Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2009
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1476 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
646
Mixed:
275
Negative:
555
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JohnRayPrestoAug 21, 2009
story is BAD.. i only like the ACTION SCENES...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BPAug 26, 2009
It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient or any Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnR.Apr 18, 2010
While the acting is bad, the story is bad, the action, and the fx are awesome. It is a bad film, but the fx are awesome! Popcorn film at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TylerR.Nov 30, 2009
It was a satisfying popcorn movie, but nothing more. I'm going to defend it on the fact that everyone said they wanted more of the Transformers and more action. Well, Michael Bay gave you just that and now you people complain about the It was a satisfying popcorn movie, but nothing more. I'm going to defend it on the fact that everyone said they wanted more of the Transformers and more action. Well, Michael Bay gave you just that and now you people complain about the action. Make up your minds, people. Most of the action I thought was pretty satisfying, and the film more than fufilled my need to see stuff blow-up. The plot is really weak, however. Some of the sex and drug gags were funny, but they need to be cut WAY down in number. Shia and Megan, however, can't act to save their lives. The orchestra scores for the movie were really well done, in my opinion, but can we cut back on using overrated bands in the movie? Yes, I'm talking to you too, Linkin Park. That's all about a 4 right there, but the extra point comes from the fact that Shia LeBouf dies (even if it was only temporary). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VanL.Oct 28, 2009
Although I am partial to Michael Bay movies, I have to say that this one is not NEALY as good as the first. However, I totally enjoyed watching it, and have to say that yes, it was a money maker, but it was a fun money maker IMHO.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WolfgangS.Jun 24, 2009
I've read an interview with Michael Bay yesterday in which he said, that he makes movies for teenagers and that he has no problem with that. If movies aimed at a teenage crowd are all about a weak plot including huge plot holes, I've read an interview with Michael Bay yesterday in which he said, that he makes movies for teenagers and that he has no problem with that. If movies aimed at a teenage crowd are all about a weak plot including huge plot holes, superficial character development, jackass-class silly jokes, bad storytelling and absolutely mindblowing, over-the-edge eye and ear candy, then yes, Mr. Bay surely lives up to that. I mean, come on, who does expect something else than that when watching a Bay movie? Anyone who enters the cinema with the expectation to see a sophisticated movie will be disappointed. But those who want to see the new standard in visual-overkill-action-movies won't be disappointed. Yet I am disappointed. Why? Because as a sequel, it means more of...well...everything, but sadly, the balance shifted to the wrong side. The movie is called Transformers 2, so it should be a movie ABOUT the Transformers, about their characters and their relationships, their history and development, but in this movie they sometimes only seem like some kind of sidekick to me. Yes, there are more robots, more fights, more explosions, but also more unnecessary "human dramas", bad jokes, really, really cheesy moments, totally weak and annoying characters (even worse than Jar Jar Binks) and the balance shifted so much, that the annoying parts are weighing over. I'll watch the 3rd movie for sure, but in the end, there will not be many memorable things about the movie, except huge, HUGE, humongously H-U-G-E explosions and insane eyecandy. That includes Megan Fox. Giant robots, explosions and Megan Fox in the same movie has to be at least a "5". That should tell you how bad the rest is :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ryanlJun 24, 2009
This movie is like the first Transformers x 20....but not in a good way. Everything has been juiced up and maxed out from the visuals, sounds, and explosions....It's all visceral eye candy, but just way too much going on for my taste. This movie is like the first Transformers x 20....but not in a good way. Everything has been juiced up and maxed out from the visuals, sounds, and explosions....It's all visceral eye candy, but just way too much going on for my taste. I'd like to see Michael Bay make ONE movie without a single explosion in it. Other than the great special effects and Megan Fox being totally smoking hot, this movie fell short of my expectations. Sub par plot, the middle part lagged a bit, too many corny jokes, not enough character development, and WAY too long. This movie is just emotionally shallow. But if you're just looking for an all-out, guns blazing, action packed and super-saturated film, then Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is just what you need. Other than that, stay away from this movie if you can't stand Megan Fox or if you are prone to epilepsy . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherPJun 25, 2009
It's not as good as the first, but if it weren't about 45 minutes way too long, this would be a solid 8. It starts and ends well, but it drags to an excruciating degree in the middle. At well over two hours, I started to get It's not as good as the first, but if it weren't about 45 minutes way too long, this would be a solid 8. It starts and ends well, but it drags to an excruciating degree in the middle. At well over two hours, I started to get exhausted by shaky cameras and clanking metal at one point. The degree of swearing and strange abundance of testicle jokes (seriously, go in and start counting) makes it a strong PG-13, but most of the humor is pretty funny. It's worth seeing once if you're into Michael Bay movies, but if you ever pick up the DVD, I guarantee that you'll be fast-forwarding quite a bit during the slow middle and probably notice the quantity of testicle jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaleP.Jun 25, 2009
I would have given this a 7 if they snipped an hour off of it. This movie, while enjoyable in parts is waaay too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RossJun 27, 2009
Ok, I love the original show of Transformers. It was great! So I know my history for the movie. Most of the fights were really good. The scene with Sidewinder at the beginning is sick! That being said, the story was annoying. I realize that Ok, I love the original show of Transformers. It was great! So I know my history for the movie. Most of the fights were really good. The scene with Sidewinder at the beginning is sick! That being said, the story was annoying. I realize that their has to be a plot, but I really hated seeing the whole stupid college thing. Almost every joke in the movie was sexual. And the Constructicons were a major disappointment! All in all it was an alright movie. Its good for seeing once or twice. Don't expect to see many familiar Autobots and Decepticons if you are a fanboy. Only a couple of them show up. Good action, bad story. Not the best movie. Altough I have to say there were two or three moments where I looked over at my friend and both our jaws dropped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
InternetBanditJun 28, 2009
To the fanboys: If you guys enjoy the movie as a dumb action flick, that's great. What I can't abide by is how you insult everyone who doesn't like it. What you guys need to understand is that critics see a LOT of movies. Most To the fanboys: If you guys enjoy the movie as a dumb action flick, that's great. What I can't abide by is how you insult everyone who doesn't like it. What you guys need to understand is that critics see a LOT of movies. Most of them haven't seen the Transformers cartoon, don't have the nostalgia factor, and are not fans of Transformers in general--as indeed most people in general are not. Therefore, they watched this movie merely AS a movie, and not as something they're already a fan of. Most criitcs have the ability to enjoy a dumb action movie as entertainment, but they see so many dumb action movies that it starts to take more to entertain them. I'm not talking about character and plot development--I'm talking about creativity, enjoyable pacing, and GOOD action scenes. Things they didn't find in this movie. Not everyone can enjoy 2.5 hours of giant robots fighting with no story to back it up. You think they're supposed to enjoy every piece of trash just because someone (like you) will complain if they don't? A critic who gives thumbs up to every dumb action movie, with no distinction between a good dumb movie and a bad dumb movie, isn't a very good critic. And you're saying THEY'RE telling YOU what to enjoy? Your behavior is very defensive. I used to be the same way. I'm still a fan of many things people hate, but see no reason to insult people just for disagreeing. You have your reasons for liking the movie, and they have their reasons for disliking it. There's no need to insult anyone's intelligence for disagreeing with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CodyB.Jun 28, 2009
Okay, c'mon. The ONLY reason I am giving this a 5 is for the CG in this move and SOME funny moments. The rest of it was horrible. Seriously? Farting and burping robots. Megan fox being called hot by a robot? Racially misrepresented Okay, c'mon. The ONLY reason I am giving this a 5 is for the CG in this move and SOME funny moments. The rest of it was horrible. Seriously? Farting and burping robots. Megan fox being called hot by a robot? Racially misrepresented robots. There are 2 robots in the movies that are obviously suppose to be "black" and they made the really dumb and couldn't read. If I was African American, I would be completely offended. And the little cheesy love conversations between Shia and Megan Fox makes me think that Michael Bay is a lonely nerd that is living out his love life vicariously through these two oddly paired actors. The first movie rocked... this one just eats rocks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnjJun 29, 2009
The movie was good it would have been great if it didn't have all the sexual suggestive parts and all the cursing. Come on Michael, the transformers is based on a cartoon that "children" watch. I would not take my nieces and nephews to The movie was good it would have been great if it didn't have all the sexual suggestive parts and all the cursing. Come on Michael, the transformers is based on a cartoon that "children" watch. I would not take my nieces and nephews to see this movie. The explicit comments had nothing to do with the transformers and should have been left out. It was totally different from the first transformers. It has been ruined for the children. If you are going to make a cartoon into a movie, remember who the audience is going to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mannygJun 29, 2009
To many bad words, the mom eating the pot brownie was really in bad taste and had nothing to do with the movie. The two jokes of the twin autobots, really, really bad taste. The main actor Shia Lajock is the worst person for the job. the To many bad words, the mom eating the pot brownie was really in bad taste and had nothing to do with the movie. The two jokes of the twin autobots, really, really bad taste. The main actor Shia Lajock is the worst person for the job. the plus side is the action, good sold fight scenes. talked about the history of the transformers. That Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichardB.Jul 12, 2009
Average action flick for me. Quite simply- Too Long. At least 45 mins of footage was just not needed. All the scenes with Sam's parents are like something from American Pie. SFX are still superb but its hella hard to tell which robot is Average action flick for me. Quite simply- Too Long. At least 45 mins of footage was just not needed. All the scenes with Sam's parents are like something from American Pie. SFX are still superb but its hella hard to tell which robot is which when they are scrapping! Would watch again if only for Ms Fox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnthonyF.Jul 16, 2009
