Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 14, 2004
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 595 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
473
Mixed:
82
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
PonRJan 16, 2005
Would've been a classic...if it had come before every other movie of its genre. Yes, it was everything I expected, and in that sense, it was an okay movie. And I don't say okay lightly. But therein lies the problem. Epics like this Would've been a classic...if it had come before every other movie of its genre. Yes, it was everything I expected, and in that sense, it was an okay movie. And I don't say okay lightly. But therein lies the problem. Epics like this should exceed your expectations. Not just okay, not just good, but great. And that's why "Troy-2004" will be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
melJan 28, 2005
I liked this film. while it had some sloggy moments, it was visually beautiful and the dialogue was better than most of today's attempts to big, splashy films like this. liked the cast -- love peter o'toole (great to see him), pitt I liked this film. while it had some sloggy moments, it was visually beautiful and the dialogue was better than most of today's attempts to big, splashy films like this. liked the cast -- love peter o'toole (great to see him), pitt was better on the eyes-- could have stood to simply turn off the sound and watch this boy work--eric banos was beyond gorgeous-- and yes, girls, he looked better than pitt. didn't care ANYTHING for the woman who was cast to play the most beautiful woman in the world (Helen) --she was a bad actress and she was only mildly pretty. as a matter of fact, had they switched and cast Saffron Burrows as Helen rather than Andromeche, wife of Eric Banos' Prince Hector) it would have been more believable. She was breathtaking -- the pacing fluctuated a bit, thought they could have done a better job on the overall LOOK of the film, but I give it an 8 out of 10 because it held my attention. Pitt was beautiful, and the story is one that can be told again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
yoonc.Jan 7, 2005
Dreary and bloated, a beached whale of a movie... what was peterson--of das boot and in the line of fire--thinking? actors are either handsome pretty boys or cartoonishly gruff old men(someone give o'toole a drink). helen comes across Dreary and bloated, a beached whale of a movie... what was peterson--of das boot and in the line of fire--thinking? actors are either handsome pretty boys or cartoonishly gruff old men(someone give o'toole a drink). helen comes across as a mannequin. another woman looks like elaine on seinfeld--with none of the humor. the movie trumps the mythic aspects of trojan war not to dig for historical truth but to trump up every cliche of the historical spectacle dreamfactory--expect 'homages' to everything as old as 'alexander nevsky' to something as recent as saving private ryan(especially the beach landing scene) and the awful LOR movies. script is atrocious, art design is standard, CGI is cluttered. still, the state of cinema being what it is, it's still above average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TMoFeb 16, 2005
Absolutely the worst of its kind. i went to see it with about 10 people, and we all saw through the digitization to the piece of crap core. script obviously fell out of some one's behind, and carried out by the actors as if they knew Absolutely the worst of its kind. i went to see it with about 10 people, and we all saw through the digitization to the piece of crap core. script obviously fell out of some one's behind, and carried out by the actors as if they knew it. i just wanted it to end. i want my life back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Sababy:)Apr 7, 2005
What a poor poor excuse for a historical film. My god, the only thing they got right was the dang horse, and thats about it. and since when do greeks have an english accent? gimme a break.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
groundfisherMay 14, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised. If you want some light entertainment and you quite enjoy fast-paced action films, then Troy fits the bill. Don't expect a great cinematic epic. Troy doesn't even try to be. Some disappointed people were I was pleasantly surprised. If you want some light entertainment and you quite enjoy fast-paced action films, then Troy fits the bill. Don't expect a great cinematic epic. Troy doesn't even try to be. Some disappointed people were expecting 'Troy' (Troy!) to be a historical drama! Priceless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jun 10, 2005
Delivers in the action department, but it's just another IIliad redo that only slightly better than historical documentaries. Hector is well played, and some human qualities are brought out of that character. Paris is reduced to some Delivers in the action department, but it's just another IIliad redo that only slightly better than historical documentaries. Hector is well played, and some human qualities are brought out of that character. Paris is reduced to some cowardly wuss, though, and Helen's sentimentality is quite the annoyance when contrast with how much everyone suffers for her. Achillis is decently played, and represents a bit of moral order amongst a pretty immoral Greek army, thanks in most part to Agamemmnon. A good, but not great watch. Not a bad pick at all, but there are more resonating, involving movies in this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IlzeS.Dec 18, 2004
Very good movie! Not perfect, but really good. This is one of the best movies this year. I think that Brad Pitt & Eric Bana was great. Very funny, the movie was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelM.Oct 22, 2004
It's no "Gladiator", but it's a pretty kick ass action epic. The special effects and overall design of the film is breathtaking. The directing is top-notch and the writing flows well. But the acting is kind of a split. Brad Pitt It's no "Gladiator", but it's a pretty kick ass action epic. The special effects and overall design of the film is breathtaking. The directing is top-notch and the writing flows well. But the acting is kind of a split. Brad Pitt does an okay job as Achilles (I think they could have found a better person for the role). Orlando Bloom doesn't really impress as Paris, but Eric Bana is the best out of the three young stars as Hector. Peter O'Toole is great as always and so is Brendan Gleeson (28 Days Later, Lake Placid). Brian Cox (L.I.E., The Ring) is extraordinary as the Spartan king Agamemnon. Troy is definetly worth the trip to theater on merit of everything else besides the acting. I hope Oliver Stone's upcoming "Alexander" is as good or better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoseG.May 11, 2004
If you have been saying to yourself, "I have not seen enough of Brad Pitt's arse. I really wish they would make a movie showcasing Brad Pitt's arse." This movie is the vehicle that Brad Pitt's arse has been looking for. If you have been saying to yourself, "I have not seen enough of Brad Pitt's arse. I really wish they would make a movie showcasing Brad Pitt's arse." This movie is the vehicle that Brad Pitt's arse has been looking for. Suffice it to say that if you enjoyed the Greek mythology surrounding Troy, then you will be thoroughly disappointed with this film. The Gods are totally left out of this picture; as is the story of Helen and Paris, which takes a side note to Brad Pitt's arse. So flock to the theatre to see Brad Pitt's arse for the only nudity in this film is Brad Pitt's arse. There is some good battle scenes, none of which is noteworthy. The acting is good, not great - not horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomMay 14, 2004
H.O.R.R.I.B.L.E Don't waste your money, not even worth Pay Per View. What a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewB.May 15, 2004
If whoever wrote Troy was trying to represent the brilliant story told in the Iliad, than the writer missed his mark by leaps and bounds. The only half-decent part of this film was the fighting which still didn't measure up to the likes If whoever wrote Troy was trying to represent the brilliant story told in the Iliad, than the writer missed his mark by leaps and bounds. The only half-decent part of this film was the fighting which still didn't measure up to the likes of LOTR or Braveheart. The acting was not good, not bad, it was some of the most awful acting I have ever seen. The only decent actor was Brad Pitt. Unfortanetly though, his lines were so terrible that his acting skill was irrelavant. Please don't waste your time seeing this film. It is one of the worse films I've seen in a while. If you want to see a good film then go to something Kill Bill 2 or Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (the only two good movies in theatres right now) because this movie, unless you are an uneducated dumbass, will do nothing but either put you to sleep or piss you off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerD.May 15, 2004
I give two ratings, and average it to a 7. Entertainment Value 8/10 - was pretty cool and had its good moments. Mytholigically Correct and Movie Critic Value: 6/10 - No gods, no explanation as to WHY Achilles getting shot in the heel I give two ratings, and average it to a 7. Entertainment Value 8/10 - was pretty cool and had its good moments. Mytholigically Correct and Movie Critic Value: 6/10 - No gods, no explanation as to WHY Achilles getting shot in the heel isn't so great. I believe he was shot in the tent (hence not wearing his ankle guard). Not in this movie. As Bod put it, there was not a GREAT deal of fight build up, which to me is what I really enjoy in these movies. The why, the journey to the fight. A la LoTR,Gladiator, and even The Last Samurai. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PaulF.May 16, 2004
In an epic war film, a filmmaker has two options: 1) pick a side to devote the story to and the audiences attention OR 2) pick no sides and create a commentary on the woes of war. This film does neither of these things. There is no great In an epic war film, a filmmaker has two options: 1) pick a side to devote the story to and the audiences attention OR 2) pick no sides and create a commentary on the woes of war. This film does neither of these things. There is no great character development that allows you to even care about who wins or loses, thus nullifying any form of social commentary. This is where the film falls to its knees: Good decisions? Bad decisions? How about no decisions. The director and writer decided best to leave the fate of the film to the gods, or should I say the gods were pissed they were left out and cursed Petersen to make this trite film. Can any war epic made in post LoTR compare? Sure, but it's certainly not this film. See it for the popcorn fun, but in the end, it will leave you with thoughts on how to make it better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeevesMay 16, 2004
This movie was great. The action was also great. Pitt was great. Only problem is that it was too long, but it was great! Yup, great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenA.May 16, 2004
Not perfect, but quite spectacular. This movie has a few flaws, but they don't out weigh the positive aspects of this epic tale. The battle scenes, although still in the shadow of LOTR, are amazing. Sets, visual effects, costumes, etc. Not perfect, but quite spectacular. This movie has a few flaws, but they don't out weigh the positive aspects of this epic tale. The battle scenes, although still in the shadow of LOTR, are amazing. Sets, visual effects, costumes, etc. were all superb. The dialogue is a little weak at times, and the movie peaks too early, but I definately enjoyed this movie. I recomend this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ReneeD.May 17, 2004
Great eye candy, but completely lacking in character depth. Both Achilles and his love interest experience dramatic behavorial changes toward the end of the movie, but we never know why. Nor, to be quite honest, do we care. Peter Great eye candy, but completely lacking in character depth. Both Achilles and his love interest experience dramatic behavorial changes toward the end of the movie, but we never know why. Nor, to be quite honest, do we care. Peter O'Toole, as King of the Trojans, makes so many poor decisions, against the repeated advice of his sons, that, rather than empathize with Troy, the movie goer is forced to wonder how the city survived as long as it did with such leadership. The action is wonderful as are the sets, costumes, and musical direction. And Brad Pitt is... well, naked. A lot. And very convincing as a Greek warlord, depite being so pretty. Overall, it's a relatively enjoyable movie as long as you don't expect much substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JudyT.May 17, 2004
The movie should have been better. The dialog was really bad. I was glad when it was over. It's no epic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RichardG.May 17, 2004
Can you say boring? And can you say tedious? These are the words to describe this movie. Orlando Bloom is an over acting fool, and Brad Pitt is just a slab of beef for the ladies, that is what I got from this film. The last 20 minutes of the Can you say boring? And can you say tedious? These are the words to describe this movie. Orlando Bloom is an over acting fool, and Brad Pitt is just a slab of beef for the ladies, that is what I got from this film. The last 20 minutes of the film was all filler. I never felt like there was ever a climax. The story just went on, until it was done. Anyway, I hope you guys skip this one, or if you're like me you should let other folks pay. Sorry I can't even suggest a rental for this wood atrosity. Well maybe only if you have insomnia, and need to fall asleep really quickly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MeatMay 18, 2004
Way too much on the cheeze factor here... The musical score was borderline obnoxious and the screen play was horrible. It was so primitive that I was half expecting someone to throw out a "dude" or a "just chill"... The heavy dialogue worked Way too much on the cheeze factor here... The musical score was borderline obnoxious and the screen play was horrible. It was so primitive that I was half expecting someone to throw out a "dude" or a "just chill"... The heavy dialogue worked in LOTR, but in Troy it was comical. And that's a knock on the acting... One more thing, and I'm a Brad Pitt fan... but Russell Crowe blew him away in Gladiator. Not even in the same league... Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CharlyCMay 21, 2004
Too much testosterone, a little of brain and no soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
E.ClarkMay 24, 2004
Very very disappointing. shame on you wolfgang peterson!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.May 24, 2004
A pompous, windy would-be epic that's completely shy of anything as memorable as the heartwrenching final minutes of Spartacus or Joaquin Phoenix's multileveled villainy in Gladiator or (do we even have to say it?) the chariot race A pompous, windy would-be epic that's completely shy of anything as memorable as the heartwrenching final minutes of Spartacus or Joaquin Phoenix's multileveled villainy in Gladiator or (do we even have to say it?) the chariot race in Ben-Hur, Troy proves that they really DON'T make 'em like they used to. Brad Pitt is generally at his best in over-the-top, heavily satiric roles, as in 12 Monkeys and Fight Club; his opening scene, depicting his Achilles as a spoiled superstar athlete, has some of that promise, but it's quickly superseded by scene after endless scene of talky platitudes and unremarkable CGI battle sequences. (The anything-goes hand-to-hand combat is more impressive, even if it gives the uninformed the impression that Homer somehow got to see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon before writing his account.) Pitt, Eric Bana, and Orlando Bloom may have seemed physically right for their roles (translation: their pecs and abs oil up real good) but they're boring pretty boys; thank Zeus such REAL actors as Brendan Gleeson, Brian Cox, Julie Christie and especially Peter O'Toole are added to the mix. I guess it's not entirely the movie's fault, since the battles mostly take place at night and/or in the dirt, but I gotta say it: this is one drab-LOOKING spectacle. To sort of get in the mood for this, I watched Cecil B. DeMille's The Ten Commandments on DVD the day before; never mind the kitschy dialogue, that 1956 film ran a full hour longer than Troy but seemed an hour shorter. That's because DeMille, for all his faullts, really knew how to tell a story on screen. At one time, so did Troy's director Wolfgang Petersen (Das Boot; In The Line of Fire; The Perfect Storm). What happened? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenG.May 31, 2004
Not the great epic it wants to be, but it does manage to entertain (mostly) for its 160 minutes. Forget the Iliad, though; characters kill and die according to Hollywood drama. Eric Bana steals the show from a buff and beautiful Brad Pitt, Not the great epic it wants to be, but it does manage to entertain (mostly) for its 160 minutes. Forget the Iliad, though; characters kill and die according to Hollywood drama. Eric Bana steals the show from a buff and beautiful Brad Pitt, and when Hector dies the movie loses a little gas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GarthK.Jul 31, 2004
Well, I enjoyed the movie, and I think the very critical remarks reflect an excessively negative attitude--complaining for the sake of complaining perhaps. Take it easy and enjoy yourself, for heaven's sake! There was very reasonable Well, I enjoyed the movie, and I think the very critical remarks reflect an excessively negative attitude--complaining for the sake of complaining perhaps. Take it easy and enjoy yourself, for heaven's sake! There was very reasonable development, in the simplistic way possible on screen, of major characters each laden with some type of weakness or flaw combined with a strength. Themes of questioning human motivation, individual vs. collective morality, love vs. naive or even selfish recklessness, the male tendency to greed and warfare, etc. all laid out. Perhaps not laid out as in a literary masterpeice, but I don't think it's fair to expect that. It is reasonable to expect many people to actually pick up a copy of Homer because of their interest piqued from watching this movie, which is a great thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
armandos.Jan 24, 2005
Brad Pitt is one of the weakest actors in this flick-however does fit the part physically-good action -a bit overlong-not very accurate historically but most will not care.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelB.Feb 16, 2005
If you can forget the fact that Agamemnon and Memlaus survived the war, that the siege lasted 10 years (and not one month), and that Achilles was only one of the main threads of the story, this is a cool-looking, more than workmanlike effort If you can forget the fact that Agamemnon and Memlaus survived the war, that the siege lasted 10 years (and not one month), and that Achilles was only one of the main threads of the story, this is a cool-looking, more than workmanlike effort by all involved. The absence of all the gods (except Thetis, Achilles' mother) does let us focus on the human characters, and the sense that various gods are interfering is voiced only by Priam. Nice touch to include Aeneas. I'd like to see this team tackle the Aeneid. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarenM.Apr 18, 2005
This director should bury his head and Brad Pitt can join him. I am a great Brad Pitt fan but this was his worst performance, by far. Thank heaven for Peter O'Toole. I could bearly watch this epic until the end. Costumes & sets were good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewT.Sep 16, 2006
A interesting movie, now without its flaws, but very watchable especially for anyone that is interested in the Iliad and ancient Greek mythology. Although not strictly faithful to Homer, many of the characters and themes are accurately A interesting movie, now without its flaws, but very watchable especially for anyone that is interested in the Iliad and ancient Greek mythology. Although not strictly faithful to Homer, many of the characters and themes are accurately portrayed. Brad Pitt's character of the god-like Achilles is very powerful; it is unusual to see a role like this so finely drawn, not as a cartoon, but with the full range of emotions (although Pitt's rendering occasionally was a little emotionally flat). Overall, I recommend the movie; I have to admit that despite my reservations I have seen the move 4 times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
maxx.Dec 11, 2004
All of it is one big mistake the film untrue it did not even have good fx. every greek should cry for their history has been altered so much. i know i would if i was greek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JennetPJan 15, 2011
"Troy" is a terrific piece of entertainment. When it opened, I'll admit, my companion and I went solely to heap derision and abuse on it but we walked out smiling. It's pseudo-scholars, not scholars, who whine about deviations from Homer;"Troy" is a terrific piece of entertainment. When it opened, I'll admit, my companion and I went solely to heap derision and abuse on it but we walked out smiling. It's pseudo-scholars, not scholars, who whine about deviations from Homer; scholars know that the Troy material has always been altered and adapted by artists, whether by ancient Greek dramatists, medieval poets, or modern historical novelists. I actually found the film acceptably Homeric, treating the Iliad's main conflict (Agamemnon's insult to Achilles and the resulting disasters), as well as many of its themes, (honor and dishonor in war, e.g.) and strategies (compression, e.g.). And the decision to take the gods out of the action was a good one; no filmmaker yet has managed to make them look anything but silly. The biggest surprise in the film is Brad Pitt's Achilles, which I expected to deplore and actually rather liked. He combines preternatural power and grace, pride, contempt and melancholy into a coherent whole, and, aside from wishing him genuinely berserk (not just p*ssed off) when he goes after Hector, I was impressed. The film has a lot of smart casting, especially Peter O'Toole, whose dignified, suffering Priam makes the fall of Troy searing, Brian Cox, his greedy, unprincipled counterpart on the Greek side, and Orlando Bloom as Paris (though it was hard to watch Bloom shoot arrows at human, rather than elf, speed). The only real weak spot is Diane Kruger's insipid Helen, but no actress has yet managed to convince as "the face that launched a thousand ships," and, yes, I'm including Elizabeth Taylor. They need an Aishwarya Rai: now there's a woman to start a war over. I also grew weary of self-reflexive portent in the dialogue ("They'll be talking about this war and the heroes who fought in it for thousands of years"). But the film has many more strengths, including naval and battle choreography, sets, costumes, and the infamous Trojan Horse, which was perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockAug 30, 2016
A fun, epic recreation of the culmination of Homer's Trojan war. It's not going to win too many people over with its imperfect execution with the moments between slashing swords but the action is good enough that you may not care at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OverworlderApr 12, 2012
An excellent movie. Great cast, engaging plot and fantastic fight choreography. Above all, it's not just a hack-and-slash flick. There are actually some interesting themes and relationships explored here. The dynamic between Agamemnon andAn excellent movie. Great cast, engaging plot and fantastic fight choreography. Above all, it's not just a hack-and-slash flick. There are actually some interesting themes and relationships explored here. The dynamic between Agamemnon and Achilles is particularly interesting. In the category of sword-and-sandal movies Troy is almost the equal of The Gladiator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CaestusMar 14, 2013
Not that Blockbuster, that i expected. The directors Cut release is improved though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MediaCriticOct 18, 2011
This movie is really underrated in my opinion. It is a great movie with amazing effects, stunning fight scenes and a fantastic storyline. Lot's of this film is based on true events too. Any Gladiator lover will adore this film. The locationThis movie is really underrated in my opinion. It is a great movie with amazing effects, stunning fight scenes and a fantastic storyline. Lot's of this film is based on true events too. Any Gladiator lover will adore this film. The location and set is great, it is well played by the actors and the director done a great job. I really recommend this movie. A fantastic epic that you need to have on your shelf. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
Back in the day when I first saw this movie, I had eyes for Orlando Bloom and pretty much nothing else.

Today, I've seen my fair share of epic battle movies, and I don't think this reaches the sharpest point. The movie is entertaining
Back in the day when I first saw this movie, I had eyes for Orlando Bloom and pretty much nothing else.

Today, I've seen my fair share of epic battle movies, and I don't think this reaches the sharpest point.

The movie is entertaining enough. The battles are good, but not too drawn out. The motivation on all sides is well described and doesn't feel fake or forced: Paris and Helen want each other, Helen's husband Menelaus goes for his power-hungry brother Agamemnon for help to restore his honor, and the conflict is ready.

To add to the mix we get our hero, a Myrmidon warrior Achilles (Brad Pitt), who has quite a reputation and who is ever hungry for more. His name will live forever, he will see to that.

Eric Bana is Hector, Paris' loving and honorable brother, whose mission it is to defend Troy when the battle arrives to their doorstep. I guess Bana (just like Pitt) used a couple of hours at the gym to bring their bodies to the condition we saw them in here. But enough of muscles!

The music of the movie is beautiful. We don't see a whole lot of scenery, but the set and clothes/armor look good enough.

Sean Bean does a small yet quite significant role as Odysseus. Brian Cox as Agamemnon is both amusing and convincing.

The movie has a lot in it, and yet it somehow just doesn't feel good enough. There are great men, great fights, and a good story, but in the end, this story is just slightly above average. Maybe it is the somewhat unnecessary romance (between Achilles and Briseis) that just doesn't feel like it should be there?

And one thing I do recall from history's pages somewhere: Achilles and Patroclos were lovers. Here, they are cousins... The love is there, though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobNov 10, 2012
The entire movie to me was just waiting through the terrible dialogue just to get to the action scenes. Very disapointing. I expected better, Especially with a movie like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LokathorJun 21, 2014
If you watch this movie with the understanding from the beginning that there are going to be no supernatural elements then this is a great film. When this first came out a few friends of mine were really upset that it didn't follow the IliadIf you watch this movie with the understanding from the beginning that there are going to be no supernatural elements then this is a great film. When this first came out a few friends of mine were really upset that it didn't follow the Iliad very closely, because there was no gods and magic and living rivers or anything like that. I think it's fine to tell a version of the story without any magic to it. There's still interesting characters, and good fighting. If you like "battle movies" like Gladiator and Kingdom of Heaven, this is a movie you should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kevinhooksJan 20, 2013
Some of the Greek mythological elements in "Troy" are inaccurate. Still, the visual scale of the film is amazing, as well as the performances by Brad Pitt, Eric Bana, and Orlando Bloom (just to name a few).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sapra6Dec 29, 2016
It is really a great movie.For a movie that was made in 2004 it should be considered to be an epic.But, The movie was stretched out a bit and the movie deviated a lot from the original story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffNov 16, 2016
The legendary Achilles goes to battle with the Trojans in Wolfgang Petersen's interpretation of 'Troy', loosely based on the story of "Ilaid". Brad Pitt possesses the role of the legendary Achilles, who is often seen as the greatest warrior.The legendary Achilles goes to battle with the Trojans in Wolfgang Petersen's interpretation of 'Troy', loosely based on the story of "Ilaid". Brad Pitt possesses the role of the legendary Achilles, who is often seen as the greatest warrior. It seems that he has had some quarrels with King Agamemnon (Brian Cox), the King often feels concerned over Achilles devil-may-care behavior, and his lack of respect for the king bothers himself. Meanwhile, we see two brothers, Prince Hector (Eric Bana) and his younger brother, Paris (Orlando Bloom) negotiating a peace treaty with Menelaus (Brendan Gleeson). But all that peace fades away when Paris is having a secret affair with Menelaus' wife, Helen (Diane Kruger). When Paris informs Hector about this, Hector feels angry and worried that a war is about to come... and that Menelaus will stop at nothing to make Paris suffer to get his wife back. Upon discovering his missing wife, Menelaus turns to his brother, Agamemnon for help. Agamemnon sees this as an opportunity to go to war, and must put all his trust in the talented Achilles to make sure that the war can be easily won. Back at Troy, King Priam (Peter O'Toole) feels concerned when Paris introduces him to Helen, worried that if he is to send her back, Paris would follow her and get killed. He reluctantly decides to let her stay and let events unfold however they can. While the production design of this movie is fascinating, the actors seem to fit the roles that they are cast in - Brad Pitt has the physique for Achilles, Orlando Bloom works as the heart-strung Paris, and Diane Kruger's beauty works for the beauty of Helen - and not forgetting the crafting of the action, it seems that the movie fails to deliver in terms of drama. There is no emotional uphold, no sign of intensity, and no urgency either. It all feels like a typical Hollywood take on one of the greatest legend stories of all time. It's lavish, it's beautiful and it's grand, but underneath all of that lies something somewhat bland. It's not a bad movie, just not a great one. Maybe if the actors were given a chance to act instead of appearing as attractive as possible, it would have worked, and maybe if the dialogue contained more plausibility, it would seem less unintentionally hilarious. Overall, 'Troy' is entertaining, but not gripping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoAug 12, 2016
" Troy " was an acceptable movie , the good points are history, and the death of Achilles , and ultimately, the performance of Brad Pitt , the bad points are that the story felt something long and / or boring, and ultimately the music. but it" Troy " was an acceptable movie , the good points are history, and the death of Achilles , and ultimately, the performance of Brad Pitt , the bad points are that the story felt something long and / or boring, and ultimately the music. but it was deserved 3 Oscar nominations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 12, 2016
Fun war movie about Troy and Sparta to watch, but it just gets boring after a while. There's like no excitement part, in my opinion, that comes up after a while of movie time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
laxdrew2Nov 12, 2016
The action in Troy is great, but the scenes in between are boring. The movie is a series of action scenes, then political talking, then another action scene, then more talking. There are a few times where the acting is cringe-worthy, butThe action in Troy is great, but the scenes in between are boring. The movie is a series of action scenes, then political talking, then another action scene, then more talking. There are a few times where the acting is cringe-worthy, but overall, the story is interesting. One mistake was making the war seem so short. The Trojan War was over a period of 10 years, not a few days! Lastly, Troy is a very good film with a twist at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews