertaining but it still got the same **** we've already seen.

    Transformers: Dark of the Moon gets a 6,5/10
    Expand
  84. Apr 23, 2014
    5
    While Dark of the Moon isn't the worst second sequel, it is a distant cousin from the original. The story is simple, and the CGI and effects are okay. I just wish more happened in this one.
  85. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    An unnecessary addition in the franchise, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a slight improvement upon its disappointing predecessor, but finds itself with a similarly undeveloped script.
  86. Jun 27, 2014
    6
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets.
  87. Jun 1, 2014
    5
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is not horrible as the 'Revenge of the Fallen' but still lacks a human touch, and opens again with more explosions, slow motion shots and action. There's no story in Transformers 3, Michael Bay one of the worst directors ever, makes another **** film to put in his collection.
  88. Jul 24, 2014
    6
    better than the last one again same thing i have been saying about all the transformers movies great CGI not great script its better than the second though i can give it that.
  89. Dec 5, 2014
    6
    Still entertaining, and not that bad of a movie, although some parts of it dragged on for too long and it ended WAY too abruptly. The Michael Bay-ish humor is very present in this film, for better and for worse. The effects are still great and the action is a step above the previous two, but in the end, it just didn't have the heart of the first film.
  90. Aug 12, 2014
    5
    Sure, it's an improvement over "Revenge of the Fallen" (slightly), but it's still as noisy as the last movie, and although it actually has somewhat of a plot, it's thin, and the characters are even thinner. Sam does a lot of running and calling for Bumblebee. His girlfriend, Carly, played by Rosie Huntington-Whitely, is a replacement for Megan Fox's character, after Fox was fired from theSure, it's an improvement over "Revenge of the Fallen" (slightly), but it's still as noisy as the last movie, and although it actually has somewhat of a plot, it's thin, and the characters are even thinner. Sam does a lot of running and calling for Bumblebee. His girlfriend, Carly, played by Rosie Huntington-Whitely, is a replacement for Megan Fox's character, after Fox was fired from the set due to a dispute with Steven Spielberg, who surprisingly signed on as executive producer. I wish I had not spent the money to see this in theaters when it came out. The CGI work is very impressive, but that doesn't make up for the seven bucks wasted. Expand
  91. Feb 4, 2015
    5
    Miren...¿Como se los explico?...
    Mas de lo mismo pero con una duración de casi 3 horas... (aunque es mucho mejor que la 2 en todos los aspectos)
    Michael Bay sigue y sigue creando películas con la misma formula (efectos increíbles, cargados de explosiones, pero con un guion pobre y ridículo.)
  92. WJS
    Jan 3, 2015
    4
    The problem I have with Transformers movies is, when the good guys and bad guys are fighting each other I can never tell them apart! These movies have become increasingly bloated as they moved along and I'm thinking that they need a good dose of Beano to relieve the gas builds up. Really loud and noisy and the acting is pretty bloated as well.
  93. Feb 16, 2015
    6
    With a lot of repetitive moments, Bay's third Transformers installment threads quite carefully along similar paths, without offering many new elements. Bay certainly used his profitable formula once more to create a movie that is quite possibly too long and to shallow, but certainly better then it's predecessor. It offered a lot within the technical scope, certainly elevating the first toWith a lot of repetitive moments, Bay's third Transformers installment threads quite carefully along similar paths, without offering many new elements. Bay certainly used his profitable formula once more to create a movie that is quite possibly too long and to shallow, but certainly better then it's predecessor. It offered a lot within the technical scope, certainly elevating the first to movies and the plot was much more interesting than earlier, albeit not missing some WTF moments. Everything else - pale, shallow and typically 'Bayesque'. Also, the casting of Rosie Huntington-Whiteley as Megan Fox's successor was the biggest flop of the franchise. Sure, Megan was horrible and we wanted her out, but the blond bimbo was such a step downwards that we actually wanted Megan back - yup, she was that horrible!

    With a more interesting plot and a great set of technical achievements, combined with some very well picked cast members (Turturro, Malkovich), 'Dark Side of the Moon' offers more than it's predecessor, but still much less than the first movie and it is, essentially, an overly long action-packed movie with giant robots that trash everything around them. Something for the fans, but certainly not a first-time.

    Also, this was the last installment with Shia... finally.
    Expand
  94. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    This movie is bad, but not as bad as Revenge of the Fallen. This one an be considered a guilty pleasure. Gets boring at times, but it kicks back up after a few minutes. The finale was pretty satisfying. But of course, there were characters you don't care about, boring filler, subplots and plot holes, and forced romance. Has good effects, but too many explosions, but not as many as RevengeThis movie is bad, but not as bad as Revenge of the Fallen. This one an be considered a guilty pleasure. Gets boring at times, but it kicks back up after a few minutes. The finale was pretty satisfying. But of course, there were characters you don't care about, boring filler, subplots and plot holes, and forced romance. Has good effects, but too many explosions, but not as many as Revenge of the Fallen. This movie is a guilty pleasure movie. Nothing more. Expand
  95. Apr 29, 2015
    6
    Good News: Its Better Than Revenge Of The Fallen
    Bad News: That's Not Saying A Lot
    Dark Of The Moon is pretty much Revenge of the Fallen with a new Paint Job. It's still loud and noisy, the plot is still stupid, and no one can act in this movie. But there is some good in it, like: Better visual effects, action scenes are epic and more clear, and it's more serious than Revenge of the
    Good News: Its Better Than Revenge Of The Fallen
    Bad News: That's Not Saying A Lot
    Dark Of The Moon is pretty much Revenge of the Fallen with a new Paint Job. It's still loud and noisy, the plot is still stupid, and no one can act in this movie. But there is some good in it, like: Better visual effects, action scenes are epic and more clear, and it's more serious than Revenge of the Fallen. Transformers Dark of the Moon is ok in my book.
    Expand
  96. Jul 26, 2015
    5
    I thought it was the final movie of Transformers but no, excellent plot and action scenes . Megan Fox shame that there was not but almost disappointing but exciting .
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 4, 2011
    30
    The first ten or fifteen minutes of Michael Bay's movie tremble, unaccountably, on the verge of being fun. [11 & 18 July 2011, p.101]
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 30, 2011
    40
    Marveling at its grotesque gigantism doesn't make this two-and-a-half-hour-long movie any less dull.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.