Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 837 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    But don't worry about remembering the characters - the movie certainly doesn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 300
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon put to an end (for now)

    By W. Leung Saturday, 24 2011

    Giant robots, exotic cars, and sexy
    woman, Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon, produced in June 29, 2011, is an action packed with stunning visual effects movie.

    Since this is the final chapter of this Transformers movie trilogy, Michael Bay seek to conclude the stories with the last two movies and produces a fascinating ending of this series. The length of the movie is 157 minutes, which is the longest one in the series.

    Unlike other computer graphics movie, Transformers movie series is based on long life TV animation starting in 1984, which was created by Hasbro and Takara Tomy. The series is about two races of aliensâ
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the best of the 3 Transformer movies in my opinion, with moments that created genuine laughs throughout the cinema. Additionally, like any final movie in a trilogy, I walked in knowing that there was going to be tragedy on the autobot side.
    This, along with plenty of close calls made things somewhat unpredictable - yes it was obvious who would win and yes we saw Megatron's attack on Sentinel Prime coming from a hundred miles away, but there were other twists I didn't see coming - Sentinel's betrayal for example came pretty much out of the blue for me, particularly due to the amount of hype that was placed on him being the prior great leader of the Autobots.

    What really egged me were the scientific details, like how Earth wasn't ripped apart by Cybertron's gravity (keeping in mind that at one point the lightbridge stops aiding its arrival, meaning that any anti-gravity fields or whatever should have been off long enough to end the story there and then). Or how the guns of the Autobots appeared majorly inferior to human weapons, despite having a larger calibre, etc. Or how a wire holding 80kg of flesh being thrown around, while rubbing against angular, super-hardened alien metal was able to be cut by a small steel knife. Or how Sam was able to walk away from a crash-landing of a large alien aircraft while being unrestrained and hanging onto the outer hull (which flips multiple times after striking the ground).

    Still, I guess it's just as believable as giant humanoid robots that transform into human vehicles of completely different material (metal alloys =/= leather seats) upon having first scanned them for a couple of seconds.

    Point taken, the movie isn't about realism obviously, but rather action and practical comedy, of which it delivers both. Some have mentioned that it had too much slow motion, but I would prefer that a hundred times over than having cameras and scene change every second while objects across the focal range whiz past, obscuring the action even more. One other gripe I had - is it necessary to have the intro of Linkin Park's Iridescent play 5 or so times throughout the first 2/3 of the movie?
    Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was good, although it wasn't anything I have seen in the other transformers. The lines kind of got messed up, as all of the conversations sort of sound like 5th graders talking. I feel like the producers were just trying to play off of the new melee optimus as he shoots a couple times in the entire movie. Also there is a scene where optimus is dangling from suspension wires for literally a good 20 minutes while everyone is getting their asses kicked, he's an advanced auto-biotic organism or whatever he should be able to untangle himself. Also the majority of the film feels like it is in slow motion because the action is so slow or the movie is actually in slow motion (which it is..... a LOT). Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    4
    If you like your movies big, dumb and noisy fun then Transformers 3 will be absolutely perfect for you. The plot makes no sense, the immature script reduces every human character (except for Rosie Huntingdon Whiteley because, you know, she's the hot chick and the opening shot of her butt establishes exactly what she's there for) to a cliched stereotype at least once, the action goes on for so long - particularly towards the end - that you get explosion fatigue.. This film exists to make money out of people who don't realise that action films can be smart and mind-blowing as well as screen blowing. It's basically the first and second film combined, with an added half hour, and is a license to print more cash. The opinions of critics, just like punctuation, grammar and worthwhile filmmaking, is something that people who'll give this 10 just really won't need to take any notice of. If you do sit through this, remember to thank Michael Bay at the end for making you that little bit dumber. Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    I liked the Transformers cartoon as a child and I even enjoyed the first two films for what they were: action movies with giant fighting robots. That being said, I found TF3 overly long and boring. It spends too much time following the humans running around and being tossed around. There are few good "giant fighting robots" scenes. It was rather disappointing. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    Here is a summary of the entire movie: MICHAEL BAY! awwww yeeeeeah explosions! hot girls! robots transforming with annoying sound effects! MICHAEL BAY! explosions! blah blah dark of the moon! pillars! explosions! shia labeouf screaming! shia labeouf shedding a single tear! explosions! pointless dialogue that leads up to an explosion! cool cars! a freeway chase scene with EXPLOSIONS! a super hot British girl! more cool cars! the most embarrassingly unfunny dialogue i have ever heard! MICHAEL BAY! collapsing building! plot holes galore! robots! more unfunny dialogue! epic music! MICHAEL BAY'S SIGNATURE 360 DEGREE EPIC PANNING WIDE ANGLE CAMERA VIEW! explosions! shia labeouf! tyrese gibson saying something dumb! other people that dont matter at all! people jumping out of planes in slow motion! explosions! MICHAEL BAY! epic music! explosions! THE END! Expand

See all 300 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.