Transformers: Dark of the Moon Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 966 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all thatTransformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    One small step for action movies, one giant leap into the abyss of mindlessness.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 330
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. MichaelYou better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a new good sci-fiction film for me .
    I like the film very much , well, not for all.
    the robots performance is awesome,
    but the humans acting is bad
    hope the film will not receive any bad rewards like razzies.
    If the film got any bad rewards like razzies,
    I WILL KILL OFF THE **** !!!
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    Much better movie than TF2. Not quite as good as TF1 but I doubt anything could ever match that.

    Its a summer popcorn movie & should be
    Much better movie than TF2. Not quite as good as TF1 but I doubt anything could ever match that.

    Its a summer popcorn movie & should be taken as such. Michael Bay has adjusted his directing style a little & slowed it down to allow for the 3D so the pace is a little slower now & the action easier to make out as the camera steps back a bit to let you see the action from a distance.

    All the acting is fine really nothing to complain about its passable as the actors are treating it for what it is non serious summer sci-fi entertainment. Humour is juvenile but quite funny in places. Story is more defined than TF2. Action & CGI is all top notch as you would expect.

    Overall if you want a fun to watch summer popcorn blockbuster this is the movie for you if you liked TF1 then you will like TF3. If you do not like Michael Bay movies then nothing here will change your mind but I think most audiences know beforehand what to expect & here Bay delivers in his final Transformers movie (it wraps the story up so does not demand another installment anyway....).
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2011
    6
    Somewhere in the middle of this movie, I flatlined and fell into a light doze for a few minutes even though I was well-rested going into theSomewhere in the middle of this movie, I flatlined and fell into a light doze for a few minutes even though I was well-rested going into the film. There's simply too many little mechadudes running around with little or no exposition to flesh out what their goals and motivations really are. This, in turn, causes the viewer not to really give a rip about what is going on. Still, the action towards the end is as intense as any action film in recent memory. Those who love the jiggle will not be disappointed by the Megan Fox replacement in this movie. The human actors do a serviceable job moving the plot along, such as it is, but the robots ironically reveal how robotic the script really is. Michael Bay disappoints with his direction of this movie. Clearly, there was a rush job done here, and it is not lost upon many what pressure must have been felt to revive this franchise after the faultering of the second film in the trilogy. Wanted to love it, but just came out liking it a little. I give this a hesitant matinee price recommendation, at best. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    If you like your movies big, dumb and noisy fun then Transformers 3 will be absolutely perfect for you. The plot makes no sense, the immatureIf you like your movies big, dumb and noisy fun then Transformers 3 will be absolutely perfect for you. The plot makes no sense, the immature script reduces every human character (except for Rosie Huntingdon Whiteley because, you know, she's the hot chick and the opening shot of her butt establishes exactly what she's there for) to a cliched stereotype at least once, the action goes on for so long - particularly towards the end - that you get explosion fatigue.. This film exists to make money out of people who don't realise that action films can be smart and mind-blowing as well as screen blowing. It's basically the first and second film combined, with an added half hour, and is a license to print more cash. The opinions of critics, just like punctuation, grammar and worthwhile filmmaking, is something that people who'll give this 10 just really won't need to take any notice of. If you do sit through this, remember to thank Michael Bay at the end for making you that little bit dumber. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    Surprisingly this movie starts off well enough with an actually story. I know it's hard to believe that a Michael Bay movie starts off with aSurprisingly this movie starts off well enough with an actually story. I know it's hard to believe that a Michael Bay movie starts off with a story. Well all that seemed to be going well all went down the drain fair;y quickly . The story suddenly stops and the mindless action begins. I sat there asking myself am I the only one who enjoys good movies and doesn't just go watch a movie to see things blow up. The lack of story in this movie causes your mind to wander and focus on the text messages in your pocket instead of the mindless 1 hour long action scene. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    I wrote a racist 'poem' and my skype status read: "i'm sorry, it is not you, it was that **** movie, i say **** and kykes and call **** dykesI wrote a racist 'poem' and my skype status read: "i'm sorry, it is not you, it was that **** movie, i say **** and kykes and call **** dykes but transformers 3 has truly offended me!" My friend may have been offended by the above and asked me why? I think he likes the movie. I replied: "do you have a spare hour or two? i'll tell you. [15:27:23] calum: leaving aside the obvious lack of knowledge about the Transformers universe, Sentinel Prime (Alpha Trion) [Optimus Prime's Father] {Played by Leonard Nimoy, Galvatron, aka future Megatron} being but one glaring example. The whole use of the word race in general, both that it is used, when in reality the concept is imaginary, to refer to a whole species of robots is absurd. There is no real life proof that 'races' differ in any meaningful way besides minor ecological and geographical adaptations and evolutionary differences like my long thin nose to pick a rather vulgar example, which clearly changed from my African forefathers due to their migration to colder climates, thus allowing the more efficient heating of the air inhaled, to avoid hypothermia with the minor drawback of restricting the flow of air and thus reducing the amount that can be inhaled compared to those in warmer lands. In the movie however, race is used to define all of the transformers, their 'race' being what defines them and what they are fighting for the survival of. Also, the whole undertone of self sacrifice for ones 'race' or even planet, in the case of the humans, i find particularly disturbing as it glorifies suicide terrorism and our feeble attempt to combat such violence in kind. That isn't the morality that i grew up with in the 1980's. The Autobots would never and as far as I can remember, didn't kill anything. Let alone all the decepticons, and in the case of the usually docile and slow to anger Optimus, his own father, mentor and also a helpless and surrendering Megatron. It is this that got Prime killed in the very faithful, if a little market led Japanese Movie 'The Movie'. The Prime I know would never kill in cold blood, but then the Autobots are now an analogy for our brave and noble troops, who often are forced to murder, but Prime chooses this, so even as an example to the military, remembering this is a kids movie and not a rally cry, is still a rather disturbing moral example to set. The best performance was given by the CGI animators, but again, seemed more akin to the brutal comic books than the toys or cartoons with gratuitous dismemberment aplenty. The acting sucked, the script was worse and the director, it would appear is a racist facist homophobic **** Unless this movie is a true representation of the American worldview it can only be seen as, at best, a shameless marketing tool to sell toys with no thought given to it's content by it's creators and at worst a tasteless racist recruitment video for the so called 'war on terror'. The answer to terror it would have you believe is the merciless and complete destruction of ones enemies with no thought given to negotiation or understanding. And why the **** is Shockwave a giant snake with a separate dude that doesn't even talk and never turns into a laser gun? If any racial language used herein is offensive to you it is not intended as you can see above I don't even give the term 'race' legitimacy. Why? Because there is no such thing, simple. If you think you might be of a different 'race' to someone else or if the use of possibly offensive racial language perturbs you then it is because you are identifying yourself that way. If no ones a race, no one gets offended. Which is good because we are not and therefore we shouldn't. The word is used wrongly by most people to differentiate and in this movie, I guess they are using it well to refer to a species, eg the human race, or the cybertronian race. But it is still the wrong word, despite it's arguably accurate usage. So yeah, that's what offended me. Sure people believe in race, sure it isn't real, even surer everyone alive is racist, it is common sence to fear the unknown or the threat posed to the local womenfolk by a swarthy genetically more suitable rival. But when making a movie for kids, who should never be lied to, being so blatantly ignorant and misleading is in my opinion, unforgivable. In fact after watching the movie, i have a good mind to go and shoot all the dirty jews that made it in the head, even if they beg, like Optimus! Megatron is my inspiration no more! His feeble mercy is for the weak! Autobots, transform and kill em all!" So yeah, don't even pirate this filthy waste of bandwidth unless you... Nah, I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy. Expand

See all 330 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 29, 2011
    It's a big one this week. Watch the very first trailers for the "Harry Potter" conclusion and "Transformers: Dark of the Moon," get another look at "X-Men: First Class," and catch up on this week's developments and rumors, including reports about a new "Terminator" with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.