Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: January 27, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 62 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
10
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
AliC.Jan 30, 2006
Hilarious. Maybe more so for Brits though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WontadmitIsawthisFeb 17, 2006
This review is for the first hour of the film, because we left after that. Simply put: Dull. Not funny. Not interesting. Not clever. Not diverting. Yes, it's tongue in cheek, but only in attitude; there is no real shared joke behind the This review is for the first hour of the film, because we left after that. Simply put: Dull. Not funny. Not interesting. Not clever. Not diverting. Yes, it's tongue in cheek, but only in attitude; there is no real shared joke behind the deadpan. Example: a woman screaming in childbirth for minutes on end while men ignore the noise and instead fumble with a huge pair of forceps, squashing a canteloupe prior to trying it out on the newborn baby's head. That is funny? The only good thing I can say is that the theater gave us our money back (which is why this rating was not a zero). By the way, I have walked out on about three films in my life, including this one and Mel Gibson's religious snuff flick, which was just about as funny as this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomF.Jul 3, 2006
First of all, I have not laughed so hard in a cinema in a long time, however, i doubt it will appeal to all those who see it. If you love digression based and dry humour, in addition to 'metafiction' narrative, i guarantee you will First of all, I have not laughed so hard in a cinema in a long time, however, i doubt it will appeal to all those who see it. If you love digression based and dry humour, in addition to 'metafiction' narrative, i guarantee you will love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JulioMar 6, 2006
Nothing to do, this film is waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimW.May 20, 2006
There seem to be two major complaints with this movie, both of which baffle me. 1)"It's just not funny." Even if I hadn't gotten a single joke, this would still have been one of the greatest movies I've ever seen because of There seem to be two major complaints with this movie, both of which baffle me. 1)"It's just not funny." Even if I hadn't gotten a single joke, this would still have been one of the greatest movies I've ever seen because of the rebuttal to 2)"The 'real life' bits are tedious and irrelevant"---in fact they parallel and subvert the book so well this movie that is ostensibly about the making of movies becomes for the viewer who wants more than a few cheap laughs, one of the most literary films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteL.Aug 9, 2006
Simply brilliant. I pity anyone who doesn't find this movie hilarious. Best comedy I've seen all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveC.Sep 11, 2006
This film was bloody awful. I'm really shocked it got so many positive reviews, it's really a bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AldoB.Feb 1, 2006
A film about nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidH.Feb 23, 2006
This is unquestionably the worst movie I've seen. It starts with a boy having his penis injured (A female audience member laughed hystrically), then continued with a prolonged "Woman giving birth scene," with endless yelling and This is unquestionably the worst movie I've seen. It starts with a boy having his penis injured (A female audience member laughed hystrically), then continued with a prolonged "Woman giving birth scene," with endless yelling and flailing about, while the men in the next room are strangely unaffected. I didn't get the joke... Very sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillA.Mar 23, 2006
Don't always trust the criticis. Worst movie I have seen in a LONG time. Only the 3rd movie in my life (am age 63) that I have walked out of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WendyA.Mar 24, 2006
Very dull, flat, overly talky, and not the least but funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicMar 5, 2006
Possibly the greatest movie about making movies, sits perfectly next to this is spinal tap. it's complex, but you never feel lost, coogan and brydon play off of each other beautifully. extra metion to jeremy northam, basically playingPossibly the greatest movie about making movies, sits perfectly next to this is spinal tap. it's complex, but you never feel lost, coogan and brydon play off of each other beautifully. extra metion to jeremy northam, basically playing michael winterbottom. it's not to everyone's tastes, but a wonderful 100 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ClayM.May 1, 2006
If I was alone I would've walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonathanC.Jul 16, 2006
Comparing this to Spinal Tap or Monty Python is a disgrace to those classic films. I don't know what film these critics watched, but it certainly wasn't the one I watched. Worst film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnN.Jul 24, 2006
I love the fact that DVD's allow you to get English sub-titles so that you can understand British movies such this. Be that as it may, I really found the humor lacking in this film. Oh yes it was creative a "the film within the film", I love the fact that DVD's allow you to get English sub-titles so that you can understand British movies such this. Be that as it may, I really found the humor lacking in this film. Oh yes it was creative a "the film within the film", but ongoing jokes such as war injuries to the genitalia were just plain dumb and not funny. I find British humor a bid odd, but I still get a good chuckle out of Rickey Gervais, Monty Python, Fawlty Towers etc... I just couldn't find any reason to get interested or laugh at this one. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyK.Sep 17, 2006
A phenomenal piece of work. This is the artist's hand steadily at play. A collaborative comedy with an underlying current that reminds us of how much facical our world views and sense of self vs others always leaves us wanting. By A phenomenal piece of work. This is the artist's hand steadily at play. A collaborative comedy with an underlying current that reminds us of how much facical our world views and sense of self vs others always leaves us wanting. By embracing a post-modern jester of his time (Sterne) and this wonderful age-old satire - Winterbottom, Boyce, Coggan and crew have done just that - created a blazing re-definition of post-modernism and as much as we hate the cliche --- it is unabashedly "ahead of it's time". As bold and awe-inspiring as the film medium has the potential to be. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RGFeb 28, 2007
This is one of the fuuniest movies last year and one of the smartest in a very long time. Post modernism has never been embraced so beautifuly in a movie as this. very interesting approach taken by the film makers: Coogan plays himself, This is one of the fuuniest movies last year and one of the smartest in a very long time. Post modernism has never been embraced so beautifuly in a movie as this. very interesting approach taken by the film makers: Coogan plays himself, Tristram and then his father, as he just turns a father. Great chemistry between Coogan and Rydon. Rydon also plays a caricature of himself and Tristram's uncle. Whatever parallels that are drawn between characters played by characters, the director himself draws by the medium of film on the book, tristram shandy. That a little hard to digest but its def worth seeing, it makes more sense when you are watching it brilliant and winterbottom is def becoming one of the best and most consistent directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Jan 29, 2006
Brilliantly directed and acted, and very funny. Fast and witty, largely centred on interplay between Coogan and Bryden, mining the charming egoism and self-indulgence of the novel itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomS.Jan 31, 2006
A clever interpretation which is hilarious. Well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClaireH.Feb 15, 2006
A funny, funny film. Brydon is a dellight and steals the film. In the period setting, Moran and Hawes are terrific: believable and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeWayneP.P.Feb 18, 2006
This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. I left the film after one hour, and I have never done that before. I give it no higher than a 0, only because I didn't get my money back from the theatre!. This film demonstrates just how This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. I left the film after one hour, and I have never done that before. I give it no higher than a 0, only because I didn't get my money back from the theatre!. This film demonstrates just how deeply rooted comedy is to our cultural language; and if you understand the British (and who really does!...just kidding!) then this film is a scream! If not, then join me and scream in horror as you run for the exits! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ElizabethC.Mar 1, 2006
People seem to either love or hate this film. I found it really frustrating. This is basically two films - the 18th century story of Tristram Shandy and the "mockumentary" of the making of the film. There isn't really much of a People seem to either love or hate this film. I found it really frustrating. This is basically two films - the 18th century story of Tristram Shandy and the "mockumentary" of the making of the film. There isn't really much of a narrative, but I understand that this is true to the book. There is some witty interplay between Coogan and Brydon at the beginning and end. Some of the period scenes are hilarious, such as Tristram's explanation of why this is called "a cock and bull story". Yet the viewer may become impatient with most of the modern day sequences, which aren't really insightful or all that intersting, and the lack of a story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZethB.Mar 12, 2006
