User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1313 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had. All you can see is messy clunky robots fighting with amazingly terrible cinematography followed by a brainlessly written script.
  2. Sep 4, 2010
    0
    This is, without exaggeration, the absolute worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. Not only because it's a million kinds of awful, but because of what it represents. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen symbolizes not just everything condescending, cynical, and soulless in Hollywood, it stands as a testament to sub-crustal standards and the triumph of a strong marketing campaign over effort, talent and vision. Batman and Robin has been dethroned. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Michael Bay strikes again. Again and again and again and again.

    For this review, I am only going to say four words: Noise. Confusion. Megan. Noise.

    That is all this movie is about. There is not much else to say. Transformers 1 was pretty decent for a horrible director but this is a piece of one big **** Nothing about this movie was good. Not even Megan Fox because she cannot act. Shia
    LeBeouf looks neurotic, the Transformers look like trash toys now, and the story sucks. Michael Bay, you have failed...for the umpteenth time. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2011
    5
    The first Transformers was enjoyable, fill with action and hot Megan Fox, but unrealistic, repetitive segments and dumb humor, I rate that one: 6.8/10. The Tranformers cast and crew return for another adventure, overall don't waste your money buying this, it's a fair rental movie to kill the night. In this one, everything is repeated with added negativity. The enjoyable story from the last one gets replaced by just focusing on hot, but terrible actor Megan Fox and so called "Mr. Hotshot" Shia LeBeouf who is more worst at acting. 100% unrealistic, repetitive segments and sayings and the ending turns into some kind of soap opera. I rate this one: 5.5/10 Somebody please fire Michael Bay. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2010
    3
    An absolutely horrible film. Michael Bay should be ashamed that he isn't capable of toning down his over-the-top action, concentrating a LITTLE on the story and, when doing a film marketed to kids, leave out all of the sex, drug and racist material.
  6. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    i hated this movie. absolutely terrible. wether its the absolutely terrible "humor" sequences, the obscured, boring fights, or the stereotyped robots, there isnt a single redeeming quality in this "blockbuster sequel" of a movie and deserves nothing but 0 as a movie, and as a form of an example of a terrible movie.
  7. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    The original Transformers was a flawed movie, sure, but it was very fun with a decent script to make Transformers fit into the modern age of Blockbusters. Transformers Revenge of the Fallen, however, is a mix of computer generated effects, pots and pans clashing together, and vomit. The movie is a mess, from a horrible script, to annoying characters, to mindless explosions and action. Revenge of the Fallen took what worked in the first movie, made those aspects not work as well, and for the aspects that didn't work, made them a thousand times worse! Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    The other day I thought about watching this movie again and got a sour taste in my mouth that I had to wash away with garlic fries and soda. The sad part is that I've known people to pay and watch this movie at least 4 times IN THEATER.
  9. Sep 3, 2010
    0
    I can't remember the last time I desparately wanted to walk out of a movie. I felt cheated and insulted by this movie. It's offending to even think that they consider this entertainment, what-more, to charge a full ticket price of this garbage.
  10. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    The story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation of this movie is flawless. The action is perfect and dazzling. Explosions and metal pieces galore. Many scenes, especially the forest fight scene, play out like a symphony orchestra. So what this movie lacks and screws up, makes up for it 100 fold.
  11. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    Bad storyline. Decent to bad acting. Horrible storyline. Even the special effects (which really aren't that good) can't save this one.
  12. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    The plot was insanely stupid and honestly I felt insulted that they would put something so dumb into script form. The special effects are good (as expected). The cast was solid overall (yes even Megan Fox was fine). It was funny as well, Little bits of humor added through out that imo worked well for the film. It wasnt as bad as the critics say but it wasnt good either.
  13. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    I hated this movie! HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED THIS MOVIE! IT'S GODAWFUL! IT'S A CURSE,I MEAN IT IS SO SAINT IN HELL! Michael Bay destroy this movie and raping with lots of sexuality and some stereotypes in this horrible movie! HATED!!!
  14. Sep 21, 2010
    2
    Why is it that all these 2 1/2 hour long Michael Bay films feel like they're 4 or 5 hours long? It never ends with the and badly edited action scenes full of clunky-CGI , and the terrible humor, the incomprehensible plot, and the shallow characters both human and robot that I could never care much about. It goes on and on and on, and was overstaying it's welcome for me at about the hour mark. There are few amusing moments, some sparks of a decent special effects scene, but for the most part it's just a bunch mindless dribble that serves no purpose I can think of, not even on the basic level of entertainment for anyone above the age of 14 or so. Expand
  15. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is for the most part is what I would have expected from a big budget movie about giant robots beating the sh** out of each other while causing maximum carnage to civilisation. The design of the transformers and the transformations from robot to vehicle mode and vice versa are visually stunning and most of them (especially Optimus Prime and Megatron) are nicely voiced. Megatron is a still a bad ass! Optimus Primes personally is portrayed very well: He's wise and a natual leader. This movie has got pretty much everything an action movie needs: explosions, brawls between the transformers and giant monuments (like pyramids and buildings) and objects blowing up and tumbling down to Earth with a thud. In short this movie is massive in scope with loads of actions scenes. Because this is a movie with a load of fast paced action scenes, this is a movie that needs to be enjoyed on a big cinema style TV with good speakers. The plot is a little bit of a mess: the movie revolves around Sam Whitwicky and he has some information about an energon source hidden on Earth and the nasty transformers (the Deceptions) want to get their hands on him so they can locate it. It follows on from the first Transformers movie and all of the Autobots have taken refuge on Earth searching for what's left of their Deception foes. The biggest trouble with this movie is that there's too much humour in this movie. The transformers, the Twins are pretty much there for the hysterical factor and I don't give a damn about them. They are annoying and clumsy and besides one scene in the movie, don't really help at all. The unnecessarily unfunny scene where Wheelie (a transformer that transforms into a remote control truck) dry humps Mikaela was just wrong. The character Leo was pointless to the storyline. The story at first may seem serious and tense (especially towards the middle of the movie where the Fallen lands on Earth) but the humour dampens the plot. Starscream (the Decepticon, 2nd in command after Megatron) acts like a coward and has a really weird voice; I mean, what happened to his robotic voice from the first movie. It sounded awesome! I guess his voice does fit his character a little bit because he doesn't seem to get involved in too many battles. He watches from the side lines while Megatron and the Fallen do all the heavy stuff (fighting). He's a little bit of a coward basically. Devestator which looks so bad ass and looks like he could level an entire city due to his massive size is only on screen for 30 seconds! I wished he just eat the Twins, spit them out and then play football with them. The Fallen (the main baddie) may seem dangerous looking at him with his skeleton like appearance, spikes protruding out of his body, his ability to teleport and his huge staff but he gets his ass kicked by Optimus Prime at the end in about 40 seconds; so much for an epic finale. I also love Optimus Prime's manners: He's weak and defenceless and can't get up to fight and the injured Jetfire (who is a old cronk by the way) offers him his parts. He sacrifices his parts to Optimus and Optimus now has the strength to fight the Fallen. Optimus doesn't say thank you to Jetfire. He acknowledges Sam for resurrecting him but doesn't thank a old deception (Jetfire) for sacrificing himself to save him. How selfish! On the outside, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen may seem a fun action movie, I couldn't take it too seriously due to unnecessarily humour and pointless characters. It's watchable but I prefer the first Transformers. Expand
  16. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    If you liked this movie, then what the **** is the matter with you? You must be a ****ing idiot to like this piece of **** I already ****ing hate you if you like it. **** Michael Bay, **** Shia Lebeouf, **** Megan Fox, **** Spielberg, just **** everybody that had anything to do with this **** Even a pizza guy. **** THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!
  17. Oct 4, 2010
    5
    Firstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I loved the first film, but this was very average and it seems a waste of such a huge budget.
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    There are so many flaws with this movie i wanna put a knife through my chest. But ill kepp it short.

    Its boring, not about transformers, and horribly acted and directed.

    And finally the made SOUNDWAVe a SATELITE, that in its self is a sin.
  19. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    Frankly, how bad could it be? Critics rip it to shreds, calling dumb, loud, and stupid, but it's a movie about giant robots smashing each other, so what did you expect? I expect Michael Bay to acknowledge that humans traditionally have brains. That's the problem with Transformers 2. You can complain all you want about the racist robots, the lame dialogue, the annoying human characters, and overstuffed action sequences, but it all comes down to one central problem. Yes, we all expected Transformers 2 to be loud, dumb, and stupid. The problem is that it is simply TOO loud, dumb, and stupid. It is loud, dumb, and stupid to the degree that it actually feels insulting as you watch it. The anger that possessed me during Transformers 2 was almost too much to bear. The idea that Michael Bay actually thinks we as a human race will tolerate something this stupid. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Revenge of the Fallen continues the movie franchise as the battle between the autobots and decepticons continues. This time, the leader of the fallen plans to take over our world as the autobots once again need the help of Sam Witwicky once again to help them win the battle, but after Optimus Prime gets killed by Megatron, now resurrected and is tracking Sam down to find the Matrix of Leadership which it has the power to resurrect a prime and our heroes must somehow save the world once again.

    My friend from school showed me the trailer and I waited until June of 2009 to see it and I've finally did.

    Michael Bay's directing was good, The storyline was almost slow, but some of the scenes were well-paced like the storyline from the first movie. The cinematography and the actors were almost as good, but they were still entertaining, again, the Witwicky family weren't given enough screen time, but were still great. The action scenes were amazing and the humor was as good as the ones in the first.

    This movie had won some of the golden raspberry awards, but the negative reviews and the score are way too low for a great movie and one of the highest grossing movies of 2009. If fans of the franchise hated this film will have to deal with the director. Remember that.

    At my highest hopes, an 8/10 will make this movie a very good sequel and I'm going to see Transformers 3 tomorrow in theaters.

    4.0/5 stars
    Expand
  21. Jan 13, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks optimus prime's balls, and the storyline is crap. Who would in their right mind watch a long ass movie that only thing that made this movie alot of money is Megan Fox and great graphics.
  22. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    WHY?! why does this movie have such bad reviews? This movie was epic and amazing. I know it was rushed because of the writers strike and all, but this is Transformers. Anybody watch the original cartoon? It was cheesy, had cheesy humor, but it was awesome, best show ever. This movie went back to the original cartoon with the comedy and action, and the on-going rivalry between Megatron and Optimus. This movie even had soundwave with Ravage too. I am an absolutely diehard Transformers fan and whoever gave this movie a bad review is just blind, deaf or plain old stupid, because this movie was epic. ALOT of action, traditional Transformers story, and good acting from Shia Labeouf, yes I know Megan Fox is a terrible actress but shes absolutely beautiful. Thats mainly what shes there for. This movie was amazing, funny, and EPIC! I love Transformers, I can't wait for the third! 100/10! Expand
  23. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    Revenge of the Fallen is beyond stupid with some of the dumbest characters ever put on screen. Acting was pitiful. Story complete garbage, if there was even one, coupled with racism everywhere in the film. Nothing could be worst for Michael bay who has just added another terrible movie to his resume.
  24. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    Another witless attempt at moviemaking from the always terrible Michael Bay. The first Transformers wasn't even that bad, at least not until the end, but this plotless recreation is a complete disaster. It could be the worst movie of the past twenty years.
  25. Aug 22, 2010
    6
    The movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd give the first half a 9 and the second half a 3 which equals a 6 for the whole movie.
  26. Aug 21, 2010
    1
    Micheal Bay returns to transformers with a even worse sequel to the original . i had no hope for this film but one never does know till they see it for themselves. yet again bay destroys more of my fond memories of transformers from a kid . lets see here we have a plot that even makes less sense then the original . more of shilo stuttering like a jack ass , more bad jokes , more pointless action with transforers blowing every thing and each other up who arnt given more then 1 or 2 sentences through the entire movie . with not a shred of charcter devolpment ever to be done peroid . i mean i like seeing stuff blowing up and giant robots kicking the crap outa each other but id also like to know about the robots doing it what they are like why they fight but no they basically have about as much personality as a rock em sock em robot. this whole movie was just basically a giant action jerk off fest layered on with bad jokes. this does 0 justice to the original transformers series . so yes if you have a IQ of a rock ,or like seeing demo derby's for mindless destruction , or are easily amused like seeing car keys or some thing jingled in your face . then yes you may like trasnformers 2. lets face it 25% of the population is retarded they think the govt. is responsable in making 911 happen or think obama is a muslim . so no im not to suprised that thoose same morons liked and payed to see this crap. Expand
  27. May 29, 2011
    4
    pretty bad one. not the best from micheal bay. disappointing and regular revenge story. no much emotions and drama here. the last 10 minutes was good. rest all bad.... just bad micheal bay surely did not surprise us. it is his regular one
  28. Aug 25, 2010
    8
    I don't know what the hate is about. Sure the plot was a little disappointing, the acting was sub-par, but as a old-time transformers fan, I have no issue with it. The expectations were set way too high when the movie is intended to give good special effects and action sequences, and that's what Bay is good at, and that's what he delivers. Personally, I think if you want a touching plot, Oscar-level performances, go see a movie that actually looks like it's going deliver. If you want explosions, mindless action, and an entertaining two hours, I recommend this. Expand
  29. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    I don't know what to say, whether it's the horrible script that tries to be funny so badly or the fictional stuff that don't make sense. And perhaps some horrible acting mainly supported by Megan Fox. This movie in general is really bad, but I can't say is awful because at the very least, the people of the special effects did a terrific job!How bad is the script you say? Well when all of sudden characters that were in one country, appear in another magically. When robots suddenly can transform into humans, that makes you wonder why the idiot robots didn't come up with that in the first place. Acting? Yeah Megan fox instead of frustrated or crying for his love when he is about to be rip apart in one of the scenes, she is actually watching with amusement. Oh and apparently the government has an awful security because those radars can't detect when a robot is near a satellite, or on any kind of ground. Ugh I could continue, but it would take me days! One thing for sure, I wouldn't be happy to receive credit as a director of this film seriously. And unfortunately, there is still a lot of strange people that enjoy any kind of movie like this, and FYI I enjoyed the cartoons and love robots. Expand
  30. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    From the first frame of LOUD METAL-CLANGING CONFUSING MONTAGE to the last frame of LOUD METAL-CLANGING CONFUSING MONTAGE this film is Michael Bay as usual: terrible, but loud and fast. The actors literally try to dash out of the wreckage and no one's career gets out unscathed. By the time LeBeouf outruns (!) the enormous, fast as jets, body-heat seeing BOTS for the tenth time--one wonders how ANYONE maintains any respect for this disaster. Moviemaking at its crudest. Ugh! Expand
  31. May 31, 2014
    2
    There are moments in this film where it is somewhat better than the last film in regards to better filming of action scenes and more Transformers but that is quickly lost. The stuff I didn’t like from the last film such as focusing on the uninteresting human characters and the dumb/annoying characters and the dumb humor. What makes this film even worse than its predecessors is there are even more dumb and goofy moments than the last film with some new annoying Transformers and human characters. Also, the film spends a good chunk of it focusing on the interesting human characters. Finally, the climax well shot better is long and boring. If you like mindless entertainment see it but if you weren’t big on the last one sit this one out. Expand
  32. Jun 29, 2011
    1
    Oh good joy. Michael Bay at his best. "At his best" I mean at his best at annoying people who like Transformers and people who like to watch films overall. Characters are annoying cardboard cut-outs with no personalities whatsoever, the robots themselves have little importance whatsoever, there are so many plot holes that it makes the first film completely irrelevant and the action scenes are a drag and boring as hell, no matter how many explosions Bay can fit in every scene. I suggest just watching the first Transformers, which is a more better film to watch than this sack of **** Expand
  33. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    That's weird, I was expecting the user score to be much lower based on what I heard on the internet. Goes to show this wasn't the worst movie ever, as there are a whole lot of other movies with lower scores (looking at you Twilight movies). Even if some of the guys who worked on this movie weren't happy with it, I still enjoyed it a lot, and hope the third movie will win some fans back.
  34. Aug 13, 2011
    3
    I have no problem with mindless action flicks. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is certainly one of these, but that is not why I did not like it. ROTF tries to be intelligent, dramatic, and visually appealing, but unfortunately, it is none of these things. First of all, don't bother seeing this film for the action because the action is terrible. Bay seems to have it in his mind that the louder and more fast-cutting the action is, the more fun it is to watch, which is false. Although there were a few pretty good visual effects-heavy scenes, Bay rarely keeps the camera on one thing for a split-second and for the whole last hour of the film, which is just a brainless, noisy action sequence, I couldn't tell what was going on. My eyes were just looking at a screen with a lot of seizure-inducing lights on it. Which brings me to plot. It's not that ROTF is a mindless movie, it isn't quite that. Bay does have a story in his mind; however, bad dialogue and poor filming make the story pretty much incomprehensible. Fans of the Transformers might have a good time - I will also say that I did enjoy the first 30 minutes' character-driven humor and a few of the film's twists - but Transformers: ROTF is a huge backstep from the first film. Expand
  35. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    Maybe the most disappointing sequel in years. I really enjoyed the first film, and thought it was perfect popcorn entertainment. None of the positive qualities from the first carry over. The parents, and all of the secondary characters, have become annoying. The sound visual effects are overwhelming and just too much. And Megan Fox is useless. So very disappointing.
  36. Jan 1, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, was this bad Transformers 2, or how to make a crap sequel Good Points: Special Effects rock, Megan Fox looking lush as ever, Fight scenes are awesome, The Fallen looked awesome and was voiced by the legend that is Tony Todd, a killer soundtrack (Green Day, Nickleback), Optimus forms with JetFire, we get the return of John Tutturro and Sams parents (who are both hilarious) Bad Points: Where to begin? The film runs for over 2 hours, which is way more than is needed. The Twins, nuff said. They're the Autobot form of Jedward. Bumblebee cannot talk again, so they basically ignored the end of Transformers 1. Sams roomate, Leon, is uneeded and annoying. Theres two scenes of dogs humping. Giant Robot Testicles. Reviving Sam, Optimus and Megatron as if their deaths meant nothing. The Fallen/Megatron/Starscream relationship. Bad dialogue "Give me your face", the scene of Sams mom running around on drugs, The swearing and sex references when kids are watching, Sam being a dick to Mikaela in the beginning, The amount of transformers which come on, one after another, not giving them enough screentime for us to care when they're destroyed. All in all, a rubbish sequel. I would've given it a 2.5 rating, but i'll be generous (like I was with the good points) and round it up to a 3 Expand
  37. Dec 11, 2010
    5
    This film is, for all intents and purposes - adequate. The action scenes are much better than the original, yes, but including actors playing human characters is not a good move in a film focused on robots. The acting is nearly atrocious - nearly as bad as your average CD-I game or....well, think of the worst film you ever saw, and you are nearly there. The next film has a lot to prove.
  38. Nov 3, 2010
    6
    OK the honest truth is that Transformers ROTF is an overblown and ill-judged mess of a film, driven completely but outstanding special effects, a plot that unneccesarily over complicated and laughable at times, two racist Autobots, far too much comic relief. I'm not gonna diss the action because I loved every action scene in the this film. Having said all of that however, people what were you expecting? This is Transformers and Michael Bay so you knew already what to expect. This film is very much a guilty pleasure because there is fun to be had in the stupidity but that's it. Expand
  39. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    HATTERS!!! POR QUE???!!!! This movie was actually pretty good, if you a enjoyed the first and had EXTREMELY high expectation then maybe this movie deserved a 6 at the lowest. But 2's and 0's really? Megan Fox was not the only extremely sexy reason to watch this movie! The old cast is back along with some new faces, animations are still spot on and killer, and the story wasn't terrible. From an actual human beings opinion, this movie deserves at least an 8. DEFINITELY WORTH WATCHING! Expand
  40. Nas
    Nov 15, 2010
    6
    Useless and dumb. Terrible actors, the directors could have not picked worse. The special effect are very nice but the whole movie structure is awful.
  41. Nov 17, 2010
    5
    I don't hate this movie, I just don't think it was that good. The action was good and all but the acting was bad, the story line was not that good, and it has no character development. Also the humor in it was bad because robot balls and humping robots is not funny. Overall I don't think it should have made 800 million world wide because only movies like the bourne trilogy should make that much.
  42. Jan 8, 2011
    5
    While still being wonderful to look at our epic robots just don't get enough love this time around. There is a great little spat between Megatron and Starscream, but it gets overwelmed with the awful twins, and the failure of Devastator and don't those useless jokes that are thrown in. Just don't pay too much... We can only hope for better characterization and a more coherient plot next time around. Expand
  43. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Movie! but the first one rocked . that's it. oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/
    Expand
  44. Jan 5, 2011
    4
    Way too long and I didn't understand the plot (I didn't watch the first movie though!) Near the end I was bored and I just wanted it to end. But I'm going to give it a 4 because the special effects were good and the movie was ok. Not good, just ok.
  45. Feb 9, 2011
    7
    It's true, Transformers 2 is a summer flick and people who go to see it shouldn't expect to be blown away by the story. It is part of a genre to be considered as the inverse of art-house cinema: it's not really made for those who "don't get it."

    The movie outweighs its predecessor in terms of CGI action, which it is made to solely be. It is a movie about toys kids used to play with, this
    should be seen as some sort of ultra-high budget continuation of the original TV series intended for the children of this decade, only its film format makes it accessible for adults - and pure candy for the grown-ups who played with the toys.

    A demoscene could have sufficed to showcase the action sequences. If it were that, many critics wouldn't have bothered wasting internet bandwidth spitting all over Bay's face and instead would have focused on the more pretentious releases of summer 2009...
    Expand
  46. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    Explosions , Stupid Jokes explosions. I Liked it Once One Time. However The 3rd installment seems prommising
  47. Jun 28, 2011
    3
    This movie was a bloated, overlong and vapid sequel to 2007's Transformers, a movie that I actually enjoyed. The threadbare story is riddled with poor dialogue, toilet humor and gaping plot holes. The biggest mistake RotF makes is the exclusion of a decent human element to the story, choosing instead to focus on messy and badly directed fight scenes. Formerly enjoyable characters are now just one-dimensional caricatures who are there to kill time before the next robot fight. The movie spends no time on developing its characters yet expects us to care when they face imminent danger. This highlights another problem. The story and characters are so weak that it detracts from our interest, meaning that scenes of dramatic importance fall flat because we no longer care. A poor effort which will derail this series if it continues as it is. Expand
  48. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    Why didn't they just blow up Megatron at the end of the last movie? Why can't Bumblebee talk anymore? Why are all the robots made from the all spark automatically evil? How could anyone fall from that height and come away completely unharmed? How on Earth did Optimus outrun the other Autobots, most of whom are fast, sports cars? Why are all the human characters either unlikeable or undeveloped? Why do Skids and Mudflap exist? Why is it day in Egypt? Why does film need to be wasted on capturing dogs humping? Why, why, why. Because Micheal Bay willed it. Expand
  49. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    I dont really get the low marks over this movie,Or the Micheal Bay hating come to that.He makes great entertaining action films,fact.Sure,this isnt as good as the first movie,but its still very good,with still great characters,action,special effects & humour.Alhough i still think that it would've been better with the original G1 Transformer looks(especially Megatron in Robot form,& Optimus Prime in Vehicle form),& the original Megatrons voice.I found this movie highly entertaining & enjoyable at the end of the day. Expand
  50. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with the humans is just awful. One of the many problems I have with the film, is that Megatron, is now reduced to being a secondhand lackey to the Fallen.
  51. Apr 22, 2011
    2
    plot is everywhere, most of dialogue is flat out, way too much juvenile humor, and there are the retarded twins...Acting isn't terrible, the music is good, special effects are great, fights are great and Megan Fox is hot. Those are things that I really enjoyed about this film, I think everything else is crap.
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    There was a point in this movie where me and my friends looked at each other and just started laughing uncontrollably. This was because the movie in front of us was so preposterously horrible that you couldnt tell what the F was going on. I just look up and theres a lizard robot scaling a pyramid. Then I look up again and theres a giant alligator that breaths in dust for 5 minutes basically against both sides, just breathing in sand , that is his function in the movie. then we walked out. this movie is a disgrace to the world. Expand
  53. May 24, 2013
    2
    Having enjoyed the first movie I was really looking forward to this follow up. There can be few sequels however in the history of film making that have been such a huge disappointment. It is difficult to know where to start when explaining what is wrong with this movie so I we simply list my biggest complaints.
    1. Why is nearly every transformer there for some sort of (badly judged) comic
    relief? I simply did not find the humour in any of them, particular the borderline racist duo.
    2. Why is it so difficult to tell what is going on during the fight scenes? Sometimes it was difficult to tell who was who and there is nothing to rival the highway scene of the first movie.
    3. With so many stories to choose from the comics and cartoon series why is the plot so dull?
    4. Whats with all the slo-mo shots of Megan Fox? We know shes attractive you don't need to constantly remind us.
    5. Why make a movie last nearly two and a half hours and then fill it with scenes as pointless and unfunny as the one where Sams mum accidently gets high on pot?
    Expand
  54. May 2, 2011
    1
    There was literally one scene in this entire movie that I found mildly enjoyable which is why I didn't rate this 0. Beyond that there was always something so horrible that they thought to add in that the rest of it was disappointing. Poor story, poor character development, and humor I'd expect from a deranged child, often at the most serious moments. Last, but certainly not least, it somehow managed to take my respect for Optimus Prime down a notch which I thought would be impossible. These must be the most absent-minded, uncaring, and vengeful Autobots I've ever seen. I thought for sure they'd do a better job than the first mediocre movie. Expand
  55. May 11, 2011
    1
    pure mindless junk. This movie is great if all you want is things blowing up and Megan Fox filmed suggestivly. Come on people most of us are not 12 anymore, we shouldn't be suckered into giving money up to such a movie. THe animated movie was better than this and it was not very good. My friend who dragged me to the movie can go punish himself alone if he chooses to see the third one. They'll keep making them as long as you keep oinking america. Expand
  56. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    one of my favirote movied ever . the critics are morons when they diss this movie. it funny action filled and above all entertaining.as i always say robot violence is the best violence this movie proves that fact as you can see all the parts coming out of the the robots when they are shot also they look like they are real life robots as they are so realisitic. ok so maybe the plot is simpilisitic but i hate over complicated plots.also the script is hilarious whith many good jokes. Expand
  57. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    I remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I made little to no attempt to see "Revenge of the Fallen." However, it was on HBO the other night, and I said, "what the heck," and decided to give it a shot. After two or two and a half LONG hours, it was over, and my thought was "Well, it wasn't good, but it wasn't THAT bad!" If there is one thing that Michael Bay can do consistently well, it's that he can make the pictures that make up the film "pop." The actors looked fantastic (especially Josh Duhamel, Tyrese and Megan Fox, who either could be or are models anyway), the locations were gorgeous (especially the Egyptian scenes), and the Transformers themselves beautifully constructed - shiny and colorful, just like they should be. The problem, then, is that Bay has a horrendous eye for cinematography and editing. For some reason, he thinks it is a good idea to film scenes of dialogue and actual emotion on characters' faces from far away, and then film action scenes from so close-up that it is hard to tell who is where at what time in the given action sequence. I swear, at least half of the close shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film from far away, and at least half of the long shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film close-in. When you add those factors to editing that can practically induce seizures, the film is just exhausting to try to keep up with. And the dialogue, good god the dialogue is terrible. I know this was a summer action movie, so I didn't have high expectations for the dialogue anyway, but I expect better than this. Almost every line was like something you would find as a bumper sticker slogan or on a Hallmark card. Many of the older, more experienced supporting actors/actresses actually made some of these crap lines work, like John Turturro and the man and woman who played Mr./Mrs. Witwicky, but the younger ones like Duhamel, Tyrese and Fox didn't stand a chance (they are pretty bland actors to begin with). However, the title for worst actor has to go to Shia LeBeouf as Sam Witwicky. His idea of acting in this movie seemed more like a portrayal of a meth addict than of a smart teenage boy starting his first year of college. I just don't understand the love over this kid; he has played that same hyperactive type in every film I have seen him in, and I don't find it cute. I just want to smack him. On top of the bad dialogue and mediocre acting are some very nasty, negative themes. In Bay movies, hundreds of thousands of people die and hundreds of thousands of acres of land are destroyed, but it is all done in the name of entertainment, so hey, who cares? There is no attempt at making the deaths or destruction mean anything, and, in that sense, it cheapens the entire experience. Also, young women are not seen as real people in Bay's movies, but as objects to fulfill men's desires. It is really pathetic how misogyny just runs rampant throughout this film...and these female actors just go along with it, playing the pretty, shallow idiots just like they are told. And don't even get me started on the "black" robots, who just so happen to also be the characters who can't read. I think my mouth fell open and I gasped when they said they are illiterate - are audiences really O.K. with that? Because I'm not. The one factor that allows me to move my rating out of the red and into the yellow is the story, which is pretty neat in concept. Unfortunately, that concept is not carried out very well by Bay, but the major storyboard points are interesting enough and make sense in the context of the Transformers' universe. Obviously, based on my review, you can tell I think this movie is very flawed and mediocre. However, in hindsight, I am kind of shocked at how bad those reviews/comments were that I mentioned before. I was expecting to really despise "Revenge of the Fallen," and there are definitely many aspects of the movie that I do despise, but I would watch this again before I watched "The Last Airbender" or that god awful "Twilight - Eclipse" any day of the week. Expand
  58. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    Why the critics and some moviegoers are terribly underrating Transformers 2? The script may be bizarre, but the story is amazing. Michael Bay is a mediocre director, but this film is not very bad; i say the same with Transformers 3, ¡it's a shame that the critics have underrated that film and is the best of the series! ¡Fuck the critics!
  59. Apr 27, 2012
    2
    Possibly one of the worst films ever created. Oh! Whar a suprise this film is created by Michael Bay. Can't you remember his masterpiece Armageddon. I'm just kidding his supposed best film also insulted my intelligence and wasted a portion of my life. Well I guess I have to say something bad about the film instead of just insulting it's director. Overlong mindless action with no plot simply things blowing up as well as flat jokes and horrible performances. Expand
  60. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    This sequel lacks the certain overall charm that permeated the first movie. While the story didn't wow me in the first robot romp, the stunning visuals and quirky human characters had me entertained the entirety of the first films duration. I really wanted to like Revenge of the Fallen and I went into the movie with an open mind (as well as the knowledge that it had a pretty crummy reputation with the critics). The movie started out well enough and i remembered thinking to myself; "What are these critics talking about, this is a decent action flick?" Then the atrocious humor started to kick in. The humor started out innocent enough and i chuckled at a few crude jokes, but as the film continued the multitude of terrible jokes became relentless. Once the third act of the movie started I thought that the final battle would kick in and the action would cancel out the crude jokes. Much to my dismay not even the final battle was safe from the "humor" (a scene involving large transformer testicles comes to mind). It didn't help that the final battle was a little on the boring side. All in all Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen was a disappointment, it wasn't the worst film by any means, it was just all over the place not knowing when to take itself seriously. Overall I did have fun with it there was still plenty of spectacular action sequences to gawk at (most notably the forrest battle) and a plethora of nifty explosions, courtesy of Michael Bay himself. The movie just needed some more focus and it would have been more of a solid installment in the Transformers saga, but there's no going back now. In the words of Optimus Prime, "I send this message so that our past will always be remembered. For in those memories, we live on". Collapse
  61. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    I had a friend a while back that made a good point about action movies; "More." You can always tell when some producer told a writer to go back and amp it up some more. When it comes to a Transformers' movie, that's kind of all it takes to make a sequel work. What idiot is seriously going to be super-upset that the characters lacked depth? Dude, you're watching a movie about things going boom because big robots that turn into trucks and shoot plasma cannons while talking with James Earl Jones' voices have come to Earth to befriend and protect or enslave us all... Things going boom is the point of the movie. How can you give it a bad rating when it does exactly what it's supposed to do. Things went boom. A lot. In all kinds of different ways. It was pretty cool watching things go boom. Oh and they have like some PG-13 ****tease sexuality on display too, but personally... if you aren't going to go all Conan the Barbarian on that, then I say stick to things going boom. Expand
  62. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    Transformers 2 - Slightly more than one line review!

    First of all, I didn't really like the first movie - so I didn't expect to like this one. This one was better than I EXPECTED, but still not very good. Too long, plot too... "ambitious", story making very little sense, acting pretty awful, unnecessary comic relief from mom, etc. 2.5 hours. Wow. It speaks a lot to Hollywood magic how the
    effects (which are pretty awesome) end up feeling kind of ho-hum. On the plus side, Megan Fox is super hot and worth the ticket price, and the voice of Optimus is always awesome. Some good Bumblebee moments too. Expand
  63. Jul 13, 2011
    2
    Terrible. I liked the first one but this one just went down the blow **** up for no real reason route. The first one didn't particularly care that much about character development but this one just throws it out the window completely. It's ridiculous and while a couple action scenes were entertaining, it's impressive how much of the action is really boring. The humor is stupid too with the exception of a couple times and the actors obvious puppets saying the words they have to say to move on to the next action sequence. At two and a half hours, it was really boring. Expand
  64. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely hated this movie with every part of my body. Sound strange but thats the only way I can explain this feeling. I saw it in theaters when it came out and hated it, then my friends wanted to watch it again on On Demand so I just went with it and hated it again. I will not watch this crap again and i don't think you should either. One reason for my hatred toward this movie is the plotline is useless and doesn't make sense. Just read a summary of the movie and you know what I mean. It's not just that though, it's also confusing, and not in a cool Inception or Donnie Darko way. It's more of a confusion that you have no idea whats going on but don't feel like figuring it out anyway. Like theres all of these explosions and the camera is spinning everywhere and then Optimus Prime dies but he actually doesn't, or does Sam save him, you know what I don't know and I don't care, all I know is Michael bay sucks at everything and to read up on how much he sucks read my other bogs on this websites. Then right when you think the criticism is over I have one more thing to share with you. The movie had soooo many useless and dull characters that it was funny. this movie could be a comedy, except the jokes in it where they were supposed to be funny are the exact opposite. So it could be a comedy for the wrong reasons and that is not good in my book. So in all, do not see this movie it is a ginormous waste of time. Expand
  65. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    Let's just start off by the fact that the Writer's Strike really hurt the script, which is something a lot of people forget. This script was still terrible despite. It expanded on the flaws of the original. The plot was almost non-existent and most of the humor was painfully unfunny. The acting dipped down for the worse as well. This movie was still entertaining and had good visuals but it failed badly on several levels. Expand
  66. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    An awesome movie with super special Effects and super action, I have seen in 2009.Its better than the 1st one,huge battles and huge action is like the best,I've seen, high energy action and a big story.Michael Bay has really pumped up the action for this movie.I don't care if anyone hated this movie,they're crazy and stupid and don't know action movies.This is like the best movie of 2009,it has huge action set pieces that are so sick and exciting, enough said. Expand
  67. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    It's arguably one of the stupidest films I've ever seen in my life, but it's a film where you just seriously have to shut your mind off and know you're watching pure garbage. The acting from the humans horrible, the humor beyond horrible, but I know for a fact Bay had to have known he wasn't making Citizen Kane, and I can tell that the people making this probably had a lot of fun working on it.

    Even still the performances for the Transformers are still fantastic, Cullen is still fantastic as Optimus as is Weaving as Megatron, and the inclusion of Tony Todd as the Fallen did chillingly well. And yes Reno and Tom were a little annoying as those two twins, but as everyone says "It's all Bay's fault for doing that" which is not true. Reno Wilson specifically asked to do make the characters like that and he even improvised some of his own dialogue as did Tom so you can't blame Bay for that characterization when it was the actors decision to do so. And the CG and action is still fantastic as always in these movies, especially the final bout between Optimus, Megatron, and the Fallen.

    And yes the humor can be a massive turnoff, hell it was to me at first too, but I have since seen it again since I first saw it and I realized that the movie was meant to be stupid like this, it was the whole idea, and for that I say, it's a load of garbage, but by god if it isn't extremely entertaining garbage.
    Expand
  68. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To people who actually liked this film: WTF are you people smoking? This movie was goddamn horrible **** And I thought the first one was okay. Passable. The Rock is Michael Bay's best work, and then Transformers and The Island were sorta alright. But this... this is ridiculously wretched.

    It's just bizarre that his second flick is one of the greatest action films ever and over ten years later he comes out with this sort of colossal trainwreck. I dunno, it's like he was playing it straight back then and since then, he's just been indulging in his worst instincts and Transformers 2 is the most excessive display of that.

    There are actually a pair of twin robots that speak in ebonics, call the humans **** and one has a gold tooth for some reason. It's like two Jar Jar Binks at once. And yes, they are racially offensive, it wasn't funny at all. Cringe inducing. Ya know what, I didn't even find Jar Jar Binks offensive in a racial manner, just retarded, because I've never actually met anyone who spoke like Jar Jar. "Meesa people gonna die?" Yea, never heard of that from any ethnicity in real life. But the twin robots... yea, I've heard that sorta thing. It's amazing that Michael Bay thought this was alright. Sure, Jazz from the cartoon had a distinctly black voice, but it wasn't hitting you over the head with it. Jazz never called anyone a **** or talked about how he never was much for book reading.

    And Devastator was completely wasted. Here's this gigantic robot made up out of five constructicons, and... he doesn't really accomplish anything of note. At first he sucks up one of the GhettoBots, which made me really happy... and a few seconds later we see him leap out of Devastator's mouth and start shooting it in the face. And it's supposed to be this moment of victory for the good guys, but... I just got pissed that the horrible Jar Jar bot didn't get eaten and killed. That would've been so **** great.

    Devastator then just gets blown apart by one shot from a railgun mounted on a Navy destroyer. WTF? All that buildup just to see him clumsily trying to scale a pyramid and get BOOM HEADSHOT from some made-up CGI railgun? **** lame. Of course, the design itself was awful, it looked nothing like the Devastator I remember from G1. But that goes without saying, none of the designs look good.

    You know what was amazing though? Michael Bay actually attempted to put some sort of message or moral into the plot. See, in the beginning... the main character's going off to college and he has to deal with his parents letting him go. So later, in the final battle sequence, he gets reunited with them and he tells them to go to safety and they refuse to go without him. And he says something like "Dad, no. You have to let go of me. You have to let go." And that's when it hit me... Michael Bay was actually trying to tell a story about a boy's parents learning to let go of their son so he can leave and become a man on his own. But of course, it's stuck in a film that just showed two hours of giant robots fighting each other, so... that message is kinda ridiculous. It was really funny how clumsy and awkward it was delivered.

    So yea... the film's not good. CGI's great of course, there's this nice setpiece in the middle where Optimus Prime fights two or three Decepticons in this forest. And the blending of the CGI robots with this really natural setting was super impressive. Props to ILM. But the story and characters and editing and everything else is terrible.

    Plus, I was sitting next to a douchebag who suddenly started texting on his **** cell phone halfway through. I mean, yea sure... it's a long film, two and a half hours long... but that's no excuse for disrupting the theater experience like that. I was so irritated that I leaned over, nudged him in the shoulder and said "Your phone." And this guy turns to me like he's shocked that he's sitting next to actual human beings and asks "What?" Like he has absolutely no idea that he was doing anything wrong. So I say "It's distracting." Dude goes back to texting like I'm some jerk who likes being a jerk.

    It's a terrible world we live in. And now that I think about it... I saw him texting and playing around with his cell before the film started too. Of course, I just naturally assumed he wouldn't actually text during the film. Faith and goodwill toward man, I guess.
    Expand
  69. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed watching the movie... From the beginning it was tense and everything was unexpected. I also really enjoyed the special effects because they were very realistic and the fight scenes between the Transformers were done really carefully. The Transformers that were shown in this movie and didn't appear in the original were very amusing. I liked almost everything in this movie but the acting.. Megan Fox didn't give herself to the plot and didn't act as well in the first movie. I liked Shia's performance but the constant noise in the movie didn't really go as well as they taught it would.. After all, I'm still happy there will be a third movie! Expand
  70. Oct 30, 2011
    1
    This movie's plot is really bad. Watching the movie will degrade your humor level. Maybe the visual which is considered good has made this movie successful. This movie is such kind of bad when a superhero movie turns into a comedy and gives you shame rather than morality.
  71. Mar 2, 2012
    6
    TF2 is slow, but the adventure of the movie is what makes it worth watching. The ending battle is why I ended up liking it, and thats what makes it worth existing.
  72. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    pretty cool movie. i like most of Michael Bay's movies and the transformer series. But the story is sometimes confusing and bad. But the actions are still pretty good.
  73. Jan 28, 2012
    4
    When Micheal Bay gets it wrong, he really gets it WRONG. Unlike the somewhat entertaining first film, watching this movie "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is like being locked inside a loud, fast-spinning washing machine. It's all action, but no heart or soul. No real substance but a ugly mess of CGI. The acting is good and the music (mainly for Linkin Park) is excellent but not even a whopping $200 budget could save this flick from losing its way. Summer blockbuster or not, this series deserves more respect. Expand
  74. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    There is just no way to defend or salvage the massive and overblown mess that is Revenge of the Fallen, the sequel to the equally big but not equally bad Transformers film in 2007. Clocking in at two and a half hours, this is a drag and then some, with an uneven and completely exhausting plot that twists and turns into senseless action, it becomes quite difficult to follow and, well, unnecessary. To many devices, turning points and pointless additions make up this bloated sequel, where we find Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) now heading to college, but being dragged back into the fight of the Transformers. The Decepticons, or the bad guys, have found a new energy source, and it's location lies within the mind of Sam, and that's really the plot that drags out for an obscenely long time, and the humour and mediocre storytelling, it goes one way by the Decepticons reveal themselves the world and how they will no longer hide, but yet their epic showdown happens in the desert, away from the.. erm.. public eye. These ongoing problems persist throughout the film, as the script seems to contradict itself at many turns, switching locations and using cut-off scenes at what are perceived to be pivotal moments such as the resurrection of Megatron, but lets cut to Sam's parents trying out snails in Paris. The inconsistencies simply don't diminish, whether its these symbols that are the driving point of the film, why exactly where these missing from the first film, with only subtle hints that never amounted to anything. The humour can be the saving grace of the film, but low and behold we have teo particularly stereotyped Autobots who are now part of of Optimus Prime's team of earth dwellers who are reminiscent of the gang culture persona of African-Americans, racist and desperate are words that spring to mind. We also have new lady autobots who I'm sure have around five words to say in the entire film, its been made big, but just too big to point where there are mistakes and forgetfulness.
    LaBeouf continues to bicker his way through his lead role, perhaps trying to encapsulate a character with an attention disorder. There is very little do to for the rest of the cast, some having petty one-liners while others are kicked to the dirt entirely. The special effects are again a truly amazing to watch, but a compromise needs to be drawn somewhere, and there is none in this film, its loud and utilises slow-motion so we can watch Sam and Michaela (Megan Fox) run away several times, and leap from buildings onto piles of rubble without any sort of injury.
    There is no consistency, motive, relatable actions or fluid plot points to admire this film, instead we are left with a loud and over-arching catastrophe. Michael Bay should have listened to the dialogue that John Turturro delivers on the film, "beginning, middle, end, plot, condense If only.
    Expand
  75. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    Transformers Revenge of the fallen loses whatever made the first film good by providing bland action, awful performances and overrated visual effects with a extreme length to add to it. You will be in for a long and boring experience if you see this movie. I give this movie 3% of a good movie.
  76. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    Noisy. Annoying. bad acting. Some gripping moments. Sam Witwicky (don't tell me I spelled his name wrong or I will kill you) is a dumbass for not saying he loves her. Overall, O.K., but fake. It would be a much better movie if Sam and Megan fox just had sex while the robots fight.
  77. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    I suprisingly enjoyed this film a lot more then the first one. I think the huge flaw for it was the long run time, It definently started to push your nerves while watching it. The run time dragged the film on longer then what it should have.

    Besides that, The acting was fine (yes, even the super hot Megan Fox was alright in it) and the story was fine as well. The special effects were
    about the same as the first film (good but insanely repetitive) and I agree that it did seem a lot of things were being blown up for no reason other then blowing them up and hoping people think it looks cool (it doesnt). It was annoying seeing the transformers transform 15+ times in the film. Also the action sequences were terrible and didnt have any excitement, Also it was hard to tell who was battling who when the camera is so close up and the autobots and decepticons are so large.

    Overall the film was still rather good and I enjoyed it.
    Expand
  78. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    (September 25, 2009)
    The biggest action flick of the summer is also one of the biggest disappointments of the summer. Now before I get into my ârantâ? of what I think of this movie, I want to acknowledge that many people loved this movie, and I can understand why. It is more than two hours of crazy special effects and plenty of Megan Foxx to look at. All of this
    is fine, but I believe all these fancy things do not save the movie from having a subpar story. Before I touch on the many let downs of this movie let me mention the visual effects for a moment: they are breathtaking. I almost recommend seeing the movie just to see some of the best effects of the year. Now I must touch on the bad side of the film. The main thing that was wrong with this film is the plot. It just felt too jumbled. It felt like they tried to shove a bunch of things that go nowhere to develop a story and hoped if all of these elements were combined it would make a good plot. It is possible to sum this movie up in less than sixty minutes, but the film clocks out at a whopping one hundred and forty seven minutes. The dialog was no saving grace for this film either. I really do not know if the dialog writing was bad, or if it was written this way on purpose, but either way it is just not fitting at all. Also the stereotypical âgangstaâ? robots, all I have to ask is why? Finally, even though I praise these special effects, there were action scenes that just left me âlostâ?. The fight scenes were too confusing, but I guess you cannot expect much better from a fight scene between multiple gigantic robots.


    As a fan of both the Transformers toys as a child and the first movie, I went into this movie hoping for something good but worried I was going to be drastically let down. Being let down describes perfectly how I felt as soon as the credits rolled. The whole time I was watching the film I was awed by the glossiness of the effects, but I had to keep asking myself, âAs a whole do I really enjoy this?â? The answer is a clear no.
    Expand
  79. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the first movie and this sequel was almost as good. Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox are great once more, as is the rest of the cast. There are a few issues that I did have though. The number one problem I had was believing that transformers can now replicate human beings perfectly? I didn't read the comics or watch the TV shows so if there's anything in them can gives reason for this I wouldn't know but I don't care. Good movies should be able to stand alone and I have a hard time understanding how transformers can replicate, not just the look of a human, but also the texture of skin, personality, smell, etc. That was just a short segment of the movie so I can't count it against it too much but it still bugged me. Also, why are there way more Decepticons than Autobots and why are the Decepticons always cool things like fighter jets while the Autobots are relegated to various Chevrolet cars and a semi? These things didn't hurt the movie at all it just seems unfair to me. Nonetheless, it was once again an awesome movie with fantastic action-sequences, witty dialogue, solid acting, and an interesting plot. Expand
  80. Jan 15, 2012
    2
    This movie's plot, dialogue, action sequences, and characterization was garbage! I would not recommend buying this if your life depended on it. Seriously, this movie was just trash.
  81. Aug 25, 2014
    8
    After a very long yet entertaining 2,5 hours... I must say that perhaps "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" suffocated in its own massiveness. Perhaps my mistake was to watch "Transformers" the night before this one, and expect a perfect continuation. Because yes, there were a lot of expectations. That helps me to be critical about this piece - which isn't necessarily a good thing.

    This movie isn't bad at any rate. It is fun, enjoyable, full of action, and if you liked "Transformers", you will like this one as well. There is some awesome comedy in this sequel, just like there was in the previous movie, but at the same time they went too far with it from time to time, ruining the tempo of the scenes and making some characters into total clowns.

    There was also a lot missing, one being a cohesive skeleton for the whole movie: there was action, and action is usually good with films like these, but when it's giant robots fighting, it gets messy real fast and even more confusing it would othewise be. Add to that some serious lacking in the introduction of new characters, and we're totlaly at a loss of who is who and fighting on what side.

    There were simply too many moving parts, too much exploding and breaking on the screen. And if you watch that for 2,5 hours, it does get a little boring. The characters were okay, as before, although there was zero heat between Sam and his girlfriend. Their "romance" was a total waste of precious screen time. As mentioned above, there was very little or no character introduction, so perhaps watching "Transformers" right before this one would be a good idea after all.

    The main problem with character interaction was probably the fact that there was no real spirit in the acting altogether, and there were several characters that were pointless - like Sam's roomie Leo, who was there merely for some occasional comical relief. Another one of those were the Twins from Autobots.

    Autobots and Decepticons both got reinforcements for this one. In the end there were probably too many of them because after the promising beginning, all of them just got lost in the big mass of destruction and explosions. They became just as faceless as every other extra in the movie.

    The plot is decent, but it drowns in the sea of action too often. It also gets a little thin, spread so wide across the whole movie, and I'm sad to say this, but in the end it starts to feel a little stale. There were also little scenes every now and then, probably aiming to keep the timeline straight, but that just ate away from the already disastrous pace, tugging the actual scene into three different directions at once.

    There are also clichés all over the movie. Most of them come and go, but some are rather annoying. Especially Prime's speech at the end of the movie - didn't convince me too well last time, either.

    Altogether, if you like action and blowing things up, and don't mind robots, this is for you.
    Expand
  82. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    The new Transformers, sorry for all the people that love this movie, but is the worst of Transformers. The special effects can be amazing, but no all be special effects. The soundtrack is good. The cast have some regular moments. The story is great. The screenplay terrible. But what is the problem? No be one, are two biggest problems. First, the development of the movie is same like the first, much explosions, and yeah autobots that say bad words. And the other is that the autobots don't be the most important, is Megan Fox!!, yes people, Michael Bay do this like Megan and the Transformers, because all the story is about the stupid relationship of Shia and Megan, and the Transforers?, no, no this movie is really bad. Expand
  83. Aug 22, 2012
    3
    Transformers was a good movie for what it was; mindless action, a decent storyline, attractive lead acting, and cool looking giant robots. Take away the story, replace the cool robots and replace them with the robot equivalent of a Prius, and multiply the action by 100x, and you have Revenge of the Fallen. If Megan Fox wasn't there to distract me I'm not sure I would continue watching this movie. Expand
  84. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    Absolutely appalling. A ghastly disastrous film in which you look at the screen but can't process any of the inconceivable storyline, if there even was supposed to be one. Insulting. Big stupid robots.
  85. May 24, 2012
    5
    Bloated and excessive sequel from Michael Bay, with a 'more is more' approach seemingly applied in producing the second Transformers film.


    Revenge of the Fallen's plot will appeal to both sci-fi fans and fans of the franchise, however Bay overshadows the story by packing the film full of exhaustingly repetitive action sequences to the point of saturation. The characters and plot appear
    to just be something to fill the time with in between rounds of the contest.
    For the first two thirds of the film, the human characters are largely sacrificed for the breakneck speed at which the plot hurtles along towards the next robot royal rumble.


    As goofy and frantic as before, Shia LaBeouf is responsible for most good things in the film. On the other hand, the writers really failed with the addition of the annoying Leo (Ramon Rodriguez) and the two wise-cracking and Autobot twins, complete with racial slurs.


    Applying a bigger is better philosophy, the cast of Transformers seems to have multiplied ten fold from the first film. The new Transformers are never properly introduced, and the vast number makes it difficult to identify the main characters amongst all the flying metal and exploding scenery.


    At this point it should be mentioned that the CGI is impressive and the Transformer battle scenes are visually top notch. This usually counts for something in a film which relies on effects so heavily but the novelty of seeing cars and planes transform into robots was worn out in the original and so counts for less second time around. In all honesty I think Bay could have halved the budget and re-used the Transformer battle footage from the original given how unmemorable the battle scenes are in Revenge of the Fallen. Not likely to attract new fans to the Transformers series and worthwhile only for die hard fans.
    Expand
  86. May 4, 2012
    2
    This film was **** ass hell. When I was thinking of a score for it I was thinking a 1.5 out of 10 [my first ever 1 score for a movie]. But then I will spare it from dropping down to the ground hard. I really want the director of this film to get out of this world, I mean i'm so sick and tired of his gay films. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen 2.2/10
  87. Nov 2, 2013
    4
    Disappointing. That's all I can say. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is a stupid way to make a sequel to the thoughtful and entertaining original. Michael Bay just wears us out completely with a crude, noisy and under-plotted sequel.
  88. Nov 9, 2014
    0
    I would say that this is probably the worst blockbuster have ever seen. This is not just because the plot is awful, the action dull and it is horribly overlong. But the real problem this film has is the crippling misogyny and racism throughout. Making a stupid film about robots is one thing, but this goes so much worse. we do not need a slow pan up of Megan Fox leaning over a bike, this is a film about a toy for 8 year olds for Christ's sake. Expand
  89. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    Goog movie, memorable scenes, good cgi, and explosions, but felt like somenthing was missing, and too goofy i mean... devastator has balls? analphabet autobots? really Michael Bay? that really killed the epicness
  90. Jul 15, 2012
    3
    Wow, where to begin. This movie doesn't just tarnish the Transformers franchise; it furiously b****-slaps it until nothing is left but a grinning effigy of Mr. Bay. Retarded plot points are pulled out at every corner, the fights are spastic and unfocused, and the military is there to outshine the robots during every scene. In all honesty, it feels like Bay sold this as propaganda for the military. You remember the epic fights in the first film, including the showdown between Optimus and Megatron? You'll get none of that in this movie. The supposedly invulnerable, pyramid-sized robot at the end, who decimates all attempts to destroy it, is defeated in 6 seconds by a "railgun." I know it is a real weapon in development, but it is never mentioned at any point in the movie, and honestly feels like Bay crammed it in as more propaganda. Don't see this movie. Expand
  91. Sep 9, 2012
    3
    Permission to Face-Palm: Approved. One of the suckiest, most tiresome, boring, lame, unoriginal and stupidly shafted movies I've ever seen. Maybe, it's the worst dissapointment I've had with a film.
  92. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    Not a terrible film but the female alien robot as well as the 'twins' from the Autobots were incredibly unrealistic (even for a Transformers film) and annoying. A lot of the film is saved by decent action and military sequences but even that isn't enough to give this film a positive score.
  93. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    It's really hard to talk about this movie. This is easily one of those movies that everyone loves to **** about so by this point I feel like there's nothing else to say even though I actually like it. There are a lot of great ideas here, like the introduction of the first Decepticon and the universe building is some of the best I've ever seen. But for everything great about this movie there's something that holds it down such as the racist humor, or annoying characters. Also, I'll discuss this more in my Dark of The Moon review but it feels like the creators of these movies REALLY hated Megatron. Still, if you want a movie that'll thoroughly entertain you every step of the way, then look no further. Expand
  94. Nov 5, 2012
    2
    The plot makes little sense, it has zero continuity. The characters are annoying and the dialogue they are given only hurts their cause. The humor is painfully immature and borderline offensive. The worst part is that even as an action movie, it fails. The action scenes are poorly shot and the final fight is over all too quickly and completely anticlimactic.
  95. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    Maybe it's action is spectacular, but it's plot is stupid, there are stupid characters, stupid villians, stupid acting, stupid dialogues... Just stupid.
  96. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I like action so will admit that I loved a lot of this film. Michael Bay knows how to direct action and there's a lot of that on display here. What I did not like is the highly unintelligent attempts of humor. This film is literally one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
  97. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    Nowhere near as good as the first movie in terms of depth and story. The action is amped up too much and Bay is trying to do to much. To many new characters with almost NO character development at all. This movie is nothing but a grand display of action, effects and Megan Fox's ass (which is glorious by the way!) BUT it did have a few good moments, and was at least entertaining. Overall: Just another shameless Bay action flick that does not even try to be anything more. Poor, but at least fun to watch at times. Expand
  98. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    A terrible romp of bad race depictions and an angry robot that goes, I am MEGATRON about every ten seconds. It might be Michael Bay's worst movie yet!
  99. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    Very, very, very poor storytelling, and directing. I liked the first transformers movie, but this one is stupid, full of dirty jokes, and puts explosions 10 miles ahead of screenplay on its priority list. It's sort of passable for a t.v. viewing, and has one or two decent action scenes, but that's not enough to make a good movie, not even close. Try watching this in the movie theatre for more than 2 hours while you have to pee, and are consistently having your expectations shot down. Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.