User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 336
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Seeing the Illiad recreated is quite enjoyable, but the movie just falls flat on as it doesn't transpire all the great qualities of the poem. It is just a lazy Hollywood movie that was made as a money machine for the producers.
  2. WAKOJAKO
    May 20, 2004
    4
    Extremely uneven epic, with an at-times ludicrous screenplay (I actually heard audience members laugh at some of the dialogue during my screening) and possibly the worst music score in some time (80 percent which consists of the most annoying wailing--a poor immitation of some compelling passages from "Gladiator"). Pitt broods, Bana scowls and Bloom mostly whimpers... Directed competently Extremely uneven epic, with an at-times ludicrous screenplay (I actually heard audience members laugh at some of the dialogue during my screening) and possibly the worst music score in some time (80 percent which consists of the most annoying wailing--a poor immitation of some compelling passages from "Gladiator"). Pitt broods, Bana scowls and Bloom mostly whimpers... Directed competently but without the panache that will thrust it into the status of a classic. Hopeless come awards season. Closer at heart to the inconsequential "Pearl Harbor" than audience pleasing "Gladiator." In fact, of all the things it lacks, the most startling may be heart. Expand
  3. IonfluxB.
    May 13, 2004
    0
    Don't waste your time watching this movie. It's a total waste of time. I almost slept through the whole show...zzzz.
  4. Zef
    May 21, 2004
    3
    I will never recommend this movie to any of my friends. This movie was a kind of total ...... Director probably never read the original Homers epics The Iliad and The Odyssey, because it should have based on the epics. The war took ten years not only two weeks. The story was realy poor, no drama, no mystic, no greek mythology. I think this was another of "great" movies, the purpose of I will never recommend this movie to any of my friends. This movie was a kind of total ...... Director probably never read the original Homers epics The Iliad and The Odyssey, because it should have based on the epics. The war took ten years not only two weeks. The story was realy poor, no drama, no mystic, no greek mythology. I think this was another of "great" movies, the purpose of which are to earn money. This is a good movie only for some americans who dont know where the Greece is and never want to know the truth. About artists: Brad Pitt - I thouht it was not a good choice but finally was not so bad. Eric Bana - good job Orlando Bloom - bad, he has no sense of antient age. His destiny is to play archer, probably he shoud stop acting after he had acted the character of Legolas in LOTR. And finally if you want to see movie about the real story of Troy I recommend you to see Helen of Troy because this movie is much more better even there are no famous actors. Expand
  5. BenZ.
    Jun 12, 2004
    4
    This movie was a pure and utter dissapointment to me after the extremely cool looking trailers. First off... what does this film have going for it? Well... Eric Bana is great as Hector and there are a couple of really cool fight scenes. Yep, that's it. This movie contains cheesy dialogue, an absolutely horrible musical score, disturbingly bad computer-generated troops, and some This movie was a pure and utter dissapointment to me after the extremely cool looking trailers. First off... what does this film have going for it? Well... Eric Bana is great as Hector and there are a couple of really cool fight scenes. Yep, that's it. This movie contains cheesy dialogue, an absolutely horrible musical score, disturbingly bad computer-generated troops, and some really bad casting choices. Brad Pitt is extremely inadequate as the heroic achilles and I'm beginning to truly see what a bad actor Orlando Bloom is. What a bummer, i was expecting another Gladiator. Expand
  6. VictoriaS
    Jan 29, 2005
    5
    Clearly not meeting up to anyone's expectations.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    A lot of people are foggy enough about the battle of Troy’s origins to confuse the story laid out in the “Iliad” with history. I’m sure you’ll hear more than one movie-goer comment on the film’s historical accuracy. Last night I heard at least two. But, like Hidalgo, The Passion, or maybe more like Harry Potter, Troy is another ambitious adaptation that only manages as solid entertainment.A lot of people are foggy enough about the battle of Troy’s origins to confuse the story laid out in the “Iliad” with history. I’m sure you’ll hear more than one movie-goer comment on the film’s historical accuracy. Last night I heard at least two. But, like Hidalgo, The Passion, or maybe more like Harry Potter, Troy is another ambitious adaptation that only manages as solid entertainment. The idea of taking Homer’s battle poem and turning it into a movie is a good one, since it instantly leans towards the epic and contains plenty of notable and screen worthy characters. It’s also a story strongly ingrained in our cultural consciousness, after centuries of required classroom reading. It has already received some comparison to Gladiator, but where that movie was a surely modern fighting flick, the story of Troy lends itself much more to Hollywood’s golden age, the sort of thing that would have attracted a younger Chuck Heston. As Achilles, Brad Pitt is either naked or fighting. There’s no in between. Achilles is a guy who only wears clothes when he’s killing. I'm not sure what that says about his character. But don’t worry guys, it isn’t real Pitt nudity, just side-nudity. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever seen so much side-nudity in any film. I now know every intimate inch of Brad Pitt’s naked profile. Troy lacks the courage to show full frontal or even a little bit of ass crack. Odd for any other R-rated movie, but not really for this one which only barelyshows enough carnage to warrant a rated R. It could easily have slipped by as PG-13 and one has to wonder why they bothered at all with an R when the removal of even a thimble-full of blood could have garnered them something lesser. If you’re going to go R, make it worthwhile. Don’t be afraid of women’s breasts. Don’t run away from realistic battle sequences. Hey, throw in a couple of decapitations! This is war, not West Side Story. What the film’s massive battle sequences sometimes lack in ugly realism is made only worse by Director Wolfgang Petersen’s strange propensity to focus in on one on one battles to the exclusion of all else. A hundred-thousand men clash on the field of battle, yet everything falls silent as soldiers form a big school-yard huddle whenever Hector picks up his sword. Should he dispatch a particularly difficult foe, he mutters “that’s enough” and all one-hundred thousand men just seem to wander home. Maybe I’ve been permanently spoiled by Peter Jackson’s groundbreaking siege in The Two Towers, but Troy’s bigger and supposedly badder battles just can’t compare. Troy fails to garner any excitement from its massive scale, but Petersen does have an amazing gift for filming one on one action. The final big battle between Achilles and Hector is engrossing and amazing. That’s due in no small part to both Pitt and Bana’s impressive performances, in which both brilliantly capture the physicality of their respective characters. Still, it is impossible to walk away from Troy completely unsatisfied. Despite some major directing flaws, Petersen does deliver an enjoyably huge (if a little too long) period adventure. Women will no doubt swoon at the legions of male characters clad in thigh revealing leather costumes. Men will go insane over Achilles kicking ass against anything and everything that moves. Troy is big, grandiose, and entertaining. With such a marvelous cast, I wish Petersen had delivered a masterpiece, but I’ll settle for some solid sandal-wearing fun. Expand
  8. DiosaM.
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    i think troy is such an excellent movie.it is maybe not perfect but come think of it, its inperpection makes it perpect.so far besides gladiator and odyssey ,this troy has made me cry.i think they should watch it.it is realy good.it exceeded my expectations. if they have read iliad they'll realy apreaciate this movie. it even will widen ur knowledge. for me it seems that the great i think troy is such an excellent movie.it is maybe not perfect but come think of it, its inperpection makes it perpect.so far besides gladiator and odyssey ,this troy has made me cry.i think they should watch it.it is realy good.it exceeded my expectations. if they have read iliad they'll realy apreaciate this movie. it even will widen ur knowledge. for me it seems that the great written by homer comes to life. Expand
  9. DanB.
    Jun 2, 2004
    8
    Much much better than I thought it would be, it's a pretty good movie. Brad Pitt is kind of odd here and there, but he doesn't stink up anything, and the fights are really good too. The movie made me go out and buy the book right after.
  10. LeeG.
    May 20, 2004
    9
    With the Gods and heroes used more gracefully than some other "epic" movies, I found it thoroughly entertained me and was anything but a tongue in cheak romp which it could so easily have become. The martial prowess of Achilles was indisputible and at no point do you feel that he's just been "bigged-up" for the sake of the legend. Satisfyingly, he's just extremeley good at With the Gods and heroes used more gracefully than some other "epic" movies, I found it thoroughly entertained me and was anything but a tongue in cheak romp which it could so easily have become. The martial prowess of Achilles was indisputible and at no point do you feel that he's just been "bigged-up" for the sake of the legend. Satisfyingly, he's just extremeley good at killing people. Lots of people... A great performance from Eric Bana and the rest of the cast, with the only potential weak link being Bloom, who is convincing only because his role demands a bit of adolecent brashness. All in all though, a very good film; and a real treat as this year has teased us with some good concepts, but not so many golden fleece-alikes... Expand
  11. DarkenD.
    Sep 15, 2004
    9
    I can't believe there were so many negative review here, so I have to put my up. Bad reviews is no problem, but damn, most of you critic on the wrong aspect. First, this is a film, it is not a book, so don't go compare it to the book its base on. Once made it to the film, expect some change. Just because the movies title was Troy, don't expect the movies about Troy, not I can't believe there were so many negative review here, so I have to put my up. Bad reviews is no problem, but damn, most of you critic on the wrong aspect. First, this is a film, it is not a book, so don't go compare it to the book its base on. Once made it to the film, expect some change. Just because the movies title was Troy, don't expect the movies about Troy, not completely anyway. I agree with the rest of you on two thing, Bloom suck, the sun rise (lol, Efe pointed this out.) But if you notice throughout the movie, Pit as Achilles was on screen alot. Why? its because the movies is about Achilles, not Troy. The film is about Achilles's role in the battle with Troy, not Troy itself. Expand
  12. NemawashiK.
    May 18, 2004
    9
    Don't believe the negative reviews: This movie is well done. Eric Bana puts in a particularly interesting performance. It's visually rich, too.
  13. KelR.
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    I really liked this movie, not because of the actors or how it was done but because I love movies done about epic battles of the past. It stems from the fact that Troy was an actual place and there was an actual conflict there that perhaps shaped the history of Europe permenantly. If you enjoy these kind of grand scale epic movies than you'll love Troy.
  14. paul
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    Great action, dialogue, beautiful scenery, some great acting by o'toole, only slightly corny and a little too long.
  15. josephp.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    These critics are all idiots! If you don't want to see an action packed movie, go somewhere and read a book. This film rocked! There was a lot of action and fight scenes...but it should have been more gory. This would be ideal for a extended collectors edition. Additional footage a must. Extend the beach battle,battle at Troys wall,battles while Troy was under seige,more Achillies These critics are all idiots! If you don't want to see an action packed movie, go somewhere and read a book. This film rocked! There was a lot of action and fight scenes...but it should have been more gory. This would be ideal for a extended collectors edition. Additional footage a must. Extend the beach battle,battle at Troys wall,battles while Troy was under seige,more Achillies fights,more Ajax fights,more Hector fights,and please more Oddyseus fights. Look at the gore of Braveheart and implement it into extended addition. It would be a movie to die for. Expand
  16. RDalvi
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    It is not just an insane war film. It has an emotional pull too. Just see the scene where O'Toole visits Pitt. Brilliant performances and good direction. Is just a tad bit too violent.
  17. YeraldinE.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This movie was awesome, I think archilles is the greatest heros of greece of all time; Brat Pitt didn't a excellent job, he looked amazing in this movie. The story was great. This movie was romance, action and hot guy all in one. This is my favorite of all times #1 if you vote 1-9 you don't know what are you talking about.
  18. Johan
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Great picture and the best epic in years. (Excluding LOTR). Awesome actors in Eric Bana, Brad Pitt, Brian Cox and of course the legend himself, Peter O'Toole. Even Orlando Bloom gave his best preformance ever ( how good that now is). Great battle scenes and one on one duels.
  19. TigranH.
    May 20, 2004
    8
    This is a movie of epic proportions and even though it is loosely based on Homer's Illiad, it still comes through with all the epitomes of a best Greek tragedy. Comparisons with the Gladiator are apt to happen but they are in many respects two very different movies, as were the backdrop for both - 2 very different civilizations and stories. Troy is a nice flowing movie with all the This is a movie of epic proportions and even though it is loosely based on Homer's Illiad, it still comes through with all the epitomes of a best Greek tragedy. Comparisons with the Gladiator are apt to happen but they are in many respects two very different movies, as were the backdrop for both - 2 very different civilizations and stories. Troy is a nice flowing movie with all the best qualities of a Greek play. Directing is excellent as well as the music that is so much interwoven with the story. The battle scenes are amazing and certainly the best I have seen so far in this movie genre (especially 1 on 1). The cast is a nice spectra of quality actors, where Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana (as Hector) shine. If anyone gets an Oscar nomination it Will be O'Toole. Unfortunately that cannot be said about Brad Pitt who is a paradox for me in this move. At the same time he is the best link in the chain but also its worst. Yet while he displays a fine acting technique (love and battle scenes), he actually falls short in the deeper, more craving parts - those of dialogues and emotions. Real Greek tragedy emotions are missing and there is too much of a flat delivery and uninspired dialogue in the key moments he delivers. Rather dissapointing. But that notwithstanding, the paradox lies in the fact that he is the only one for this role becuase he plays this Godly Greek half-immortal hero to perfection. No one could do that in such a way and that makes him a great star, although that's good - but not good enough. As I said, it is a very different story to the classic tale and a bit more focus could have been directed towards his relationship to his closest brother in arms, Patroclus. In any case this is a great movie and it's worth seeing. A very much - a true story behind the legend - type of movie. As far the Oscars go - there could be a couple of nominations - but no major ones. I liked the ending with the Achilles heel! Expand
  20. TatianaM.
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    This movie has its share of flaws for sure : the ending is rushed, Achilles' love story is awkwardly done, Peter O'Toole looks like he's been poleaxed half the time and the actress who plays Andromache annoyed me mightily. But despite all that (and some other things that I didn't mention), the core story - Homer's story, altered as it is - is so strong, that it This movie has its share of flaws for sure : the ending is rushed, Achilles' love story is awkwardly done, Peter O'Toole looks like he's been poleaxed half the time and the actress who plays Andromache annoyed me mightily. But despite all that (and some other things that I didn't mention), the core story - Homer's story, altered as it is - is so strong, that it carries the movie effortlessly through all its considerable length. The plot is flowing, the characters are recognizable and actions have consequences - that, for me is the best achievement of this movie. That, and Brad Pitt - maybe I'm a little biased, because I had a crush on Achilles since I was 11, but i thought that Pitt was brilliant in the part. The vanity, the tenderness, the arrogance, the mood swings - it was all there for all to see. Poor doomed golden boy... sniff. All the others were adequate to good, with 2 aforementioned exceptions. Good movie, which for all its glamour, does provide a cirious meditations on human condition: actions have consequences. Men a wretched things. On every war, you kill your brothers, and it will never end. Expand
  21. BobC.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    What is it with these critics? Have they seen so many movies that they can't recognize a good movie. "Troy" is never dull, boring, or slow paced. I thought Brad Pitt did a great job. Why do the critics have to analyze a movie and just tell us if it is worth watching or not. "Troy" especially is. Remember what the critics said about "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Somebody should have a What is it with these critics? Have they seen so many movies that they can't recognize a good movie. "Troy" is never dull, boring, or slow paced. I thought Brad Pitt did a great job. Why do the critics have to analyze a movie and just tell us if it is worth watching or not. "Troy" especially is. Remember what the critics said about "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Somebody should have a critic list of the critics. Expand
  22. JohnY.
    May 15, 2004
    9
    "Troy" is a stirring visual epic with stunning action, a capable cast, and a legendary story. Sure, the gods are missing, and the dialogue is somewhat lacking. Yet, the film still is tremendously entertaining thanks to the performances of Bana and O'Toole. As for Pitt, he looks the part of Achilles, but he's no Russell Crowe when it comes to acting. Bloom correctly plays Paris "Troy" is a stirring visual epic with stunning action, a capable cast, and a legendary story. Sure, the gods are missing, and the dialogue is somewhat lacking. Yet, the film still is tremendously entertaining thanks to the performances of Bana and O'Toole. As for Pitt, he looks the part of Achilles, but he's no Russell Crowe when it comes to acting. Bloom correctly plays Paris as a coward, and Brian Cox is a wonderful "villain" as always. However, the best thing about "Troy" is that it doesn't really take sides ... maybe it sympathizes with Troy more than with Greece, but it also focuses on the Greeks and their greatest warrior, Achilles. By the film's conclusion, we feel as if everyone has lost the battle, and that's a refreshing change for a war film. Expand
  23. BenH.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    Very entertaining, well acted, good fight scenes. Can't understand the bad things people are saying, what exactly did you expect?
  24. StaceyG.
    May 23, 2004
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] Troy has it's Achille's heel but it is a very small weakness. The film is a little too "absorbed by hollywood." but other then that it is truly very good. Brad Pitt is pretty damn good as the film's leading man and Orldando Bloom's performance gets beter as the film progresses and his character grows and changes. It is clear that Troy was ment to be a[***SPOILERS***] Troy has it's Achille's heel but it is a very small weakness. The film is a little too "absorbed by hollywood." but other then that it is truly very good. Brad Pitt is pretty damn good as the film's leading man and Orldando Bloom's performance gets beter as the film progresses and his character grows and changes. It is clear that Troy was ment to be a 14a or pg-13 movie because it could have been a lot more bloodier. However i am assumign it was made with less gore in order to draw in teenage girls. I enjoyed the film and i found it very touching and moving. It felt as if there was no good guys or bad guys, just a war and the casulties from that war. Eric Bana plays Hector, the brother of Paris and the defendor of Troy. there is one scence where Hector must battle one on one with Achilles. Hector knows he is probably going to die, we see that in his eyes but we also know how caring he is and we know he will fight hard until either him or his seemingly immortal opponent is dead. The fight is filmed perfectly but it is the moments leading up to it taht truly touch our hearts. Eric Bana seems destined for his roel as Hector and he is literally perfect in all of his screen time. He is honestly the most likeable character in the movie and his relationship with his brother is very touching and vey interesting. Bloom and Bana show great chemistry. Hopeflly Bana will get a best-supportign actor nomination but considering the movie Troy, i doubt he will. Troy was simply a very good epic film, i did not give it a nine because In Troy versus lord of the rings Troy is teh strong admirable Hector and Lord of the rings is the seemingly invincible Achilles. Expand
  25. Chris
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    Troy succeeds in it's basic intention to entertain as a popcorn bucket movie with bombastic battle sequences, bare arses and over the top thrills. Eric Bana is excellent as Hector , protector of Troy but Pitt seems a little miscasted as he is not quite believable when delivering his lines...no doubt he was cast for his ability to deliver female viewers...
  26. BenM.
    Jan 16, 2005
    8
    I watched this movie expecting to be disappointed. I wasn't. No it's not the Iliad; nor should it be. The dichotomy between Hector's honor and integrity and Pitt's egotistical moodiness is compelling enough without the interjection of the gods. The file was well shot, well-directed, and well written. I even thought it was well-acted. Much of the criticism was for the I watched this movie expecting to be disappointed. I wasn't. No it's not the Iliad; nor should it be. The dichotomy between Hector's honor and integrity and Pitt's egotistical moodiness is compelling enough without the interjection of the gods. The file was well shot, well-directed, and well written. I even thought it was well-acted. Much of the criticism was for the choices of Pitt and Bloom; however, they acted the roles of their characters. If you didn't like the character's then you should not blame the acting. I also found Bean's Odysseus compelling, but under utilized at times. Distracting was the subplot of the slave girl/princess and the death of Agamemnon. Overall recommended if you can let go of literally purism and enjoy a well-made epic. Expand
  27. CliffM
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Troy is an outstanding portrayal of Homer's epic even with major deviations from the original Iliad. Captures timeless issues related to diverse reasons soldiers go to war, their loyalties, and the impact on their loved ones. Brad Pitt excellently shows Achilles' transition from empty self-absorption to humanity, and Eric Bana is outstanding as noble Hector. All supporting cast Troy is an outstanding portrayal of Homer's epic even with major deviations from the original Iliad. Captures timeless issues related to diverse reasons soldiers go to war, their loyalties, and the impact on their loved ones. Brad Pitt excellently shows Achilles' transition from empty self-absorption to humanity, and Eric Bana is outstanding as noble Hector. All supporting cast are exceptional. Shows the greatest individual battle scene ever (Achilles v. Hector) which is emotionally tied to the reactions of Hector's loved ones. The moving scene with Achilles and Priam alone is worth seeing this extraordinary film. An epic - one of the best movies of this genre. I saw this movie several times and at each showing the audience seemed gripped by the intensity. Expand
  28. KatrinaB.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This movie was awesome!!! Some parts were a little bit not for my age, but in the whole it was good.
  29. ErikN.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    A terrific historical epic. Plenty of action and good acting. The best movie so far this year.
  30. IanM.
    May 19, 2004
    10
    Best movie of 2004
  31. D.Tank
    May 23, 2004
    8
    Reading all these negative reviews, I thought I'd hate this movie. But surprisingly, the movie was great. I had never read the books, so I can't comment on how true the script was to the orignal story. But seriously, you can't please all those fanboys who are going to complain anyways even if you made a very true-to-the-orignal movie. They'll still nitpick small Reading all these negative reviews, I thought I'd hate this movie. But surprisingly, the movie was great. I had never read the books, so I can't comment on how true the script was to the orignal story. But seriously, you can't please all those fanboys who are going to complain anyways even if you made a very true-to-the-orignal movie. They'll still nitpick small details and go crazy over them. I loved the movie and the message of the entire movie. Although Orlando Bloom still couldn't act, you really do feel angry at him when he crawls back to his brother to help him out since he can't kill his challenger. So, in a sense, his stupid acting actually pays off by good directing. I thought the cinematography and music and everything was great. Sure, its no Lord of the Rings, but I still thought this was awesome and definately somewhere close in the Lord of the Rings league. Expand
  32. AdamL.
    May 24, 2004
    10
    I thought this movie was very well done. Even though my friends hated it and thought it was boring, I for one am the kind of dork who likes it when something goes along with the original story that I remember from 9th grade. Even the characters I hated did a good job making me hate them.
  33. BradW.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    I give this a 10 for the fights, in particular the one-on-one fights. The fight choreographer has done an outstanding job.
  34. JonathanH.
    May 13, 2004
    10
    This is some of the best fight choreography I've ever seen. Well done to the Swordmaster.
  35. HenryS.
    May 14, 2004
    10
    This movie was awesome.... the fighting sequences were great and even though the gods were left out and the movie doesnt exactly follow the book (Illiad) it is a really good movie and you shoulld go see it today.... don't listen to the critics they don't know what they're talking about
  36. JayG.
    May 16, 2004
    9
    A great epic. It's definitely going to be a part of my dvd collection. Critics got this one wrong, go see it.
  37. JessicaK.
    May 21, 2004
    8
    No. It wasn't the greatest movie I've ever seen, but... (sarcasm bootup beginning...) I've got a really good feeling that it probably took a whole lot of effort out of all those involved to make the movie what it was. It was pretty good. Entertaining. And isn't that what the movies should be? I am a history fanatic. I am studying to be a history teacher. And yet, I can No. It wasn't the greatest movie I've ever seen, but... (sarcasm bootup beginning...) I've got a really good feeling that it probably took a whole lot of effort out of all those involved to make the movie what it was. It was pretty good. Entertaining. And isn't that what the movies should be? I am a history fanatic. I am studying to be a history teacher. And yet, I can somehow seperate my love of movies from my love of history and still enjoy myself without being overly critical. If you want a cut and dry documentary, watch the Discovery Channel. If you want entertainment from a movie that was, yes, shy of epic, but fairly noteworthy, see Troy. It's worth your 8$ ticket. We need to stop being so overly critical and realize that if acting and all other fascets of movie making were EASY, we'd all be actors and directors, wouldn't we? Stop picking things apart. This is someone's livelihood. Enjoy it for what it is. Entertainment and art. Troy was both. Expand
  38. Triniman
    May 22, 2004
    8
    Troy I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I thought it was surprisingly good. Brad Pitt stars as Achillies, the greatest Greek warrior. The character is cocky and overconfident, as a result of his superstar status among King Aggamemnon?s army. Far from being one-dimensional, Pitt is out-acted by Eric Bana, who plays the Trojan hero, Prince Hector, leader of their army. None of the Troy I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I thought it was surprisingly good. Brad Pitt stars as Achillies, the greatest Greek warrior. The character is cocky and overconfident, as a result of his superstar status among King Aggamemnon?s army. Far from being one-dimensional, Pitt is out-acted by Eric Bana, who plays the Trojan hero, Prince Hector, leader of their army. None of the acting is overdone. The computer animation is sparse and rarely noticeable. The story is based on Homer?s The Illiad (no, not that Homer!) A couple of parts seem like a stretch, but overall this is an enjoyable film. Review by Triniman Expand
  39. FredBob
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    Pitt was brilliant. He sold the movie for me. Achilles is bad a$$.
  40. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Troy features dazzling action, real life set pieces, and just powerful performances from Pitt, Kruger, Bloom and Bana; but sadly the film is completely emotionally dry and it most definitely suffers from that. I give this film 63%.
  41. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    A stunningly gripping study of ancient Greece that is well paced and has the right amounts of every characteristic required by this genre's law.
  42. Dana
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    No one has a right to judge this movie until they have studied or read the Iliad. This movie follows Homers words almost exactly, I actually found myself saying the next lines in some of the scenes. I felt it was very well done. It was not just another Hollywood movie trying to make some money, time and thought actually went into making this movie.
  43. JohnK.
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    Historians are sharply divided on the question of whether or not the Trojan War actually occurred - and if it did, which archaeological site is actually Troy. Discoveries made at the beginning of the 21st century provide new evidence of several armed battles in the right area at the right time - but definitive proof is hard to find, due largely to the historical practice of constructing Historians are sharply divided on the question of whether or not the Trojan War actually occurred - and if it did, which archaeological site is actually Troy. Discoveries made at the beginning of the 21st century provide new evidence of several armed battles in the right area at the right time - but definitive proof is hard to find, due largely to the historical practice of constructing one city on the ruins of another. Homer's Illiad (and other similar epics depicting the Trojan War) were written hundreds of years after the Trojan War supposedly occurred, and are of little use in determining factual historical events as they included many mythological elements: gods such as Apollo, Zeus, and Hera were central characters in the story who drastically affected the course of the war by killing and/or saving individual people during the conflict. The producers' decision to eliminate all mythological elements from the story gives their film an air of historical authenticity not present in the original works. One of the best epics in decades. Expand
  44. Andaraoas
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Great picture.
  45. Shammyshoo
    Jun 7, 2004
    0
    Worst movie all year. The acting and dialogue and yes even the action were all agonizingly abysmal. How does sh.t like this get made?? oh right because of a mass of stupid americans (critics including). the stupid american has become somewhat redundant. the acting failed and not just because of the dialogue which was wholly laughable. the action was a huge disappointment. wolfgang Worst movie all year. The acting and dialogue and yes even the action were all agonizingly abysmal. How does sh.t like this get made?? oh right because of a mass of stupid americans (critics including). the stupid american has become somewhat redundant. the acting failed and not just because of the dialogue which was wholly laughable. the action was a huge disappointment. wolfgang peterson should never be allowed near a set ever again. and the music!!! jesus! i mean it's as if every single aspect of this movie was just a regurgitated effort of stereotypical hollywood bullshit. Honestly, I ask all people to stop going to see these horrible films. If we collectively stop watching this sh.t maybe they will actually attempt to make films that aren't garbage. if not it's going to be more of the same. sh.tty sequels to sh.tty remakes eg oceans 12. idiots. Expand
  46. ChadS.
    Aug 15, 2004
    6
    Quite often, the dialogue sounds like it was spit out by a computer program, forcing actors like Peter O'Toole to deliver lines so timeworn, even a pre-pubescent writing his first play would know better. Priam (O'Toole) actually tells Hector (Eric Bana), "A father couldn't ask for a better son," before his eldest son does battle with Achilles (Brad Pitt). "Troy" has the Quite often, the dialogue sounds like it was spit out by a computer program, forcing actors like Peter O'Toole to deliver lines so timeworn, even a pre-pubescent writing his first play would know better. Priam (O'Toole) actually tells Hector (Eric Bana), "A father couldn't ask for a better son," before his eldest son does battle with Achilles (Brad Pitt). "Troy" has the distinction of being alternately, cheesy and rousing, and sometimes, simultaneously. Give O'Toole credit for keeping it together when Orlando Bloom (Paris) describes Helen( Diana Krueger) as being precious to him like "every blade of grass...and every grain of sand." We know what film informs "Troy"('s) action scenes, but that doesn't mean it's any less exciting. You've gotta love the crane shot. Without having read Homer's "The Iliad", it's quite obvious to me that "Troy" is a loose adaptation, but given the nearly three hour-running time; a story that a child could understand, is infinitely preferable to a story that's inpenetrable. "Troy" creates too many opportunities for unintentional laughter, but it doesn't wholly doom this Roman lark, because Pitt doesn't get the lion's share of bad dialogue. We more or less take him seriously as Achilles. Expand
  47. ShaziaA
    Aug 30, 2004
    6
    The only thing keeping this movie afloat, other than the veterans (but is that a surprise), was Eric Bana. I cannot believe that beforehand, people thought he would drag the movie down because of his role in the Hulk. Orlando Bloom did not have much to do thankfully and Brad Pitt was miscast. How the producers of this movie could pay him $17 million is beyond me. Throwing in a love story The only thing keeping this movie afloat, other than the veterans (but is that a surprise), was Eric Bana. I cannot believe that beforehand, people thought he would drag the movie down because of his role in the Hulk. Orlando Bloom did not have much to do thankfully and Brad Pitt was miscast. How the producers of this movie could pay him $17 million is beyond me. Throwing in a love story to make him sympathetic to the audience did not work either. He should have gone in for the role of Hector, seeing as how he could pass for Peter O'Toole's son. Eric Bana, even though he's not blonde, could have been Achilles since he can be dangerous and murderous when he needs to (see Chopper). And then this could have stayed closer to the source material and the movie need not have had so many plotholes (Titanic-style ending, cheesy speech about getting peace in a lifetime of war). Come on Brad, you're a good actor but you did not have the gravitas for this. Expand
  48. MegM.
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    I loved it.
  49. BeckH
    Jan 28, 2005
    7
    If looked at from the view that it's based on a Great ancient epic... It's compleatly inaccurate except for vauge refences to characters and plot sequences. From the view of an independant film, it's hollow and the only thing that makes it worth seeing is the turn around that it has eye candy (in the form of nakedness) for the girls for a change.
  50. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    3
    I remember getting free tickets for this film and I came out so disappointed. Its seems so full of itself and its done in a bad carry on Troying way. The death scenes seem to be hammed up and the eptiomy of how cheesy this film is when Brad Pitt says "Take it, its yours". I like epic war films, histroical war films. This is bloody awful, and I think it only made money because of the I remember getting free tickets for this film and I came out so disappointed. Its seems so full of itself and its done in a bad carry on Troying way. The death scenes seem to be hammed up and the eptiomy of how cheesy this film is when Brad Pitt says "Take it, its yours". I like epic war films, histroical war films. This is bloody awful, and I think it only made money because of the stature of certain actors. Gladiator and Braveheart are brilliant, this one is the complete opposite. The only reason it gets a 3 is because of some of the designs..and thats about it. Expand
  51. PatC.
    Sep 6, 2005
    4
    Iliad Lite. Just too much of a Hollywood feel. Lavish but pointless.
  52. HagarD.
    Jan 18, 2007
    0
    This movie is bad. I read the book and the real story is way better. Brad pitt is the worst actor.
  53. Dec 19, 2010
    5
    This movie was just dull. Bad acting,bad story, and bad score. The only reedeming thing was the action but that is not even good enough to save this movie.
  54. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    This movie could have been way better, but sadly the makers of this film didn't do their homework on the great trojan war. The main problem i have with this movie is that it isn't accurate to the real events of the trojan war, almost everything got mixed up, and things weren't were they were supposed to be. For instance, Ajax never died in combat like in the movie, in real life AjaxThis movie could have been way better, but sadly the makers of this film didn't do their homework on the great trojan war. The main problem i have with this movie is that it isn't accurate to the real events of the trojan war, almost everything got mixed up, and things weren't were they were supposed to be. For instance, Ajax never died in combat like in the movie, in real life Ajax committed suicide, another one is that Agamemnon never died in Troy, but instead he was murdered in Greece, and so on and so forth, this film is filled with more of these mistakes. Expand
  55. Mar 31, 2012
    3
    Extremely long, very boring and tried way too hard. The battle scenes weren't that great. Terrible acting to go around and a script that seem to be made by morons. Just like the Trojans were. Don't be fooled by the spectacle.
  56. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    "Troy" is a great-looking epic, but lacks Iliad's spirituality and character depth. It is closer to Greek mythology than "300" or "Clash of the Titans", though, and more balanced, too. Its action sequences and impressive visuals are satisfying enough to enjoy it.
  57. GaborA.
    May 24, 2004
    5
    For the longest time sitting in the theater i questioned everyone's despise for this film. A little after the middle it all hit me. Up until the fall of Hector dare i say that this movie was damn good. But as achilles put a hole in the trojan hero's chest it was like he put a hole in the boat called Troy the movie. After that the movie slowly sunk. Unfortunately the movie was For the longest time sitting in the theater i questioned everyone's despise for this film. A little after the middle it all hit me. Up until the fall of Hector dare i say that this movie was damn good. But as achilles put a hole in the trojan hero's chest it was like he put a hole in the boat called Troy the movie. After that the movie slowly sunk. Unfortunately the movie was long giving the boat plenty of time to reach the bottom of the ocean. As Troy begins to fall, which apparently took a couple of days, this movie falls into abismallness, and it took but a mere hour. Expand
  58. WassoZ.
    Jun 4, 2004
    6
    I' d like to answer with my vote to Christos D. who gave it a 2 because the movie has nothing to do with the truth. You must know that the film was "BASED" on Homer's poem, so the writer was free to act as he will. Now if you want to see the "REAL" story, you should make your complaints to Greek people, because they do nothing for their history, exept being proud of it and yet I' d like to answer with my vote to Christos D. who gave it a 2 because the movie has nothing to do with the truth. You must know that the film was "BASED" on Homer's poem, so the writer was free to act as he will. Now if you want to see the "REAL" story, you should make your complaints to Greek people, because they do nothing for their history, exept being proud of it and yet critisize anything someone else is doing! And that's a shame! Expand
  59. SamC.
    Jul 2, 2004
    6
    The special effects are mildly impressive, but not worth the millions spent on them, this is a film jam packed with sound-bites. Every sentance seems to have been written with an exhausting attempt to be a classic line, and far from the Epic that Homer wrote it to be, this "war of wars" that supposedly lasted over ten years, was summarised in a two week skirmish with only three or four The special effects are mildly impressive, but not worth the millions spent on them, this is a film jam packed with sound-bites. Every sentance seems to have been written with an exhausting attempt to be a classic line, and far from the Epic that Homer wrote it to be, this "war of wars" that supposedly lasted over ten years, was summarised in a two week skirmish with only three or four small engagements. As for the acting, this kind of film requires only the very best to help suspend belief and to escape reality. Unfortunately, whilst there are no real sore thumbs amoungst the many thumbs, a below par performance was laid on by many of the normally headlining names. For myself, I could not escape the continued thought,"what does Jennifer A think of all this?". Still, the individual fight scenes are beautifully put together, and the otherwise unwieldy weapons of the ancients, both the Greeks and the Assyrian/Persian feel to the Trojans (and I am sure that some expert nerd out there will correct me if I am wrong), were used in a way to cast them in a fresh light in my eyes. A few of the battle scenes show well the importance of good tactics, training and a strong commander, but whilst escape the shiny armour, squeaky cleanness of films like "First Knight", they lacked the full gritty reality of "Brave Heart". Conclusion? Not quite enough to suspend belief, definitely not on a large enough scale to be called an epic, the acting and the script was too weak to be called a classic, but enjoyable enough for those that like the genre, and considering the script he was given Brad Pitt, as the brooding Achilles, does not deserve quite as much of the panning that he got from the critics. Expand
  60. djrooker
    May 16, 2005
    1
    What a waste of time! g*d d**m oliver stone! and i had come to count on him for at least two hours of solid entertainment, if nothing else. now what...?
  61. StephanieT.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    A great movie.
  62. ChristineM.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    I don't normally do reviews like this but I figured I would do one for this movie. I think a big problem a lot of people had with this movie was that it wasn't strict Iliad. This is true, but you have to remember, this is a movie and it is impossible to drag what was recorded as a ten year war, I believe, out on screen. You have to condense it. In that fact, I think this was I don't normally do reviews like this but I figured I would do one for this movie. I think a big problem a lot of people had with this movie was that it wasn't strict Iliad. This is true, but you have to remember, this is a movie and it is impossible to drag what was recorded as a ten year war, I believe, out on screen. You have to condense it. In that fact, I think this was done rather well in Troy. The battle scenes were done well even if they were computerized. Many movies do that nowadays because after all you can't higher 50,000 extras. As for the casting: Brian Cox and Brendan Gleeson did amazing jobs as the protagonists in this movie. Peter O'Toole was a delight to see and especially moving in the scene with Pitt. Sean Bean filled the role of Odysseus to a T, though I would have liked to of seen his character more often. Orlando Bloom did a fair job of playing Paris, after in my mind I felt they were not trying to get you to sympathize with Paris for bringing about the destruction of his own family and city. I have to say that the casting of Helen with Diane Kruger was poor. She just did not fill the role of "The Face that launched a 1000 ships." I felt her acting was a bit flat. Eric Bana was by far one of the best things about this movie. He grounded the character of Hector and you see the conflict he has with his loyalty to Troy and to his family. Bana pulled this off with class. Brad Pitt was, in my opinion, at his best since Legends of the Fall. Give the guy some slack, he has to play this almost godlike, most of the time emotionless character. In the scene with O'Toole he held his own quite well. Up and coming actress Rose Bryne did an amazing job with the role she had. Her character was actually a combination of a few of the women in the Iliad. Again she manages to hold her own in scenes with the likes of Brad Pitt and Brian Cox. A tough task for a newbie. Garrent Hedlund and Vincent Regan both did well with the roles of Patrocleus and Eudorus. Though I felt Hedlund's performance came off as a bit whiny. The flow of the story does drag in places but I think that happens in alot of movies. I do recommend this movie but not for strict Homer fans. What I loved most about this movie is that it highlights flaws in the human condition and almost warns the audience that everything action we take can lead to our own downfall. Expand
  63. MarcW.
    May 15, 2004
    8
    Powerful visuals combined with a pulse pounding score help to elevate this monster sized movie into an epic film. The acting was solid and it was just good fun to watch. Brad Pitt played his role with such flair and power, you can't help but applaud his performance.
  64. SusanS.
    May 16, 2004
    6
    Almost exactly what I expected it to be, and I had a nice bucket of popcorn to complement it. This is definitely a good and fun way to spend two and half hours of your summer, but don't go in expecting a) a good script, b) really astounding acting, or c) accuracy. Yes, we all know that they leave the gods out, which hampers the story more than I thought it would, but also the story Almost exactly what I expected it to be, and I had a nice bucket of popcorn to complement it. This is definitely a good and fun way to spend two and half hours of your summer, but don't go in expecting a) a good script, b) really astounding acting, or c) accuracy. Yes, we all know that they leave the gods out, which hampers the story more than I thought it would, but also the story has been changed; people die who are not supposed to die, characters (particularly women, I know, I know they don't really count) are completely non-existent although they have great importance in the story, and characters who need more screen time/good dialogue are left unsatisfied -- basically, every character except Achilles. Yes, Brad Pitt is lovely and often naked, but his Achilles is only partially fulfilling, mostly due to the atrocious love story thrown in so he could have some good hetero sex. Particularly Orlando Bloom and Sean Bean are underused, and towards the end I began to think that Bloom was cast solely for his previous experience in archery. Don't let all my negative comments sway you, though. I went to see this with three friends and we had a blast; just don't take it to seriously or expect to use it for an English essay. Expand
  65. IslamM.
    May 17, 2004
    8
    While not a faithful retelling of Homer's Iliad, Troy does carry off some of the important themes of its source material, and does so elegantly. Yes, some of the set design is over the top. Yes, the clash of armies is reminiscent of LotR. But the motivations of each character are communicated clearly and sometimes poignantly: Hector's loyalty and duty; Agamemnon's thirst While not a faithful retelling of Homer's Iliad, Troy does carry off some of the important themes of its source material, and does so elegantly. Yes, some of the set design is over the top. Yes, the clash of armies is reminiscent of LotR. But the motivations of each character are communicated clearly and sometimes poignantly: Hector's loyalty and duty; Agamemnon's thirst for domination; Achilles' aspirations for immortality; Paris' selfish puppy love, etc. Troy does suffer some loss of humanity in the epic scale of its vision and bloody events. But I can forgive this for its insight. We learn that "history remembers kings, not soldiers." Locked in a tit-for-tat cycle of violence, Achilles sighs, "It never ends." And perhaps most significantly, Achilles reminds us that, "The gods envy us....everything is more beautiful because we are doomed." Expand
  66. Droog
    May 20, 2004
    7
    Troy strives to be an epic in every sense ... and for the most part it succeeds. As a big fan of Homer's Iliad -- I've read tons of Greek mythology -- this movie, like Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings, does a fine job of distilling the somewhat bloated source material into something more manageable. It warps the time frame from 10 years to 2 weeks, eliminates the direct Troy strives to be an epic in every sense ... and for the most part it succeeds. As a big fan of Homer's Iliad -- I've read tons of Greek mythology -- this movie, like Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings, does a fine job of distilling the somewhat bloated source material into something more manageable. It warps the time frame from 10 years to 2 weeks, eliminates the direct presence of the Olympic gods, and kills off/saves characters who otherwise should have been saved/killed off. But what this movie has chosen to do is humanize legends. Through each of the major characters we see different purposes for living and dying: Agamemnon for Power. Achilles for Fame. Paris for Love. Hector for Duty. It's a bold thematic stroke, and all the actors are game. Eric Bana in particular is excellent as Hector. Brad Pitt holds his own as the psychologically complex Achilles, though his character deserves more airtime to flesh out his inner demons. The battlescenes are magnificent, and in fact I wanted to see more of them. True to epic form, some of the majestic sweeps of landscape and cornball music detracts from the grittier aspects of war, but this romanticized version of war is ultimately a winner. Expand
  67. RobL.
    May 24, 2004
    1
    This movie strayed so far from the originial epic that it made me sick. Not suprising since it was produced by Jennifer Aniston's new prod. company. Simply put, it's horrid. Go read the originial story.
  68. CameronS.
    Jun 4, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] Epic films are back in style today since the great success of Gladiator, last year we got four excellent grand blockbusters (Cold Mountain, The Last Samurai, Master and Commander, Pirates of the Caribbean). Troy doesn?t live up to any of those movies, but it doesn?t fall flat on its back either. In actuality, the epics of today aren?t much different than the ones of[***SPOILERS***] Epic films are back in style today since the great success of Gladiator, last year we got four excellent grand blockbusters (Cold Mountain, The Last Samurai, Master and Commander, Pirates of the Caribbean). Troy doesn?t live up to any of those movies, but it doesn?t fall flat on its back either. In actuality, the epics of today aren?t much different than the ones of yesterday, except with more camera movement, violence, and special effects shots. This is one constructed of great craftsmanship in some parts and generic aptitude in other parts. The shot of the ships setting sail to Troy is mesmerizing, but the attacking armies are like plastic army guys all set in motion. Not much drama or character development, Petersen wants to get the battle going as soon as possible, but who can blame him for getting the greatest battle the world?s ever seen into motion. A shortcoming however, because over the last three Christmas?s we?ve seen the greatest battles of another world?s, the siege of Troy falls short to the cosmic excellence of The Lord of the Rings. The plot basically involves Paris, a prince of Troy, shagging up Helen of Sparta and taking her with him back to Troy. Infuriating King Menelaus, he asks his brother, Agamemnon to go to war with him: to take back Helen and kick Paris?s sissy ass. The narrative structure of Troy is similar to that of WWE Raw and Smackdown. First, we get a quick introduction and a long speech by the guys in charge, talking about how the night it going to be electric. Then, each battle is like a real fight. First, we have the invasion, where Achilles and crew are sailing to shore faster than the other 999 ships. Here you have a slightly rogue member of a large group of cronies taking care of business to there own accord. They reach shore and capture a temple. This is like the opening fight on Raw. Shortly later, everybody else arrives. Then Menelaus takes on Paris, I?ll continue after I explain this. There are several great scenes in the movie that I believe are memorable enough to redeem it of its bad ones. Paris versus Menelaus is one of them. At the start of their bout; the film has built up enough complexities to say that it is difficult to decide whom you want to win. A reason to root for Menelaus is because a man for whom he showed hospitality stole his wife. But it?s hard to cheer against a boy we know as Legolas and Will Turner, despite lacking charisma and competence in this outing. Neither of them is wholly likable but both have a logical point of view. But that?s just the setup, the actual fight is quite rough, with lots of successful punches that look like they really hurt, and ends in a way that I can see many others doing. After this, the accord has been broken, an alliance mistaken, and all hell is going to break loose between these two crony groups of wrestlers. Now, we?re going to have a mighty battle royal in the middle of the movie, with the plastic toys crashing into each other, like watching twenty participants in the ring. However, the most important competitor, Achilles and gang, are watching from far away as their Greek compatriots take on the Trojans in a battle that sort of rouses but never excites. After underestimating the Trojan?s force, the Greeks are forced to retreat back to the beach. Maybe part of the shortcomings was due to the verbosely understated score. I felt like I should have a sense of exhilaration in the grandeur and violence of the sequence, but nothing really hit me because it lacks any intimacy. Not wanting to make the same mistake of underestimate as their enemy had, Hector leads the Trojans to a surprise attack on the Greeks, which starts out fantastically with the creepy shadows sneaking up to the beaches and throwing fire balls onto their camps, just before dawn. The next scurry has Achilles running out to fight Hector in what becomes true camp as what appears to be Achilles and Hector going at it, all the other soldiers suddenly stop and gather around to watch their mightiest warriors face off. Hector of course wins, and then later discovers he has just killed an Achilles-armored look-a-like, his nephew. Odysseus suggests to Hector that they?re has been enough killing. That must have been the reason why everybody stopped fighting at first. This miscalculation infuriates Achilles as he marches to the doorsteps of Troy, screaming for Hector to come out. This is the second great scene scattered amuck the 163-minutes of the film, and in closeness to Homer?s epic poem, this is where it should have ended, on an emotional successful note and a great, memorable (but not climatic) fight scene. Having to see the two warriors wake up in the morning and suit up for what will be one of the two?s last living day. It?s one brutal, white knuckle, and engaging fight that had me into it the entire time, hoping that neither would have to die, this is not only great because of its closeness and rhythmic achievement, but also because it suspended me from my knowledge of the poem and knowing who was going to win. This was like the big event of the night that is designed to end a feud, like a hell in a cell match between Triple H and Shawn Michaels. A grudge must end, and it must end it a spectacular way. [Spoiler warning] After defeating Hector, Achilles drags his body back to his camp in what sets up the greatest of the three memorable scenes. Priam (Peter O?Toole) rides to Achilles tent to kiss the hands of his son?s killer as he asks him to give him his son?s body back. Achilles agrees, but in the morning, Priam is still his enemy and he is still his son?s murderer. This is where the movie should have ended, because nothing great comes after that, though there is one sequence that should have been great. I?m talking about the Trojan horse, which had so much potential and doesn?t deliver what could have been sadly memorable. What I really wanted was a dark scene, with little lighting, showing the Greeks in the large, wooden horse. Did I get it ? see for yourself, you?ll be disappointed. But there is some emotion in the sequence as they let the belligerent Greeks into the city to burn it to the ground. This scene only secures minimal amusement and impact, it should be great, it should be so sad, and it should look wonderful. Instead it looks very ugly, and Homer?s entire poem is burned to hell faster than that of the city. Besides Hector vs. Achilles, anyone that has read Homer?s poem will have a relatively sour time with this, especially if you were hoping for a Greek God fantasy like Clash of the Titans. The playfully encouraging acts of the Gods are absent in Troy. Anyone familiar with Starship Troopers as a movie and as a book will be able to recognize the degree of inaccuracy and loss of general spirit that Troy is, except the Starship Troopers novel isn?t a classic of millennia?s and as a movie is enjoyable on its own terms. Then there is the complete change of scenes from poem to cinema. Nothing in ?The Iliad? is really in Troy, plenty of people live and die in different ways, and the true grit of it all is lost in the end. Then that brings up the stars of Troy, Brad Pitt and his acting chops. Ultimately miscast as Achilles, he is given a drowning depth in emotional scenes that just don?t work. However, he does have a lot of bravura and brawn that come off nicely, which is below Brad Pitt?s acting, this is a role more suitable to the likes of Dolph Lundgren, but he can?t get many ladies to the movies. Along with Pitt, the acting as a whole is A-List at second-rate. Sean Bean is great as the smart Odysseus; Orlando Bloom is horrible (but successfully sissy) as Paris. Eric Bana is good as Prince Hector, as long as he doesn?t have to say anything of profundity. Brian Cox is menacing but fishily unpleasant as King Agamemnon. Diane Kruger is only pretty to look at as a flippant Helen. For all its falls Troy is still an achievement of the cinema, a proper use of the medium. Homer?s words however few have been translated lovely onto the big screen. I?m sure a better match will be the Michigan State Spartans and the University of Southern California Trojans in a future Rose Bowl. Expand
  69. KevinF.
    Jun 7, 2004
    4
    Brad Pitt descends even further down the talent ladder, from pretty boy to Schwarzeneggerian meathead--all balls, no brains. Let us hope that he redeems himself by impressing us in Ocean's Twelve.
  70. Todd
    Jul 16, 2004
    0
    An unbelivable waste of time. Story is faithful to the greek epic as far as I can tell. But there's nothing epic about using the current trend of giant computerized conflicts when the conflicts themselves are brief and perfectly boring. Also, for all the movie's attempted brutal realism in its fights, it has the audacity to have condescendingly tame love scenes, when sex is such An unbelivable waste of time. Story is faithful to the greek epic as far as I can tell. But there's nothing epic about using the current trend of giant computerized conflicts when the conflicts themselves are brief and perfectly boring. Also, for all the movie's attempted brutal realism in its fights, it has the audacity to have condescendingly tame love scenes, when sex is such a large part of greek culture. The modifications on the dialogue to appeal to the masses also ends with sappy, cheesy, and most often just boring filler between fights. Acting is passable at best, with horrid performances from Orlando Bloom and Brad Pitt. Worth neither the price of ticket nor the 3 hours of your life (the disgusting length could warrant an essay in and of itself). It would be a shame for this movie to make money. If your still reading this, please don't see Troy. Expand
  71. EfeB.
    Jul 30, 2004
    4
    Wolfgang petersen who did das boot and perfect storm does troy and keeps his journey down the ladder a constant one. usually directors get better with age and experience but mr. petersen not only does poorer but picks harder projects to direct as he goes. i salute his courage. but thats all i salute. brad pitt. what a name. unlike the myth achilies, he is real...and very close to the Wolfgang petersen who did das boot and perfect storm does troy and keeps his journey down the ladder a constant one. usually directors get better with age and experience but mr. petersen not only does poorer but picks harder projects to direct as he goes. i salute his courage. but thats all i salute. brad pitt. what a name. unlike the myth achilies, he is real...and very close to the camera...92 percent of the film! i have seen his face so much, i can sculpt his handsome face from clay, blind folded. thankfully for him, god worked on him eyes wide open.knowing perhaps one day, he will be on screen and a nightmare for all ugy american teenager boys with no self confidence and a wallpaper for all highschool girls. but i don't think god nor anyone else besides petersen's casting team thought of him as achilies. it is apparent in pitt's eyes, he also doesn't believe he is a mythic hero. and why is it that killing a phone book full of people is called being a "hero" is beyond me. peter o'toole enters the film with great class and caries most of the scenes with his unquestionable presence. with his buddy richard harris allready parted this earth, one cannot help but think when peter o 'toole will leave us to a world filled with young and bad actors, i hope not soon. the troy wars lasted for many years, but in this movie they make it seem like it was an afternoon picnic. since usually sun rises from the east, why do we see the sunrise from the turkish shores looking at west towards greece? ahh...because this is a "film" and huge fleets of wooden ships look splendid with the sun rays behind them. if they cannot get a gigantic element like the SUN correct, how are we expected to believe the rest of the story? orlando bloom has obviously studied theatre acting, because he is the only one mimicing his face and speaking the loudest of all. also, he looks just like legolas doesn't he?...not just looks but acts too. petersen could have gotten some extra lord of the rings clips from peter jackson and stuck those footages in troy, would have been the same effect as hiring him for gagilion million dolars. the film, boring. more fight scenes needed. because thats what this film is, just doesnt have enough. how can you have less of what you have?...its called troy. Expand
  72. JoeyBoy
    Mar 21, 2005
    3
    Not worst, but it was really bad.
  73. CrtitcGal
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    its a great action movie for someone who doesnt know the epic. if you know the story, the movie kind of ruins it, on a count of the movie doesnt follow the story at all. it has its similarities yes, although, the facts are all wrong. I was absolutly inlove with the movie until I came across illiad. although, I have to upmost respect for the director, and actors. It was beautifly its a great action movie for someone who doesnt know the epic. if you know the story, the movie kind of ruins it, on a count of the movie doesnt follow the story at all. it has its similarities yes, although, the facts are all wrong. I was absolutly inlove with the movie until I came across illiad. although, I have to upmost respect for the director, and actors. It was beautifly portrayed, and again, if you dont know the story go see it! If you do save your self from your own dissapointment! Expand
  74. GaryM.
    May 10, 2004
    4
    The fight scenes were a bit money but the dialogue was trite, the story was largely unpolished and the acting was horrendous (i'm looking at you, Mr. Bana.) Visually beautiful, but don't waste your 7 bucks. It's dollar theater material or con your girlfriend into renting it for you.
  75. GaryM.
    May 10, 2004
    4
    The fight scenes were a bit money but the dialogue was trite, the story was largely unpolished and the acting was horrendous (i'm looking at you, Mr. Bana.) Visually beautiful, but don't waste your 7 bucks. It's dollar theater material or con your girlfriend into renting it for you.
  76. BillE.
    May 12, 2004
    7
    Far from LOTR's league. Not even quite as good as Gladiator. But there are some terrific battle scenes and the acting is fine, if uneven. There is a sense of the epic that does justice to the source material.
  77. MudB.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Best Epic I've seen for ages.
  78. KevinM.
    May 14, 2004
    0
    That was an awesome movie, you can really attach to the charactors, you feel that you know them. The battles are great and also the acting. Overall, one of the best movies I have seen in my life.
  79. BillR.
    May 14, 2004
    4
    Maybe it's just me, but I kind of didn't want this movie to chalk up to a grave miss. With stalwarts from other assorted epics on hand (namely a certain Rings cycle and Braveheart) rounding out an able cast, I figured it couldn't prove anywhere near as mechanical and dimwitted as, say, The Last Samurai. And Troy isn't...but the good news ends right there. That other Maybe it's just me, but I kind of didn't want this movie to chalk up to a grave miss. With stalwarts from other assorted epics on hand (namely a certain Rings cycle and Braveheart) rounding out an able cast, I figured it couldn't prove anywhere near as mechanical and dimwitted as, say, The Last Samurai. And Troy isn't...but the good news ends right there. That other Bill's right, I'm afraid. This isn't in LotR's passionate, bond-building league - not even close. Hell, it's not the half-decent flipping of history on its ass that was Braveheart. Dare I say it? For the large-screen bombast, it's actually closer to the level of a badly paced high-school play, your average lackluster and dull historical miniseries (like USA's Spartacus), or worse still, another epic Gibson vehicle (THE PATRIOT) in quality, right down to the inferior Horner score, many of the performances, and battle sequences, which are simply put, nothing to get excited about. (The Trojan horse ace in the hole is a letdown in particular, with lousy build-up.) If the fighting can't at least entertain when it significantly detracts from character screentime, then who cares? The battle sequences seem rather visually flat to boot, as does most of Troy: hmmmm. I'm surprised positive notices are being given to the estimable veterans in this ensemble at all. They come off looking worse than anyone else (yes, even the astoundingly miscast Brad Pitt). Brian Cox, for starters, is nothing short of cartoonish and one-note as the Bad Guy, the warmongering Agamemnon, reduced throughout to chewing scenery bug-eyed. (Duke of Moulin Rouge, anyone?) Ditto for Brendan Gleeson (though he's thankfully relieved of such tedium before long). Julie Christie's cameo is the very definition of 'pointless'. And don't ask me how Wolfgang Petersen managed to capture PETER O'TOOLE in not one, but several unflattering closeups, but I suspect it could be that Petersen, over time, went from directing good movies like Das Boot to crap like Air Force One: as Troy's king, O'Toole looks less understandably morose and powerless than constipated, for crissakes. Priam's role, furthermore, is so clumsily written and integrated it begins to feel like his very existence is dependent on "the Gods": it's impossible for even someone like O'Toole to lend this lamely written role anything beyond a modicum of gravitas. Only Sean Bean escapes with his dignity intact as Odysseus, and he's still gravely underused (proof positive is watching him starting to look bored amidst the clashes). As for the rest: nothing against Brad Pitt in general. He can prove charismatic, interesting enough as an actor when married to the right material (Fight Club, 12 Monkeys) but he's just hopelessly out of his depth glumly spitting out Homeric in well, some kind of accent, waxing on about the merits of immortality. In O'Toole's already troubled company? Even worse. (Still, the absolute worst actor in the film is the one playing Achilles' cousin.) Eric Bana and Orlando Bloom do their best with curiously minimal screentime, sure, but Hector, supposedly a major iconic figure in the assault on Troy, never really leaves the page thanks to said minimum up to his demise, and Paris is almost as quickly forgotten as he's introduced and nearly killed at the start of war. When he gets heroic on Achilles' heel, Petersen may as well have simply remembered to actually USE the newcomer at the last minute, and so the character ends up feeling up less important than...Legolas? What gives? As for the girls, Diane Kruger makes a pretty Helen alright. Too bad she's also pretty much a soapoperatic blank slate as the face that launched a thousand ships. Saffron Burrows and Rose Byrne strike similarly attractive and sorrowful poses as royal family Trojans with a lot more conviction, but their efforts are clearly overwhelmed by Petersen's piss-poor management of overflowing ancient scripture, and therefore also futile. In short: not a disaster, but not a very good movie by any stretch of the imagination. That's due in large part to its own sheer *lack* of imagination. Where is Peter Jackson when you need him? Expand
  80. ZippyP.
    May 14, 2004
    7
    Mmmmm, Brad Pitt's "arse." Otherwise, ok epic madness, although Athena's (and co.) absence was sorely felt.
  81. JustinP.
    May 15, 2004
    8
    Visually mesmerizing with awe-inspiring panoramics, beautiful cinematography and impressive costumes, this is a spectacle movie that delivers the grandeur it promises. The story is fair, the acting often good, and the dialogue uneven, ranging from poetic and profound to awkward and weak. The stars are starlike: Pitt is convincing and charismatic as Achilles, and Bana and Bloom are very Visually mesmerizing with awe-inspiring panoramics, beautiful cinematography and impressive costumes, this is a spectacle movie that delivers the grandeur it promises. The story is fair, the acting often good, and the dialogue uneven, ranging from poetic and profound to awkward and weak. The stars are starlike: Pitt is convincing and charismatic as Achilles, and Bana and Bloom are very solid as Trojan brothers. Peter Otoole is brilliant, playing the aging patriarch in perfect contrast to the youthful spirit of his sons. The movie plays on many cliches, inevitably, as a classic epic. But it also avoids many others: it does not opt for a sacharine conclusion, war is not boiled down to good vs evil, and the romances are well played. A gigantic movie that fulfills great expectations admirably. Expand
  82. ChanB.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This movie was amazing, bradd pitt was okay but eric bana was amazing and this movie sucked me in the whole time.
  83. ChanB.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This movie was amazing, bradd pitt was okay but eric bana was amazing and this movie sucked me in the whole time.
  84. Emily
    May 16, 2004
    0
    Hmmm... how to describe the utter pain I went through while watching this 3 hour epic. More things should have exploded to excuse the ridiculous $200 million that was spent on this bore. Save your money and rent something- say Gladiator, which this film was obviously trying to emulate.
  85. JohnD.
    May 17, 2004
    10
    It was awesome. The fighting scenes were great, however, there were lengths of time that could have been and should have been shortened. This would certainly spice up a history class.
  86. DanC.
    May 17, 2004
    10
    As a film, it was ok. Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana were great. Pitt wasn't bad. Brian Cox was really good and I wish he had more to do. Sean Bean was good, and Gleeson was ok. Julie Christie was great, but her performance was one scene. Her scene, however, is the best scene. The tech stuff and direction was pretty good. Now to the stuff I didn't like. I absolutely hated As a film, it was ok. Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana were great. Pitt wasn't bad. Brian Cox was really good and I wish he had more to do. Sean Bean was good, and Gleeson was ok. Julie Christie was great, but her performance was one scene. Her scene, however, is the best scene. The tech stuff and direction was pretty good. Now to the stuff I didn't like. I absolutely hated every single scene between Helen and Paris. Orlando Bloom annoyed the Hell out of me. This is not the Iliad. There were far too many differences in the script from the Iliad to be inspired by the Iliad. Too many chief characters die in this, but don't in the Iliad. Sure, Menelaus was a lot older than Helen, but this isn't Douglas/Zeta Jones here. They portrayed Menelaus as an asshole, which he wasn't. I don't even remember Briseis being in the Iliad. The Husband/wife scenes were badly written. And the score sucked. As a movie, it was ok. As an adaptation of the Ilaid, it was terrible. Overall, it was ok. Peter O'Toole, Brian Cox, Sean, Eric Bana and Julie Christie saved the movie from becoming absolute crap. Pitt worked well enough. Good technicals, but bad script. Overall, the good stuff and the bad even out, and we get an entertaining film, but not The Iliad. Expand
  87. Chuck76
    May 17, 2004
    4
    Really now, are you people kidding? I cannot believe anyone could rate this laughable piece of overblown pomp so highly. The casting, dialog, script, Aaaarrrghh!! I could go on but it's not worth my time or anybody elses to deconstruct this rubbish. Enjoy it on the most basic homoerotic level and you may get some saisfaction and if you're 9 years old I'm sure you'll Really now, are you people kidding? I cannot believe anyone could rate this laughable piece of overblown pomp so highly. The casting, dialog, script, Aaaarrrghh!! I could go on but it's not worth my time or anybody elses to deconstruct this rubbish. Enjoy it on the most basic homoerotic level and you may get some saisfaction and if you're 9 years old I'm sure you'll love it but, no no, no, no it's bad. Give it up Brad you need to have depth or be a far better actor than you to portray it, pouting doesn't work. Russel Crow and Gladiator pulled it off though flawed at least you cared what happened and how it ended. It's a summer film and probably going to do well but it really doesn't get near deserving it. I hate it go see it so you can too!! Expand
  88. TinaH.
    May 19, 2004
    7
    It wasn't a bad movie. If you're going to see it, see it in the theatre. I think the problem with this movie was its directing. The acting wasn't very well done, but I don't blame it on the actors. I love Orlando Bloom but I couldn't stand him in the movie. What a bad casting choice. Just because he's the Ingenue Boy of the moment doesn't mean he can It wasn't a bad movie. If you're going to see it, see it in the theatre. I think the problem with this movie was its directing. The acting wasn't very well done, but I don't blame it on the actors. I love Orlando Bloom but I couldn't stand him in the movie. What a bad casting choice. Just because he's the Ingenue Boy of the moment doesn't mean he can pull off Paris. The only two characters I cared about in this movie were Eric Bana and Brad Pitt. It should've focused more on them, that way I could pick a side or something. Of course I haven't actually read any Greek mythology so I could be talking out of my ass. The thing is though, in a movie it's nice to be able to relate to characters but there were just too many to choose from here. It wasn't cohesive in this sense. Some of the camerawork at the beginning was very shoddy but it got better later on (and I probably got used to it :) ). Collapse
  89. SteveW.
    May 21, 2004
    2
    Ok, this movie was pretty damn bad. Basically its takes the Illiad and cuts out part after part just to make Achilles look good. Like that he's a demi-god, that Briseis was just his slave, that he could only be harmed through his heel...etc not some kind of lover The battle scenes were terrible; what a waste of money. The movie had no point. I'm Achilles I want honor and glory Ok, this movie was pretty damn bad. Basically its takes the Illiad and cuts out part after part just to make Achilles look good. Like that he's a demi-god, that Briseis was just his slave, that he could only be harmed through his heel...etc not some kind of lover The battle scenes were terrible; what a waste of money. The movie had no point. I'm Achilles I want honor and glory that come with war, no I want peace, no I want honor and glory (I'm not even going to address the peace issue now). No wait, I'm dying, I want peace. Great. Don't waste your time on this garbage. Read the Illiad instead, or bang your head against the wall...whatever works for you. Oh and don't read the Oddysey if you liked this movie, because you might be suprised at the appearance of those who were killed. Expand
  90. FrancoisC.
    May 21, 2004
    1
    Bad cheesy movie, with horrible lighting, terrible script and laughable dialogs. If you want to watch a good epic, rent gladiator or even Braveheart. You will save a few bucks and will not have to stand such a disastrous movie.
  91. Ioannis
    May 24, 2004
    0
    I'm very sad. Illiad is my favorite myth. The script of "Troy" is a total rape. Petersen had the biggest opportunity to make the greatest epic movie in history and he ruined it. I'm so dissapointed.WHERE ARE THE GODS? The basic faults are: 1. Menelaos didn't die in Troy. He took Helen back to Mycynaie. 2. Agamemnon didn't die in Troy. He returned to Argos where his I'm very sad. Illiad is my favorite myth. The script of "Troy" is a total rape. Petersen had the biggest opportunity to make the greatest epic movie in history and he ruined it. I'm so dissapointed.WHERE ARE THE GODS? The basic faults are: 1. Menelaos didn't die in Troy. He took Helen back to Mycynaie. 2. Agamemnon didn't die in Troy. He returned to Argos where his wife Klytaimnistra killed him because he had sacrificed their daughter Ifigeneia to the gods so the ships could begin their journey for Troy. 3.Brissida was just a slave of Achillees. 4.Achilees was son of a godess who (when Achillees was baby) put him in some divine waters to make him immortal but she kept him from his heel which became his only vulnerable body member. 5. He died from Paris outside Troy long before Trojan horse. 6.Paris died immediatly after Achillees by Filloktitis. 7.Of course the war of Troy last 10 years and not 15 days. Expand
  92. CourtneyW.
    May 26, 2004
    4
    The best thing I could say is that it's not awful. Not the epic it could be. Too long, overblown and overacted but entertaining enough in its own right.
  93. ChristosD.
    Jun 1, 2004
    2
    Awful movie. I was excepting a lot more but... The story has nothing to do with the truth. The battle scenes can be rated from average to bad. Nothing special there. I am only rating 2 because of the acting of "Priam", "Achileas" and "Ector" (heroes of the movie). Finally,this can not be called an epic movie!
  94. DaveC.
    Jun 16, 2004
    5
    Overacted in a Samson & Delilah fashion and way too long (which doesn't help when it loses steam after an hour and a quarter) but it seems to have achieved its objective for the most part and turns out to be a lot more enjoyable and handsome than the tedious, choppy Gladiator.
  95. [Anonymous]
    Jun 2, 2004
    2
    Worst, most artificial- digitalization yet! Only the acting was worse.
  96. CM
    Jun 28, 2004
    7
    When I review a movie or give a "grade" to something, I base it on the overall enjoyability of the film. And with TROY I was definitely entertained. You've got 3 incredibly handsome men to look at the entire time; you've got a few wonderful love stories that bring emotion to a blood filled movie; you've got great acting by Eric Bana, who stands out as the best of the men When I review a movie or give a "grade" to something, I base it on the overall enjoyability of the film. And with TROY I was definitely entertained. You've got 3 incredibly handsome men to look at the entire time; you've got a few wonderful love stories that bring emotion to a blood filled movie; you've got great acting by Eric Bana, who stands out as the best of the men (and that's saying a lot since I'm Brad Pitt's stalker!!!); and you've got some beautiful sights and scenes. It certainly wasn't the best movie I've seen (GLADIATOR was better at portraying the "toga" times in my opinion) but it was by no means near the bottom of my list either. A great movie well worth my $8 and worth $14.99 (Target!) when it comes out on DVD! (even if just to see Brad Pitt's ass again : ) Expand
  97. AdonisM.
    Jul 12, 2004
    1
    All bull and no Homer, whose bones must be trembling in his grave, wherever it is!! Its like having a German fellow, directing George Washington dying during the liberation war. What comes after?? Simply nothing. Apart from that, there are neither characters, nor drama. Greeks look brutal and barbaric and Troyans totally naive and surviving thanks to their good luck to have been blessed All bull and no Homer, whose bones must be trembling in his grave, wherever it is!! Its like having a German fellow, directing George Washington dying during the liberation war. What comes after?? Simply nothing. Apart from that, there are neither characters, nor drama. Greeks look brutal and barbaric and Troyans totally naive and surviving thanks to their good luck to have been blessed with good kings and princes (a bit aristocratic it sounds, isnt it?). I'll give it 1 for the only part of the movie I really liked, the duel between Hector and Achilles that is. Thank God the ending leaves no room for a sequel.... (Well, apart from an Odyssey "inspired by Homer" thanks to Odysseus's continuous presense throughout the movie...). P.S. to Mr. Petersen: The majesty of "DAS BOOT" looks like ancient history now...only "inspired" by somebody else... Expand
  98. Dxo
    Jul 15, 2004
    1
    There's only 2 words for this movie - disgustingly pretentious. Peterson and the scriptwriters try TOO HARD to make this an epic, and unfortunately fall flat on their faces. Every single dialogue sounds so forced and pretentious, and so desperate to inspire that im totally put off. It wants to be an epic version of Gladiator but fails miserably. Also, the constant flashin of There's only 2 words for this movie - disgustingly pretentious. Peterson and the scriptwriters try TOO HARD to make this an epic, and unfortunately fall flat on their faces. Every single dialogue sounds so forced and pretentious, and so desperate to inspire that im totally put off. It wants to be an epic version of Gladiator but fails miserably. Also, the constant flashin of Pitt's ass is highly unappreciated. It adds no extra meaning or content to the movie except to attract women to woch dis movie. I was so sick of wochin Bloom actin as a pretty face again i looked away at every scene of him. The only actor worth mentionin is Bana. He practically stole the whole show from ALL the other 'stars' - they are way too overrated. Lastly, juz to add a pt, i fell aslp midway thru the movie. The ONLY interestin part was e duel btwn Archilles & Hector. STAY away from this stinker. Expand
  99. SuntR.
    Jul 9, 2004
    0
    Wow this movie sucks! Really. It has nothing to do with the original story--a lot of the characters are left out, eg. the gods and my personal favourite Kassandra. And why the heck are all proper sound pronounced like in English? The story is (or at least should be) Greek, not Hollywoodish.
  100. PonR
    Jan 16, 2005
    6
    Would've been a classic...if it had come before every other movie of its genre. Yes, it was everything I expected, and in that sense, it was an okay movie. And I don't say okay lightly. But therein lies the problem. Epics like this should exceed your expectations. Not just okay, not just good, but great. And that's why "Troy-2004" will be forgotten.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. A protracted and uninvolving affair in which men battle over issues that audiences may struggle to find compelling, and no central figure emerges to take command of the film.
  2. 75
    Troy lacks the focus of Gladiator, not to mention that Oscar winner's scrappy wit. But why kick a gift horse when you're in summer-movie heaven?
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    In this vigorous, stalwart epic, they blend martial breadth and emotional intimacy, honor and obsession, romance and machismo to show the glamour and folly of war.