Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 977 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]
  • Director: Michael Bay
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Comedy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 144 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    80
    The movie's biggest misstep is a complete lack of the classic Transformers theme song. How do you not use the coolest ’80s toyline-turned-cartoon music ever?
  3. It's a heavy-metal opera with humor.
  4. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    70
    Transformers is mercilessly inhuman and completely hysterical from frame one.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 470
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    I was repeating **** beautiful" in my head throughout the movie. It looks good, it sounds good, there is just right amount of action and humor - and one watch won't definitely be enough!

    I never watched the cartoon on TV, but this still hits right to the core for me.

    The camera-angles are a bit shaky and blurry at times, but it gives the movie more speed and a sense of realism.

    Even if some aspects of the story are definite clichés, and there aren't any real shocking revelations, it is still an enjoyable movie. Go and watch!
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Pure escapism, total in-your-face intense action from beginning to end. It is a fantastic movie because it makes you feel like a child with a new toy again. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
    Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes are 10/10 the worst scenes are 4/10, under no circumstances should you believe anyone that gives this film a score in the red, there are several films I absolutely hate but I rate them fairly for its audience. People that are giving this lower than 6 seem to be very bitter people in general. Not only that but they probably believe that District 9 has a very good story when infact its just a bunch of semi-suggestive anti apartheid images superimposed over some terrible jokes.
    Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    "Transformers" is an entertaining explosive summer movie directed by Michael Bay. Like all Bay movies, the script is pretty weak but the action is exhilarating. However, "Transformers" has a pretty good plot combined with excellent CGI, making this Bay movie a recommended summer blockbuster. Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This in combination
    with a slow story didn't impress me that much, but the action sequences are incredible.

    Transformers is a highly unique movie with cool scenes that really impress me.

    Transformers gets a 6,5/10
    Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    Transformers is an entertaining film with epic action, breathtaking visual effects and some humor as well, but sadly the film suffers from bad performances and a cheesy story. I give this movie 61%. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    This film is **** **** Nothing at all good was used from the original Transformers, basically someone got the liecnse and created a half arsed peice of **** just to make money. The plot is about a big cube, there are no transformers untill half way in, and then they have ****e ones, even then they don't **** act anyhting like the characters should, they hardly **** talk, the kid who stars in this is a little piece of piss i saw in a ****ty kids program when i was younger, he is awefull, i don't know why but i look at him and his stupid ass smug face and i can imagine he just stinks of farts. I hope he dies. The 80s animated film is over 9000 times better. Expand

See all 470 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.