Excellent film, funny throughout and all the cast were perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewT.Mar 12, 2006
A few laughs, but really not enough ideas here for a movie. The worst movie I have seen at the theater in a while. Goes to show that the critics are wrong sometimes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceS.Mar 31, 2006
So many of you, it seems, missed the point of the movie. The book upon which it was based was about life, and how hectic and unrelatable it is which they even say in the movie. Of course, they could never really show this in a movie, so they So many of you, it seems, missed the point of the movie. The book upon which it was based was about life, and how hectic and unrelatable it is which they even say in the movie. Of course, they could never really show this in a movie, so they make it about trying to adapt the book, and it becomes a hectic mess - about life! A perfect adaption, and a brilliant look at life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianS.Apr 10, 2006
I so enjoyed this movie, not your normal crap that gets churned out from the majors. Steve Coogan is the reason I went to this movie, and he didn't dissapoint! I haven't laughed at a movie this hard in a long time! I'm betting I so enjoyed this movie, not your normal crap that gets churned out from the majors. Steve Coogan is the reason I went to this movie, and he didn't dissapoint! I haven't laughed at a movie this hard in a long time! I'm betting that people that don't like this movie, don't get the British sense of humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KarenLApr 5, 2006
No Vince S., you miss the point. It doesn't matter what the filmmakers were trying to do, or were trying to say. The bottom line is that they ended up with an extremly dull, unfunny movie. If we rated movies based on the filmmakers No Vince S., you miss the point. It doesn't matter what the filmmakers were trying to do, or were trying to say. The bottom line is that they ended up with an extremly dull, unfunny movie. If we rated movies based on the filmmakers intentions, every movie would be a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SparkleJun 2, 2006
Perfect in every way. A superbly clever adaptation with its heart in surprising places.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TatianaH.Jul 13, 2006
Utterly confusing and yet completely delightful. I've rarely seen a film that captured how messy life is so well, and it made me eager to read the novel itself. Plus, I became as deeply interested in the faux Coogan's life as I was Utterly confusing and yet completely delightful. I've rarely seen a film that captured how messy life is so well, and it made me eager to read the novel itself. Plus, I became as deeply interested in the faux Coogan's life as I was in Shandy's, a rare feat when there are parallel sotrylines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HenryW.Jul 17, 2006
Has its moments, but it's not nearly as clever as it thinks it is. It sells itself as a mocumentry although the mockumentry elements feel forced and unrealistic compared to Christopher Guest stuff. Biggest problem is that it's not Has its moments, but it's not nearly as clever as it thinks it is. It sells itself as a mocumentry although the mockumentry elements feel forced and unrealistic compared to Christopher Guest stuff. Biggest problem is that it's not actually funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyP.Jul 18, 2006
Just the fact that they pulled this off and kept the spirit of the book was amazing. But the fact that it is funny and smart and engaging makes it work and work well. Those not familiar with the source material (ought to read it, but) may Just the fact that they pulled this off and kept the spirit of the book was amazing. But the fact that it is funny and smart and engaging makes it work and work well. Those not familiar with the source material (ought to read it, but) may have a hard time "getting" it, but hopefully will still enjoy the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanC.Jul 21, 2006
I know this is supposed to be the height of dry British wit, but I found myself looking at my watch and wishing it were over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarcK.Jul 22, 2006
Thank God I waited for this on DVD! This is one of the worst American releases in 2006, and was an absolute bore. I gave it a "2" only because it had a couple of funny jokes. The "regular" people's ratings are much more accurate than Thank God I waited for this on DVD! This is one of the worst American releases in 2006, and was an absolute bore. I gave it a "2" only because it had a couple of funny jokes. The "regular" people's ratings are much more accurate than what the critics said about this one. But if I can't trust the critics, how am I going to pick out movies to rent anymore? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClayF.Jul 24, 2006
The person who says it fails as a mockumentary is incorrect in assuming that that's what its trying to be: would a mockumentary includea dream sequence? It is a dry comedy and character deconstruction in the style of The Office. It is The person who says it fails as a mockumentary is incorrect in assuming that that's what its trying to be: would a mockumentary includea dream sequence? It is a dry comedy and character deconstruction in the style of The Office. It is not the jokes which are the source of the delight: its the unnerving courage of the filmmakers to plunge into their own dark psyches to analyse and celebrate the weaknesses and frailties in us all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinM.Jul 26, 2006
Most intelligent comedy I've seen since in years, sublime brain candy. It doesn't give an inch to commercial tastes though, so if you like spectacle and easily digested morals don't bother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinS.Aug 27, 2006
Steve Coogan is hilarious but Rob Brydon steals the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmeliaS.Dec 29, 2006
This must be the first film that I found bad while Roger Ebert did not. I expected great British comedy from Tristram Shandy - what I got was a film with only several funny moments that was confusing, repetitive, and ultimately, a film of no This must be the first film that I found bad while Roger Ebert did not. I expected great British comedy from Tristram Shandy - what I got was a film with only several funny moments that was confusing, repetitive, and ultimately, a film of no consequence. Films should leave a viewer thinking, daydreaming, wondering, wanting to be a better person, or questioning themselves. All I felt at the end of this film was "Thank God it's over!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AldoB.Jan 29, 2006
A film about nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ElizabethP.Mar 22, 2006
A few good laughs, a few clever points to make, but overall pretty boring and pointless. And I say this despite usually liking British humor. No cohesive story, which I'm sure is very fitting, but doesn't leave you with very much A few good laughs, a few clever points to make, but overall pretty boring and pointless. And I say this despite usually liking British humor. No cohesive story, which I'm sure is very fitting, but doesn't leave you with very much at the end of the film. Don't listen to the critics on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilB.Apr 16, 2006
This film really does polarise viewers it seems. I'm English and saw this in Vancouver with a Canadian. It's safe to say that the Brits leaving the theatre were still laughing (even the 3 old ladies), sadly though the Canadians This film really does polarise viewers it seems. I'm English and saw this in Vancouver with a Canadian. It's safe to say that the Brits leaving the theatre were still laughing (even the 3 old ladies), sadly though the Canadians missed the in-jokes and seemingly the whole point. The references to characters and actors all make it so much more enjoyable for those in on the joke, Knowing Alan Partridge, Knowing The Jokes. Me? I cryed laughing at times and found it refreshing and innovative. Having said that, I'm a Brit, so...ah ha! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
paddyc.Dec 18, 2006
Ambitious project, pitifully executed, leading to a confused product, despite a potentially great ensemble and a marvellous source.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
vaughtexJul 27, 2015
I feel compelled to write a review for this in the hope that it serves as a warning to others. Hopefully, it will reach people before they embark on the loss of 90 minutes of their life they will never get back. Honestly, this is the worstI feel compelled to write a review for this in the hope that it serves as a warning to others. Hopefully, it will reach people before they embark on the loss of 90 minutes of their life they will never get back. Honestly, this is the worst movie I have ever seen.
I love Rob Brydon, Steve Coogan et al. On paper a fantastic idea. In reality it is the most pretentious, indulgent mess I have ever had the displeasure of sitting through.I stuck with it through the entire run time, hoping it would develop and become "hilarious". It rarely makes much sense as the 'storyline' turns into inane rambling. It is dull. So dull, at around 80 minutes I felt myself slowly picking out the set design and small background details of the film, instead of concentrating on the content, my gaze then drifted to the edge of the TV, admiring the right angles then onto the wallpaper behind the TV itself, counting the pattern and admiring the matching on the seams. It was infinitely more interesting.
I don't understand how this film got past the studio, it feels very much like a personal joke that no one else gets. Maybe they needed to shift some money out of the studio and made this in 3 hours, that's honestly how it feels. A deeply boring, unfunny pretentious mess. Avoid like the plague.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews