Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 829 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    But don't worry about remembering the characters - the movie certainly doesn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 297
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a new good sci-fiction film for me .
    I like the film very much , well, not for all.
    the robots performance is awesome,
    but the humans acting is bad
    hope the film will not receive any bad rewards like razzies.
    If the film got any bad rewards like razzies,
    I WILL KILL OFF THE **** !!!
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers- Dark of the Moon gives its fans something to cheer about. The third instalment of the series makes up for everything Transformers 2 failed at, and goes a step beyond the Transformers (I) glory. The movie serves a huge helping of special effects, complete with a strong storyline. The car chases, the cars transforming or the giant robots in mortal combat- each scene is crafted with attention to detail. While the metal clashing against metal can be overwhelming in certain scenes, the fantastic VFX applied results in a visual delight. Read more http://bit.ly/lIROJ1 Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is
    predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret models that replaced Megan Fox. This is a good movie if you know what you're going to see. Although the plot, the script, and the premise are indeed terrible, the movie achieves what it is going for: An action packed, special effect, animation film. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3 may be better than the second, but it ain't by much. The third and last installment of the movie, Transformers 3 may have good 3D effects and CGI, but everything else is just bad. First off is the plot, it's just the same old thing. Optimus Prime saves the humans when the Decepticons try to destroy it. This time it's a little different though, as Sentinel Prime, ex-Leader of the Autobots, betrays his allies to bring Cybertron to earth. The other plot, there is none. Just filler and slapstick humor that gets old fast. The new female star, Rosie Huntington - Whiteley, is first shown walking in her underwear right when the movie starts off and the camera is directed right at her butt. This is the reason why she is here, because she cannot act for her life (I'm trying not to swear if you noticed). Everyone else in the movie wasn't that great of an actor/actress either. The only redeeming life to this movie is the Robots and the Special Effects. There was hardly any action, and if there was, it was short. Only the end was the good part of the movie, and even then it was still not that great. Especially when Whiteley goes up to Megatron and insults him. Really? Give me a break! No one would ever do that. It's so dumb and makes no sense. I know this was supposed to be more for the fan that the Average Joe like myself (I'm more like the Angry Video Game Nerd), but it could have still been suitable for both. This movie had great potential, but in the end it was the same garbage that has been done countless times before. Only recommended for Transformers fans. If you're just like me, you will find yourself bored as well. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    3
    Almost three hours of an overly complicated plot mixed in with a ton of cool visual effects, explosions and total destruction. A definite mixed bag and not nearly as good as the first. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    Here is a summary of the entire movie: MICHAEL BAY! awwww yeeeeeah explosions! hot girls! robots transforming with annoying sound effects! MICHAEL BAY! explosions! blah blah dark of the moon! pillars! explosions! shia labeouf screaming! shia labeouf shedding a single tear! explosions! pointless dialogue that leads up to an explosion! cool cars! a freeway chase scene with EXPLOSIONS! a super hot British girl! more cool cars! the most embarrassingly unfunny dialogue i have ever heard! MICHAEL BAY! collapsing building! plot holes galore! robots! more unfunny dialogue! epic music! MICHAEL BAY'S SIGNATURE 360 DEGREE EPIC PANNING WIDE ANGLE CAMERA VIEW! explosions! shia labeouf! tyrese gibson saying something dumb! other people that dont matter at all! people jumping out of planes in slow motion! explosions! MICHAEL BAY! epic music! explosions! THE END! Expand

See all 297 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.