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is another two and a half hour GM commercial with nothing new or authentic at its core. The characters are the same, the action is the same, and so are the visuals. I expected more from this movie and from Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is another two and a half hour GM commercial with nothing new or authentic at its core. The characters are the same, the action is the same, and so are the visuals. I expected more from this movie and from Michael Bay. These were his films and now they are nothing but boring mindless action. Who cares about plot when you have a hundred robots transforming every 5 seconds. I care. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmateurCriticJul 18, 2009
I give 3 for the talented animators who's talent was wasted on this shitty movie, and 3 to Megan Fox for being so damn hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TaufiqHJul 29, 2009
Average Movie.... The story line is not developed clearly... though the film is 2.30 hour lengthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelWNov 24, 2009
Its an incredibly average movie which lacks substance of any sort. But the viewing experience itself is the enjoyable part. Watching giant robots ripping each other to shreds is amusing. Though its a more laugh at movie. If you try to take Its an incredibly average movie which lacks substance of any sort. But the viewing experience itself is the enjoyable part. Watching giant robots ripping each other to shreds is amusing. Though its a more laugh at movie. If you try to take it seriously you wont like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
The movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd giveThe movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd give the first half a 9 and the second half a 3 which equals a 6 for the whole movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sreekiranMay 29, 2011
pretty bad one. not the best from micheal bay. disappointing and regular revenge story. no much emotions and drama here. the last 10 minutes was good. rest all bad.... just bad micheal bay surely did not surprise us. it is his regular one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Ell678Dec 11, 2010
This film is, for all intents and purposes - adequate. The action scenes are much better than the original, yes, but including actors playing human characters is not a good move in a film focused on robots. The acting is nearly atrocious -This film is, for all intents and purposes - adequate. The action scenes are much better than the original, yes, but including actors playing human characters is not a good move in a film focused on robots. The acting is nearly atrocious - nearly as bad as your average CD-I game or....well, think of the worst film you ever saw, and you are nearly there. The next film has a lot to prove. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheBearNov 3, 2010
OK the honest truth is that Transformers ROTF is an overblown and ill-judged mess of a film, driven completely but outstanding special effects, a plot that unneccesarily over complicated and laughable at times, two racist Autobots, far tooOK the honest truth is that Transformers ROTF is an overblown and ill-judged mess of a film, driven completely but outstanding special effects, a plot that unneccesarily over complicated and laughable at times, two racist Autobots, far too much comic relief. I'm not gonna diss the action because I loved every action scene in the this film. Having said all of that however, people what were you expecting? This is Transformers and Michael Bay so you knew already what to expect. This film is very much a guilty pleasure because there is fun to be had in the stupidity but that's it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NasNov 15, 2010
Useless and dumb. Terrible actors, the directors could have not picked worse. The special effect are very nice but the whole movie structure is awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
11morrowkNov 17, 2010
I don't hate this movie, I just don't think it was that good. The action was good and all but the acting was bad, the story line was not that good, and it has no character development. Also the humor in it was bad because robot balls andI don't hate this movie, I just don't think it was that good. The action was good and all but the acting was bad, the story line was not that good, and it has no character development. Also the humor in it was bad because robot balls and humping robots is not funny. Overall I don't think it should have made 800 million world wide because only movies like the bourne trilogy should make that much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RumblebeeloveJan 8, 2011
While still being wonderful to look at our epic robots just don't get enough love this time around. There is a great little spat between Megatron and Starscream, but it gets overwelmed with the awful twins, and the failure of Devastator andWhile still being wonderful to look at our epic robots just don't get enough love this time around. There is a great little spat between Megatron and Starscream, but it gets overwelmed with the awful twins, and the failure of Devastator and don't those useless jokes that are thrown in. Just don't pay too much... We can only hope for better characterization and a more coherient plot next time around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MichaelDJan 5, 2011
Way too long and I didn't understand the plot (I didn't watch the first movie though!) Near the end I was bored and I just wanted it to end. But I'm going to give it a 4 because the special effects were good and the movie was ok. Not good, just ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chardr69Jul 7, 2011
I enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with theI enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with the humans is just awful. One of the many problems I have with the film, is that Megatron, is now reduced to being a secondhand lackey to the Fallen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jasherJul 16, 2011
I remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I madeI remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I made little to no attempt to see "Revenge of the Fallen." However, it was on HBO the other night, and I said, "what the heck," and decided to give it a shot. After two or two and a half LONG hours, it was over, and my thought was "Well, it wasn't good, but it wasn't THAT bad!" If there is one thing that Michael Bay can do consistently well, it's that he can make the pictures that make up the film "pop." The actors looked fantastic (especially Josh Duhamel, Tyrese and Megan Fox, who either could be or are models anyway), the locations were gorgeous (especially the Egyptian scenes), and the Transformers themselves beautifully constructed - shiny and colorful, just like they should be. The problem, then, is that Bay has a horrendous eye for cinematography and editing. For some reason, he thinks it is a good idea to film scenes of dialogue and actual emotion on characters' faces from far away, and then film action scenes from so close-up that it is hard to tell who is where at what time in the given action sequence. I swear, at least half of the close shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film from far away, and at least half of the long shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film close-in. When you add those factors to editing that can practically induce seizures, the film is just exhausting to try to keep up with. And the dialogue, good god the dialogue is terrible. I know this was a summer action movie, so I didn't have high expectations for the dialogue anyway, but I expect better than this. Almost every line was like something you would find as a bumper sticker slogan or on a Hallmark card. Many of the older, more experienced supporting actors/actresses actually made some of these crap lines work, like John Turturro and the man and woman who played Mr./Mrs. Witwicky, but the younger ones like Duhamel, Tyrese and Fox didn't stand a chance (they are pretty bland actors to begin with). However, the title for worst actor has to go to Shia LeBeouf as Sam Witwicky. His idea of acting in this movie seemed more like a portrayal of a meth addict than of a smart teenage boy starting his first year of college. I just don't understand the love over this kid; he has played that same hyperactive type in every film I have seen him in, and I don't find it cute. I just want to smack him. On top of the bad dialogue and mediocre acting are some very nasty, negative themes. In Bay movies, hundreds of thousands of people die and hundreds of thousands of acres of land are destroyed, but it is all done in the name of entertainment, so hey, who cares? There is no attempt at making the deaths or destruction mean anything, and, in that sense, it cheapens the entire experience. Also, young women are not seen as real people in Bay's movies, but as objects to fulfill men's desires. It is really pathetic how misogyny just runs rampant throughout this film...and these female actors just go along with it, playing the pretty, shallow idiots just like they are told. And don't even get me started on the "black" robots, who just so happen to also be the characters who can't read. I think my mouth fell open and I gasped when they said they are illiterate - are audiences really O.K. with that? Because I'm not. The one factor that allows me to move my rating out of the red and into the yellow is the story, which is pretty neat in concept. Unfortunately, that concept is not carried out very well by Bay, but the major storyboard points are interesting enough and make sense in the context of the Transformers' universe. Obviously, based on my review, you can tell I think this movie is very flawed and mediocre. However, in hindsight, I am kind of shocked at how bad those reviews/comments were that I mentioned before. I was expecting to really despise "Revenge of the Fallen," and there are definitely many aspects of the movie that I do despise, but I would watch this again before I watched "The Last Airbender" or that god awful "Twilight - Eclipse" any day of the week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RoscoeYJun 25, 2011
This sequel lacks the certain overall charm that permeated the first movie. While the story didn't wow me in the first robot romp, the stunning visuals and quirky human characters had me entertained the entirety of the first films duration. IThis sequel lacks the certain overall charm that permeated the first movie. While the story didn't wow me in the first robot romp, the stunning visuals and quirky human characters had me entertained the entirety of the first films duration. I really wanted to like Revenge of the Fallen and I went into the movie with an open mind (as well as the knowledge that it had a pretty crummy reputation with the critics). The movie started out well enough and i remembered thinking to myself; "What are these critics talking about, this is a decent action flick?" Then the atrocious humor started to kick in. The humor started out innocent enough and i chuckled at a few crude jokes, but as the film continued the multitude of terrible jokes became relentless. Once the third act of the movie started I thought that the final battle would kick in and the action would cancel out the crude jokes. Much to my dismay not even the final battle was safe from the "humor" (a scene involving large transformer testicles comes to mind). It didn't help that the final battle was a little on the boring side. All in all Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen was a disappointment, it wasn't the worst film by any means, it was just all over the place not knowing when to take itself seriously. Overall I did have fun with it there was still plenty of spectacular action sequences to gawk at (most notably the forrest battle) and a plethora of nifty explosions, courtesy of Michael Bay himself. The movie just needed some more focus and it would have been more of a solid installment in the Transformers saga, but there's no going back now. In the words of Optimus Prime, "I send this message so that our past will always be remembered. For in those memories, we live on". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews