New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 28, 1992
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
13
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
faxafloi35Jul 8, 2016
Critics are silly. As for me this is one of my favorite films. It is very dark and creepy and at 35 it still gives me the creeps if I watch it during the night. Perfect script and music. People think there are no answers in this movie, but ICritics are silly. As for me this is one of my favorite films. It is very dark and creepy and at 35 it still gives me the creeps if I watch it during the night. Perfect script and music. People think there are no answers in this movie, but I think there are many. You just have to be able to think abstractly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sbahreNov 26, 2011
David Lynch's most heartbreaking movie. The quirky television show is deconstructed as Lynch takes us through the real life horrors that Laura Palmer went through before Agent Cooper got on the scene. The film delves into all of the darkDavid Lynch's most heartbreaking movie. The quirky television show is deconstructed as Lynch takes us through the real life horrors that Laura Palmer went through before Agent Cooper got on the scene. The film delves into all of the dark places that the show only alluded to. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
j30Aug 13, 2011
Really disappointed in this film. I felt like nothing was answered from the television series. Maybe if they had a directors cut I'd check it out. The television series of Twin Peaks, you're so engaged in Laura Palmer and the town around her,Really disappointed in this film. I felt like nothing was answered from the television series. Maybe if they had a directors cut I'd check it out. The television series of Twin Peaks, you're so engaged in Laura Palmer and the town around her, but after watching the film I could really care less. It feels really uneven, like they really didn't know where to go with it. David Lynch is an amazing director, I love the dreamy sequences and some of the melodrama in his work. However, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me feels like a rough draft. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
PaversJul 9, 2007
I must admit, the first time I saw this movie I was disappointed. It was the first thing that I watched in the Twin Peaks franchise and now I know that was a mistake. Soon afterwards I purchased the first television series and discovered I must admit, the first time I saw this movie I was disappointed. It was the first thing that I watched in the Twin Peaks franchise and now I know that was a mistake. Soon afterwards I purchased the first television series and discovered what all the fuss was about. That series is the best television show I have ever seen. So I tried Fire Walk With Me again and disliked it even more than the first time I watched it. It lacked the charm of the first series and there was so much content that wasn't related to that first series. I ended up getting confused, waiting for the movie to end. Then despite all the negative things I'd heard about the second tv series, I manage to get hold of a copy, and was pleasantly surprised. Though not as strong as the first tv series, the series is still enjoyable. Soon after watching that series, I received a copy of the Fire Walk With Me DVD as a birthday present. Despite having reservations about watching this movie again, I played it last night. And lo and behold after watching every episode of both tv series, everything came together. The whole thing made much more sense... and was a joy to watch. This movie does NOT hold up as a standalone. I feel this is the reason for a lot of the negative reviews. I'd recommend this movie only after watch both series one and series two of the tv series.... then maybe like me, you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.May 16, 2010
A powerful, moving, psychedelic movie. Do not believe the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorisNov 4, 2006
28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this 28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this masterpiece. Fantastic Lynch atmosphere--great scenes with a lot of depth. The David Bowie scene is fantastic and Badalamenti's score adds a lot again to the whole of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TelyS.May 29, 2006
With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the quirk and humor that defined TP for many has been replaced by the most profoundly sad and moving story about incest that will likely ever be made. The film achieves stratospheric levels of depraved, sincere beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerP.Dec 9, 2008
I'm not a big David Lynch fan. I think the reason the TV series worked so brilliantly well was because he had to curb his more insane impulses. I hated Wild at Heart, Lost Highway and Dune and I didn't really get Mulholland Drive I'm not a big David Lynch fan. I think the reason the TV series worked so brilliantly well was because he had to curb his more insane impulses. I hated Wild at Heart, Lost Highway and Dune and I didn't really get Mulholland Drive (though it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErckNFeb 15, 2007
This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me a superficial reason to call it trash). People looking for an obvious sum will be lost...this is pure art in the highest of forms...it finally takes us to the real underbelly of all the evidence that was exhibited in the series. This is Laura Palmer's story were the series was Cooper's perception of a town where yellow traffic lights mean slow down and not speed up. My advice is just have no expectations. As with any other Lynch film, it's good to view with an open mind and let it just wash over you like a wave of chaos and beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcDoyleAug 8, 2010
The critics missed the boat on this one. Especially if you've seen at least the first season & a half of the TV series. My friends and I were quoting the movie for years ("bite the bullet baby!") - I think it's one of Lynch's best works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VerticalGunnJul 29, 2014
A disturbing, sadistic, mind-bending prequel to the television series Twin Peaks. It's not Lynch's best work, but it's still a welcome expansion to he mythology.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
twocents00Jul 8, 2016
I almost didn't watch this movie because of all the horrible things I heard about it. It was a great movie and really answered some lingering questions I had. Sheryl Lee and Ray Wise both give spine tingling performances. The tension inI almost didn't watch this movie because of all the horrible things I heard about it. It was a great movie and really answered some lingering questions I had. Sheryl Lee and Ray Wise both give spine tingling performances. The tension in some of the scenes was palpable. I guess Lynch was just way ahead of his time because it is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews